Next Meath manager

Ziggy - Ashbourne man really ...................

Andy was in charge for at least 3 yrs at senior.

Only man for the job , has a good knowledge of the senior in meath but needs others that have been around the senior set up for the lads few years

dnewlad (Meath) - Posts: 137 - 12/07/2016 19:46:55    1882071

Replying To tampa:  "URGENT APPOINTMENT NEEDED..........

Over the last few days i have watched replyays of Meath games under Micko.The one game which everyone should watch is 2013.In this game against the Dubs we stood toe to toe with them for almost the whole game.What i did notice is that yes we needed some new players but our appetite and will to win and most of all we were not afraid of Dublin.
Roll onto this year and it shows Micko had lost total faith in himself or the Team beating Dublin.Another thing is if you look at our results in the Championship apart from the 2014 final which we were clueless against the Dubs we had chances and Team to win all other Games.
What i am basically saying is with the right Manager- Andy and proper back room Team and a proper adjusments and game plan with right players we are not as far off as people think.Our panel is young enough and after talking to a very savy Tyrone man on Saturday at the game he said Meath need a change in attidude and Manager and they will be back.

Team fo next year..
Goalie-An another..
Keogan Mcgill Tobin
Harnan Power Smyth
Menton Rooney
Mcentee o sullivan Douglas.
Newman Biggy Wallace..

Bench-Gillespie?O rourke?Lavin O Coillean.OBrien Carroll Burke Forde - A few more who impress during winter and League...
Good team and bench..Half forward line full of energy ,pace and brains..
Full forward line full of scores with biggy as free role..
Any thoughts...."
Pretty decent panel, obviously another few needed, but with the players who wouldn't play under mod , making themselves available to a top manager things can only get better, the likes of Curran,Menton,forde,Carroll, ocaolainn, etc will only add to the panel.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 12/07/2016 19:48:59    1882072

Replying To WhyTheLongFace:  "Are you Sir trying to put a smile back into football :) nice banner by the way!"
The lads would have a great time. Week two training would be pure skills. Hand passing Monday, kicking Wednesday, tackling Friday. On the beer Friday night and then I'd run the balls out of them every day the week after. The first running session is tell them to do laps and whoever stopped first gets dropped off the panel

mawmouther (Meath) - Posts: 109 - 12/07/2016 22:02:45    1882182

MarkMyWords- The only injured player that may have made a difference is Gillespie. All the others are no better than what is on and what was has been on the panel- what have you been watching (like others) over the last 2-3 years?

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 13/07/2016 01:16:33    1882285

Replying To browncows:  "MarkMyWords- The only injured player that may have made a difference is Gillespie. All the others are no better than what is on and what was has been on the panel- what have you been watching (like others) over the last 2-3 years?"
So you're saying McEntee, McGill, Newman, Power, Wallace, McMahon, Flanagan, a fully fit O'Rourke and O'Sullivan wouldn't have improved the team? Can't agree with you there and I suggest that you ask yourself that very same question.

Don't get me wrong, it was definitely the correct call for Mick to step aside but to suggest that the injured parties over the years wouldn't have made a difference is rather naive. Like I said, I feel our squad has been hit very hard on this front.

MarkMyWords (Meath) - Posts: 498 - 13/07/2016 11:12:15    1882406

MarkMyWords

Injuries have certainly hampered our development but you also have to ask big questions of management, not personal questions but objective practical questions.

We may not have great players and we have been hampered by injuries but within the last year we were still good enough to build up significant HT leads against Westmeath, Galway, Cavan and Derry yet we didn't win any of those games. Now if you're good enough to build up a lead, surely you're good enough to at least maintain the lead or thereabouts.

Collapsing like we have done so regularly recently is a psychological problem, it's the same reason why teams used to collapse against Boylan's Meath, it was always in the back of their heads that 'these feckers are going to do us'. Sadly the current Meath team seem to think that way no matter how much they're leading by and whoever takes over from MOD is going to have a job on their hands repairing that mental damage.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 13/07/2016 12:34:42    1882454

Plenty of excuses been offered from the Meath Chronicle this week about MOD's tenure.Not one word on what possibilities we could have for a new manager. They have gone very political.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 13/07/2016 14:34:58    1882550

Replying To Htaem:  "MarkMyWords

Injuries have certainly hampered our development but you also have to ask big questions of management, not personal questions but objective practical questions.

We may not have great players and we have been hampered by injuries but within the last year we were still good enough to build up significant HT leads against Westmeath, Galway, Cavan and Derry yet we didn't win any of those games. Now if you're good enough to build up a lead, surely you're good enough to at least maintain the lead or thereabouts.

