Meath v Dublin

Replying To redser123:  "ziggy - they were experimental throw in the towel substitutions, i would argue there is no better time to throw them in and see what they're made of"
yes but he has done this over the last 4 years time and time again.Team lacking experience? Some of them have been there for 4 years and those players are getting worse.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 27/06/2016 14:39:25    1872791

Replying To bobkarlgees:  "Also what's the story with Jones coming on first I never seen or heard of him before. And he just threw him in out of nowhere. Was played during the league ?"
Jones is a great prospect!

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1792 - 27/06/2016 15:08:13    1872813

Replying To ziggy32001:  "He was on the panel,plays for Dunboyne,but no he didn't play 1 minute in the league.Lavin also played 20mins in the league.Players like that should be blooded in the league not thrown into championship."
I couldn't understand why Jones came on for basically his first start for Meat, as first sub in a championship game against Dublin in Croke park. Amateur hour.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 27/06/2016 15:13:39    1872816

Bray was badly missed in the ff line. We haven't found a replacement for him this year which is disappointing. Thought the likes of Lenihan would've stepped up but it hasn't happened for him yet

MarkMyWords (Meath) - Posts: 498 - 27/06/2016 15:15:16    1872818

Replying To MarkMyWords:  "Bray was badly missed in the ff line. We haven't found a replacement for him this year which is disappointing. Thought the likes of Lenihan would've stepped up but it hasn't happened for him yet"
McMahon should have been used,similar style to Bray.At least he would move in the FF line..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 27/06/2016 15:20:07    1872824

Replying To bobkarlgees:  "I couldn't understand why Jones came on for basically his first start for Meat, as first sub in a championship game against Dublin in Croke park. Amateur hour."
McMahon for McDonagh after 67mins too...

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 27/06/2016 15:20:39    1872825

Replying To bert09:  "Jones is a great prospect!"
No problem with that he scored a point, But why not play our more experienced players on days we need guys with a lot of experience ? MOD barely gave Ruarai O'C a run in the league at all and is he not a great prospect ? I dont think sticking it was a day to stick your finger in the air and see what way the wind was blowing. In any case substations came far to late anyway.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 27/06/2016 15:25:24    1872832

Replying To AthboyCelt:  "That Meath performance was so bad it even made Dublin look poor as we almost dragged them down to our level. Listening to MOD go on about the same old excuses all the time is just so hard to take, COS missed free was just the last straw for me, my 8 year old would have scored it with his eyes closed. Shambles, can't see many going to Derry."
A terrible miss, but I thought overall he was one positive to come out of yesterday, he made a few good breaks in second half but with no backup coming to help.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2153 - 27/06/2016 15:40:04    1872842

We need a full forward or two who can win the ball and either take a score, get fouled or lay it off to Wallace, O Sullivan or Biggy. Newman defiantly cant do this. Colm O Rourke / Bernard Flynn and Graham Geraghty / Ollie Murphy type players, once the ball went in their direction something was going to happen. If Shane O`Rourke was available he could be one such a player or Fiachra Ward. I felt sorry for our midfielders / half forward yesterday when they had the ball they had no one to aim at on the square so had to run into the Dublin tackle and get done for over carrying or loose the ball. If Meath`s midfield were delivering good accurate ball into a forward able to win it yesterday then a goal or two were there for the taken.

anto_meath (Meath) - Posts: 108 - 27/06/2016 15:42:45    1872844

Most posters have identified what were fairly obvious flaws with our game, but management seem to miss or ignore them.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2153 - 27/06/2016 15:45:59    1872848

Replying To seadog54:  "Most posters have identified what were fairly obvious flaws with our game, but management seem to miss or ignore them."
last 8 championship games that Meath have played in,they have been outscored in the second half.That covers over 3 years..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 27/06/2016 16:06:52    1872872

Replying To leftnright:  "The whole set up is completely out of it depth. County board completely inept and we need A clean sweep of every position. Too many people in there for far too long with no vision or drive for improvement. Jobs for the boys as can be seen by all the boys around the stand in pairc tailteann drinking tea n having the craic. Then if some one too many goes for a warm up they chase them back into the dugouts. Or stopping players/kids onto the field at half times. Jayz your great lads alright!! Keep up the great work!!!

