'Hope you're scared, coz you've every reason to be!'

Replying To GaaGaa78:  "3 years on. That's what makes it even more laughable. Build a bridge."
It's not as if they would have beaten Donegal in the final anyway being the serial chokers they are.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 28/03/2017 17:28:39    1972413

Cringe worth stuff from some keyboard warriors but has anyone actually threatened him with violence? No doubt the crowd will jeer any decision given against Mayo. Mayo people still have no forgotten Limerick.

One thing I disagree with Liam on your post was in 2014 I believe we were good enough with a bit of luck. Cillian and Aidan clashing heads was bad luck more so than the ref. Shane Enright should have walked and we should have not got that free in to win it which Hennelly had caught over the crossbar by Kieran Donaghey.

anyway I will be concentrating on supporting Mayo on Sunday, not booing or looking to be outraged by the referee...I hope the majority of Mayo fans will do the same.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11238 - 28/03/2017 17:31:31    1972414

Replying To yew_tree:  "Cringe worth stuff from some keyboard warriors but has anyone actually threatened him with violence? No doubt the crowd will jeer any decision given against Mayo. Mayo people still have no forgotten Limerick.

One thing I disagree with Liam on your post was in 2014 I believe we were good enough with a bit of luck. Cillian and Aidan clashing heads was bad luck more so than the ref. Shane Enright should have walked and we should have not got that free in to win it which Hennelly had caught over the crossbar by Kieran Donaghey.

anyway I will be concentrating on supporting Mayo on Sunday, not booing or looking to be outraged by the referee...I hope the majority of Mayo fans will do the same."
I'd see this as a threat 'See ya Sunday my old friend. Hope there's PLENTY of gardai. You'll need ALL OF THEM'

GaaGaa78 (UK) - Posts: 285 - 28/03/2017 17:50:36    1972424

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "It's not as if they would have beaten Donegal in the final anyway being the serial chokers they are."
Bravo.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 28/03/2017 17:53:08    1972426

Replying To waynoI:  "One of the lines thrown out on social media today by a Mayo social media platform on hearing the news that Cormac Reilly will referee in Castlebar on Sunday.

Now, everyone on here knows that social media pages like the one in question have to be taken with a pinch of salt as they are run by a load of clowns, And I'm sure this is NOT the level of vitriol isn't shared by the majority of Mayo fans

http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=268271

Read and weap!! holy jesus.

I mean, Its 3 years ago now, move on.

Cormac Reilly, like all referees, have an incredibly difficult job and I certainly don't envy them, to put a guy under so much scrutiny before a league game, let alone a championship game, is so out of order.

I know Cormac personally, He is a wonderful man with a lovely family. Quiet and unassuming, pleasant and well mannered, no airs and graces, just a normal joe with a passion for refereeing, He puts in an awful lot of work that goes unnoticed all through the years.

You'll never see anyone talk about the effort and commitment in training referees put in on the cold winters mornings, But they work just like the footballers do, And they are praised for their commitment tenfold, rightly so. But refs do it too.

I know that they understand tensions run high and they will never please everyone, But this kind of nonsense from, albeit a minority of Mayo fans is disheartening and would turn anyone off refereeing.

Wish Cormac and his officials well at the weekend. And I hope to god they don't read some of the nonsense on social media about this appointment."
Rookie mistake to take anything from an outlet with "b***er" in the title seriously. Probably probably run by ferral teenagers.

Strange appointment from the GAA though. I suppose there is lack of top referees. I respect the difficult job they have but the standard of refereeing in football is cat.

roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 28/03/2017 18:09:05    1972439

Replying To Gleebo:  "This sort of thing isn't confined to Mayo fans, incidentally. Ask Galway fans about what they think about John Denton, Clare supporters about Jimmy Cooney, Tyrone fans about Paddy Russell etc. and you'll probably get some quick and heated answers. The difference is that in the Internet age, any gombeen can make bellicose or threatening remarks and quickly poison the atmosphere of a game."
You forgot Louth and Martin Sludden!!!! ;)

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 28/03/2017 18:10:40    1972440

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "It's not as if they would have beaten Donegal in the final anyway being the serial chokers they are."
Harsh and ridiculous. Surprised by you Muck. Your better than that lad.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 28/03/2017 18:12:36    1972441

Interesting post. It raises some questions, though:

Did Donegal not choke in the last All-Ireland senior final they played in, this even being implied by none other than Jim McGuinness?

