The O'Byrne Cup

Replying To numberedjerseys:  "Worst display since Louth relegated is in navan under Banty
Worse display especially when considering the opposition"
Ahh come off it, were u in Derry last June, were you at the Leinster semi final last year were you at previous one. Dear Christ

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 23/01/2017 17:11:58    1948169

Replying To ziggy32001:  "Has nobody considered the possibility that Meath trained alot and hard in the leadup to the game? That they may be preparing for the league opener and the fact that we had a game v Louth in the OBC wasn't going to make a difference in those preparations?"
That would mean lads using common sense Ziggy. And that seems in short supply :)

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 23/01/2017 17:23:30    1948173

Replying To BarneysTie:  "Ah come on now Ziggy - you're around long enough to know that common sense or rational thinking has no place on this forum!"
Athboy Celt Yes indeed that 10 mins was a bit of a puzzle...Andy in fairness admits to being puzzled also ,and seems to think attitude?? Well that is a start he accepts we may be mentally weak. Interesting to see what can be done in the short term. As i have been saying here without addressing that we will not move forward. I assume he will dig deeper to try to find the players who can respond to mental preparation,as well as possesing the basic football skills. He is closer to the players to know. I still dont understand how he would change from a readymade leader/captain in Donal.However, Andy he is the boss!

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1224 - 23/01/2017 17:24:53    1948174

Replying To royaldunne:  "Ahh come off it, were u in Derry last June, were you at the Leinster semi final last year were you at previous one. Dear Christ"
I quanitified it saying Consider the opposition Div 4 side in 2016 ... Meath in big trouble

numberedjerseys (USA) - Posts: 348 - 23/01/2017 18:03:53    1948179

In regards the inside forwards I agree with everyone on this.We seem to have decent options in the half forward line.McMahon has the potential but needs to be braver on the ball.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 23/01/2017 18:19:00    1948181

Replying To BarneysTie:  "Ah come on now Ziggy - you're around long enough to know that common sense or rational thinking has no place on this forum!"
Just an observation haha

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 23/01/2017 18:19:34    1948182

Replying To RoyalClass:  "Bryan McMahon has pace to burn alright and he's not a bad forward given space like he was against Westmeath in that Leinster semi final but he still hasn't established himself as one of our main scorers on the Meath team. He's been around for about 2 years now so it's not like he's brand new to the setup.

The last decent set of forwards we've had bar Stephen Bray were Brian Farrell, Joe Sheridan and Cian Ward. They would get you scores and were good for Meath without being spectacular. I don't think any of the forwards we have are even at their level and remember Ward, Sheridan and Farrell carried the burden of abuse from Meath supporters for years for not being "at the required level" particularly on here.

Maybe you might say I'm a pessimist but realistically I don't see any match winners in that Meath squad. I hope I'm proved wrong though."
How right you are. If we had a Joe Sheridan, or Cian Ward now they would be our star men and maybe a bit more appreciated. Farrel was good but not in the same league as the 2 above

Analyst (Meath) - Posts: 1467 - 23/01/2017 19:17:24    1948201

I think some people need to hold their tongues until 2 weeks time.

Fact of the matter is: Meath cannot afford to lose to Kildare.

We are either good enough to beat Kildare or we aren't at the level required for Div.2

Simple as.

Royalio11 (Meath) - Posts: 757 - 23/01/2017 20:40:19    1948222

Replying To ziggy32001:  "Has nobody considered the possibility that Meath trained alot and hard in the leadup to the game? That they may be preparing for the league opener and the fact that we had a game v Louth in the OBC wasn't going to make a difference in those preparations?"
Would not read too much into result. The fact that panel had a hard weeks training and played two games in 24 hours shows the importance management placed on winning OB cup. Hopefully what happened yesterday will be put behind us over next few weeks.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2143 - 23/01/2017 20:53:37    1948232

Replying To nobull456:  "Athboy Celt Yes indeed that 10 mins was a bit of a puzzle...Andy in fairness admits to being puzzled also ,and seems to think attitude?? Well that is a start he accepts we may be mentally weak. Interesting to see what can be done in the short term. As i have been saying here without addressing that we will not move forward. I assume he will dig deeper to try to find the players who can respond to mental preparation,as well as possesing the basic football skills. He is closer to the players to know. I still dont understand how he would change from a readymade leader/captain in Donal.However, Andy he is the boss!"
Donal is a fantastic player, but should never have been captain, it didn't sit well with him, let him concentrate on his playing without the hassle, got Lot of criticism for not knowing wmeath had never beat Meath in champ, which should have been known b every player especially capt, just not cut out for everything that been Meath captain comes with. Graham better equipped to deal with media and get Andy message on field. And leave donal to do what he does best, be a fantastic defender

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 24/01/2017 08:02:39    1948299