Senior management completely out of their depth. Change is now required immediately. 4 years with heads in the sand. No knowledge of how to adapt to the modern game and an ignorance to realise it. Then go out today and try to contain the all Ireland champions instead of taking them on. Dropping bodies into defence for the sake of it. Did they realise they needed to tackle and hit their opponents legally. All poorly coached and showed the fear of Dublin. How long are the pundits talking how you need pressure cluxtons kick outs. Pressure them high up try and turn them over high up the field and punish on the counter attack at speed and with runners. None of that was attempted today. We barely put a hand on them. It doesn't matter how poor the ref was. That's not what we have ever been about. It needs to change fast.

Our club scene is a joke. Far too many games with no competition or edge are played and has diluted the level of player and standard of our football. They set up a committee to research this make findings and recommendations which they did and it all gets rejected. It's laughable and then you get performances like today, and we'll continue now as before. By the way those recommendations didn't go far enough but that's a separate issue.

Every club in the county has to take its share of blame also. What is going on with coaching from nursery to adult levels. CB reps go to meetings for what. Nobody making noise nobody taking on the administration asking hard questions. A once proud respected and feared football team have become a laughing stock.

At this stage I would argue that our Hurling teams deserve the backing of finance and coaching now more than ever. Yesterday's victory proves what is possible when focused driven people get a grip of something. Congratulations to Martin and the lads to win as they did in such adversity proves the calibre of the manager and of the group.He's a straight talker who will never suffer fools and he got what he deserved in Croke Park. Delighted for all concerned. I wonder how the few so called super stars of the club scene are feeling now as they looked on from the stands or their TVs.
This is the best and biggest opportunity to promote and invest in hurling in our schools, clubs, & development squads and above all Coaches that we will ever get. It must be seized.

I won't hold my breath though!!!"
Leftnright......"The whole set up completely out of its depth"...... very hard to disagree with anything you say in this post. You are a wise man when you said "i will not hold my breath" Yes the hurlers deserve great credit,and based on their effort and spirit deserve much more support including financially. I wonder could we be told the total bill for training the footballers and hurlers for the last year. Individually as teams would be much preferred

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1228 - 27/06/2016 16:07:56    1872873

Actually our last 8 championship games covers the last 3 seasons.MOD is in his 4th year.Some of the teams who have outscored us in the second half are Wicklow,Kildare,Westmeath and Louth.Not exactly teams who would have the fitness Dublin have..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 27/06/2016 16:10:47    1872877

It's quite obvious this is the worst Meath team to ever have represented the county. Things won't change overnight. The first step is a new management team and drop a good few players.

Jimin10 (Meath) - Posts: 783 - 27/06/2016 16:16:01    1872881

Replying To Jimin10:  "It's quite obvious this is the worst Meath team to ever have represented the county. Things won't change overnight. The first step is a new management team and drop a good few players."
What if the county board keep him in?

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 27/06/2016 16:25:21    1872888

I haven't been one to stick the boot into MOD as I do believe over the years he has had some bad luck with injuries and decisions going against us but after the second half yesterday I was fit to be tied. First half we done ok we contained them and had some good attacks and scores, should have had a goal and missed a few points but 3 behind at half time was ok. As far as I'm concerned the second half required a simple plan, attack attack and attack. That Dublin full back line is suspect yet we never tried to exploit it, and they were handed every kick out unchallenged. Our forwards should have stuck to those men and forced cluxton to kick long, then bring on the subs. McMahon and Tobin should have been introduced much earlier to allow an impact, I just don't know what the plan was in that second half because nothing worked. Our players are better than that and whilst we mightn't have beaten the Dubs we could and should have come out of that game in better fettle than we did and the fault of that lies solely with management as far as I'm concerned, I hope we do get a run in the qualifiers and I think we can, get over Derry and the whole thing can open up, our players deserve to progress and learn and whenever the year comes to an end then MOD needs to step aside, I like the man and appreciate his efforts and his desire but that second half yesterday frustrated me more than anything over the past few years and wasn't acceptable in my opinion.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 27/06/2016 16:26:46    1872890

