The O'Byrne Cup

Replying To mmc:  "Royaldunne
As a Meath supporter that grew up following all the players you named I would like to remind you that they all played 30 years ago . This was a time when hitting of the ball was rampant in the Gaa and sadly that Meath team will never get the recognition they deserve as a football team because of this .
As I said above I have no problem with hard hitting no team will win without it but the stupitidy of striking as was yesterday's case has no place in the game ."
Ahh I watched jack Quinn play so I know all about how them teams played. As for not getting recognition? I honestly couldn't give a toss, do you really think any of the lads on 96 team feel guilty looking at their Celtic crosses saying we tore poor Tyrone limb from limb and beat up poor mayo to win it. Bit in the slightest, win at all costs, that was louth attitude yesterday taking out biggy at every opportunity, forde was right to get stuck in so was the other lads.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 23/01/2017 11:05:52    1948014

Whats the story is Biggie injured now

numberedjerseys (USA) - Posts: 348 - 23/01/2017 11:10:39    1948017

Replying To royaldunne:  "The club had no problems with him playing, it wasn't a manament call or even a player call (every player wants to play every game) he had gone to club told them his desire to play as he is captain, and could as easily get injured In training as in plating for Meath. Club had no problems with request, he then went to Andy, Andy then went to ciles to ensure they ok with it, . lots of consultantion . of course hindsight is 2020 vison and probably shouldn't have played with the way he was targeted. But you would hope refs would not allow that , but there you go."
The obc is now over, it has been a good exercise for trying out ne players. I expect to see a clear game plan whether it is executed properly or not is the future problems. Very excited and can't wait for league to start.
Hon the royal

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 23/01/2017 11:19:34    1948023

Heavy weeks training, but attitude is attitude. No excuses from Andy what a refreshing post match comments,
He will put it right.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 23/01/2017 11:40:55    1948032

Replying To numberedjerseys:  "Whats the story is Biggie injured now"
No , few bruises and little stiff, nothing a couple days rest and few paracetamol won't cure. Despite best efforts of a few players. The leg groin pull was most worrying but it was only a knock luckily enough

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 23/01/2017 11:44:42    1948036

Replying To oldsam_newsam:  "Well it shows that Andy is not infallible like everyone else. At the very least Graham should have been replaced at half time. Cillian O'Sullivan should have been brought on much earlier than he was.

regarding hannigan, I though that he did very well on shot stopping duties and quite decent on his deliveries especially seeing as his two midfielders were not playing well."
oldsam-
Did you not think his deliveries were of the high hanging type? so easy for opposition to get a clear punch on.. That said I have to agree with you that you must take into consideration that our midfield were poor on the day.

Greenwood (Meath) - Posts: 210 - 23/01/2017 11:52:36    1948040

With regard to Hannigan, to play devil's advocate here, if he got black carded yesterday for an incident that should never have gotten involved in doesn't that make him a liability? Wasn't that one of the main criticisms of O'Rourke?

GlasgowRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 293 - 23/01/2017 11:57:21    1948044

I think the main concern for me as a supporter looking down the line despite yesterdays result is the lack of killer forwards we have throughout the entire squad Andy is looking at. I'm looking at the likes of McMahon, Lenihan, Newman, Kennelly, Tobin, Ward, Ross and I'm thinking out of all these who is the one who's going to win you games? I'm thinking in regard to a forward getting out in front and winning his own ball, turning his man and popping the ball between the posts from a variety of angles. I'm talking specifically inside forwards here so I'm leaving out Reilly, O'Sullivan, Wallace etc. Stephen Bray was the only man for the last 5 or 6 years who could consistently win a ball inside and look like a threat. When Dublin tied him up in the most recent Leinster final defeat we had no one else capable of looking like a threat inside so that for me said it all.

Am I wrong in saying that we lack top quality inside forwards throughout the entire county? Please don't tell me you think Michael Newman is a top quality inside forward player because he's just not.

