Dublin V Kerry NFL Final

Don't Kerry will be getting carried away with this one.
Connolly off the field for most of the match.
Plus,ball going in to high too high to Dublin forwards.
Early days.

Muilleann (Tipperary) - Posts: 114 - 10/04/2017 13:06:30    1977919

Replying To s goldrick:  "It is not the referee's job to "let the game flow". There is no onus on the referee to ensure it is a good or enjoyable game. It is the referee's job to apply the rules . There is not a referee in the country that applies the rules throughout a game. The ref yesterday made loads of mistakes (deliberate or otherwise). This happens week-in week-out up and down the country. Fair play to both teams yesterday for the quality of the game.
I thought David Moran was a colossus as usual. Mick Fitzsimons also great. The Geaneys , savage and Barry also. Morley had a good game too. McMahon was good for Dublin as was Fenton, McCarthy (although he had his hands full with Walsh). Cluxton very good also. For me Kilkenny is the man that makes Dublin tick though and again he was very good. Is Connolly becoming a liability, It would be a shame for such a gifted player but if he doesn't improve his discipline he could be marginalised. The likes of Scully,McHugh,Costello,Reddan etc are all top class players and perhaps Dublin don't need him any more."
Ya,you're spot on there.

It drives me mad listening to that auld "macho" spiel about letting the game flow.

Problem with that approach is that when a referee lets something go he then finds himself having to compensate for it later on in the game and more often than not loses control of the game.

Just blow the frees and everyone then knows where they stand.

Muilleann (Tipperary) - Posts: 114 - 10/04/2017 13:11:56    1977925

Replying To keithlemon:  "Connolly must drive Dub fans nuts. At times yesterday he was sublime and you could see that him being on the pitch gave Kerry an extra headache. In all fairness to Niall Scully, he's not going to pose the same questions and you could see the difference in Dublin's forward play without Connolly on the field. If he's going to keep on reacting the way he does to challenges then he's not going to be getting much game time.
But look, I don't want this thread to fall into the usual trap of people moaning about referee calls, cards that could have been given etc. Yesterday was a great game of football, do we have to do the forensic breakdown of each game and not just enjoy it for what it was. There were some exceptional scores yesterday, a tactical masterclass from Fitzmaurice, some new and exciting talent just made a big statement too, lets talk about the good things in yesterdays game."
What's the point in having a thread on the game if you only discuss one side of the game.
of course refs make mistakes nobody is saying they won't. But what I pointed out has been happening every single weekend. At around 11v10 Kerry got three frees in a row to move 14v10 ahead in that same period the frees Kerry were awarded the same and worse tackles went in down the other end of the pitch and the ref refused to award the free in to Dublin.
it's consistency and fairness to both teams that's the problem you can't award a free for the exact same type of challenge on the player in possesion at one end and not the other end, thats a major problem in the game, we even had that problem for monaghan last week the ref black carded Hughes for his trip on Fenton and in second half Fenton was bursting through on goal and taken down but no black card, the rules are there to be applied and as a player there's nothing worse than seeing a ref officiating things like that in the one game.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 10/04/2017 13:30:25    1977943

On a sidenote, Today was Dublin's first loss in any final in Croke park since 2001. 16 years. Weird watching someone else lift a trophy from my position on the hill as I was only 9 in 2001.
waynoI (Dublin)

we lost the 2011 league final to cork your forgetting

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 10/04/2017 13:46:31    1977960

Replying To Muilleann:  "Don't Kerry will be getting carried away with this one.
Connolly off the field for most of the match.
Plus,ball going in to high too high to Dublin forwards.
Early days."
Aye, I enjoyed the few pints last night and the bit of banter but the buzz of securing our latest League title won't last much longer than my hangover!

9 long weeks now until our Championship debut but at least the lads will be heading into training in Kilarney with a spring in their step. It was great to see the young lads stand up and be counted yesterday and this victory will do the group wonders. But Dublin did not look themselves for long periods so no one down here is getting carried away just yet.

As an aside, while I didn't welcome the introduction of the Super 8 format - if it means getting more games like yesterday bring it on.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 10/04/2017 13:54:54    1977969

Three more things.

1. Losing to Cork by a point in 2011 (a match we should have won) spurred us onto greater things...lets hope the same.

2. As a Dub Cluxton's performance lifted the soul...jesus at 35 he is still the best out there. Haven't seen him stop shots like that for awhile.

3. Gavin's 'its my fault' and blaming nothing or no one was a great interview.

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 10/04/2017 14:30:40    1977994

Replying To hill16no1man:  "On a sidenote, Today was Dublin's first loss in any final in Croke park since 2001. 16 years. Weird watching someone else lift a trophy from my position on the hill as I was only 9 in 2001.
waynoI (Dublin)

we lost the 2011 league final to cork your forgetting"
Old age getting to Wayno...

