Andy McEntee - a fresh start

Replying To bert09:  "I honestly think the way the game is played these days it's time that the concept of a sweeper keeper was introduced to gaelic football.

I would like a keeper to break intermittently up the field with a sweeper dropping back for cover.

You read it here first folks...."
why not just have the sweeper break up the field, and leave the keeper where he is?

While I am all for innovation and new ideas, sometimes I think people complicate an essentially simple game just for the sake of it.

anfearbeag (Meath) - Posts: 1134 - 20/10/2016 23:23:25    1928035

Replying To anfearbeag:  "I disagree Anto. I have seen him play a fair few times out the field for Skryne, and he never stood out for me as a potential county player. IMHO he is a decent club player, but no more than that. There are plenty of big strong committed club players out there who are just not good enough to play inter-county. I would put him among them.
Put it this way, if he wasn't already involved with the county team as a goalkeeper, I don't think that too many would be calling for him to get a run as an outfield county player, based on his performances for Skryne."
Great post, I think a lot of people on this forum don't watch club football. Anyone at the last two Skryne games could not be suggesting Paddy be played outfield.

Barney123 (Meath) - Posts: 676 - 20/10/2016 23:35:16    1928040

Replying To Barney123:  "Great post, I think a lot of people on this forum don't watch club football. Anyone at the last two Skryne games could not be suggesting Paddy be played outfield."
Maybe four or five years ago and probably when he was coming up through the under age ranks but as an outfield player he's definitely past his peak, might have another couple of seasons between the sticks but in all honesty we probably need a massive cull on players, some of them have been there to long and it's not worth waiting for some of the others to come up to standards.

Wedgie (Meath) - Posts: 253 - 21/10/2016 09:04:25    1928062

Replying To anfearbeag:  "why not just have the sweeper break up the field, and leave the keeper where he is?

While I am all for innovation and new ideas, sometimes I think people complicate an essentially simple game just for the sake of it."
No I think he is right and I've often thought about this myself...soon we might see this develop as a tactic with outfield players being put in goals and then used as an extra man for counter attacks. I think that Armagh were half trying this last year in one game I saw.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1319 - 21/10/2016 09:08:48    1928063

Replying To Crinigan:  "No I think he is right and I've often thought about this myself...soon we might see this develop as a tactic with outfield players being put in goals and then used as an extra man for counter attacks. I think that Armagh were half trying this last year in one game I saw."
Wasn't there also talk of Kerry putting Brian Sheehan in goal at one stage though I don't think anything ever came of it?

The problem with radical experimentation like this is that the management team know they'd be slaughtered if it didn't work.

Wedgie (Meath) - Posts: 253 - 21/10/2016 09:27:13    1928069

Replying To Wedgie:  "Maybe four or five years ago and probably when he was coming up through the under age ranks but as an outfield player he's definitely past his peak, might have another couple of seasons between the sticks but in all honesty we probably need a massive cull on players, some of them have been there to long and it's not worth waiting for some of the others to come up to standards."
I am not sure if you are always serious with your posts or if you are just throwing out stuff to get a reaction.

What is he going to do for players after this massive cull of players? Does he have a new crop to bring in straight away? In my opinion Mick O'Dowd lived to regret his culling of players like Cian Ward, Joe Sheridan and Peader Byrne. Not necessarily still at their peak but at least one or two of them would have been useful options when the wheels came off the wagon.

oldsam_newsam (Meath) - Posts: 638 - 21/10/2016 09:49:33    1928075

Replying To Wedgie:  "Wasn't there also talk of Kerry putting Brian Sheehan in goal at one stage though I don't think anything ever came of it?

The problem with radical experimentation like this is that the management team know they'd be slaughtered if it didn't work."
Culling players is all well and good, but what you bring in needs to be an improvement and there isn't an abundance of untried talent about. We do need a goalie, a full back, a corner back, at least 1 half back, a midfielder and possible a cover player. In the forwards we need a consistent free taker and at least two good scoring forwards. That is possibly 8 players that could be culled, but that isn't going to happen as that number of replacements isn't available. What will most likely happen is there will be circa 4 new starting players and the other 4 positions will be hopefully improvements in existing players.

anto_meath (Meath) - Posts: 108 - 21/10/2016 10:22:19    1928087

Sorry Wedgie don't know why that was posted as a reply to you.

anto_meath (Meath) - Posts: 108 - 21/10/2016 10:49:54    1928102

Replying To oldsam_newsam:  "I am not sure if you are always serious with your posts or if you are just throwing out stuff to get a reaction.

