NFL 2017

First 3 games have to be won. If anything, Kildare have regressed despite new management. Played Derry twice this year and showed enough in patches to suggest we could win. Last trip to Newry was a fruitful one even though Down went on to be promoted.

Having Galway at home is crucial. Might just swing it in our favour. Cork can be hit and miss so I wouldn't be so quick to write this one off. Fermanagh will be sticky as will Clare. Wouldn't be at all surprised if we won in Cork and lost in Ennis.

Looking forward to the new year nonetheless. There's a strong core group of players there and with a few new additions, 2017 should be a year of progress.

MarkMyWords (Meath) - Posts: 498 - 13/09/2016 20:58:19    1913921

Replying To browncows:  "Getting into Div 1 just means that we may receive two good beating by the Dubs every year instead one!. Its by winning matches that we improve and that can happen in Div 2 just as well as Div 1 if we are good enough- some folk get easily carried away. What we need is players able to win matches and control the game when we are ahead. Being in Div 1 did very little for Roscommon, Cork, Monaghan or Down. It did little for Westmeath either."
Monaghan have a couple of ulster titles

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 13/09/2016 22:06:56    1913968

Replying To MarkMyWords:  "First 3 games have to be won. If anything, Kildare have regressed despite new management. Played Derry twice this year and showed enough in patches to suggest we could win. Last trip to Newry was a fruitful one even though Down went on to be promoted.

Having Galway at home is crucial. Might just swing it in our favour. Cork can be hit and miss so I wouldn't be so quick to write this one off. Fermanagh will be sticky as will Clare. Wouldn't be at all surprised if we won in Cork and lost in Ennis.

Looking forward to the new year nonetheless. There's a strong core group of players there and with a few new additions, 2017 should be a year of progress."
Would agree with that assessment, but id be more optimistic about Ennis than cork

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 13/09/2016 22:09:20    1913970

Replying To bert09:  "By the way-- any news on s&c coach?"
With Gerry mc on board there won't be any need for s&c

numberedjerseys (USA) - Posts: 348 - 13/09/2016 22:46:01    1914000

Replying To seadog54:  "Promotion a priority if we want to progress."
absolutely promotion is a priority. 4 home games should all be bankers, albeit tough. On the road all we need to pick up is one win and promoted. If we had got our act together we should have be promote 2 years ago. If we get rid of the mentality of collapsing in games i see no major issues. This is the first term for the new mgm team and if i was them i would put everything into the league. We cannot raise the standard of Meath football playing in division two. I would assume we will be flying for the first game and god help any player who does not put it in. Cant wait. Money on promotion

pretender (Meath) - Posts: 358 - 14/09/2016 09:26:32    1914080

Replying To pretender:  "absolutely promotion is a priority. 4 home games should all be bankers, albeit tough. On the road all we need to pick up is one win and promoted. If we had got our act together we should have be promote 2 years ago. If we get rid of the mentality of collapsing in games i see no major issues. This is the first term for the new mgm team and if i was them i would put everything into the league. We cannot raise the standard of Meath football playing in division two. I would assume we will be flying for the first game and god help any player who does not put it in. Cant wait. Money on promotion"
Agreed, even in this years league if we had beaten Cavan and Galway which we clearly should have done, we would have been promoted. We've missed a lot of boats in the NFL the past few years and its time to rectify that. I stand corrected but I think the last time we set foot in Division 1 was 2004 or 2005, simply far too long albeit we were very unfairly treated in 2007 when we actually won Division 2 but didn't get to Division 1 due to more silly tinkering of the League by the powers that be.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 14/09/2016 09:50:15    1914088

Replying To browncows:  "Getting into Div 1 just means that we may receive two good beating by the Dubs every year instead one!. Its by winning matches that we improve and that can happen in Div 2 just as well as Div 1 if we are good enough- some folk get easily carried away. What we need is players able to win matches and control the game when we are ahead. Being in Div 1 did very little for Roscommon, Cork, Monaghan or Down. It did little for Westmeath either."
Yet teams who succeed are generally in dv1..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 14/09/2016 10:48:38    1914107

Replying To ziggy32001:  "Yet teams who succeed are generally in dv1.."
Its by winning matches that you succeed! of course it is better to be in the top division but that does not guarantee success and some posters are obsessed by being Div 1- posting the same thing over and over again. Winning and improving is most important. I see the team improving and I guess that the Dubs will be on a downward trend in about 2-3 years time as the amount of commitment is un-sustainable by the players.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 14/09/2016 12:11:52    1914141

Replying To browncows:  "Its by winning matches that you succeed! of course it is better to be in the top division but that does not guarantee success and some posters are obsessed by being Div 1- posting the same thing over and over again. Winning and improving is most important. I see the team improving and I guess that the Dubs will be on a downward trend in about 2-3 years time as the amount of commitment is un-sustainable by the players."
Yes but if we are winning there is a good chance that we could get to dv1 by doing that.This is a division that we are capable of getting out of.But lets see what squad we have available closer to the time.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 14/09/2016 12:16:15    1914143

Replying To browncows:  "Its by winning matches that you succeed! of course it is better to be in the top division but that does not guarantee success and some posters are obsessed by being Div 1- posting the same thing over and over again. Winning and improving is most important. I see the team improving and I guess that the Dubs will be on a downward trend in about 2-3 years time as the amount of commitment is un-sustainable by the players."
It does matter, division 1 is the place to be. 3 out of the 4 all-ireland semi finalist this year were from Div 1. also banking on the demise of Dublin for meath to become competitive is very much representative of all that is wrong in the county. Look at it this way dublin could field an U-26 team next year made up of the following players as follows:- Molloy, Byrne, Cooper, McCarthy, Small. McCaffrey, Fenton, O Conaghalie, Kilkenny, Costello, Carthy, Mannion, O Callaghan . So basically things will only progress if meath improve drastically.