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11234 - 10/04/2017 14:31:37    1977996

Is it the end for Bernard Brogan?, looked a good bit off the pace yesterday, perhaps that was due to him just getting back or maybe the miles on the clock are taking it's toll. Great player at his best I must say.

AthboyCelt (Meath) - Posts: 147 - 10/04/2017 15:51:46    1978031

Replying To AthboyCelt:  "Is it the end for Bernard Brogan?, looked a good bit off the pace yesterday, perhaps that was due to him just getting back or maybe the miles on the clock are taking it's toll. Great player at his best I must say."
Didn't think he was off the pace. The passes into him were dreadful in the 2nd half

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 10/04/2017 16:25:49    1978043

Replying To AthboyCelt:  "Is it the end for Bernard Brogan?, looked a good bit off the pace yesterday, perhaps that was due to him just getting back or maybe the miles on the clock are taking it's toll. Great player at his best I must say."
Haha he's not seven foot seven as that is what he would have needed to be to catch them balls that were out over his head.
The ball going in was woeful to him yesterday, the only bread basket ball he got all day he had his legs taken from under him when out in front in a one on in situation and the ref waved play on, might well have taken him on and stuck the ball in the back of the net if he wasnt fouled, brogan showed in clones what he still has to offer Dublin when the right ball is delivered.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 10/04/2017 16:28:46    1978047

Replying To hill16no1man:  "What's the point in having a thread on the game if you only discuss one side of the game.
of course refs make mistakes nobody is saying they won't. But what I pointed out has been happening every single weekend. At around 11v10 Kerry got three frees in a row to move 14v10 ahead in that same period the frees Kerry were awarded the same and worse tackles went in down the other end of the pitch and the ref refused to award the free in to Dublin.
it's consistency and fairness to both teams that's the problem you can't award a free for the exact same type of challenge on the player in possesion at one end and not the other end, thats a major problem in the game, we even had that problem for monaghan last week the ref black carded Hughes for his trip on Fenton and in second half Fenton was bursting through on goal and taken down but no black card, the rules are there to be applied and as a player there's nothing worse than seeing a ref officiating things like that in the one game."
If the rules had been applied yesterday you would have lost Fenton to black and two players to red. Kerry could have picked up a couple of blacks also.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 10/04/2017 16:32:05    1978050

Great game yesterday and Kerry fully deserved the victory, nothing in it really and had different decisions been made the result would be different, but it would be unfair to Kerry to blame the ref as they were clearly the better team yesterday.

I've been vocal about Kerry and their lack of identity and not playing open and expansive football, I don't think I've been wrong in that. Yesterday was the first time since 2013 they have attacked Dublin and the fruits are there for all to be seen, they were excellent and looked wholly more comfortable playing this way then contained football. Looks like some bright young lads there, far more pace and energy then previous years and they were well drilled in their canniness, professional fouls, taking the momentum out of the game, fouling in the right places etc, Fitzmaurice tactics were great yesterday and he out did Gavin. Simply Kerry wanted it more were hungrier and better team. To beat Dublin you need all of that to go right for you and Kerry got it all right yesterday. I was also impressed with the high press, Dublin at times couldn't get the ball out of their full back line. It was the third quater we were beaten in on reflections.

From a Dublin point of view, I'm glad this result was in April rather then August. Loads to take out of the game for us. It was a matter of time until we were caught on the hop playing in third gear and beating teams in the last ten mins. In some ways I'm glad Rock hit the bar as the reality check will be starker and need the need to self improve more stark. Dublin weren't hungry yesterday, it was a lazy performance bred I think of over confidence. Lazy decision making, turning procession into 50/50 ball and what I've been saying all year we look really vulnerable centrally at 6 and 3 with runners. Was criminal how much space, time pentetration Kerry forwards got yesterday. I think we have lost a directness to our play and have become obsessed with recycling our play, when taking scores is the smart move over complicating things that don't need to be. However having said that, I'm not overally concerned, when we woke up on 55 mins we really dominated and I thought we had to much for Kerry, whom themselves look shaky at the back. The high press left huge space in behind we never exploited. Apparently Dublin have a new fitness plan in place with a target of peaking in Aug, so they are and look a bit of peak fitness. So I'm pretty confident with Jack, Cooper, Costello, O'Callaghan etc to come back, we will be hard to beat.

