An Tearmainn club notes

June 21, 2017

THANKS

We would like to thank Eddie Gallagher for refinishing the kitchen cupboard doors in the clubhouse, great job, very professionally completed, thanks Eddie from all who use the kitchen!

SENIOR & RESERVE MEN

We welcome Ardara to the Burn Road this Sunday, reserves at 1.30 and seniors at 3pm.  

SCRATCH CARD COMPETITION

Many thanks to all who supported our scratch card competition.  The time of the first goal in the Ulster Semi-final was at 37.59, so if you hold the scratch card with that time on it, please phone the number on the reverse of the card to claim your €500.

Just a week to go until the 5k next Tuesday 27th June at 7.30 pm at An Craoibhín.  We are working hard to make this club-wide event an enjoyable event for all our club members and their families, from u6/8 to the senior ladies and men.  There will be tea afterwards and distribution of prizes in An Craoibín.  So, here's hoping for a dry evening and good times! Runners will be chipped, and this 5k is part of the AI Registered Donegal Grand Prix series.

LOTTO

Last week's draw was held in the Glenveagh Inn.  Numbers drawn were 3, 8, 22 and 24 .  Match 3 winner was Marian McFadden c/o Bingo, and the Open Draw winners were Evan Coleman and Bridget mcGeever c/o Bingo. Next week's draw takes place in The Lagoon with and Kevin McElwaine co-ordinating and a jackpot of €1,400.   

BINGO 

Bingo at 9pm on Friday night at An Craoibhín.  €2,600 in prizes and a jackpot of €2,000 as well on the night.  Books ONLY €10 single and €15 double.

TOPAZ CASH FOR CLUBS PROMOTION

Don't forget to swipe your Topaz Play or Park card when buying €30 diesel or petrol at Kelly's Centra, Mountain Top.  If you are not registered, just fill in the form at your local Centra store and nominate Termon GAA Club for your points.  The promotion runs until August 13th. 

MINOR BOARD in ASSOCIATION WITH KELLY'S CENTRA, MOUNTAIN TOP

We are delighted to announce that Mairtin and Angela Kelly of Kellys Centra, The Mountain Top, Letterkenny have agreed to extend their sponsorship agreement with our Minor Board for another 2 years. This agreement has been of huge benefit to both parties with our club and parents not having to carry all the costs in purchasing coaching equipment, footballs, goalposts and playing gear for our underage teams over the past 3 years. As of this week we now have Kellys Centra jerseys for our U12, U13, U14 and U16 boys' teams. On top of this, Mairtin and Angela sponsored both our boys and girls Féile teams in 2016.  We want to thank Mairtin and Angela for their continued support and the confidence they have shown in our administrators and coaches allowing them to focus on the on field work. Please continue to support our sponsors

Our U6s and U8s have a break from coaching this weekend. Hopefully the parents will enjoy their Saturday morning lie in. 

U10 Boys Blitz @ Burn Road Friday at 6:30 v Lk Gaels, Fanad Gaels & Glenswilly. Bring gumshield, gloves & suitable gear. Please text Jim 0878537291 or Liam 0868117900 at earliest or before Thursday 9.00pm if able / not available to play. Text required to plan for numbers playing 

Well done to our U14 boys who won an enthralling NRB Div 2 play off saga in Cloughaneely by the minimum on Monday evening. Mark Toye, Kevin Mc Gettigan and Manus O'Connell led from the front when the chips were down and it was two late scores from Kevin and Manus that secured the dramatic late win. Well done boys. 

Our U16s take to the Burn Road tomorrow eve (Wed) with a 6.30pm throw in time for their play off game vs Convoy. The boys will get their first run out in their new Kellys Centra sponsored jerseys, good luck boys. 

Congrats to Kilmacrennan NS who beat Naomh Padraig, Muff in Roinn 2 Cumann na mBunscoil Co Final-played in Glenswilly on 14.06.17. It was a close first half with Kilmacrennan ahead by two points at half time. Kilmacrennan used the wind advantage to good effect in the second half, played good, intelligent football to record a good win over a competitive Muff side.  Congrats to Master Gallagher and his team. Panel- Patrick McDaid, captain, Ciaran Mc Cormick, Kevin Mallon, Rory Mc Grenra, Aaron Mc Geough, Ronan Mc Ginley, Eoghan Quinn, Stephen Lee Doherty, Oisin Kelly, Cian Page, Thomas Cannon, Darragh Murray, Eoghan Mc Elwaine, Jack O'Neill, John James Sweeney. Well done to all.   

