David Toner, Conor McGill, Mickey Burke
Alan Douglas, William Carry, P Brady?
Toher and Flanagan
Lowndes, Bobby O'Brien, David Larkin
Dan Queeney, Brian Sheridan and Lenihan

Barney123 (Meath) - Posts: 676 - 22/01/2017 00:15:42    1947646

Replying To ziggy32001:  "Who played for Meath?"
Robbie Burlington, David Toner, Conor McGill, Mickey Burke; Alan Douglas, William Carry, P Brady; J Toher, A Flanagan; S Lownes, Bobby O'Brien, David Larkin; Daniel Queeney , Brian Sheridan, Donal Lenihan

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1458 - 22/01/2017 01:23:56    1947651

Replying To ziggy32001:  "Who played for Meath?"
Ah just seen it above..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 22/01/2017 07:41:52    1947656

Didn't look too different to last year although we did have a strategy for the kick outs. Still early in the year but hoping for a much better performance against Kildare.

Barney123 (Meath) - Posts: 676 - 22/01/2017 16:02:21    1947711

Very quiet on this forum...

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1790 - 22/01/2017 16:09:16    1947714

Well done to Louth, they were comfortablely the better team for most of the match and to be fair we were bloody stone useless. We tried to play a bit of a running game but Louth funnelled back in number and we ran out of ideas more often than not, and when Forde was sent off Louth used the spare man as a sweeper and it made things even tougher for us.

Best part of the whole match was when Leinster final winning hero Joe Sheridan made his way onto the pitch! :-)

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 22/01/2017 16:15:46    1947719

Pretty brutal performance. Biggie was getting mauled. But he never looked to get on the ball. Looked like he was saving himself for the Cilles. For 45 mins Ross and Tobin inside forward line is never gonna work. Lads I said it earlier, Ross can not win his own ball at all. Neither could Tobin. Annoyed Newman wasn't used. This was a different type of loss. Fitness wasn't the problem. Intensity to tackle and once again inability to track runners were huge issues.

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1458 - 22/01/2017 16:21:34    1947722

Couldn't make the game today, sounded like I didn't miss much but I

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 22/01/2017 16:24:59    1947724

Yeah Louth were average and deserved to win.We were very very poor.We seemed to lack energy,nobody was moving off the ball or supporting the man in possession.The full forward line was awful.Where we training on Saturday? The decision to sent Forde off was a terrible one.Louth targeted Reilly and a heavy dangerous challenge lead to handbags in which Forde saw red for pushing a player.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 22/01/2017 16:26:08    1947725

Most listless performance for quite some time. It wasn't until the 50th minute mark that Meath actually showed any real initiative. The sending off didn't help their cause. Biggy coasted through the game only applying himself on occasions. Keoghan the pick of a poor bunch. COS and Downey did well enough when they came on. FF line very poor throughout.

GlasagusOr (Meath) - Posts: 1348 - 22/01/2017 16:26:24    1947726

Just in from Navan. Well if Andy didn't know the scale of the task ahead of him before he certainly does now. While the sending off of Alan Forde was the turning point of the game there was no excusing the poor performances from many of the Meath team.
Here are some of the observations I have from today:

1.Hannigan is a good option for goals,m I thought he was unlucky to get that black and it shouldnt detract from his overall performance.
2. David McQuillan - not good enough for the corner back position at the moment anyway, was turned badly a couple of times.
3. Seamus Lavin ditto,
4. Alan Forde - he was good before the sending off and can do a job in half forward or back lines
5. Conor McGill - not a good option for full back - was poor today.
6. Eamonn Wallace - migh be an option for half forward but certainly not for half back as has been suggested - his tracking back and tacking was poor today.
7. Brian Menton - anonomous in midfield - please let there be some more options found for this position.
8. Sean Tobin - really burns hot and cold and he was cold today. A Meath team wuith a genuine aspiration for promotion to division 1 would hopefully have better / more consistant forwards than him.
9 Graham reilly was targeted again by Louth today and I though he did ok all things considered.
10. Cillian O'Sullivan was our only threat and should be one of the first on the teamsheet.
11. Paddy Kennelly is not a full forward - perhaps an option further back out the field.

oldsam_newsam (Meath) - Posts: 638 - 22/01/2017 16:30:56    1947731

Very disappointed after that performance. I thought we were in better shape than that. Tobin was quite poor, looked off the pace, it just didn't happen for him. Also thought O'Coilean was poor, his marker did a lot of damage going forward. Louth crowded out their full back line which made it very difficult for Ross and Kennelly to get on the ball. Keoghan top class as always. O'Sullivan made a good impact when he came on. Then just when we might of had a glimmer of hope our keeper loses his mind and gives away a ridiculous penalty when there was no need.

Did anyone see what Forde did? I was in the stand and it just looked like handbags but the red ultimately cost us the match in my opinion.

boeder (Meath) - Posts: 59 - 22/01/2017 16:51:20    1947736

Kildare nearly at full strength beaten by Dublins 3rd team. Meath beaten well at home. Some gulf from Dublin and the rest in Leinster.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 22/01/2017 16:55:01    1947740

Replying To boeder:  "Very disappointed after that performance. I thought we were in better shape than that. Tobin was quite poor, looked off the pace, it just didn't happen for him. Also thought O'Coilean was poor, his marker did a lot of damage going forward. Louth crowded out their full back line which made it very difficult for Ross and Kennelly to get on the ball. Keoghan top class as always. O'Sullivan made a good impact when he came on. Then just when we might of had a glimmer of hope our keeper loses his mind and gives away a ridiculous penalty when there was no need.