Adamski (Dublin) - Posts: 339 - 14/09/2016 12:56:13    1914159

Division One should be well within our sights,some players,especially menton who made themselves unavailable this year will come straight back in.

Andy"s first job is to get the players fit,we have struggled under micko with fitness,especially around the middle of the park,have been completely over ran.

thelutch (Meath) - Posts: 1047 - 14/09/2016 14:05:52    1914176

Replying To Adamski:  "It does matter, division 1 is the place to be. 3 out of the 4 all-ireland semi finalist this year were from Div 1. also banking on the demise of Dublin for meath to become competitive is very much representative of all that is wrong in the county. Look at it this way dublin could field an U-26 team next year made up of the following players as follows:- Molloy, Byrne, Cooper, McCarthy, Small. McCaffrey, Fenton, O Conaghalie, Kilkenny, Costello, Carthy, Mannion, O Callaghan . So basically things will only progress if meath improve drastically."
Not sure what point you are trying to make and whether the Dubs have 26 or 36 players is irrelevant as you can have only 15 on the field at any one time- maybe ye may get the odd bit of help from the Ref from time to time!. We all know that it is better to be in Div 1 than a lower division but you should also be able to see that most of the team in Div 1 have not won an All Ireland in over 15 years.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 14/09/2016 14:36:34    1914190

Replying To Adamski:  "It does matter, division 1 is the place to be. 3 out of the 4 all-ireland semi finalist this year were from Div 1. also banking on the demise of Dublin for meath to become competitive is very much representative of all that is wrong in the county. Look at it this way dublin could field an U-26 team next year made up of the following players as follows:- Molloy, Byrne, Cooper, McCarthy, Small. McCaffrey, Fenton, O Conaghalie, Kilkenny, Costello, Carthy, Mannion, O Callaghan . So basically things will only progress if meath improve drastically."
Id agree with you, there is too much emphasis on dubs, . Now while their professional attitudes and work rate are the benchmark that other counties should strive to achieve, I would say Meath will only improve in division one, lets not forget the hammerings from Dublin have only been in past 3 years, Banty actually was a closer contest.
There is no way Andy would let dubs win 100% of kick outs uncontested. I think we will see a edgier Meath team, playing on the limits and proficient in the basic skills, and certainly not giving up commanding leads. And if a player regardless of who he is , fails to do what is required they will be removed. And get a earful too.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 14/09/2016 14:59:44    1914203

Replying To browncows:  "Not sure what point you are trying to make and whether the Dubs have 26 or 36 players is irrelevant as you can have only 15 on the field at any one time- maybe ye may get the odd bit of help from the Ref from time to time!. We all know that it is better to be in Div 1 than a lower division but you should also be able to see that most of the team in Div 1 have not won an All Ireland in over 15 years."
Read the post, I am stating that Dublin could still field a relatively strong team that would be Under 26 in age terms and then factor in the experience they have over the last 5 years. Of course they will regress and lose some more older players but banking on that for a sudden upturn in meath's fortunes is ludicrous. Can't but see improvement under the new management as things couldn't get a whole lot worse. Again read the post and settle down.

Adamski (Dublin) - Posts: 339 - 14/09/2016 15:49:26    1914227

Replying To browncows:  "Not sure what point you are trying to make and whether the Dubs have 26 or 36 players is irrelevant as you can have only 15 on the field at any one time- maybe ye may get the odd bit of help from the Ref from time to time!. We all know that it is better to be in Div 1 than a lower division but you should also be able to see that most of the team in Div 1 have not won an All Ireland in over 15 years."
I think the point is clear. Dublin will have those players mentioned all who are UNDER 26 years old.
So if we waiting on Dublin to regress , we may be waiting awhile, as those players will only be hitting their peak.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 14/09/2016 15:59:28    1914235

Replying To thelutch:  "Division One should be well within our sights,some players,especially menton who made themselves unavailable this year will come straight back in.

Andy"s first job is to get the players fit,we have struggled under micko with fitness,especially around the middle of the park,have been completely over ran."
Indeed,also Shane O'Rourke could come back in,but we have to wait and see.We have plenty of options in terms of players who can play in the middle of the park as runners so to speak.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 14/09/2016 16:10:14    1914240

Johnny Cooper will be 28 next year.

subzero (Meath) - Posts: 69 - 14/09/2016 16:53:11    1914258

Replying To Adamski:  "Read the post, I am stating that Dublin could still field a relatively strong team that would be Under 26 in age terms and then factor in the experience they have over the last 5 years. Of course they will regress and lose some more older players but banking on that for a sudden upturn in meath's fortunes is ludicrous. Can't but see improvement under the new management as things couldn't get a whole lot worse. Again read the post and settle down."
Adamski (Dublin)- I do not expect anybody thinks that we are waiting for Dublin to regress-even though regress they will and that is for sure. Ye have 'one in a row' at present so I would say that ye are the one who needs to 'settle down' and relax- the wait for the 2 or 3 in row (with all those guys u26!) may take a little longer than ye expect.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 14/09/2016 17:22:36    1914271

Replying To subzero:  "Johnny Cooper will be 28 next year."
Sure I will take him out so and put in eric lowdnes, conor mchugh, shane b mccarthy etc. etc. Don't be so pedantic

Adamski (Dublin) - Posts: 339 - 14/09/2016 17:31:03    1914277

A fit Meath team will be a nice change.
Any word on the s&c coach yet? Andy said they were nearly complete negotiations with a top coach to come in. The sooner they get started the better, as there's a huge job to do in that department. Lads in their prime near collapsing after 50 minutes is shocking.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 14/09/2016 17:37:12    1914280