Northern Board U 12 League Quarter Final - Glenfin 5.10  Termon 4.11 (after extra time).(Thanks to Kevin and Maeve for their contributions)

Termon bowed out of the U 12 League at the knock out stages in a wet and blustery Pairc Taobhoige on Wednesday last. The teams were well matched and it was end to end play with plenty of scores and excellent passages of play. Termon were first out of the blocks with a point from Cian McMenamin after a great pass from Jack O Neill. Glenfin replied with a point of their own. Termon then went on a scoring spree with a very well taken goal from Cormac Brady and points from, Gary Mc Gettigan, Patrick Fegan, Caolan Curran and Oran Gallagher. Glenfin scored 3 points from frees and then despite the best efforts of Eoghan McElwaine in the Termon goal they hit the net to level the game. Termon replied with a further 1.1 from Patrick Fegan and a point Gary Mc Gettigan. Termon, wind assisted lead at half time by 2.7 to Glenfin 1.4.
Termon continued where they left off in the first half and Ciaran Cassidy was first to score with a point on the resumption of play. Glenfin kept in touch with 2 points from frees. The referee was keeping a tight control of the game and was punishing Termon for some tackling he considered excessive. Glenfin continued to run through the middle and scored 2 more goals before Termon responded with 2 goals from Gary Mc Gettigan and Ciaran Cassidy.  Eoghan McElwaine was excellent in the Termon goals bringing off several great saves and kept Termon in the game. Termon backs were under some pressure coming up to the end of normal time but Gareth Gallagher and Emmet Mc Gettigan persevered and kept their lines clear. John James Sweeney caught a great ball on the goal line which had come in from another Glenfin free and cleared up the field. Glenfin then took the lead before Gary Mc Gettigan levelled the game after receiving a pass from Cian McMenamin. Score at the end of normal time was Termon 4.11 Glenfin 5.8.
Extra time consisted of 5 minutes a side, the rain was starting to fall quite heavily at this stage and the light was fading, legs were getting tired and tempers getting short! The first half of extra time saw no score at all but Glenfin converted 2 frees in the 2nd half which saw them over the line and through to the semi final of the competition. Termon lost nothing in defeat and can be very proud of their display of fine football and great team work.

In the second game Termon overcame Glenfin on a score line of 3-8 to  2-9.

The game was played on an immaculate playing surface at Glenfin in windy conditions. A very determined Termon Team overcame a good Glenfin side by four points. There was great defensive display from Ronan Burke, Eamonn Diver, Mattie Trearty and Eoin Gallagher. Our Midfield took control in the first half with Rian Nibbs and Cian Gallagher prominent. Cody Gorman scored an excellent free that he won himself from way out on the left. Termon went in a half time 8 points ahead but were to play against the strong breeze in the second half. Glenfin were much stronger in the second but with Charlie George sending in some excellent passes to Conal McGettigan, Mark Bradley and Oisin McGroarty which resulted in scores Termon held on for the victory. This team has progressed brilliantly this year due to their high attendance and good attitude at training and also practicing at home.

Training will continue Monday and Wednesdays as normal, and a text will be sent out confirming same. We are planning some matches in the next few weeks and hopefully a blitz or 2 as well.

Congrats to Kilmacrennan NS who beat Naomh Padraig, Muff in Roinn 2 Cumann na mBunscol Co Final-played in Glenswilly on 14.06.17. It was a close first half with Kilmacrennan ahead by two points at half time. Kilmacrennan used the wind advantage to good effect in the second half, played good, intelligent football to record a good win over a competitive Muff side.  Congrats to Master Gallagher and his team. Panel- Patrick McDaid, captain, Ciaran Mc Cormick, Kevin Mallon, Rory McGrenra, Aaron Mc Geough, Ronan McGinley, Eoghain Quinn, Stephen Lee Doherty, Oisin Kelly, Cian Page, Thomas Cannon, Caolan Curran. Darragh Murray, Eoghain McElwaine, Jack O Neill, John James Sweeney. Well done to all.

We would also like to pass on out congratulations to the Master Gillespie and the Termon NS team who won the Letterkenny & District schools title for the 1st time on Monday 19.06.17. They defeated our neighbours Glenswilly in extra time after a very entertaining and skilful match. The same team are taking part in the Cuman na mBunscoil county final this coming Thursday.  All the best lads. It is great to see these schools do so well and the talent coming through augers well for the club. 

Most Read Stories