The O'Byrne Cup

Lets see how the boys handle Louth ion Saturday . As a Meath man it would be prudent to go to this match to and get a real eyeful of competitive football , because Kelly and Nally and Co. won't be treating this as O Byrne Cup .....

Meath_True (Meath) - Posts: 285 - 18/01/2017 15:31:03    1946688

Replying To Meath_True:  "As has become the norm here , if you point out facts , posters turn things into personal attacks which they aren't, When you score in a football match , people don't give a hoot if its from play or placed balls , once you score and win . It's only the nit pickers that mention that fact, and generally that only happens when you lose , its a different level of nit picking when it's after a win . Ross was not contributing enough scores from play according to some posters , The point I was trying to make before Royler tried to turn it into an attack on legends , is that some of those players ( who rightly so , are held in high esteem) didn't score from play in a lot of the matches , but they did score ( Stafford etc.) , they got their chance but it was their overall contribution that was looked at . no slight on them , whatsoever was meant .But you Royaler turned it that way ..... stick to point please ."
Kevin Ross gives it his all that is for sure.Impossible to say whether he will make the final panel or not,but I would trust management to make the correct decision.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 18/01/2017 15:34:14    1946690

Replying To Meath_True:  "As has become the norm here , if you point out facts , posters turn things into personal attacks which they aren't, When you score in a football match , people don't give a hoot if its from play or placed balls , once you score and win . It's only the nit pickers that mention that fact, and generally that only happens when you lose , its a different level of nit picking when it's after a win . Ross was not contributing enough scores from play according to some posters , The point I was trying to make before Royler tried to turn it into an attack on legends , is that some of those players ( who rightly so , are held in high esteem) didn't score from play in a lot of the matches , but they did score ( Stafford etc.) , they got their chance but it was their overall contribution that was looked at . no slight on them , whatsoever was meant .But you Royaler turned it that way ..... stick to point please ."
Meath_True _ I think what you are trying to say is that it was the sum of the scores and the performance from the collective team that was (is) important and not the individual scorers. Or maybe it was stats weren't as important so players played more for the team and less for themselves. Which of the 11 players would get the credit for the passes involved in Kevin Foleys goal V Dublin in 91. Now I was only a child when Meath were winning All Ireland's 87 & 88 (thinking Meath would never be any other way). But I have often think about it since, the All Ireland wining teams under Boylan often had maybe 12 / 13 different clubs represented from senior clubs to junior clubs. Is it possible that maybe even the best 15 individual players in Meath weren't on these teams. But the skill of Boylan was that he was able to mold each of them so that collectively they were fantastic teams. What I find fascinating is that in the modern game there isn't a free taker as reliable as Brian Stafford was, if a free was inside the "40" you could bet your shirt on it that he would score it, but if you looked at the glasses he wore you wouldn't let him do water boy.

anto_meath (Meath) - Posts: 108 - 18/01/2017 15:57:09    1946702

Replying To Meath_True:  "Lets see how the boys handle Louth ion Saturday . As a Meath man it would be prudent to go to this match to and get a real eyeful of competitive football , because Kelly and Nally and Co. won't be treating this as O Byrne Cup ....."
I think this game will be the first real indication as to how Andy will see the team panning out. Good performances from players from now on will strengthen their positions in the team imo.

oldsam_newsam (Meath) - Posts: 638 - 18/01/2017 16:20:02    1946706

Replying To anto_meath:  "Meath_True _ I think what you are trying to say is that it was the sum of the scores and the performance from the collective team that was (is) important and not the individual scorers. Or maybe it was stats weren't as important so players played more for the team and less for themselves. Which of the 11 players would get the credit for the passes involved in Kevin Foleys goal V Dublin in 91. Now I was only a child when Meath were winning All Ireland's 87 & 88 (thinking Meath would never be any other way). But I have often think about it since, the All Ireland wining teams under Boylan often had maybe 12 / 13 different clubs represented from senior clubs to junior clubs. Is it possible that maybe even the best 15 individual players in Meath weren't on these teams. But the skill of Boylan was that he was able to mold each of them so that collectively they were fantastic teams. What I find fascinating is that in the modern game there isn't a free taker as reliable as Brian Stafford was, if a free was inside the "40" you could bet your shirt on it that he would score it, but if you looked at the glasses he wore you wouldn't let him do water boy."
To be fair most posters knew what he meant,but were just trying to be smart about it. )

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 18/01/2017 17:13:44    1946715

From the two showings I have seen, Ross makes great runs and can win ball that some of our more experienced lads haven't done consistently in recent years. Very steady from dead balls and as for not scoring from play yet, it's not a concern of mine. That will come with time but the question is how much time will he be afforded? I'd be more worried about the recent form of what we might consider our marquee forwards.

MarkMyWords (Meath) - Posts: 498 - 18/01/2017 17:51:16    1946724

Louth V Meath should be good.

Didn't we have the same semi last year?

And didn't we race into a decent lead only to get reigned in by Louth? Little did we know that this would be a hallmark of the team last year.

