Meath v Dublin

Replying To ziggy32001:  "Well we have Rooney,Dublin haven't got a midfielder as powerful as him.Plus Douglas was always giving a short option."
You havin a laugh ?

Has Rooney ever played against this Dublin midfield before in the championship ?

Besides, Its not our midfielders you've to be wary of from kick outs.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 14/06/2016 16:59:43    1866764

Replying To bert09:  "He doesn't sleep well before the big occasion.

MOD needs to tell him he's not playing before the game. Then just before throw in hand him a jersey and tell him to go reek havoc"
Well the last 3 times we played Dublin,Reilly has scored a total of 3 points.Its fair to say that McCarthy has his number..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 14/06/2016 17:07:42    1866775

Replying To waynoI:  "You havin a laugh ?

Has Rooney ever played against this Dublin midfield before in the championship ?

Besides, Its not our midfielders you've to be wary of from kick outs."
Thats my point,its not your midfielders we should worry about from kick outs.Harry is a better fielder than any of the Dublin midfield.But thats not their strength or how Dublin play.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 14/06/2016 17:28:06    1866784

I think wayno secretly wishes he was a Meath man.

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1792 - 14/06/2016 17:40:24    1866792

Replying To Irish_downunder:  "You will all think I'm mad but In relation to Kick outs id let paddy try the first 3/4 and if we are getting roasted I would be telling him to put it in the dugout/dead and let the lads get organised and defend from there. The Dubs are very very good at turning over kickouts and having the ball back over the bar in a matter of seconds.. Meath really need to kill their rhythm as much as possible.."
you know something that is not a bad idea...actually i thought of this before,because when a Dublin player is taking a side line ball there is only 13 players he can pass to but we have 14 players on the pitch were by law the extra man should now be in the sweeper position! Now from this point we should created the free man for them so we are forcing them to play how we want them to play..because if something goes to plan its easy to defend !

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 879 - 14/06/2016 18:10:39    1866807

Dublin are much better football wise in the middle of the field than we are and that is well proven, so I would not debate that point. All we can do on the day is go out and do our best.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 14/06/2016 18:11:49    1866809

Replying To ziggy32001:  "Well the last 3 times we played Dublin,Reilly has scored a total of 3 points.Its fair to say that McCarthy has his number.."
You're right Reilly scored three points in 2012 and zero in 2013 and 2014. Not exactly a great return from one of our supposed marquee forwards. I don't know what McCarthy scored in them three games but it could easily be more than three points.

And RoyalDunne I was at the Dublin game in 2010.. SIX years ago and if memory serves me well it was Ward, Bray and Joe who were the scoring heroes that day.

Uncle_Fester (Meath) - Posts: 217 - 14/06/2016 18:30:55    1866819

Replying To browncows:  "Dublin are much better football wise in the middle of the field than we are and that is well proven, so I would not debate that point. All we can do on the day is go out and do our best."
And sometimes once in a while David beats Goliath...

Isn't that why we love the game?

Dubs will fall off their throne eventually

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1792 - 14/06/2016 18:40:24    1866824

Some of the comments on here are just laughable. Rooney better than any midfield option Dublin have? Really? Biggy roasting Dublin in 2010? Really? Lads bottom line is Dublin know they will beat Meath. Dublin can swat Kerry with ease what will they do to us. All we can do is go out and see what happens.

db9 (Meath) - Posts: 283 - 14/06/2016 18:42:11    1866825

Replying To Uncle_Fester:  "You're right Reilly scored three points in 2012 and zero in 2013 and 2014. Not exactly a great return from one of our supposed marquee forwards. I don't know what McCarthy scored in them three games but it could easily be more than three points.

And RoyalDunne I was at the Dublin game in 2010.. SIX years ago and if memory serves me well it was Ward, Bray and Joe who were the scoring heroes that day."
Actually our best forwards that day were Bray,O'Rourke and Ward.Sheridan did score a goal but he was reasonably quiet,as was Reilly.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 14/06/2016 18:43:09    1866826

Replying To ziggy32001:  "Actually our best forwards that day were Bray,O'Rourke and Ward.Sheridan did score a goal but he was reasonably quiet,as was Reilly."
Yeah, wardy was on fire that day. Good times

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1792 - 14/06/2016 19:15:40    1866839

Replying To bert09:  "Yeah, wardy was on fire that day. Good times"
He certainly was on fire. His sideline in the first gme in 07 was sickening.

Think it was him anyway.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 14/06/2016 19:22:51    1866842

Replying To bert09:  "And sometimes once in a while David beats Goliath...

Isn't that why we love the game?

Dubs will fall off their throne eventually"
Absolutely....

But it wont be sunday week.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 14/06/2016 19:25:34    1866843

Replying To ziggy32001:  "Actually our best forwards that day were Bray,O'Rourke and Ward.Sheridan did score a goal but he was reasonably quiet,as was Reilly."
Reilly was instrumental in 3 of the goals, got two close in frees , and scored a point.
Look I know certain Meath people like to bash a player cause if club etc, but this is getting ridiculous, honestly, if graham Reilly was in any other county team Meath lads would be saying we dont have a biggy.
He is the experience playier we have and actually the only player starting on 26 who was on a victorious Meath team over Dublin. To say drop him shows one of two things either complete naivety regarding football or a personal reason. I've given the facts and no one can dispute them, 45% of our TOTAL scores came either directly or indirectly from graham Reilly on Sunday, and he had a quite day. I'll leave it at that, but if any other player got that return from a game this conversation wouldn't be happening.
Anyway as I said. I wont be mentioning it or replying again.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 14/06/2016 19:50:49    1866858

Replying To waynoI:  "Absolutely....