Did anyone see what Forde did? I was in the stand and it just looked like handbags but the red ultimately cost us the match in my opinion."
He pushed a Louth player who fell to the ground.Hardly a red..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 22/01/2017 16:59:07    1947743

Very worrying performance from a Meath perspective. I know it's only January but you'd still be expecting to see a better display than what was on show today.

In fairness to Louth they made life very difficult for us with their high intensive tackling and we didn't do ourselves any favours by continuously carrying the ball into the tackle. I thought in the Wicklow game the movement in the inside forward line was quite poor and today it was more or less non existent. When we had no ball winners inside we resorted to running through Louth which made it easier for them to defend.

Going down to 14 men certainly didn't help and either did the referee who was quite poor in our favour but the overall performance was dogged, disjointed and lacked any fluidity. McEntee has a lot of work to do over the next 2 weeks because based on that performance we'll be lucky to come away with anything against Kildare.

RoyalClass (Meath) - Posts: 789 - 22/01/2017 17:03:35    1947747

Very bad and anonymous performance from Meath. A performance I have become accustomed to over the last 4-5 years.

Tobin had a howler, not only could he not win his own ball, but lacked pace and let his marker start off plays from the back for Louth. 1 pointed free from 5 deadball attempts is a brutal return.

Ross on the inside was not getting ball but it was obvious how Meath set up he was never going to get ball.

Midfield totally cleaned out hand's down - never won a kick out over 76 odd minutes and Louth caught 4/5 marks. A massive worry as that looks like our starting midfield pairing.

Lavin had a shocker was dispossessed time and time again and lost ball when he had it.

Ford was having a great match - silly red card for thrusting his hand into the louth players face with the linesman watching. Deserved his red.

Hannigan - again, moment of madness to trip the louth forward when not in possession. Deserved his black

I think O Sullivan put real life into Meath in the second half and had a good performance from the bench.

Unfortunate to see Reilly dragged and pulled any time he had the ball. He was targeted from the start.

Keoghan was solid throughout. A great footballer.

Otherwise it was a winable game thrown away through headless decisions.

I really see no change happening with 2 weeks before hosting Kildare! O Byrne Cup or not there are big issues with this squad

Royalio11 (Meath) - Posts: 757 - 22/01/2017 17:17:47    1947754

Also, that Meath team today didn't look like a unit at all. What type of playing system sees players like Keoghan and McGill resorting to going on solo runs from inside their own half? The build up play from the back was side ways and backwards instead of moving the ball quicker into spaces. The game then got bogged down in around the middle third where we tried to pass around Louth. It was frustratingly disjointed and slow.

RoyalClass (Meath) - Posts: 789 - 22/01/2017 17:19:39    1947756

Couldn't make the game today, sounded like I didn't miss much but I

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 22/01/2017 17:29:56    1947760

Replying To Royalio11:  "Very bad and anonymous performance from Meath. A performance I have become accustomed to over the last 4-5 years.

Tobin had a howler, not only could he not win his own ball, but lacked pace and let his marker start off plays from the back for Louth. 1 pointed free from 5 deadball attempts is a brutal return.

Ross on the inside was not getting ball but it was obvious how Meath set up he was never going to get ball.

Midfield totally cleaned out hand's down - never won a kick out over 76 odd minutes and Louth caught 4/5 marks. A massive worry as that looks like our starting midfield pairing.

Lavin had a shocker was dispossessed time and time again and lost ball when he had it.

Ford was having a great match - silly red card for thrusting his hand into the louth players face with the linesman watching. Deserved his red.

Hannigan - again, moment of madness to trip the louth forward when not in possession. Deserved his black

I think O Sullivan put real life into Meath in the second half and had a good performance from the bench.

Unfortunate to see Reilly dragged and pulled any time he had the ball. He was targeted from the start.

Keoghan was solid throughout. A great footballer.

Otherwise it was a winable game thrown away through headless decisions.

I really see no change happening with 2 weeks before hosting Kildare! O Byrne Cup or not there are big issues with this squad"
Hard luck to Meath today. As mentioned here already the red card may have had a significant bearing on the result. I heard on the radio that Forde was a third man interfering in an altercation and that is a red card offence.

ged (Louth) - Posts: 296 - 22/01/2017 17:36:43    1947763

Yes agree Andy has a massive task ahead.....Putting it bluntly he just does not have enough players of inter county standard available to him.... Hannigan looks promising . None of to day's full forwards up to the required standard. end of that story. We seem to not have a freetaker...surely Newman would be worth another shot if available? Midfield a major problem but hold on to Menton because he can be physically imposing, and he may still improve overall. I would give Flanagan every chance to prove himself after his injury. Keoghan....well he is just a gem! Ok it is still building time and far from the finished product. My ratings for to day Hannigan 8 McQuil 5 Keoghan 8 Curran 6 Lavin 5 Power 6 Forde 6 Menton 7 OBrien 6 o Coileann 6 Reilly 6 Wallace 7 Ross 4 Kennelly 4 Tobin 5 Maybe unfair to rate Reilly as he was clearly targeted for special attention, but i would not be a big fan because he goes AWOL when needed badly.........My QUESTION where is the new blood we so badly need to move forward ??? Players like Shane O Rourke where is he? He was ok to play for Leinster when selected . ANYONE KNOW??

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1224 - 22/01/2017 17:38:47    1947765