RoyalClass (Meath) - Posts: 789 - 23/01/2017 13:17:00    1948066

Replying To GlasgowRoyal:  "With regard to Hannigan, to play devil's advocate here, if he got black carded yesterday for an incident that should never have gotten involved in doesn't that make him a liability? Wasn't that one of the main criticisms of O'Rourke?"
I guess it depends on how often he does it. If he learns his lesson from yesterday and doesn't repeat it again, then no he is not a liability.If he does it repeatedly and refuses to learns from it, then yes he will be as big a liability as Paddy O'Rourke.

anfearbeag (Meath) - Posts: 1134 - 23/01/2017 13:34:58    1948076

Replying To RoyalClass:  "I think the main concern for me as a supporter looking down the line despite yesterdays result is the lack of killer forwards we have throughout the entire squad Andy is looking at. I'm looking at the likes of McMahon, Lenihan, Newman, Kennelly, Tobin, Ward, Ross and I'm thinking out of all these who is the one who's going to win you games? I'm thinking in regard to a forward getting out in front and winning his own ball, turning his man and popping the ball between the posts from a variety of angles. I'm talking specifically inside forwards here so I'm leaving out Reilly, O'Sullivan, Wallace etc. Stephen Bray was the only man for the last 5 or 6 years who could consistently win a ball inside and look like a threat. When Dublin tied him up in the most recent Leinster final defeat we had no one else capable of looking like a threat inside so that for me said it all.

Am I wrong in saying that we lack top quality inside forwards throughout the entire county? Please don't tell me you think Michael Newman is a top quality inside forward player because he's just not."
You are pretty much spot on

Analyst (Meath) - Posts: 1467 - 23/01/2017 13:45:53    1948082

Replying To RoyalClass:  "I think the main concern for me as a supporter looking down the line despite yesterdays result is the lack of killer forwards we have throughout the entire squad Andy is looking at. I'm looking at the likes of McMahon, Lenihan, Newman, Kennelly, Tobin, Ward, Ross and I'm thinking out of all these who is the one who's going to win you games? I'm thinking in regard to a forward getting out in front and winning his own ball, turning his man and popping the ball between the posts from a variety of angles. I'm talking specifically inside forwards here so I'm leaving out Reilly, O'Sullivan, Wallace etc. Stephen Bray was the only man for the last 5 or 6 years who could consistently win a ball inside and look like a threat. When Dublin tied him up in the most recent Leinster final defeat we had no one else capable of looking like a threat inside so that for me said it all.

Am I wrong in saying that we lack top quality inside forwards throughout the entire county? Please don't tell me you think Michael Newman is a top quality inside forward player because he's just not."
Royal class Agreed we simply have no forwards in Stephen Brays class . Stephen was a real forward out in front ...went for open spaces and alwa ys looking for the ball. At present by comparison we just have makey up forwards.......why do they always appear to be marking the defenders rather than the other way round they are being marked by the defender? a big difference because then they can feel they are in charge......part of the mental stuff no doubt . But then again taking yesterday very little direct ball in to forwards because of all the messing outfield. I understand we had a massive amount of training sessions since Oct. I just wonder how much emphasis on this ?? Why are forwards afraid to shootbfrom 40 yards when appropriate. They may kick wide . So what ? They had a go anyway.

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1224 - 23/01/2017 13:57:33    1948088

Replying To Analyst:  "You are pretty much spot on"
well your right there about newman drops the head way to easy to be a quality player, bryan mcmahon has the potential to win is own ball as he has pace to burn, ross isnt going to make it shows no sign of intercounty quality. wallace needs to be in the wing forward of corner forward position to best utilise is pace. still not sold on fiachra ward yet but again ive seen very little of him in the past couple of weeks. tobin was poor yesterday but made an impact in stradbally. but again midfield seems to be our problem, menton is not a midfielder, power is not a midfileder. cian o'brien has the potential but needs experience alongside him to get through games. mcgill looked good when he came on yesterday

srgt_slaughter (Meath) - Posts: 462 - 23/01/2017 14:03:52    1948091

Replying To srgt_slaughter:  "well your right there about newman drops the head way to easy to be a quality player, bryan mcmahon has the potential to win is own ball as he has pace to burn, ross isnt going to make it shows no sign of intercounty quality. wallace needs to be in the wing forward of corner forward position to best utilise is pace. still not sold on fiachra ward yet but again ive seen very little of him in the past couple of weeks. tobin was poor yesterday but made an impact in stradbally. but again midfield seems to be our problem, menton is not a midfielder, power is not a midfileder. cian o'brien has the potential but needs experience alongside him to get through games. mcgill looked good when he came on yesterday"
Bryan McMahon has pace to burn alright and he's not a bad forward given space like he was against Westmeath in that Leinster semi final but he still hasn't established himself as one of our main scorers on the Meath team. He's been around for about 2 years now so it's not like he's brand new to the setup.