Outcome of this one will be telling as to where we are...

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1790 - 18/01/2017 17:55:10    1946727

Fair play to young Ross for taking and scoring the penalty given the match result (and progress in the O'Byrne cup) depended on the outcome. His free taking was also commendable. I'm kind of surprised one of the more senior/experienced players didn't take the penalty at that late stage in the game. They should have asked Joe to come up and do so - it would have added to the drama on an enjoyable evening.

GlasagusOr (Meath) - Posts: 1348 - 18/01/2017 18:00:20    1946731

Replying To GlasagusOr:  "Fair play to young Ross for taking and scoring the penalty given the match result (and progress in the O'Byrne cup) depended on the outcome. His free taking was also commendable. I'm kind of surprised one of the more senior/experienced players didn't take the penalty at that late stage in the game. They should have asked Joe to come up and do so - it would have added to the drama on an enjoyable evening."
Very disappointing to let laois come back up the field to get equaliser.if we did that lads would be having spasms

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1790 - 18/01/2017 18:12:13    1946733

Andy gave an interview after the game and felt that the players switched-off mentally for long spells. It wasn't about fitness levels.

Big leads can lead to complacency and result in bad defeats. They need to be more ruthless and not relent.

GlasagusOr (Meath) - Posts: 1348 - 18/01/2017 18:47:53    1946739

Replying To GlasagusOr:  "Andy gave an interview after the game and felt that the players switched-off mentally for long spells. It wasn't about fitness levels.

Big leads can lead to complacency and result in bad defeats. They need to be more ruthless and not relent."
Hmmmmmm...lads switch off when they are physically tired--dont entirely agree with Andy.

Still a lot of work to do both on physical and mental side of things

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1790 - 18/01/2017 19:28:33    1946752

Replying To GlasagusOr:  "Andy gave an interview after the game and felt that the players switched-off mentally for long spells. It wasn't about fitness levels.

Big leads can lead to complacency and result in bad defeats. They need to be more ruthless and not relent."
He said something similar after second match. On this occasion I think it was the fact Laois got their act together and we struggled to cope, but in fairness kept the heads up and got a somewhat lucky reward

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2144 - 18/01/2017 19:41:20    1946755

Need to beat Louth at weekend so we get chance to play a relatively strong team, be it Kildare or Dublin. Would be good prep and confidence boost for start of league

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2144 - 18/01/2017 19:46:20    1946756

Replying To seadog54:  "Need to beat Louth at weekend so we get chance to play a relatively strong team, be it Kildare or Dublin. Would be good prep and confidence boost for start of league"
Would it be good to play Kildare a week or two before we play them in the league?

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 18/01/2017 21:31:21    1946782

I know Kennelly has played wing forward,but does anyone think he could do a job at midfield?

Likewise with Bobby O'Brien as a possible FF? Yes a little leftfield,but he is strong can win a ball and can finish very well.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 18/01/2017 21:37:53    1946785

Replying To ziggy32001:  "I know Kennelly has played wing forward,but does anyone think he could do a job at midfield?

Likewise with Bobby O'Brien as a possible FF? Yes a little leftfield,but he is strong can win a ball and can finish very well."
Might not be as crazy idea as some might think.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 18/01/2017 21:51:29    1946794

Replying To ziggy32001:  "Would it be good to play Kildare a week or two before we play them in the league?"
Like to get that extra game regardless of who we play. If it were to be Kildare I dont think it would have much bearing on league match. A lot of changes on both sides would be expected.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2144 - 18/01/2017 22:49:39    1946821

Replying To ziggy32001:  "I know Kennelly has played wing forward,but does anyone think he could do a job at midfield?

Likewise with Bobby O'Brien as a possible FF? Yes a little leftfield,but he is strong can win a ball and can finish very well."
definitely agree with Kennelly at midfield, he plays there for his club I think and he has shown the attributes when he plays wing forward. Would be worth a look at. Bobby at FF, not so sure. Could work maybe, not sure if he is accurate enough. If you are gonna try it, try it now though

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1458 - 18/01/2017 23:55:09    1946843

Replying To seadog54:  "Like to get that extra game regardless of who we play. If it were to be Kildare I dont think it would have much bearing on league match. A lot of changes on both sides would be expected."
I would be tempted to play a totally different 15,if we meet Kildare.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 19/01/2017 08:52:20    1946858

For me Menton will be at midfield so we need someone to partner him. front runners are Cian O'Brein and Flanagan. I would spent the time to devolving a partnership between them 3. Rather than bringing Kennelly into the mix as well. I think Kennelly is doing well at half forward he looks to take on his man all most all the time and is aggressive in the tackle. He could be a welcome addition to midfield area (playing wing forward) with his height. So at the moment I would leave and let him develop into a half forward. Bobby at FF I am not sure I don't know enough about him. FF slot is up for graps and nobody really sticking out at the moment. He could be worth a shot.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 19/01/2017 09:26:50    1946868