What is he going to do for players after this massive cull of players? Does he have a new crop to bring in straight away? In my opinion Mick O'Dowd lived to regret his culling of players like Cian Ward, Joe Sheridan and Peader Byrne. Not necessarily still at their peak but at least one or two of them would have been useful options when the wheels came off the wagon."
There isn't an AI on the horizon for Meath in the next five years (at a very minimum), next year will be a write off as will the following year, we should use this period to clear out the dead wood and build for the future, and try to put together a team that will deliver over the long term.
The problem is people won't settle for that, we want success now and when we don't get it we throw the toys out of the pram, blame the manager and start calling for his head.
We need to accept success doesn't come over night (look at the DUBs), we need to replace a lot of the current crop and let the new squad develop over time.
We need to be looking forward not back, several members of the current set up have a great future 'behind' them.

Wedgie (Meath) - Posts: 253 - 21/10/2016 11:07:24    1928106

Replying To Wedgie:  "There isn't an AI on the horizon for Meath in the next five years (at a very minimum), next year will be a write off as will the following year, we should use this period to clear out the dead wood and build for the future, and try to put together a team that will deliver over the long term.
The problem is people won't settle for that, we want success now and when we don't get it we throw the toys out of the pram, blame the manager and start calling for his head.
We need to accept success doesn't come over night (look at the DUBs), we need to replace a lot of the current crop and let the new squad develop over time.
We need to be looking forward not back, several members of the current set up have a great future 'behind' them."

Look at the Dubs that 2011 team where around for years and won nothing ie All-Irelands. And there is still the guts of the team around the past few years, Cluxton Ryan Mc Bernard and Alan etc. So a new manger can change things quiet quickly if good enough. Also Mc Guinness turned things around in Donegal getting to quarter final in 2010 and Semi - final 2011 ( and where kinda robbed in that one IMO) and won the All-Irealnd 2012. Also Down seem to come out on nowhere in 2010 and reached All-Ireland final. (I think only one point in it at the end). If Mc Antee is to turn a corner in Meath football I expect it to happen sooner rather than later. Maybe not All-Irelands but up there challenging in maybe QF SF, in the next couple of years. Let hope so anyway.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 21/10/2016 12:39:32    1928136

Replying To Wedgie:  "There isn't an AI on the horizon for Meath in the next five years (at a very minimum), next year will be a write off as will the following year, we should use this period to clear out the dead wood and build for the future, and try to put together a team that will deliver over the long term.
We need to be looking forward not back, several members of the current set up have a great future 'behind' them."
Yes, sounds good in principle if we have the players coming through. If we do a massive clear out like you are suggesting we are in danger of dropping to division 3. Of course there will be changes & that will be welcome but I am hoping to be more competitive next year in comparison to the last 4 and challenge for promotion to div 1.

oldsam_newsam (Meath) - Posts: 638 - 21/10/2016 13:06:05    1928142

Replying To oldsam_newsam:  "Yes, sounds good in principle if we have the players coming through. If we do a massive clear out like you are suggesting we are in danger of dropping to division 3. Of course there will be changes & that will be welcome but I am hoping to be more competitive next year in comparison to the last 4 and challenge for promotion to div 1."
Forget about next year and the the year after, we need to allow him the space and time to build a winning team.
We're not going to win anything next year and I wouldn't expect us to, all we need to do is put together a long term plan that ensures we improve on performance year after year instead of remaining static or going backwards like we have been.
Sam won't be visiting Meath in the next five years, what we do in these five years will dictate how soon after that we can expect him home and we need to accept that. We simply don't have the players in the county at the moment, and we can't bring them up to the right standard overnight.

Wedgie (Meath) - Posts: 253 - 21/10/2016 16:33:22    1928204

Replying To Wedgie:  "Forget about next year and the the year after, we need to allow him the space and time to build a winning team.
We're not going to win anything next year and I wouldn't expect us to, all we need to do is put together a long term plan that ensures we improve on performance year after year instead of remaining static or going backwards like we have been.
Sam won't be visiting Meath in the next five years, what we do in these five years will dictate how soon after that we can expect him home and we need to accept that. We simply don't have the players in the county at the moment, and we can't bring them up to the right standard overnight."
"If you are playing in the Leinster championship, you want to be winning it, so this acceptance of us being middle tier is something that I didn't grow up with.

"A lot of people out there just seem to have accepted it, and that's not something I'd be keen on at all"

--Andy Mcentee

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1792 - 21/10/2016 17:47:33    1928219

Replying To anto_meath:  "Culling players is all well and good, but what you bring in needs to be an improvement and there isn't an abundance of untried talent about. We do need a goalie, a full back, a corner back, at least 1 half back, a midfielder and possible a cover player. In the forwards we need a consistent free taker and at least two good scoring forwards. That is possibly 8 players that could be culled, but that isn't going to happen as that number of replacements isn't available. What will most likely happen is there will be circa 4 new starting players and the other 4 positions will be hopefully improvements in existing players."
Anto,
Thats a good point you make re culling just for the sake of it. But i also think people need to go beyond the we need this this and that and suggest a few alternatives. We've no idea if any of them will get a chance but it might get the chat going.

