The O'Byrne Cup

Midfield a big worry, option seem limited, fair play to Louth better team today. Early days but a win agaist Kildare a must

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2144 - 22/01/2017 17:42:38    1947768

Very bad performance

I know its only the O'Byrne cup but still..
Very interesting what team will play v Kildare..

Not one good performance from meaths forwards today! Tobin was terrible!! Ross is not up to county football,
I do give Reilly the benefit of the doubt with cilles playing soon..Wallace OK until moved!! Kennelly struggled bigtime..wild attempts for points but has potential.

Other half forward from O'Mahoney's was poor but still Young and still new to county football.. but I do rate him

I like Menton at midfield and think he will only get better throughout the year! Not convinced who will play beside him yet.I said eamon Wallace before for his pace and ball carrying ability ! Don't need giants anymore in modern game !

Out of backs only Keoghan who is guaranteed starter! I like forde as a half back option despite his red card.No one else really stands out for a starting place

Regarding goal keeper still think O'Rourke is our best goalkeeper with the best of rest as option for sub keeper!

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 22/01/2017 17:43:28    1947770

Replying To FoolsGold:  "Kildare nearly at full strength beaten by Dublins 3rd team. Meath beaten well at home. Some gulf from Dublin and the rest in Leinster."
:D its great isn't it

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 22/01/2017 17:47:36    1947773

Replying To RoyalClass:  "Very worrying performance from a Meath perspective. I know it's only January but you'd still be expecting to see a better display than what was on show today.

In fairness to Louth they made life very difficult for us with their high intensive tackling and we didn't do ourselves any favours by continuously carrying the ball into the tackle. I thought in the Wicklow game the movement in the inside forward line was quite poor and today it was more or less non existent. When we had no ball winners inside we resorted to running through Louth which made it easier for them to defend.

Going down to 14 men certainly didn't help and either did the referee who was quite poor in our favour but the overall performance was dogged, disjointed and lacked any fluidity. McEntee has a lot of work to do over the next 2 weeks because based on that performance we'll be lucky to come away with anything against Kildare."
Saw Kildare today against us.

If that Kildare team turn up against Meath and put in that type of performance, then Meath wont have any problems overcoming them, Honest to god!

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 22/01/2017 17:49:27    1947774

I wouldn't read anything into that. Its all about Kildare in 2 weeks. The squad are training very heavily. Losing today gives them the luxury of 2 weeks to prepare for Kildare. If we won and faced Dublin next Sunday the bodies would be very tired coming into the league opener.

Is that match home or away?

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 22/01/2017 18:01:01    1947777

Replying To Jack_Goff:  "I wouldn't read anything into that. Its all about Kildare in 2 weeks. The squad are training very heavily. Losing today gives them the luxury of 2 weeks to prepare for Kildare. If we won and faced Dublin next Sunday the bodies would be very tired coming into the league opener.

Is that match home or away?"
It's in Navan.

oldsam_newsam (Meath) - Posts: 638 - 22/01/2017 18:12:25    1947782

Alan Forde was on his way to a man of the match performance before the sending off. I know it was a lack of discipline on his part but it must be very difficult to watch your teammate be targeted the way Graham Reilly was and not do something about it. All in all Forde went up in mys estimation today. Can you imagine Geraghty, Gerry McEntee, Harnan, Foley, McDermott, Lyons etc standing idly by when Louth continue with theor targeting of Reilly as in previous games. The only pity is that when he did get sent off that he hadnt taken the Louth guy that hit Reilly out.

I would like to see Forde on the half forward line with Reilly and O'Sullivan with Eamonn Wallace & Donal Lenihan on the inside line. O'Coilean a lovely footballer but doesnt seem physically up to the mark at this stage.

oldsam_newsam (Meath) - Posts: 638 - 22/01/2017 18:21:11    1947785

Replying To Jack_Goff:  "I wouldn't read anything into that. Its all about Kildare in 2 weeks. The squad are training very heavily. Losing today gives them the luxury of 2 weeks to prepare for Kildare. If we won and faced Dublin next Sunday the bodies would be very tired coming into the league opener.

Utter nonsense..

Went from leading 0-04 to 0-02 to trailing 0-10 to 0-04

8 point turn around. This coupled with a heavy defeat in the challenge match v donegal

Understood it's January and still pre-season..but I'd like to see the basis of a team for the league opener by way of another fixture.

Not reading too much into results in understand but when there is no game plan and mismanagement it's hard to be positive

Royalio11 (Meath) - Posts: 757 - 22/01/2017 18:29:21    1947788

i would go along with that,i had no interest if we won or lost today..in truth maybe i wanted us to lose today because i want Meath to be fit and ready for the division 2 campaign in two weeks time..we really need to get promoting into division 1 and another game next week me thinks would only take away from it ! so i am happy for now :)

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 876 - 22/01/2017 18:33:00    1947789

Very very worrying performance. I know it's only January but it was the first real competitive game and we were beaten out the gate. There's no sign of a developing style of play. Players looked unfit (no evidence of the much vaunted strength and conditioning coach). The substitutes were bizarre.

If MODs team had of put out a performance like that had the knives would be out. Very worried about the league now when Louth hammer us in Navan.

pauk123 (USA) - Posts: 189 - 22/01/2017 18:39:27    1947792

Utter nonsense..

