Meath v Fermanagh

Replying To ziggy32001:  "looked at biggy for about 2 mins off the ball,not sure if he was carrying an injury or not,but he looked tired. he wasn't working as hard as the rest of the team that is for sure.
he has played a lot of football lately though,so perhaps he simply wasn't able to out in the effort the other lads were putting in."
Reilly is a valuable member of this team .no question. Like everyone else he has to work on his game,and his weakness has always been tackling and standing off when not in possesion. That did not start yesterday. Yes he had a busy period especially with the club. I find it hard to accept it is physical tireness more than any other player. I wonder how HE feels about captaincy at this point .Would he prefer to be relieved of that added responsibility so that he can concentrate on his own game ????? Just a thought !! Captaincy is not for some people.
How many times yesterday did we see players running up blind alleyways because of poor support play etc.?? This adds to frustration for players. Many times in the past Graham has been a victim of his own success in this regard. At other times a major culprit by standing back while a player is on a run....Anyway, no doubt this is work in progress with Andy. We need all players including Reilly at full throttle for the road ahead.

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1224 - 27/03/2017 11:53:42    1971719

Well Royaldunne you were correct in saying we should be aiming for promotion! If we played Kildare at home again I think we would beat them! We blew it this year altogether! The 2 away games were there for the taking !! This manager is excellent and he will take us forward where ever that may be !

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 27/03/2017 11:55:33    1971720

Replying To redser123:  "by rule the ref has every right to play on if its not a head injury"
Not like a ref to play by rule when it comes to Meath...

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 27/03/2017 12:18:20    1971730

Replying To ziggy32001:  "looked at biggy for about 2 mins off the ball,not sure if he was carrying an injury or not,but he looked tired. he wasn't working as hard as the rest of the team that is for sure.
he has played a lot of football lately though,so perhaps he simply wasn't able to out in the effort the other lads were putting in."
Give the lad a break, he is one of our best footballers and has been flat out all year, not to mention playing with and helping to get the 'Cilles to the final in Croke Park, the lad is entitled to be abit tired come this time of the year. Fair play to him for keeping up the pace he has been keeping and i was delighted to see that McEntee took him off when he did. To say he wasnt working as hard as the rest of the team isnt exactly fair, he just looked fatigued in saying that he did set up some nice scores for us as well you know, tired or not.

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 27/03/2017 12:26:54    1971732

Replying To Loyalroyal17:  "Give the lad a break, he is one of our best footballers and has been flat out all year, not to mention playing with and helping to get the 'Cilles to the final in Croke Park, the lad is entitled to be abit tired come this time of the year. Fair play to him for keeping up the pace he has been keeping and i was delighted to see that McEntee took him off when he did. To say he wasnt working as hard as the rest of the team isnt exactly fair, he just looked fatigued in saying that he did set up some nice scores for us as well you know, tired or not."
didn't i mention that in my comments?...

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 27/03/2017 12:56:53    1971763

Replying To Loyalroyal17:  "Give the lad a break, he is one of our best footballers and has been flat out all year, not to mention playing with and helping to get the 'Cilles to the final in Croke Park, the lad is entitled to be abit tired come this time of the year. Fair play to him for keeping up the pace he has been keeping and i was delighted to see that McEntee took him off when he did. To say he wasnt working as hard as the rest of the team isnt exactly fair, he just looked fatigued in saying that he did set up some nice scores for us as well you know, tired or not."
I have been critical of Biggy attitude before but in fairness to him yesterday he did look tired. I taught he should have been taken off about ten minutes before actually was taken on. We where 10 points up get game time in to Joey Wallace and others its more important.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 27/03/2017 13:05:04    1971770

i hope everyone is taking that result with a pinch of salt, we played well for the full 70 but i felt we still could have pushed on more. surprised how bad fermanagh were considering i think they wither beat or put it up to clare last week (not 100% sure) clare you would imagine in clare will be a fair tougher test but signs that we are starting to go in the right direction towards what you would imagine will be a championship meeting with louth in june

srgt_slaughter (Meath) - Posts: 462 - 27/03/2017 14:37:22    1971825

Replying To srgt_slaughter:  "i hope everyone is taking that result with a pinch of salt, we played well for the full 70 but i felt we still could have pushed on more. surprised how bad fermanagh were considering i think they wither beat or put it up to clare last week (not 100% sure) clare you would imagine in clare will be a fair tougher test but signs that we are starting to go in the right direction towards what you would imagine will be a championship meeting with louth in june"
Yes agreed yesterday was not a real measurement. No doubt Andy will keep the pressure on, Excuses will need to be good. Injury being the only valid one i can think of. I dont expect him to continue to go public with some issues. He has made his point,and more power to him. I see him putting a lot of time on one to ones from here. With his approach we will get lift off .

