NHL Quarter Finals

Replying To slayer:  "I'm disappointed we are playing Cork.

It's always great to play the Rebels but we have met twice this year in the Munster League. All we did between both games was close the gap of defeat. If we lose to Cork we learn very little. So we really have to win. If we had drawn Tipp or Kilkenny for example, win or lose we'd know where we are. I expect Cork to edge it in this 1/4 final, probably by a point or two. Kingston is making some progress as their Manager."
in fairness, it couldnt get any worse for cork than last year

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2479 - 29/03/2017 12:14:04    1972708

Replying To tiobraid:  "Waterford usually beat Galway though...no? Tough game to call tho"
id agree with that but i know some lads will have their feathers ruffled by that..based on both counties campaign to date its set up for a cracker...long long way to go for championship hurling yet for us, im sure derek would like another hard game in a S/F rather than challenge matches if we were to loose sunday.

juniorjudge (Waterford) - Posts: 383 - 29/03/2017 12:37:08    1972720

What a farce the league set up is.How can anyone stand over a competition that allows a team lose 4 from 5 in what is effectively Division 2 but still qualify for a quarter final? Against the best team in the country?

Condorman (Dublin) - Posts: 983 - 29/03/2017 19:57:06    1972907

Replying To Condorman:  "What a farce the league set up is.How can anyone stand over a competition that allows a team lose 4 from 5 in what is effectively Division 2 but still qualify for a quarter final? Against the best team in the country?"
Or have a league where the team who finishes bottom of the league in division 1 might not be relegated!

mike03 (Limerick) - Posts: 2000 - 29/03/2017 20:17:13    1972915

Replying To mike03:  "Or have a league where the team who finishes bottom of the league in division 1 might not be relegated!"
Indeed.That happened last year when Cork stayed up despite amassing the grand total of zero points.

Condorman (Dublin) - Posts: 983 - 30/03/2017 13:36:24    1973143

So lads, where were all your delegates when this "farce" was set up?
Wexford vehemently opposed the re-structuring of the league, I am sure it was OK to put the 4th team in 1B into a quarter final because YOUR counties were in 1A at the time? Ah a little bit of lip service, shhhh now team in 1B, or those like Wexford who were absolutely shafted, we'll give you a token quarter final to shut you up.....

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 30/03/2017 16:44:41    1973231

League is great as it is. Slight tweak to knock out stage. Top two in 1A Tipp and Cork straight to semi final. Waterford and Kilkenny play the top two in 1B so 3rd in 1A plays 2nd in 1B and 4th in 1A plays 2nd in 1B Waterford v Galway and Kilkenny v Weford. would make it more competitive.

therealtmo (Tipperary) - Posts: 1292 - 30/03/2017 19:55:13    1973310

Replying To therealtmo:  "League is great as it is. Slight tweak to knock out stage. Top two in 1A Tipp and Cork straight to semi final. Waterford and Kilkenny play the top two in 1B so 3rd in 1A plays 2nd in 1B and 4th in 1A plays 2nd in 1B Waterford v Galway and Kilkenny v Weford. would make it more competitive."
+1. Simple as. Can be done for next years league as has no impact on the league structures.

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 31/03/2017 14:08:23    1973551

The 6 team league structure works in the league games. The quarter finals should be scrapped, and replaced with a final between the winners of the A andB sections. Offaly archived their objective last Sunday in retaining their 1B place.
Playing Tipperary in a quarter final next Sunday, will only result in a win for Tipperary. Regardless of who finished in fourth place, the result would be the same.
Hopefully the GAA authorities will change the current league structure for future seasons.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1741 - 31/03/2017 15:25:10    1973597

Replying To slayer:  "I'm disappointed we are playing Cork.

It's always great to play the Rebels but we have met twice this year in the Munster League. All we did between both games was close the gap of defeat. If we lose to Cork we learn very little. So we really have to win. If we had drawn Tipp or Kilkenny for example, win or lose we'd know where we are. I expect Cork to edge it in this 1/4 final, probably by a point or two. Kingston is making some progress as their Manager."
I'm actually glad we are meeting Limerick despite our recent games results. The Munster League is like having your Christmas pudding too soon after your Christmas dinner! Too early in the year to be analysing anything when your playing on bog turf. Limerick are the team you want to play when it's at knockout stage. Cork v Limerick is a 50-50 game, nothing more nothing less. It was nice to take some prominent scalps in this League but nobody in Cork is losing the run of themselves.....our manager Kieran Kingston has been preaching this consistently. We haven't forgotten where we were this time last year. I expect a very physical competitive game from Limerick. This game shoul show us both where we really are pre-championship.

eaglehaslanded (Cork) - Posts: 135 - 01/04/2017 09:53:42    1973760

"besides waterford v galway the other three are straight forward" - ya right!!!! g'wan the yella bellies

juniorjudge (Waterford) - Posts: 383 - 02/04/2017 17:42:19    1974220

Congrats to Wexford a massive result that any county would love to get, a win in the Nowlan park. Great win for Limerick to.

therealtmo (Tipperary) - Posts: 1292 - 02/04/2017 18:08:54    1974249

Well done to all the winners especially Wexford.
First win in Nowlan since 56 for them!
Great stuff.

Condorman (Dublin) - Posts: 983 - 02/04/2017 19:32:00    1974336

Fair play to Davy he knows how to get the best from teams , love to see Wexford doing well . Tipp were far to strong for Offaly but in fairness to Offaly they never gave up and battled to the end scoring 3 goals. The Tipp full forward was very good I think he's a new lad this year lol 2-11 for Seamus great scoring again what a player. Leinster will be very competitive this year , Wexford/ Galway/ and to a lesser degree Dublin can all cause trouble for Kilkenny this year

ke40 (Kildare) - Posts: 209 - 02/04/2017 20:38:04    1974398

Replying To thelongridge:  "The 6 team league structure works in the league games. The quarter finals should be scrapped, and replaced with a final between the winners of the A andB sections. Offaly archived their objective last Sunday in retaining their 1B place.
Playing Tipperary in a quarter final next Sunday, will only result in a win for Tipperary. Regardless of who finished in fourth place, the result would be the same.
Hopefully the GAA authorities will change the current league structure for future seasons."
Or just have a final between the top two in Div1A and leave it at that.

crikey (Australia) - Posts: 355 - 03/04/2017 08:54:32    1974574