On refelection I wonder have Kerry shown there hand a bit early in terms of style and game plan, certainly plenty for The Jacks to work on and take away from that game. Congrats to Kerry, hope you lads enjoyed the evening, I bet it felt like Dunkirk yesterday certainly the performance from lads would indicate that mentality, powder puff stuff from us and a bit of over confidence playing well below what we were capable of, certainly loads to work on and hopefully will snap our focus to the job of work for the rest of the year.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 10/04/2017 16:32:49    1978051

Replying To witnof:  "Three more things.

1. Losing to Cork by a point in 2011 (a match we should have won) spurred us onto greater things...lets hope the same.

2. As a Dub Cluxton's performance lifted the soul...jesus at 35 he is still the best out there. Haven't seen him stop shots like that for awhile.

3. Gavin's 'its my fault' and blaming nothing or no one was a great interview."
Cluxton's saves were good yes, but his kickouts were eaten up by Kerry in the 3rd quarter in particular.
That's not a direct criticism as the movement in front of him wasn't as good as usual. Kerry went man to man and it paid off.
I don't think it would have paid off if Connolly had stayed on the field. You need a sweeper to cut out the ball he can give the full forward line. He's an excellent extra fielding option around the middle too when the corner backs aren't left unmarked.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5016 - 10/04/2017 16:44:46    1978057

Neverright
Whatever about the cards
It's the awarding of frees within the same game inconsistently that's been a massive problem throughout the league this year, your looking at the exact same tackle and one instance he gives a free for player in possession and next he blows another player for over carrying, it really is an area the gaa need to improve in officiating as they are always quick to clamp down on player's ills and introduce new rules or cards but the standard of officiating is becoming the biggest problem in the game now as they continue to stay silent when officials ills aren't addressed we will never improve the level of their performances.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 10/04/2017 16:54:54    1978060

Replying To jimbodub:  "Keith

Dublin are weeks behind other teams in terms of sharpness and matych fitness

COS hasn't played much ball

Dublin working very hard at training at the minute

It was an excellent result reach another final, and to finish top with such a clear margin

Even with Kerry's win yesterday, they'd only be on 10 points... compared to our 11 ;)

Dublin are nowhere near full fitness, many players seeing little game time, many of us before a ball was kicked couldn't see Dublin win the title this year

You'll see a very different beast soon enough"
In fairness 'tis true, Tómas O'Sé referenced that last night.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 10/04/2017 16:57:39    1978061

Replying To hill16no1man:  "What's the point in having a thread on the game if you only discuss one side of the game.
it's consistency and fairness to both teams that's the problem you can't award a free for the exact same type of challenge on the player in possesion at one end and not the other end, thats a major problem in the game, we even had that problem for monaghan last week the ref black carded Hughes for his trip on Fenton and in second half Fenton was bursting through on goal and taken down but no black card, the rules are there to be applied and as a player there's nothing worse than seeing a ref officiating things like that in the one game."
Jesus would you give over

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 10/04/2017 18:28:49    1978083

Replying To dstuction:  "My understanding is to guard against both players kicking the ball at the same time, potentially causing a foot break. I'm sure we have all been there.
In this scenario the forward was dropping the ball and the interception was made from the side before the forwards foot came near it.
No issue in my mind. In fact I thought it was a great tackle"
Yeah I agree. Great tackle and fully legit. Can't remember who the forward was but I've no idea why he didn't fist it to the net first time.
It's just that we hear so many players in club games calling footblocks and I believe genuinely believing they are right. It could do with some more clarity is all I was saying.

Sindar (Roscommon) - Posts: 348 - 10/04/2017 18:51:09    1978093

Replying To Muilleann:  "Ya,you're spot on there.

It drives me mad listening to that auld "macho" spiel about letting the game flow.

Problem with that approach is that when a referee lets something go he then finds himself having to compensate for it later on in the game and more often than not loses control of the game.

Just blow the frees and everyone then knows where they stand."
Totally agree. If refs should just "let the game flow" why not just tell them to throw up the ball, keep an eye on the time, sit up in the stands and watch the game while players do whatever the hell they want on the pitch.
It was a good game yesterday but just because there were no free for alls does not mean it wasn't dirty. You can have great games without the dirt.

Sindar (Roscommon) - Posts: 348 - 10/04/2017 19:14:44    1978103

9 weeks till Kerry play in the championship? no wonder they are fresh every August, the championship structure is a joke.

El_Torro (Tyrone) - Posts: 155 - 10/04/2017 19:30:42    1978112

Replying To El_Torro:  "9 weeks till Kerry play in the championship? no wonder they are fresh every August, the championship structure is a joke."
It's certainly weighted against teams competing in the Ulster championship.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2169 - 10/04/2017 20:34:05    1978134