Dublin V Kerry NFL Final

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "To the HS Kerry crew, Real Kerry Fan, Westie, Hermit etc etc, well done lads. A hard tough epic battle. Two great teams and an enthralling game. Tough to lose but sh*t happens. Well done Kerry..... Well done. See ye later in the year :)"
Press reset Liam real stuff begins tomorrow

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 09/04/2017 21:18:46    1977640

Only 4 games now give or take to look forward to in football til the bank holiday in August;

Donegal v Tyrone

Monaghan v Donegal/Tyrone

Cork v Kerry

Galway v Mayo

Crazy how we now play Wexford or Carlow completely unfair on them counties , the championship should be the league.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 09/04/2017 21:26:57    1977647

The best team won.
Congratulations Kerry.

Knoxboya (Monaghan) - Posts: 358 - 09/04/2017 21:39:08    1977654

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Good post Wayno. Honest and fair.
Great game which had many talking points, the main one been the fantastic score taking. (Tyrone take note!!!!). Ref was good, black cards deserved. 53000 there which is a great crowd.
One small note that soured the day was the Dubs singing "the ref is a w*^%er." It happened in the Tyrone as well, hope it's not a theme starting.
Overall great entertainment and well done Kerry. Unlucky to the Dubs."
Nice of you to mention the fans thoughts on the ref yet no mention on the Dubs prolonged applause for the Gooch and the tribute appreciation shown to him...!
Even the Hill applauded him so less of the 1 sided comments ...!

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3733 - 09/04/2017 21:47:21    1977661

Congrats Kerry hard fought win. That was a penalty for the Dubs when Rock was lifting ball, but all refs make some mistakes in fairness.

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1670 - 09/04/2017 21:49:22    1977663

Replying To suckvalleypaddy:  "Congrats Kerry hard fought win. That was a penalty for the Dubs when Rock was lifting ball, but all refs make some mistakes in fairness."
Doesn't matter, our peno taker was gone, the rest can't seem to score one.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 09/04/2017 21:57:02    1977668

Replying To Fionn:  "Nice of you to mention the fans thoughts on the ref yet no mention on the Dubs prolonged applause for the Gooch and the tribute appreciation shown to him...!
Even the Hill applauded him so less of the 1 sided comments ...!"
Wasn't at the game so couldn't comment on the applause for Gooch, fair play.
But the Dubs did chant about the ref. Could here it on tv. They done the same at the Tyrone game as well. I think we can all agree that belongs to the beer swilling hooligans of the soccer terraces in England.
The Dublin fans are a great bunch for the most part.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 09/04/2017 22:04:57    1977670

And from now on, can we just play ball and pay no attention to what managers or ex-players say to the media in the run up. Football is a hard, sometimes dirty, game.
Both Dublin and Kerry will do whatever it takes to win, as will Mayo, Donegal, Tyrone etc.
Good football will normally win out in the end and Kerry did that today!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 09/04/2017 22:11:29    1977673

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Wasn't at the game so couldn't comment on the applause for Gooch, fair play.
But the Dubs did chant about the ref. Could here it on tv. They done the same at the Tyrone game as well. I think we can all agree that belongs to the beer swilling hooligans of the soccer terraces in England.
The Dublin fans are a great bunch for the most part."
The referees a w*nker is as old as the hill(s) :D
But seriously, no grown man in the middle is going to take that personally, especially from Dublin fans. And if they did, it certainly wouldn't help Dublin's cause!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 09/04/2017 22:14:40    1977674

Replying To shaggylegend:  "Rule 5.1 it's the very first foul listed as aggressive foul in the gaa rule book.
To block or attempt to block with the boot while the opponent is kicking from the hand(s).

You are correct it was not a foot block as mcmahon never lifted his leg towards the kicker."
I know the rule but it's not a definition. Leaving aside the McMahon incident, that rule makes no distinction between a player being 5m away or 5cm away. It also says boot as opposed to leg and makes no distinction on whether whether the foot is moving away or towards the kicker which makes a big difference if breaking someone's leg is the issue. The rule is there for safety reasons but still no definition. It's just like the tackle rule, no clear definition.

