The O'Byrne Cup

Lot of new players tried out. I've been impressed with Burlingham in goal, Hannigan also decent. Kennelly has been a very good find. Not impressed with many others unfortunately. Curran and Downey ok but not great. Menton is a massive boost, would have him a nailed on starter

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1458 - 15/01/2017 19:52:12    1945891

Replying To LeitrimRoyal99:  "Lot of new players tried out. I've been impressed with Burlingham in goal, Hannigan also decent. Kennelly has been a very good find. Not impressed with many others unfortunately. Curran and Downey ok but not great. Menton is a massive boost, would have him a nailed on starter"
Agree with above menton is nailed on. but I think Downey is decent and should be in reckoning as a starter. Alan Forde looks like he might mussel into the team also. Booby Obrein looked decent the other night when he came on. Still missing a natural forward .A week break now to re group for Sundays game.
New guys in reckoning to date for me are.
Jack Hannigan
Robbie Burlingham
Paddy Kennelly
Bobby O'Brien
Ruairi O Coileain
Conor Downey
Alan Forde

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 15/01/2017 20:11:55    1945894

Replying To LeitrimRoyal99:  "Lot of new players tried out. I've been impressed with Burlingham in goal, Hannigan also decent. Kennelly has been a very good find. Not impressed with many others unfortunately. Curran and Downey ok but not great. Menton is a massive boost, would have him a nailed on starter"
Surely Alan Forde has impressed?

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 15/01/2017 20:13:12    1945896

Replying To ziggy32001:  "Surely Alan Forde has impressed?"
Sorry that completely slipped my mind for some reason. His strength and running ability has been seriously impressive

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1458 - 15/01/2017 20:32:47    1945906

Will biggy be involved on Sunday given that St Colmcilles play a week later?

MarkMyWords (Meath) - Posts: 498 - 15/01/2017 20:36:16    1945907

Replying To bobkarlgees:  "Agree with above menton is nailed on. but I think Downey is decent and should be in reckoning as a starter. Alan Forde looks like he might mussel into the team also. Booby Obrein looked decent the other night when he came on. Still missing a natural forward .A week break now to re group for Sundays game.
New guys in reckoning to date for me are.
Jack Hannigan
Robbie Burlingham
Paddy Kennelly
Bobby O'Brien
Ruairi O Coileain
Conor Downey
Alan Forde"
Id also put young Ross in too.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 15/01/2017 21:13:51    1945922

Replying To MarkMyWords:  "Will biggy be involved on Sunday given that St Colmcilles play a week later?"
Probably, but ironically should we win he wont be around to collect his first trophy.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 15/01/2017 21:15:10    1945923

Replying To royaldunne:  "Id also put young Ross in too."
disagree, he is not an answer as an inside forward for me. Just another version of Joey Wallace in my opinion. 1 point from play in 2 games is a poor return against Wicklow and Laois. Just my opinion.

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1458 - 15/01/2017 21:36:44    1945934

Replying To LeitrimRoyal99:  "disagree, he is not an answer as an inside forward for me. Just another version of Joey Wallace in my opinion. 1 point from play in 2 games is a poor return against Wicklow and Laois. Just my opinion."
agree aswell dont think ross will make the team for championship ! There are better options in my opinion

O'Sullivan
Biggy
Wallace
Kennelly
O'Brien
O'Coulean
Newman
Sheridan
Ward
McMahon
Lenihan
Tobin
Tormey

Prob forgetting a few others

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 15/01/2017 22:19:18    1945944

Unfortunately I don't think Ross will make the final cut when the panel is trimmed down before the league. What ages is he does anyone know?

RoylerKing (Meath) - Posts: 809 - 15/01/2017 22:23:19    1945945

Replying To grahamc9897:  "agree aswell dont think ross will make the team for championship ! There are better options in my opinion

O'Sullivan
Biggy
Wallace
Kennelly
O'Brien
O'Coulean
Newman
Sheridan
Ward
McMahon
Lenihan
Tobin
Tormey

Prob forgetting a few others"
Which aherridan? I presume you mean Brian.
Also from what I hear Tormey is dropped off panel, (is that right ziggy? You might know). so how could he be included?
I liked the work rate of ross, always looking for ball and didn't coward away from tackles. Certainly worth a shot.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 15/01/2017 23:33:59    1945959

Replying To royaldunne:  "Which aherridan? I presume you mean Brian.
Also from what I hear Tormey is dropped off panel, (is that right ziggy? You might know). so how could he be included?
I liked the work rate of ross, always looking for ball and didn't coward away from tackles. Certainly worth a shot."
Ross has only scored one point from play which came against a terribly poor Wicklow side. He tries his best and works hard but a corner/full forwards main objective is to score and despite registering from placed balls, he hasnt been registering often enough from open play to make the final cut.

RoylerKing (Meath) - Posts: 809 - 16/01/2017 10:07:44    1945991

I liked the work rate of ross, always looking for ball and didn't coward away from tackles. Certainly worth a shot."
I thought getting rid of MOD would end giving up big leads.