Replying To royaldunne:  "Donal is a fantastic player, but should never have been captain, it didn't sit well with him, let him concentrate on his playing without the hassle, got Lot of criticism for not knowing wmeath had never beat Meath in champ, which should have been known b every player especially capt, just not cut out for everything that been Meath captain comes with. Graham better equipped to deal with media and get Andy message on field. And leave donal to do what he does best, be a fantastic defender"
the captains role shouldnt concern itself with the media, yes deliver the managers message but shouldnt just be him. we need leaders all over the pitch not just singled to one man. but in saying that a captain should be someone that if your struggling you can look to them for inspiration when the going is tough. i dont think we have that in our current captain. too often in the past he has gone missing in big games when he is needed for both club and county. donal never once let us down. i know he was targeted on sunday but even after that he never showed looking for it after the first 20 mins. would have left it with keoghan as he is our best player

srgt_slaughter (Meath) - Posts: 462 - 24/01/2017 13:15:44    1948390

Replying To royaldunne:  "Donal is a fantastic player, but should never have been captain, it didn't sit well with him, let him concentrate on his playing without the hassle, got Lot of criticism for not knowing wmeath had never beat Meath in champ, which should have been known b every player especially capt, just not cut out for everything that been Meath captain comes with. Graham better equipped to deal with media and get Andy message on field. And leave donal to do what he does best, be a fantastic defender"
Agh now Royal come off it. No need to be slagging Donal off like that. If he's unsuitable for captaincy, then Graham is just as unsuitable. Graham is in my eye better equiped to being captain than Donal. I'm not getting into the whys and wheretofores of it. That's a pretty poor summation of things from a poster in you who's points of view I would 95% agree with.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 24/01/2017 13:48:18    1948404

Keoghan is a legend. Would have walked on to any of boylans teams in the past.

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1790 - 24/01/2017 13:57:19    1948410

Replying To brian:  "Agh now Royal come off it. No need to be slagging Donal off like that. If he's unsuitable for captaincy, then Graham is just as unsuitable. Graham is in my eye better equiped to being captain than Donal. I'm not getting into the whys and wheretofores of it. That's a pretty poor summation of things from a poster in you who's points of view I would 95% agree with."
First off I am certainly not slagging off Donal in the slightest, I am in record saying he is our best overall player, and would walk onto dubs team never mind any other team. However that doesn't make you a good capt , tell me you were not shocked when he replied that he didn't know we never lost to wmeath? Now ok mod should have made him aware , that does not do down his unbelievable talent, or been a true inspiration. Also due to new manager he was never going to remain capt, I always felt boylans way of rotating capts was best way, and next year I would like to see a different name, I think it's a weght off donals shoulders tbh .

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 24/01/2017 14:27:31    1948420

Replying To bert09:  "Keoghan is a legend. Would have walked on to any of boylans teams in the past."
Never said he isn't and never said he wouldn't

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 24/01/2017 14:28:55    1948422

Replying To brian:  "Agh now Royal come off it. No need to be slagging Donal off like that. If he's unsuitable for captaincy, then Graham is just as unsuitable. Graham is in my eye better equiped to being captain than Donal. I'm not getting into the whys and wheretofores of it. That's a pretty poor summation of things from a poster in you who's points of view I would 95% agree with."
Jaysus RD, if you going to start talking captaincy, Reilly should not have been appointed captain - that was clear to all last Sunday.

Keoghan or D Tobin should be the captains - they are the real leaders on the team.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1318 - 24/01/2017 14:47:45    1948431

Replying To Crinigan:  "Jaysus RD, if you going to start talking captaincy, Reilly should not have been appointed captain - that was clear to all last Sunday.

Keoghan or D Tobin should be the captains - they are the real leaders on the team."
Had to be a change due to new manager. I mean what difference did having Donal capt have on the team? Honest question? Two years exit to wm then tyrone despite trying blanket defense exit to dubs then Derry after been 7 up. Now not saying Graham will do any better . what I am saying is the captain role is greatly exaggerated by people, it's main responsibility is to keep players reminded of management instruction and do media. That's it, Joe Cassels was a great capt in 88 but was way behind most players as in been a leader on the field. As I said the captain will make no difference to how a team plays, as Donal has shown over past 2 years. Been outstanding himself but not reflected in players team performance

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 24/01/2017 15:11:46    1948445

I will say again I am in no way slagging off Donal, a fantastic player. But the captain must be able me the manHer feels will best get message across, nothing to do with being best player. Or a leader. Andy is best placed to judge who that person is.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 24/01/2017 15:19:00    1948449

Royaldunne I think the Westmeath air has eventually done a job on you with some of your comments lately .

mmc (Meath) - Posts: 266 - 24/01/2017 15:23:38    1948451

Replying To mmc:  "Royaldunne I think the Westmeath air has eventually done a job on you with some of your comments lately ."
What have I said that is wrong, baring in mind I have stated Donal is our best player and perhaps in top 5 in country. What have I said that is incorrect?

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 24/01/2017 15:50:38    1948463