Sindar (Roscommon) - Posts: 348 - 09/04/2017 22:21:46    1977679

Replying To Knoxboya:  "The best team won.
Congratulations Kerry."
Agreed congrats Kerry on a great win. Where easily a 6 pts the better team .

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 09/04/2017 22:25:24    1977682

Very good game of football but spoiled by very poor officiating.
felt we were well on top for the first 25 minutes then Kerry were on top from 25-55 minutes then dublin on top last 15 minutes. The first 20 minutes of second half was a killer for Dublin, with the wind behind our backs we didn't even have a shot on goal until 50 th minute and no score till 54th minute. Now that ain't good enough at all but there was also some very one sided officiating in this period. Kerry got 3 or 4 points from frees which I won't even go there on as the exact same tackles went in down the other end on dublin players but waved play on.
One such instance was very poor where brogan was coming out for a ball on the 21 line and was clearly tripped and the ref waved him to get up it was as clear as day and he was out in front and would have had a one on one opportunity and at a time when we needed a score didn't even get the free to settle it down. There was another instance where dublin were clear up the Kerry half on the burst two men on the overlap and he decides to bring the play back over by the Hogan sideline which was a very poor call as we had a goal chance on. These are calls that are killers against you. Kerry shot selection was far better throughout only mannion could hold his head up in that department from a dublin point of view. When it came down to at the end another couple of poor calls had a big impact. There was two calls inside the Kerry penalty zone, first the Kerry keeper collected the ball and clearly threw it to the side how it wasn't whistled was bad then rock was pushed in the back going down on the ball, clear penalty. We got nothing from that at all. Then for Kerry's last point scully was in process of catching a kickout and was pushed in the back and Kerry take the ball and go and score. They were big calls that had a massive impact on the swings in a one point game.
On the black card front I thaught Connolly was brainless with his decision to do that and clearly deserved it. We have work to do no doubt and a few managerial calls needed for Gavin after today. Felt he made wrong call taking reddin off who was having a great game and Fenton was the one should have gone for McCauley. Taking o Sullivan off was another as he should have switched him to corner back for me. The decision to not press the ball for most of the second half was another poor tactical call instead retreating to mark players and leave player in possesion far too much room. I think we should be a lot stronger defensively with Cooper,McCafrey and small all to come back from today. Up front I think Gavin has an ace up his sleeve that will be let loose come championship so a defeat today going forward may not be a bad thing in the long run for us as it will refocus the mind and hunger

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 09/04/2017 22:28:12    1977684

So we had two teams playing 14 men behind the ball. A game litters with fouls. 62 free kicks awarded. A cynical drag down at the end to stop a certain score. At least 3 punches thrown dragging down off the ball. And not even an ulster team on the pitch!

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 09/04/2017 22:33:27    1977686

Replying To uibhfhaili1986:  "Hopefully some good will come of this game and people in the GAA will realise that the black card is worthless.The Anthony Maher black card at the end is exactly the reason it is worthless.

Cyncial fouling is done to stop a score if it is done far enough out the field it stops a score.A cynical foul is a cynical foul regardless of where it happens on the field and it should be punished with the concession of a score.If it happens outside the 45 it should be a free from the 21.If it happens inside the 45 it should be a penalty.All cynical fouling would end from that point on and we'd have a much better game."
Very odd that I've got 2 thumbs down for a post point out the scourge of cynical fouling and it not being punished appropriately.

Just shows you whats wrong with the game when people seem to want to accept cynical fouling as part of the game and not deal with it effectively.

uibhfhaili1986 (Offaly) - Posts: 1296 - 09/04/2017 22:35:39    1977687

Was it my imagination or did Brendan Kealy throw the ball inside the small square in the dying minutes? Penalty if he did but the replay wasn't very clear. Though he missed a few red card incidents I thought the ref had a good game

Sindar (Roscommon) - Posts: 348 - 09/04/2017 22:36:02    1977688

Replying To realdub:  "Doesn't matter, our peno taker was gone, the rest can't seem to score one."
Very silly comment of course the awarding of a penalty matters and is a very big call.
just one other thing I just watched how brolly on league Sunday and felt he let himself down over the gooch very poor words about him that was uncalled for as he was a great player.
but he made one point that was correct the video out on the screen today was very cringeworthy, plenty of players have retired and nothing like that done but both teams were out on the field warming up and this was being run in the screen surely a bit poor from gaa towards the player's and half time would have sufficed if they felt the need to do that sort of thing