Went from leading 0-04 to 0-02 to trailing 0-10 to 0-04

8 point turn around. This coupled with a heavy defeat in the challenge match v donegal

Understood it's January and still pre-season..but I'd like to see the basis of a team for the league opener by way of another fixture.

Not reading too much into results in understand but when there is no game plan and mismanagement it's hard to be positive

Royalio11 (Meath) - Posts: 757 - 22/01/2017 18:45:42    1947794

Replying To waynoI:  "Saw Kildare today against us.

If that Kildare team turn up against Meath and put in that type of performance, then Meath wont have any problems overcoming them, Honest to god!"
Well they must have been abysmal because Meath were truly desperate at times today. You could say that the team they had out was very experimental which it was but collectively they lacked quality. Maybe we'll put in a better performance against Kildare but I'm not seeing much so far to indicate we can put in the kind of performances that will get us into division 1. McEntee has no magic wand and there's only so much he can do if he hasn't got the players. Anyway it'd be wiser to reserve judgement on Meath until the first few games of the league.

RoyalClass (Meath) - Posts: 789 - 22/01/2017 19:11:02    1947803

Most of my thoughts have been touched on already. Keogan simply outstanding. Although seeing him in the corner forward position at times was questionable. Presumably a management call and not his though. Forde impressive also until the sending off. Is he suspended for the Kildare game now? Hannigan is very much capable of holding onto the number 1 jersey.

Although playing poorly, I felt we were in control of proceedings up until the red card. Struggled badly thereafter until our bright spell into the second half. Felt at that point we would push on and win but we snatched at chances and were caught out on the break.

Never like to single out lads but there were a few poor performances which were reflected in with the choice of substitutions. He obviously sees Menton and O'Brien as his midfield pairing but they need help big time. Thought Kennelly was impressive around the middle against Laois so I'd give him a try at wing forward along with O'Sullivan.

Probably missed Burke's leadership out there along with Donnacha Tobin. Think Newman should be thrown straight into the mix against Kildare even though he hasn't featured yet. No harm seeing the bit of bite in lads once it's controlled better on the field.

MarkMyWords (Meath) - Posts: 498 - 22/01/2017 19:21:18    1947810

Replying To oldsam_newsam:  "Alan Forde was on his way to a man of the match performance before the sending off. I know it was a lack of discipline on his part but it must be very difficult to watch your teammate be targeted the way Graham Reilly was and not do something about it. All in all Forde went up in mys estimation today. Can you imagine Geraghty, Gerry McEntee, Harnan, Foley, McDermott, Lyons etc standing idly by when Louth continue with theor targeting of Reilly as in previous games. The only pity is that when he did get sent off that he hadnt taken the Louth guy that hit Reilly out.

I would like to see Forde on the half forward line with Reilly and O'Sullivan with Eamonn Wallace & Donal Lenihan on the inside line. O'Coilean a lovely footballer but doesnt seem physically up to the mark at this stage."
I'd agree with all those sentiment

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 22/01/2017 19:27:57    1947816

Look I know its only O'Byrne cup its only January and with no disrespect to Louth but Jaysus that was woeful lads we have serious problems no chance in the league hate to say it will do well to stay up miles off the top 8,10 or 12 let's be realistic I'm off for positivity but we're nowhere near it

runnerin (Meath) - Posts: 202 - 22/01/2017 19:35:26    1947819

Look I know its only O'Byrne cup its only January and with no disrespect to Louth but Jaysus that was woeful lads we have serious problems no chance in the league hate to say it will do well to stay up miles off the top 8,10 or 12 let's be realistic I'm off for positivity but we're nowhere near the top table

runnerin (Meath) - Posts: 202 - 22/01/2017 19:36:05    1947820

Don't see the big hullabaloo over today , it was a experiment team for most part, O'Sullivan McMahon lenehan only coming on as subs in second half. If I had concerns they would be of midfield particularly O'Brien also Tobin just isn't going to work out, I'd also have worries regarding Wallace, now I'll give him a pass as he has missed some training with Andy. All in all the obc was a good success in trying out different players, can't wait til Kildare game and the start of a great league. One final thing the treatment and targettin of Graham today was disgraceful

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 22/01/2017 19:38:30    1947823

Thought hannigan getting the black card was ridiculous, the ball was up the pitch and he just decided to trip a Louth player. Also got sent off against Simonstown in the Feis Cup for a "tackle" when the ball wasn't near his goals. I wasn't at the game when Burlingham played but heard he was good. What's the story with POR? seen a picture of him training but hasn't made any appearances?

Barney123 (Meath) - Posts: 676 - 22/01/2017 19:38:49    1947824

Kildare 2 weeks time is the big prize. Disappointed with the sending off and black card to O coileain but maybe these set backs now can identify problems. Wouldn't look too much into today tho if we'd had 15 I reckon we'd have won comfortable. Hannigan was impressive. It'll be a different Meath team two weeks time mentally I've no doubt about that. Is Forde out of the Kildare game now?

Ketchup (Meath) - Posts: 22 - 22/01/2017 19:40:40    1947826

Maybe preparing two teams for games within 24 hours was over optimistic and stretching resources a bit too much.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2144 - 22/01/2017 19:40:56    1947827