Dublin V Kerry NFL Final

Congrats Kerry

patnback (Cork) - Posts: 28 - 09/04/2017 17:55:21    1977482

Good game, great finish to it . Dublin have getting back to parity all league so bound to be caught sometime. Kerry controlled the tempo by attacking the kickouts in spurts and then slowing the dubs by holding up any frees . Moran excellent in the middle and their full back line bossed it at times throughout. Dublin were good in spurts but allowed kerry play at their own pace and were poor with distribution at times. Probably not the worst thing to happen although would have liked to see the win and hopefully should focus the minds going to the summer.

ctowers (Dublin) - Posts: 99 - 09/04/2017 17:55:31    1977483

Who will highlight the fact that Anthony Maher just blatantly took out Fitzsimmons to stop dublin getting a draw and allowing kerry win? I'm presuming the pundits who savaged Sean Kavanagh are sharpening their quills.

sceptical (Cavan) - Posts: 544 - 09/04/2017 17:56:17    1977484

Replying To yelowbelly:  "Ah lads, this ref has lost the plot, a blatant footblock 3 metres from goal isn't a penalty ???"
A blatant foot block? Learn the rules lad McMahon went to block the ball it hit him in the tight how you claim that to be a foot block God only knows

Cuckoosinging (Roscommon) - Posts: 992 - 09/04/2017 17:56:20    1977485

We can only learn from this I guess.. ?

But hats off to Kerry, I'll stay to watch them lift it.

Another great league campaign from Dublin, but we didn't do enough today to earn it in the end.

Really missed Connolly late on.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 09/04/2017 17:56:29    1977486

Replying To jimbodub:  "Hello from posh seats

Well done to Kerry

Better team won for me, kicked some cracking scores in 2nd half, Sheehan's and Maher top drawer scores, felt Dublin wasted a couple of very kickable chances late on and that was the difference in the end

But zero complaints for me.

Congrats to Kerry on a great win and ending the unbeaten run

Kerry now favs for Sam ;)

Nah, well done. Great win"
Jasus JimBo Next you'll be saying the Dubs are in decline Should be a cracking summer of football The pre season is over it's now time for Sam

cluichethar (Mayo) - Posts: 454 - 09/04/2017 17:56:37    1977487

Gutted to lose it the way we did, but credit to Kerry, deserved winners. We ran our luck during the campaign, hopefully this defeat will make us a even more dangerous animal in the summer

Hill16Army (Dublin) - Posts: 88 - 09/04/2017 17:59:06    1977489

Great game. Well done Kerry in finally beating the best team of recent years. The Dubs are not goin away Ye know! They are still the best team in the country. Philly and James mc Carthy were lucky not to be sent off and a big shout out to big Anthony Maher for taking one for the team in the dying seconds by pullin off a perfect drag down that even Sean Cav would be proud off. He should be proud if that black card for sure lol!! Great game in fairness and just shows ye that the way to win often is in getting "down and dirty". Some off us have known this for years.....some pretended they didn't. There's no more room for any pretence from any quarter. Bring on the championship. Again well done Kerry,was a massive win for you.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 09/04/2017 17:59:34    1977490

Replying To Cuckoosinging:  "A blatant foot block? Learn the rules lad McMahon went to block the ball it hit him in the tight how you claim that to be a foot block God only knows"
ref was brilliant today and we don't see that too often..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 09/04/2017 18:01:41    1977492

Well done Kerry better team won see you in the summer.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 09/04/2017 18:04:21    1977495

Replying To Cuckoosinging:  "A blatant foot block? Learn the rules lad McMahon went to block the ball it hit him in the tight how you claim that to be a foot block God only knows"
Have another look my friend and tell me how you go in for a block-down leading with your feet ?

yelowbelly (Wexford) - Posts: 409 - 09/04/2017 18:06:42    1977496

We were v poor in third quarter of game.. Kerry let themselves down by diving and holding faces.. embarrassing..

JimmyK (Dublin) - Posts: 240 - 09/04/2017 18:08:20    1977497

Replying To bangbang:  "Fair play to Kerry. Some dubious decisions by the ref through the match.

It was quite funny watching some of the Kerry players and especially Fitzmaurice celebrating like they'd won the All-Ireland. It's only April lads, calm down."
It's was funny watching Desperate Dan cursing himself when he was going off the field after he was black carded.

THE_SNAPPER (Louth) - Posts: 2019 - 09/04/2017 18:09:30    1977498

There was some great football, brilliant scores, lovely foot/hand passing but also dirty hits, cynical play, pulling, dragging etc. It was a very exciting, entertaining game so please stop this football should be played 'this, that, the other way' nonsense. This game had it all......and that's the way sport is and should be.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 09/04/2017 18:10:37    1977499

Replying To jimbodub:  "We can only learn from this I guess.. ?

But hats off to Kerry, I'll stay to watch them lift it.

Another great league campaign from Dublin, but we didn't do enough today to earn it in the end.

Really missed Connolly late on."
Nobody's fault but his own jimbo. He's allowing himself to be distracted by off the ball nonsense and his game is suffering. He needs to chill and consider his team.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 09/04/2017 18:13:01    1977500

Well Done Kerry. Better team won. No doubt. Well done lads. Congrats.

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 09/04/2017 18:13:45    1977502

Very good game....ref did very well bar a few strikes missed...this is where linesmen need to grow a pair....particularly James Mccarthy one right in front of the line. Dubs will be very hard bet again this year tho unfortunately

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 890 - 09/04/2017 18:14:04    1977503

Replying To TheHermit:  "How'd ya like them apples..."
Classy.......

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 09/04/2017 18:14:21    1977504

This was the changing of the guard, Dublin are an old team with several players 30 plus, cluxton, Mcmahon, Daly, O Sullivan, MDMA, Bastick, Flynn, Connolly, McMeanamon, O Gara, Brogan, and Andrews 29. Add in the sub keeper at 31(who has been a fantastic servant to the dubs and R0C who has left the panel, this will be too much to bear for the Dubs.

Roll on the summer, hopefully the dubs can bring on some of the fantastic U 21 team like they have in previous years.

royce (UK) - Posts: 30 - 09/04/2017 18:14:38    1977505

Replying To sceptical:  "Who will highlight the fact that Anthony Maher just blatantly took out Fitzsimmons to stop dublin getting a draw and allowing kerry win? I'm presuming the pundits who savaged Sean Kavanagh are sharpening their quills."
Nothing will be said from the Brolly. Not sure that it should be either. Sean did it,Maher today and countless others through the years. No need for nasty personal attacks on any player for doin this. The act itself doesn't become more unfair because it's been committed in the dying seconds and a team could possibly have scored had it not happened. It's the same thing if it's done in the 15th minute or the 71st min. It's a black card now,was a yellow before. There will be no admonitions from Brolly and no attacking Mahers character as a man. It was a disgrace when it was done to Sean and shouldn't be done again to any player for this offence. Brolly can rarely hide his dislike for Tyrone so we don't care anyway. I'd be surprised if he goes after Maher and Kerry on this.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 09/04/2017 18:14:40    1977506