For me i think we need
Keeper. Paddy is just too inconsistent and costing us scores in most games. McHugh just seems a bit on the small side for me to be a long term solution. I've heard plenty mention Geraghty from Na Fianna but doesn't seem willing to commit. So maybe Jack Hanningan (D/A) or Andy Colgan (StP/D) might get a chance
Full Back. Mcgill did well in season one but was injured for most of last year s didn't get a chance to improve. Dan O'Neill came in as cover after the U-21 championship so maybe give him a chnace in the O'byrne cup. Brian Power has done a shift there before but i don't think he's an I/C full back.
Corner back. Lot of lads talking about Sean Curran now MOD has stepped down. Would Juicy O'Connor be worth another go. Never played there but could track the guy going out the field and leaving Keogy and the FB inside. Lavin and Carty have been on the panel and may be worth another look. Wasn't James Reilly NOM's go to marker in 2015, could he do a job in the corner?
Half back. This whole line needs to be settled and bedded in. Conlon and Kane have impressed for S'town, James McEntee is an option here but I'd prefer him in forwards and comin back. Tobin has been mentioned here for years but never given a chance. Power and Menton are options a CHB as well as Finn, Harnan and Douglas. If Andy could get the balance right here we could be onto something.
Midfield. Harry obviously starts and then finidng him a partner is key. Flanagan and Jones are options. With Nash heading for Oz he's unlikely to get involved. Menton has always been an option but I wouldn't play him there. Its about getting the right combination together.
Half forwards. Osullivan is nailed on and then its about his wing men. Choose any from Biggy, Mento, McEntee. I'd expect to see Alan Forde back on the panel and making a huge push here. These lads need to be chipping in a lot of scores and getting all over the park.
Full forwards. Wally should be one of the corners, with a good fullforward beside him. Himself and Newman work well when the right ball comes in. I'd also throw Rowe into the mix here. Lenihan never stepped up last year but under McEntee he could do better. Is David McLoughlin an option at all. Know he was injured but isn't he a solid free taker and chips in with scores too? Is Padraig McKeever an option?

That still leaves a good few options out there. Andy Tormey, Bryan McMahon, to name but a few.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 21/10/2016 20:30:55    1928250

Replying To oldsam_newsam:  "What about goalkeeper position for next year? I am interested in people's thoughts. Especially considering that the all round aspects of a goalkeepers play resulted in the Mayo management making the decision to change goalies between the All Ireland and the replay, it shows that current approaches are about more than shot stopping."
If you want to see Meath's next goalie, just go to the county final. Jack Hannigan for Don Ash was Andy's 1st choice goalie with the county minors until he picked up an injury. He was replaced for the rest of the campaign by Robbie Burlingham, who will be in goals for Simonstown!! Both lads developed into top class keepers.

no.123 (Meath) - Posts: 18 - 21/10/2016 22:41:56    1928260

In fairness we've never been short of decent goalies in Meath.

Wedgie (Meath) - Posts: 253 - 22/10/2016 11:48:04    1928305

Trevor Giles,
is anyone else a bit surprised at the timing & some of the content in the highly publicised comments of Trevor Giles today. http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/trevor-giles-passion-wont-bridge-the-talent-gap-in-meath-427743.html
While he makes some good points, I cant see the point of highlighting today MOD as a passionate man and how only Keogan of the current players would in his opinion be of exceptional standard. Belief is so important for inter county players to be successful. McEntee's new management are just starting to put in place the basis for the future Meath team.
How do these comments today help progress this?

meath1967 (Meath) - Posts: 56 - 27/10/2016 22:25:38    1929695

Replying To meath1967:  "Trevor Giles,
is anyone else a bit surprised at the timing & some of the content in the highly publicised comments of Trevor Giles today. http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/trevor-giles-passion-wont-bridge-the-talent-gap-in-meath-427743.html
While he makes some good points, I cant see the point of highlighting today MOD as a passionate man and how only Keogan of the current players would in his opinion be of exceptional standard. Belief is so important for inter county players to be successful. McEntee's new management are just starting to put in place the basis for the future Meath team.
How do these comments today help progress this?"
Trevor was part of the last regime,he comes across here as if he hopes that new management don't improve things because that would show that the last regime didn't do a good job.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 28/10/2016 08:17:18    1929743

I agree with the core point that you need 3 or 4 top class players to bring a team on. I would even say a top class midfielder (John McDermott type) and a scoring forward (Stephen Bray / Bernard Flynn / Colm O'Rourke type) would bring Meath a long way.

But he lost me with his comment " Jaysus, Mick O'Dowd was a very passionate man". Sure we are all passionate for Meath football, that is totally different to instilling that in teams which I am still hoping the new management can do.

oldsam_newsam (Meath) - Posts: 638 - 28/10/2016 10:01:46    1929761

New panel must be as good as sorted now. Any word on any ins or outs

Brownepat (Meath) - Posts: 532 - 28/10/2016 10:02:14    1929762