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 09/04/2017 22:36:23    1977689

Replying To Lyons2000:  "Martin Breheny in the Indo a few months ago wrote an article on who had the most players who are playing now ( in their squads) and we're playing in 2010. Dublin had the most with 9 players who were playing in 2010 and playing now. Mayo came second with 8 players who were playing in 2010 and now. Kerry were third with 6 or 7. Galway Kildare and Meath were the bottom of the 32 counties with all three only having 3 players involved in 2010. They all have very young squads , the average age for Meath and Kildare is 23. I would say Galway have a similar age average. Dublin have many more players in the late 20s and in the early thirties. Dublin are not as strong as they were 12 months when they hammered Kerry in the league final. While a lot of the league matchs they have showed good character coming back to win. Winning from behind can be the sign of a team starting to wane. I remeber Meath in 91 and 01 where every match need up trying to make a comeback. We did not know at the time but it was the sign of those Meath teams declining. Dublin are no longer hammering the top teams. Has the gap closed. Time will tell. Dublin might not be as dominant in the next few years as the last as there will allot of retirements. And allot young teams like Kerry Galway Tyrone Meath Kildare and Roscommon snapping at their heals. Interesting times ahead."
Yes that is very true, the problem with most successful teams is their failure to transition new blood which ultimately hastens their demise, and this is equally true of this Dublin team if it is not nipped in the bud. I doubt it will be nipped in the bud because most coaches and managers are suckered into believing the players they know are far far better than the players they don't. This Dublin team will run for a few years yet but that duration is totally dependant on what young talent they bring in and older ones they let go.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4897 - 09/04/2017 23:00:30    1977697

Replying To Sindar:  "Was it my imagination or did Brendan Kealy throw the ball inside the small square in the dying minutes? Penalty if he did but the replay wasn't very clear. Though he missed a few red card incidents I thought the ref had a good game"
No he hand passed it tbf but it was a stone wall peno plus he bought the Darren O Sullivan dive hook line and sinker but Kerry deserved their win no doubt about that better team on the day.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 09/04/2017 23:05:19    1977699

Congrats to Kerry. You get the feeling this is the start of another great Kerry era. In 1978 Kerry defeated Dublin a two in a row All Ireland winning team in a league final. We all know what happened next. 3 in a row minor winning teams are rare . So there is allot of raw talent in Kerry. And Jack O Connor is one of the best managers of the last 20 years and he will take over the reigns . I can see Kerry winning multiple All Irelands in the next few years. That's the genius of a Kerry. When they are beaten they just regroup and return with another group of great players. Will Dublin be able to replace Cluxton, the best goalkeeper ever with another great goalkeeper. Will they replace Connolly there most talented player ever with another player just as talented. And will they replace Brogan one of their best forwards ever with another all time great. This is what Kerry and Kilkenny do for decades. Kerry had Sheedy in 80s, Fitzgerald in 90s and Gouch in 00s. Kilkenny had Keher in 70s,Heffernan in the 80s, Carey in 90s and Shefflin the 00s . let's see can Dublin do the same replace a set of great players with another set of great players. Because their will be allot of retirements for Dublin in the next few years. I get a feeling Dublin wouldn't be as dominant in the next few years. As they were in the last few years . interesting times ahead.

Lyons2000 (Meath) - Posts: 101 - 09/04/2017 23:07:42    1977701

Replying To Sindar:  "Was it my imagination or did Brendan Kealy throw the ball inside the small square in the dying minutes? Penalty if he did but the replay wasn't very clear. Though he missed a few red card incidents I thought the ref had a good game"
No your correct it was as clear as day a throw from keeper.
don't agree red was good I already pointed out plenty decisions he called badly but the black card for lyne on Connolly should have been a red as itvwas a high tackle around the back not black.
also couple minutes before half time I doubt camera picked it up but cian o Sullivan was pulled to the ground by geaney I think it was trying to get forward and linesman didn't intervene.
just like at the goal post James McCarthy was struck by donnacha Walsh with umpire two feet away and refused to inform ref of what he saw, league Sunday were poor in not showing these incidents when talking about officiating

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 09/04/2017 23:08:46    1977702