How many All-Ireland titles do Donegal have relative to Mayo? You can pick the grade, the answer will be much the same.

What was the outcome of the last time the sides met in the championship?

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 28/03/2017 18:30:38    1972451

Replying To Gleebo:  "Sorry, seemed to me as if you were suggesting that I deem it ok to threaten a match official."
Nope. I agreed with you being against that kind of thing even if we don't like Reilly as a referee.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 28/03/2017 18:37:37    1972458

Replying To The_Fridge:  "You forgot Louth and Martin Sludden!!!! ;)"
True, though that got plenty of online traction ;)

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 28/03/2017 18:52:39    1972462

Mayo fans still dislike Meath over the 96 final so I doubt that after only 3 years they'd have moved on.
We got a few calls at the end of the game that another day we wouldn't.
Mayo had plenty of chances over 2 days and could get over the line.
God help us if they ever win Sam...

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 28/03/2017 19:23:15    1972474

A county with two All Irelands laughing at a county with three All Irelands. Dublin lads jeering us I can understand. Kerry likewise. Cork, Galway and one or two more I get, but a Donegal lad, that's taking the p***.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 28/03/2017 19:44:19    1972483

Living out here in Spain lads, I watch a bit of the soccer (to fit in with the locals!), and theres one thing that I still find odd/lousy about the build up to a game here.
In the previews before any match, alongside tactics, teamlineups,etc., there is always a piece on the referee, where he is from, his previous dealings with the teams involved, penalties given for or against....you get the idea.
As I sais, odd....and lousy....

extranjero (Wexford) - Posts: 375 - 28/03/2017 19:49:58    1972487

Has the national sympathy for Mayo started to dwindle?
Time was Mayo were everyone second favourite team. The team who, after your own you would most like to see win Sam.
I feel that has changed. Not too much sympathy or love for them anymore.
Maybe thats no bad thing Mayo lads!!
I'd hazard a guess that the team most people would say after their own nowadays would be Galway or maybe even (Whisper it!) Meath.....just for the craic like!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 28/03/2017 19:51:35    1972488

Replying To westkerry:  "Mayo fans still dislike Meath over the 96 final so I doubt that after only 3 years they'd have moved on.
God help us if they ever win Sam..."
Hey in fairness it's s but easier for Kerry fans to take defeat in their stride with all ye have won and will win in the future. Ever try putting yourself in a Mayo fans shoes?

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11238 - 28/03/2017 19:52:50    1972490

Replying To westkerry:  "Mayo fans still dislike Meath over the 96 final so I doubt that after only 3 years they'd have moved on.
That last line is too enigmatic for me, I have a pain in my head trying to figure it out. Put me out of my misery, what does it mean?

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 28/03/2017 20:01:06    1972493

I lived in Meath for a bit, and believe me, the hatred is far from one way traffic.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 28/03/2017 20:05:55    1972496

Replying To Gleebo:  "I lived in Meath for a bit, and believe me, the hatred is far from one way traffic."
Your dead right there Gleebo,
And I could never understand it considering they won and I'd maintain that was the All Ireland Mayo left behind them.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 28/03/2017 20:11:57    1972501

Replying To yew_tree:  "Hey in fairness it's s but easier for Kerry fans to take defeat in their stride with all ye have won and will win in the future. Ever try putting yourself in a Mayo fans shoes?"
I absolutely have, but the last thing you boys want is pity I'd imagine.
I would love to see you get over the line but the conduct before and after the 2014 semi final was a disgrace.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 28/03/2017 20:18:57    1972507

Disgusting tweet and to me it is a threat and the gaa should act as well.as gardai

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 28/03/2017 20:26:27    1972514