The last decent set of forwards we've had bar Stephen Bray were Brian Farrell, Joe Sheridan and Cian Ward. They would get you scores and were good for Meath without being spectacular. I don't think any of the forwards we have are even at their level and remember Ward, Sheridan and Farrell carried the burden of abuse from Meath supporters for years for not being "at the required level" particularly on here.

Maybe you might say I'm a pessimist but realistically I don't see any match winners in that Meath squad. I hope I'm proved wrong though.

RoyalClass (Meath) - Posts: 789 - 23/01/2017 14:23:22    1948099

Look 5,000 people turned up on a cold day to pay a tenner in to watch that drivel yesterday, the very least we would have expected was a bit of fight but all we got was a brief 10 minute surge of pace that had Louth on the rack but unfortunately petered out almost as quickly as it was ignited.

Really poor in the forward line and midfield, the only runners we had in the forwards was Sean Tobin and he lost possession almost every time the ball was delivered to him. Biggy, although targeted was anonymous and quite frankly this happens too often for my liking. We are in for a short summer, and the best I think we can hope for in the league is consolidating in this division because we are simply miles behind most of the top division teams.

AthboyCelt (Meath) - Posts: 147 - 23/01/2017 14:44:02    1948107

Replying To RoyalClass:  "Bryan McMahon has pace to burn alright and he's not a bad forward given space like he was against Westmeath in that Leinster semi final but he still hasn't established himself as one of our main scorers on the Meath team. He's been around for about 2 years now so it's not like he's brand new to the setup.

The last decent set of forwards we've had bar Stephen Bray were Brian Farrell, Joe Sheridan and Cian Ward. They would get you scores and were good for Meath without being spectacular. I don't think any of the forwards we have are even at their level and remember Ward, Sheridan and Farrell carried the burden of abuse from Meath supporters for years for not being "at the required level" particularly on here.

Maybe you might say I'm a pessimist but realistically I don't see any match winners in that Meath squad. I hope I'm proved wrong though."
agree with you with the 4 you named, im just saying bryan is probably the most likely to get a score out of what we have in the inside forward line at the minute, lenihan has the potential but needs to pick the right option at the right time sometimes can be too selfish.

srgt_slaughter (Meath) - Posts: 462 - 23/01/2017 15:12:27    1948115

Worst display since Louth relegated is in navan under Banty
Worse display especially when considering the opposition

numberedjerseys (USA) - Posts: 348 - 23/01/2017 15:35:57    1948129

Has nobody considered the possibility that Meath trained alot and hard in the leadup to the game? That they may be preparing for the league opener and the fact that we had a game v Louth in the OBC wasn't going to make a difference in those preparations?

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 23/01/2017 16:38:36    1948148

Replying To Ketchup:  "Yesterday was a prime example of a team who continually fouled synically. The ref didnt take hold of the proceedings from the outset this had been boiling since the opening exchanges with late fouls. It's a pity we lost the man to a striking action yet it was apparent that he wasn't the only one guilty. I felt for him because he looks to be the real deal if we can keep him on the pitch. This time two weeks this will be forgotten about after we hopefully beat Kildare but major improvement needed."
How many times did Louth drag down a Meathman while running through towards goal? Now I don't blame Louth because you will do what you will get away with.But the ref did not give a single black card for any of these situations.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 23/01/2017 16:45:50    1948153

In regards the inside forwards I agree with everyone on this.We seem to have decent options in the half forward line.McMahon has the potential but needs to be stronger and do more off the ball running,

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 23/01/2017 16:50:51    1948157

Replying To ziggy32001:  "Has nobody considered the possibility that Meath trained alot and hard in the leadup to the game? That they may be preparing for the league opener and the fact that we had a game v Louth in the OBC wasn't going to make a difference in those preparations?"
Ah come on now Ziggy - you're around long enough to know that common sense or rational thinking has no place on this forum!

BarneysTie (Meath) - Posts: 258 - 23/01/2017 16:53:19    1948158