NFL 2017

Replying To browncows:  "Adamski (Dublin)- I do not expect anybody thinks that we are waiting for Dublin to regress-even though regress they will and that is for sure. Ye have 'one in a row' at present so I would say that ye are the one who needs to 'settle down' and relax- the wait for the 2 or 3 in row (with all those guys u26!) may take a little longer than ye expect."
I never mentioned 1 or 2 or 3 in a row, absolutely irrelevant posting. Fact is that we are discussing meath and how they improve under the new management. As I said before get over this obsession with Dublin.

Adamski (Dublin) - Posts: 339 - 14/09/2016 17:44:58    1914286

Replying To browncows:  "Adamski (Dublin)- I do not expect anybody thinks that we are waiting for Dublin to regress-even though regress they will and that is for sure. Ye have 'one in a row' at present so I would say that ye are the one who needs to 'settle down' and relax- the wait for the 2 or 3 in row (with all those guys u26!) may take a little longer than ye expect."
In fairness adamski , has been on these pages a long time, and generally seems to support Meath when they playing ,

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 14/09/2016 17:49:28    1914293

Replying To Brownepat:  "If we waiting on NFL receipts to build a new Pairc tailteann we be waiting awhile"
Bigger crowds help as leverage for the cause

royalpainter (Meath) - Posts: 874 - 14/09/2016 18:50:23    1914322

Replying To ziggy32001:  "Indeed,also Shane O'Rourke could come back in,but we have to wait and see.We have plenty of options in terms of players who can play in the middle of the park as runners so to speak."
Who these plenty of players. I was at feis cup Shane O'Rourke was the stand out player by a mile at that but then he went off injured pity story of his life. Menton quite poor did not see much of him till he got the cup. He was a very good player. Tormey no big effect either. Cant see Flanagan grabbing the bull by the horns either he a bit like Rooney but without the raw power and drive

Brownepat (Meath) - Posts: 532 - 14/09/2016 21:48:29    1914383

Replying To Brownepat:  "Who these plenty of players. I was at feis cup Shane O'Rourke was the stand out player by a mile at that but then he went off injured pity story of his life. Menton quite poor did not see much of him till he got the cup. He was a very good player. Tormey no big effect either. Cant see Flanagan grabbing the bull by the horns either he a bit like Rooney but without the raw power and drive"
Shane can only train 1 night a week with Simonstown so he's not a candidate for coming back in with Meath.

jackhackett (Meath) - Posts: 773 - 14/09/2016 22:24:31    1914415

Replying To jackhackett:  "Shane can only train 1 night a week with Simonstown so he's not a candidate for coming back in with Meath."
Jaysus the man can't get a break,super footballer though. Whats actually wrong that he can't train more than once a week?

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 15/09/2016 09:27:38    1914511

Replying To ziggy32001:  "Jaysus the man can't get a break,super footballer though. Whats actually wrong that he can't train more than once a week?"
With all the injuries he has had that's just all he can do these days. So I think it's time people moved on from saying they want to see Shane back.

jackhackett (Meath) - Posts: 773 - 15/09/2016 14:19:07    1914619

Replying To jackhackett:  "With all the injuries he has had that's just all he can do these days. So I think it's time people moved on from saying they want to see Shane back."
A huge pity,lovely footballer at his best.But at least(for him) he can still play at club level,unlike Gillespie.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 15/09/2016 16:08:13    1914700

royaldunne- My main point about Dublin and it applies to every very successful team (the Dubs have very good players all over the pitch and in the dugout), however the human body can only take so much and I expect Dublin players (even younger players) to drop themselves of the panel and other to retire so I give them another 2 -3years at most to dominate. You cannot keep that sort of training/commitment going for more than 7-10 years at senior inter county level - bear in mind that all of those successful players would be training from possibly u12 squads. The best of luck to both teams on Sunday and may the best team win.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 15/09/2016 17:48:02    1914753

Replying To browncows:  "royaldunne- My main point about Dublin and it applies to every very successful team (the Dubs have very good players all over the pitch and in the dugout), however the human body can only take so much and I expect Dublin players (even younger players) to drop themselves of the panel and other to retire so I give them another 2 -3years at most to dominate. You cannot keep that sort of training/commitment going for more than 7-10 years at senior inter county level - bear in mind that all of those successful players would be training from possibly u12 squads. The best of luck to both teams on Sunday and may the best team win."
You make a fair point imo.But I rather focus on what Meath are/can do,rather than rely on others dropping..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 15/09/2016 18:57:25    1914790

Replying To browncows:  "royaldunne- My main point about Dublin and it applies to every very successful team (the Dubs have very good players all over the pitch and in the dugout), however the human body can only take so much and I expect Dublin players (even younger players) to drop themselves of the panel and other to retire so I give them another 2 -3years at most to dominate. You cannot keep that sort of training/commitment going for more than 7-10 years at senior inter county level - bear in mind that all of those successful players would be training from possibly u12 squads. The best of luck to both teams on Sunday and may the best team win."
You do realise that they are not obliged to stick with the same players for the next 3-4 years, don't you? If the commitment or performance levels of some of the players drop, they are allowed to drop them and replace them with new players. By sheer force of numbers, you would have to think that they will have enough good young players coming through to replace the ones who retire. Maybe not quite as good, but pretty close.
This assumption that Dublin's performance levels will drop when some of the senior players retire is very similar to what people have been saying about the Kilkenny hurlers for the past 10 years. And yet they keep bringing on new lads, and freshening up their team, and keep on winning.