But it wont be sunday week."
If not Sunday week when?

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1792 - 14/06/2016 20:00:04    1866863

Replying To bert09:  "If not Sunday week when?"
Don't know, But it wont be sunday week dude!

Unfortunately for you, you guys just aren't good enough yet.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 14/06/2016 20:35:40    1866879

Reilly was instrumental in 3 of the goals, got two close in frees , and scored a point.
Look I know certain Meath people like to bash a player cause if club etc, but this is getting ridiculous, honestly, if graham Reilly was in any other county team Meath lads would be saying we dont have a biggy.
He is the experience playier we have and actually the only player starting on 26 who was on a victorious Meath team over Dublin. To say drop him shows one of two things either complete naivety regarding football or a personal reason. I've given the facts and no one can dispute them, 45% of our TOTAL scores came either directly or indirectly from graham Reilly on Sunday, and he had a quite day. I'll leave it at that, but if any other player got that return from a game this conversation wouldn't be happening.
Anyway as I said. I wont be mentioning it or replying again.

1) Graham Reilly wouldn't get NEAR the Dublin starting XV. Start, middle and end of story. And I don't think he would take anyone in the Kerry, Donegal and Mayo teams either.

2) Give over will ye ? It was Louth.

I've given you facts that yu haven't responded to... Kev McManamon has scored as many points in two minutes of football against Meath, As graham Reilly has in 3 whole games combined against The Dubs. Whats your view on that fact ?

He is a player who would have fit in perfectly with the Dublin team circa 2005-2009. A man with talent, But plays as an individual rather than as part of a team, He neglects his defensive duties as Meath fans on here have agreed with me on.

He is a typical schoolyard bully of a footballer., Will come out and bully the little guy but when someone bigger than him puts it up to him he will disappear with a whimper.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 14/06/2016 20:48:12    1866888

Replying To waynoI:  "Don't know, But it wont be sunday week dude!

Unfortunately for you, you guys just aren't good enough yet."
If we can close down Cluxtons kick outs and get the upper hand around the middle we have enough up front to beat Dublin.

There's goals in McMahon, and Newman an Wallace can be a right nuisance.

Newman has ability to keep scoreboard tucking over with frees and Reilly and o Sullivan are well capable of drawing frees and kicking their own scores.

Our midfield and defence are suss however...an improvement on last year no doubt

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1792 - 14/06/2016 21:13:25    1866907

It's going to be a mammoth task, but anything can happen in Championship football. There was encouraging signs in the Louth game - improvement in fitness, holding possession, recycling the ball, a kick out strategy (needs to be better), good movement of ball in tight spaces, not panicking, good discipline etc.
Hopefully every player can up their game and cut out on the mistakes. The pressure Dublin will apply will force mistakes on players. I really hope the lads can overcome this.
From a mgt. point of view, we need to use all our subs (You can be sure Jim Gavin will). All our players need to give it all and empty their tanks. If some players have to empty their tanks over 40-50 minutes so be it. Bring on a sub and let them give it all too.
Last time it was over mid way through the first half. We really need to go in at half time level or ahead by a point or 2. That's achievable IMO. That will make a very interesting second half and really test our ability. If we're down by 5+ points at half time it's over. Laois even put 2-10 past Dublin so there is definitely weaknesses in their defence.

The last thing I want to see is 50-50 balls (via kick outs or high balls) or blanket defending. If would be great the build upon the Louth performance and show a bit more ruthlessness. We need to get stuck into them from the throw in.

Once the lads give it all, we can't ask for much more.

COME ON THE ROYALS!

DeJaMo (Meath) - Posts: 5 - 14/06/2016 21:18:43    1866911

Replying To waynoI:  "He certainly was on fire. His sideline in the first gme in 07 was sickening.

Think it was him anyway."
It was indeed, came on and nailed it to force a replay. He was an unknown outside of Meath then but anyone that had seen him play wouldn't have been in the least surprised when it went over the black spot. Twas the same day the Dunboyne contingent with the usual Ratoath and Blackhall associates had to leave the hill under a shower of bottles if I remember correct. Mind you it didn't stop me celebrating on the hill in 2010 - good times indeed!

On Biggie, he has to play, simple as that. Whether he'd start for Dublin or Clare is irrelevant. We don't need 15 defenders either. James McCarthy was in the top 2/3 in the betting for this years player of the year, he's very good so it's no shame in him having your measure on any given day but he's still human. I've said on here before, Stephen Bray used to be constantly questioned on here, unfortunately for Dublin and others this forum wasn't picking the team! What I'd give to have him out there on Sunday week. If you're gonna be questioning who shouldn't be playing, I'd love to be proved wrong eventually but for me McDonagh is the equivalent of a wasted shirt right now but what do I know. By all accounts he's been doing it in training and the behind closed doors games but he's just not for me, not fast or strong or skillful, if I've missed something I'd be interested to hear it. I like Smyth but don't think he's near physically able yet for the Dubs, without sounding biased I'd much rather have Finn there, far more physical and I liked his impact on Sunday, he ticks the boxes for what'll be needed.

On Dublin it's Kilkenny and Connolly I worry about, keep them quiet we have a small shout. We don't need reminding they have dangers everywhere but they're the key to that team, as good as some of their others are they can't control the game in the same way.

If McEntee is still missing that would be a loss, and I'd seriously hope D Tobin is fit too, apart from that though we are where we are really, and I'll look forward to giving it a rattle anyway.

dunboynelad (Meath) - Posts: 227 - 15/06/2016 00:19:27    1866989