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1224 - 27/03/2017 15:00:57    1971843

Replying To srgt_slaughter:  "i hope everyone is taking that result with a pinch of salt, we played well for the full 70 but i felt we still could have pushed on more. surprised how bad fermanagh were considering i think they wither beat or put it up to clare last week (not 100% sure) clare you would imagine in clare will be a fair tougher test but signs that we are starting to go in the right direction towards what you would imagine will be a championship meeting with louth in june"
Fermanagh where the poorest team we faced this year to doubt But over all I was happy with our work rate scoring passing. I taught we went about our business well especially after losing Harnan and forde so early.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 27/03/2017 15:08:35    1971852

Anyone know why Haran got the black card ? I know he was fouled himself and never got a free, and then said something to the ref was it for talking back to the ref ? I missed it.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 27/03/2017 15:10:47    1971853

Wish we'd just accept that we might have been too good on the day for our opponents, but the narrative seems to be that every point we've garnered this year is because the opposition were poor.

GlasgowRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 293 - 27/03/2017 16:02:55    1971881

Impressed with attitude and tackling. We seem to be better now than at the start of the league. If we got Kildare now I feel we would beat them.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1351 - 27/03/2017 16:47:24    1971909

Replying To bobkarlgees:  "Fermanagh where the poorest team we faced this year to doubt But over all I was happy with our work rate scoring passing. I taught we went about our business well especially after losing Harnan and forde so early."
not saying we didnt go about our business well but there was times in the 2nd half we could have got more goals and really go for the kill. just in my opinion could have been more ruthless in front of goal but overall happy with the performace

srgt_slaughter (Meath) - Posts: 462 - 27/03/2017 16:51:37    1971911

Replying To GlasgowRoyal:  "Wish we'd just accept that we might have been too good on the day for our opponents, but the narrative seems to be that every point we've garnered this year is because the opposition were poor."
Meath were very impressive yesterday saying that from someone who's been unimpressed with them so far.
If you play a poor team and hammer them you cant have complaints. If they were poor but we still struggled then you can be legitimately annoyed.
I like how they learned the lessons on Pairc Ui Rinn and didnt let playing against a first half wind give the other team a run on us.

RoyalBadger (Meath) - Posts: 571 - 27/03/2017 16:54:41    1971914

Replying To bobkarlgees:  "Anyone know why Haran got the black card ? I know he was fouled himself and never got a free, and then said something to the ref was it for talking back to the ref ? I missed it."
He wasn't fouled and then as his man went for the ball he pulled him back. Possibility slightly harsh but not as bad as their black

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1458 - 27/03/2017 18:08:54    1971952

His attitude may be questionable on occasions but If I was an opposition defender I am fairly sure I would prefer to mark a forward who is constantly passing it sideways or backwards rather than one who drives at the goals. He scores points in every game that other players won't even take on. Lenihan, o sullivan and reilly are a threat to any defence and should be encouraged to take on defenders. on another topic, it seems to be considered disloyal to hold this manager to account but surely the shocking route 1football employed in the down match (with no plan B) will probably play a large part in us not getting promoted and I'm a loyal meath follower with no agenda!!

Footnote (Meath) - Posts: 66 - 27/03/2017 18:19:03    1971955

Replying To GlasgowRoyal:  "Wish we'd just accept that we might have been too good on the day for our opponents, but the narrative seems to be that every point we've garnered this year is because the opposition were poor."
fermanagh made a lot of mistakes and struggled with our intensity. the way we applied ourselves was the reason for a lot of their mistakes.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 27/03/2017 18:48:05    1971969

Replying To Footnote:  "His attitude may be questionable on occasions but If I was an opposition defender I am fairly sure I would prefer to mark a forward who is constantly passing it sideways or backwards rather than one who drives at the goals. He scores points in every game that other players won't even take on. Lenihan, o sullivan and reilly are a threat to any defence and should be encouraged to take on defenders. on another topic, it seems to be considered disloyal to hold this manager to account but surely the shocking route 1football employed in the down match (with no plan B) will probably play a large part in us not getting promoted and I'm a loyal meath follower with no agenda!!"
agreed,reilly is a superb player not many would argue with that..

you would have to say though,that we have seen more improvements overall than we have seen for some time.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 27/03/2017 18:49:49    1971971

Replying To bdbuddah:  "Impressed with attitude and tackling. We seem to be better now than at the start of the league. If we got Kildare now I feel we would beat them."
we will get them in leinster :)

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 27/03/2017 18:50:17    1971972

Replying To Footnote:  "His attitude may be questionable on occasions but If I was an opposition defender I am fairly sure I would prefer to mark a forward who is constantly passing it sideways or backwards rather than one who drives at the goals. He scores points in every game that other players won't even take on. Lenihan, o sullivan and reilly are a threat to any defence and should be encouraged to take on defenders. on another topic, it seems to be considered disloyal to hold this manager to account but surely the shocking route 1football employed in the down match (with no plan B) will probably play a large part in us not getting promoted and I'm a loyal meath follower with no agenda!!"
That's a fair point about the Down game. I am sure Andy McEntee himself would admit that it was not his finest hour.
Don't forget though that many supporters both on here, and especially at games, have been giving out about Meath trying to play the modern possession based football, and have been urging the team to go back to the traditional Meath way of playing football, by driving the ball in long to the full-forward line. If nothing else, then at least the Down game exposed what a primitive tactic that is, and how it just doesn't work, even against a very average team like Down.

anfearbeag (Meath) - Posts: 1134 - 27/03/2017 19:13:42    1971983