Collapsing like we have done so regularly recently is a psychological problem, it's the same reason why teams used to collapse against Boylan's Meath, it was always in the back of their heads that 'these feckers are going to do us'. Sadly the current Meath team seem to think that way no matter how much they're leading by and whoever takes over from MOD is going to have a job on their hands repairing that mental damage."
I think also Htaem if your the opposition playing this current Meath team coming in at half time 6 or 7 points down you would feel quiet comfortable because every Team seem to know about our second half collapses...it actually makes the opposition come out in the second half 50% better .because psychological they know we are going to collapse and psychological so do we !

But a new manger may give us that psychological harder edge !

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 876 - 13/07/2016 14:47:23    1882561

Replying To ziggy32001:  "Plenty of excuses been offered from the Meath Chronicle this week about MOD's tenure.Not one word on what possibilities we could have for a new manager. They have gone very political."
Ah I'm sure they'll get to that in due course. Probably won't be appointed for months so Chronicle will have plenty of time to cover it.
Hopefully wheels are in motion at county board level. But who knows.

Anyway sure we all know the likely main contenders.

McEntee.
Geraghty.
Nelson.
Banty.

Ok, I'm joking about the last one...

I wonder would Eamonn O'Brien consider it again? I'd say he feels like he's got unfinished business. I know it'd be unlikely they'd go for him but you could do worse.

BarneysTie (Meath) - Posts: 258 - 13/07/2016 14:57:33    1882570

Replying To ziggy32001:  "Plenty of excuses been offered from the Meath Chronicle this week about MOD's tenure.Not one word on what possibilities we could have for a new manager. They have gone very political."
I noticed that myself ziggy, had a look through the Chronicle there and it doesn't cover anything about a possible Meath manager or anything regarding the selection process.

I mean it's poor journalism in all honesty because MOD's replacement is all Meath fans are really interested in at the minute. I wonder did they even try to contact the Meath county board this week or potential candidates for any available information.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 13/07/2016 15:00:31    1882573

It was after the Dublin game where I talked about the lack of character and mental strength in this group. A strong mentality should come from within but management should be able to build character and mental toughness in a team over time as well. Sadly we were lacking in this area under Micko and if anything, we became more fragile as the years passed. I think McEntee could excel in this department.

MarkMyWords (Meath) - Posts: 498 - 13/07/2016 15:11:23    1882583

Replying To Htaem:  "I noticed that myself ziggy, had a look through the Chronicle there and it doesn't cover anything about a possible Meath manager or anything regarding the selection process.

I mean it's poor journalism in all honesty because MOD's replacement is all Meath fans are really interested in at the minute. I wonder did they even try to contact the Meath county board this week or potential candidates for any available information."
They probably think MOD should go for it again. :P

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 13/07/2016 16:36:05    1882640

To me I believe there is only one contender and by looking and listening in the county over the last few days I am not the only one with that opinion.The county board need to get this done as far as I am concerned.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 13/07/2016 16:39:21    1882642

Please guys don't start mentioning GG for job we need to get a serious proven manager and although GG has managed but never at a high level and certainly never had any level of success
From inside the country Andy mc is the only viable candidate, there are plenty outside and I personally would not have a problem with that but the sooner the better they are named to settle things down

head4dblackspot (Meath) - Posts: 513 - 13/07/2016 17:20:35    1882671

Replying To head4dblackspot:  "Please guys don't start mentioning GG for job we need to get a serious proven manager and although GG has managed but never at a high level and certainly never had any level of success
From inside the country Andy mc is the only viable candidate, there are plenty outside and I personally would not have a problem with that but the sooner the better they are named to settle things down"
Yeah McEntee is the only viable option,which worries me.The county board would nearly not make this happen to spite everyone else.Maybe a bit to cynical to think that,but it would hardly surprise me!

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 13/07/2016 17:29:41    1882683

MarkMyWords (Meath) Newman, O'Sullivan and Wallace were on the panel and team!. I would say that a fully fit O'Rourke was miss but nobody else as there players of equal out there and on the panel and that is no dis-respect to any player.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 13/07/2016 17:43:19    1882686

Sean Kelly. that is all.

Forglory (Meath) - Posts: 85 - 13/07/2016 18:39:05    1882715

Sean Kelly. that is all.

Forglory (Meath) - Posts: 85 - 13/07/2016 18:39:55    1882716

Replying To Forglory:  "Sean Kelly. that is all."
part of the MOD regime...

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 13/07/2016 18:44:46    1882719

Replying To Forglory:  "Sean Kelly. that is all."
As much at fault for first 3 years as mod. Not a option at this time.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 13/07/2016 18:57:01    1882726