anfearbeag (Meath) - Posts: 1134 - 15/09/2016 23:00:30    1914908

This is wrecking my head- according to my last post, I posted at 23.00.30. according to my watch/phone/computer, it is now 22.27. Am I stuck in some weird time warp? Have I reached a turning point in my life, and I am now heading backwards?

anfearbeag (Meath) - Posts: 1134 - 15/09/2016 23:28:39    1914911

Replying To anfearbeag:  "This is wrecking my head- according to my last post, I posted at 23.00.30. according to my watch/phone/computer, it is now 22.27. Am I stuck in some weird time warp? Have I reached a turning point in my life, and I am now heading backwards?"
Hopefully you getting younger. When we get to our age it would be nice to think so, let me know how it goes for you, regrowth of hair would be brilliant:).

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 16/09/2016 10:22:58    1914975

Replying To royaldunne:  "Hopefully you getting younger. When we get to our age it would be nice to think so, let me know how it goes for you, regrowth of hair would be brilliant:)."
'This assumption that Dublin's performance levels will drop when some of the senior players retire is very similar to what people have been saying about the Kilkenny hurlers for the past 10 years. And yet they keep bringing on new lads, and freshening up their team, and keep on winning'.
anfearbeag (Meath)

Now are you trying to compare the Dubs with Killkenny who have won 8 out of the last 10 All-Irelands and have competed in all 10!

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 16/09/2016 18:07:06    1915189

I don't think our fixtures are the worst and we certainly do have a good manager in place so unlike last year I'm actually looking forward to next year. The players are the big thing though, no amount of favourable fixtures or good management can make up for lack of talented players.

But I don't want to run us down too much, there are good footballers in Meath and hopefully the new management team can get more out of the players and have us pushing for promotion again.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 16/09/2016 18:39:28    1915200

Replying To browncows:  "'This assumption that Dublin's performance levels will drop when some of the senior players retire is very similar to what people have been saying about the Kilkenny hurlers for the past 10 years. And yet they keep bringing on new lads, and freshening up their team, and keep on winning'.
anfearbeag (Meath)

Now are you trying to compare the Dubs with Killkenny who have won 8 out of the last 10 All-Irelands and have competed in all 10!"
I think you need to go back to school Browncows and learn a bit of English comprehension. If you actually read the post properly, or are capable of understanding it, you will see that I didn't compare Dublin to Kilkenny at all. I compared the assumption that Dublin will regress in the next few years, to the assumption that Kilkenny would regress once they lost some of their senior players. In Kilkenny's case, that did not happen, as they were able to replace them with players who were of a similar level. Will that happen in Dublin's case? Who knows. Maybe they will regress. But maybe they will be able to replace the old/tired/burned out players with players of a similar standard and will carry on as before.

anfearbeag (Meath) - Posts: 1134 - 16/09/2016 21:53:48    1915243

We can only worry about ourselves lads, if we get our house in order and up the ambition in the squad considerably, then we can start to challenge the likes of Dublin again. Now I know we're miles and miles off that at the minute but that doesn't mean you can never bridge the gap, why not set ourselves a target and do our best to reach it, isn't that what ambition is all about.

Speaking of ambition, Andy McEntee wouldn't exactly be lacking in that department, O'Dowd was a nice, mild mannered man but I think he unwittingly put his own squad down on numerous occasions with unfortunate post match comments. For example calling Tyrone 'realistically a div1 team' was very poor because it strongly suggested 'we can't beat a div1 team' and that has to be damaging for a squad, there were a few other poor comments but let's leave it there, the man clearly tried his best for Meath, for that alone he deserves credit.

Get the underage in order (this is improving in fairness), sort out our poor county championship (this needs to be done urgently), and allow a good manager a bit of time to try and build a squad. If we can do these things and get a bit of luck along the way (always an important ingredient) then we really should improve, now to what level is anybody's guess.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 17/09/2016 14:08:58    1915356

anfearbeag (Meath)- Maybe I need lessons in English but its a few lessons in being able to analyse a game of football that you require most and that is not an assumption.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 17/09/2016 21:43:21    1915447

Replying To Richieq:  "Provisional fixtures are out, presuming we still don't have floodlights at PT I suppose all our home games will be on Sundays. Thoughts?

Meath v Kildare February 5th
Meath v Derry February 12th
Down v Meath February 25th
Meath v Galway March 5th
Cork v Meath March 19th
Meath v Fermanagh March 26th
Clare v Meath April 2nd"
Gonna try and get over for a game next year, hopefully the Galway match.

GlasgowRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 293 - 19/09/2016 16:40:06    1916452

Martin O'Connell speaking about Meath.

https://soundcloud.com/user-506581485

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 23/09/2016 19:08:06    1918521