I haven't been one to stick the boot into MOD as I do believe over the years he has had some bad luck with injuries and decisions going against us but after the second half yesterday I was fit to be tied. First half we done ok we contained them and had some good attacks and scores, should have had a goal and missed a few points but 3 behind at half time was ok. As far as I'm concerned the second half required a simple plan, attack attack and attack. That Dublin full back line is suspect yet we never tried to exploit it, and they were handed every kick out unchallenged. Our forwards should have stuck to those men and forced cluxton to kick long, then bring on the subs. McMahon and Tobin should have been introduced much earlier to allow an impact, I just don't know what the plan was in that second half because nothing worked. Our players are better than that and whilst we mightn't have beaten the Dubs we could and should have come out of that game in better fettle than we did and the fault of that lies solely with management as far as I'm concerned, I hope we do get a run in the qualifiers and I think we can, get over Derry and the whole thing can open up, our players deserve to progress and learn and whenever the year comes to an end then MOD needs to step aside, I like the man and appreciate his efforts and his desire but that second half yesterday frustrated me more than anything over the past few years and wasn't acceptable in my opinion.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 27/06/2016 16:47:13    1872907

Richieq (Meath) - Posts:2511 - 27/06/2016 16:47:13 1872907

bogger from meath (Meath) - Posts: 226 - 27/06/2016 16:58:22    1872914

Replying To Richieq:  "I haven't been one to stick the boot into MOD as I do believe over the years he has had some bad luck with injuries and decisions going against us but after the second half yesterday I was fit to be tied. First half we done ok we contained them and had some good attacks and scores, should have had a goal and missed a few points but 3 behind at half time was ok. As far as I'm concerned the second half required a simple plan, attack attack and attack. That Dublin full back line is suspect yet we never tried to exploit it, and they were handed every kick out unchallenged. Our forwards should have stuck to those men and forced cluxton to kick long, then bring on the subs. McMahon and Tobin should have been introduced much earlier to allow an impact, I just don't know what the plan was in that second half because nothing worked. Our players are better than that and whilst we mightn't have beaten the Dubs we could and should have come out of that game in better fettle than we did and the fault of that lies solely with management as far as I'm concerned, I hope we do get a run in the qualifiers and I think we can, get over Derry and the whole thing can open up, our players deserve to progress and learn and whenever the year comes to an end then MOD needs to step aside, I like the man and appreciate his efforts and his desire but that second half yesterday frustrated me more than anything over the past few years and wasn't acceptable in my opinion."
i agree with you Richie..i also gave Mod the benefit of the doubt ..yesterday there was no attacking plan in the second half..they should have made a cut at Dublin instead of sitting back!

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 879 - 27/06/2016 17:08:47    1872921

So that was MOD's grand plan for beating Dublin that we have been waiting for 2 years to see. Allow them to run unchallenged to within 30-40 yards of our goal, then foul them. When they have one of the best free takers in the country on their team.
Maybe the intention was to bore Dublin into submission - if we refused to run after them or tackle them, maybe they would just give up and go home.

Normally after leaving Croke Park following a beating by Dublin , I am pretty angry over something: the players, the management, the ref, something. After sitting through the second half yesterday, I was just too bored with the whole thing to even muster up anger.

anfearbeag (Meath) - Posts: 1134 - 27/06/2016 17:16:44    1872926