RoyalBadger (Meath) - Posts: 571 - 16/01/2017 10:22:30    1945997

Not suprosed if Tormey is gone but it would be a pitty and the writing has been on the wall, he wont get back in either.
Mc Mahon should have been bulking up for the last few years, maybe he has but it is not evident. .

Everything needs to be judged against chanpionship football and i dont think he has the stenght for this. Kennelly is no wing forward as he does not have the pace or guile for this postition but you have to try out these guys. Lenihan needs to make it and i would assume Mc Entee will have him firing on all cylinders as he probably has been one of the best top 3 forwards in Meath senior over the last few years. To me he is a confidence guy and has a bit about him.

Forde is without a shadow of doubt the kind of player you want. Tough, strong and takes no sh-t so i would put him miles ahead of Downey. We cannot have a team small in stature so that rules out some players.

It will be interesting to see what happens with Newman. On his day he is fantasic but we have seen more poor days than good. Also we need to be nailing fees and close to a 90% ratio. You have to look at all top teams and this is what we have to get to.

Looking forward to next week and we need to put down a marker big time here. We should be trouncing Louth and i dont say that lightly. This is a team we should be dominating in every area of the field and also from a fitness, strenght and above all football ability.

pretender (Meath) - Posts: 358 - 16/01/2017 10:51:31    1946014

Good morning to all my Meath friends. Some things bring a smile to ones face and "Looking forward to next week and we need to put down a marker big time here. We should be trouncing Louth and i dont say that lightly. This is a team we should be dominating in every area of the field and also from a fitness, strenght and above all football ability" is one of them. Meath are afterall a shoe in for Div 1 football and last 8 in the all Ireland whereas Louth have just escaped from div 4. That's bad enough and then I read that simply being from Meath, strength and fitness are augmented . With superior footballing ability (only available south of the boyne) thrown in to the mix we may as well forfeit the game now. On a lighter note, will big Joe be togging out between the sticks? would like to see it but i would worry that even 7 years later a couple of idiots would give him abuse and he really wouldn't deserve it. Of course he would have a fine old time in nets as the ball wont get up that far.

ged (Louth) - Posts: 296 - 16/01/2017 11:22:39    1946020

Tough, strong and takes no sh-t so i would put him miles ahead of Downey. >> were you at the game on Saturday night? If you were then you would have seen Downey fling himself in to win a ball that he had no right to win, and he got a serious belt into the ribs for his troubles. But he bounced straight back up even though he must have been hurting. So to imply, as you have above, that Downey isn't tough or strong or "takes sh1t" is nonsense.

BarneysTie (Meath) - Posts: 258 - 16/01/2017 11:29:48    1946024

Replying To RoyalBadger:  "I thought getting rid of MOD would end giving up big leads."
Well I guess you weren't at the game, like has been said this was a totally different thing to the previous giving up of big leads, .so in that instance it wasn't a huge worry, what was important is how we reacted when Laois came back, and while there was errors overall no ones head dropped and we kept plugging away, again something we did not do before.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 16/01/2017 12:46:43    1946061

Replying To ged:  "Good morning to all my Meath friends. Some things bring a smile to ones face and "Looking forward to next week and we need to put down a marker big time here. We should be trouncing Louth and i dont say that lightly. This is a team we should be dominating in every area of the field and also from a fitness, strenght and above all football ability" is one of them. Meath are afterall a shoe in for Div 1 football and last 8 in the all Ireland whereas Louth have just escaped from div 4. That's bad enough and then I read that simply being from Meath, strength and fitness are augmented . With superior footballing ability (only available south of the boyne) thrown in to the mix we may as well forfeit the game now. On a lighter note, will big Joe be togging out between the sticks? would like to see it but i would worry that even 7 years later a couple of idiots would give him abuse and he really wouldn't deserve it. Of course he would have a fine old time in nets as the ball wont get up that far."
In fairness that was only one poster I think,
I would be very surprised if it wasn't a tight tough match, of course I think we will win but I would think that against any team.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 16/01/2017 12:51:20    1946066

I wouldn't question Downey's commitment in a 50 50 ball. He's tenacious and strong for his small stature. Forde and him could play together in the half back line both are similar in styles and will cause headaches with link play. We've alot of lads to come back into the fold really looking forward to seeing how we get on Sunday. Louth will go full blanket I'd imagine. Throw Joe on full forward with 10 to go (sarcasm) for any Louth fans still in disarray over 2010.

Ketchup (Meath) - Posts: 22 - 16/01/2017 12:54:14    1946067

Replying To royaldunne:  "In fairness that was only one poster I think,
I would be very surprised if it wasn't a tight tough match, of course I think we will win but I would think that against any team."
No bother RD just having the craic. I can see nothing other than a convincing Meath win as I felt we struggled at times against 2 div4 teams. Park the bus and counterattack might be Louths best chance.

ged (Louth) - Posts: 296 - 16/01/2017 13:20:26    1946076