Meath v Dublin

Replying To Wedgie:  "Dublin double marking anyone just leaves another Meath player unmarked, Meath need to capitalise on that..."
Good first half.........We just don't have the players to compete against a team like Dublin. MOD doing HIS best with players at his disposal in fairness..

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1228 - 26/06/2016 20:25:26    1872381

Very poor effort lads, ye are going nowhere fast, time to start again, get rid of your manager and half your players. You have a large playing population and that's the best you can put on a field? I don't buy it, get the scouts out there and your house in order. This is not a disrespectful post but there's no point in patronising at this stage as it's gone beyond a joke!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8603 - 26/06/2016 20:31:59    1872387

They huffed and they puffed to keep the score down!

showforit (Meath) - Posts: 156 - 26/06/2016 20:32:32    1872388

Absolutely no ambition

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1792 - 26/06/2016 20:44:01    1872401

Dublin are just unbelievable good in fairness ...they will walk to all irelands for the next few years ,but Meath playing louth then Dublin is no way to be prepared for them !

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 879 - 26/06/2016 20:44:15    1872402

Role on the hurling championship next year
Getting to the stage where I can't watch that muck football anymore

umpireview (Meath) - Posts: 55 - 26/06/2016 20:44:21    1872403

Firstly congratulations to dublin. Deserving winners today. Upset with meaths second half performance. Takes some bottle to come out and send it on and meath did not have that bottle. Missed a lot of chances early in the second half and it's just not good enough to keep up with dublin. However not listening to the bull that ensues with dublin being so much better and not leaving second gear. Ridiculous. They are not unbeatable. Not being bitter being realistic here! Serious questions to be asked here of management. I'm still shocked I sat there for 60 minutes and watched Dalton on the pitch. Unbelievable

Beautiful.Meath (Meath) - Posts: 537 - 26/06/2016 20:46:40    1872407

Replying To realdub:  "Very poor effort lads, ye are going nowhere fast, time to start again, get rid of your manager and half your players. You have a large playing population and that's the best you can put on a field? I don't buy it, get the scouts out there and your house in order. This is not a disrespectful post but there's no point in patronising at this stage as it's gone beyond a joke!"
Cannot agree more. We are a joke. No point in pulling players back unless you can get a few forward very FAST once you get possession. Then you MUST convert 95% of frees inside 50 mts and you must not PASS the ball to the oppisition

MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1066 - 26/06/2016 20:46:41    1872408

Not often I'd agree with Joe Brolly but he got it spot on!What was the point just trying to contain Dublin,we gave up any attacking option we had!Beaten by 10 points anyway with Dublin in second gear!The whole game plan was so negative and when it was obvious it wasn't working no changes were even attempted!We have some very good footballers and in fairness a very hard working bunch but they looked like they had no idea in the second half.Never expected us to win but we are no further ahead than we were 4 years ago,hard to look at!!would prefer to loose having a go!!

JD1677 (Meath) - Posts: 68 - 26/06/2016 20:49:34    1872412

Ref killed the game by blowing for silly things,and when a meath man touches a dublin player its a free but a dublin player could do the same and get away with it , it seems like the refs are scared to make a decision against dublin.

loyalroyal15 (Meath) - Posts: 56 - 26/06/2016 21:04:42    1872422

And people in Meath were looking for Banty's head and Eamonn O'Brien's head. Both were streets ahead of this debacle.

oldsam_newsam (Meath) - Posts: 638 - 26/06/2016 21:07:40    1872424

13 men behind the ball and concede 21 points ? Brolly sitting up laughing at us and michael lyster doing his best to try make excuses for us.I would imagine dublin had harder training sessions last week.Also i could not notice how much more the dubs were physically bigger and fitter than us.Hard luck to the lads today but surely we have lads somewhere in the county better than what took to the field today.

thelutch (Meath) - Posts: 1050 - 26/06/2016 21:07:44    1872426

Another sad day for Meath football, but now becoming the norm, Dublin in second gear strolled past us. We have wasted the last four years and listened to excuse after excuse

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2154 - 26/06/2016 22:01:46    1872461

I was going to say it yesterday but I said I'd wait until after the game to see what happens.

Meath seriously lack character and mental toughness. There is a complete lack of belief in the camp. As people have pointed out, Banty's team showed more spirit and they were a more limited bunch of players.

There are teams out there who are far weaker than us who have put in better displays against Dublin and will do so again this summer. Does this rest with the management? Yes, to an extent.

Are the right players involved? Probably, but for a few injuries which would strengthen the panel. We can't change that though.

Short term: we should have enough to beat Derry and go on a run in the qualifiers.

Long term: a new management with a new approach is needed. We can't keep going back to the well with a hole in our bucket.

MarkMyWords (Meath) - Posts: 498 - 26/06/2016 22:04:07    1872464

The whole set up is completely out of it depth. County board completely inept and we need A clean sweep of every position. Too many people in there for far too long with no vision or drive for improvement. Jobs for the boys as can be seen by all the boys around the stand in pairc tailteann drinking tea n having the craic. Then if some one too many goes for a warm up they chase them back into the dugouts. Or stopping players/kids onto the field at half times. Jayz your great lads alright!! Keep up the great work!!!

Senior management completely out of their depth. Change is now required immediately. 4 years with heads in the sand. No knowledge of how to adapt to the modern game and an ignorance to realise it. Then go out today and try to contain the all Ireland champions instead of taking them on. Dropping bodies into defence for the sake of it. Did they realise they needed to tackle and hit their opponents legally. All poorly coached and showed the fear of Dublin. How long are the pundits talking how you need pressure cluxtons kick outs. Pressure them high up try and turn them over high up the field and punish on the counter attack at speed and with runners. None of that was attempted today. We barely put a hand on them. It doesn't matter how poor the ref was. That's not what we have ever been about. It needs to change fast.

Our club scene is a joke. Far too many games with no competition or edge are played and has diluted the level of player and standard of our football. They set up a committee to research this make findings and recommendations which they did and it all gets rejected. It's laughable and then you get performances like today, and we'll continue now as before. By the way those recommendations didn't go far enough but that's a separate issue.

Every club in the county has to take its share of blame also. What is going on with coaching from nursery to adult levels. CB reps go to meetings for what. Nobody making noise nobody taking on the administration asking hard questions. A once proud respected and feared football team have become a laughing stock.

At this stage I would argue that our Hurling teams deserve the backing of finance and coaching now more than ever. Yesterday's victory proves what is possible when focused driven people get a grip of something. Congratulations to Martin and the lads to win as they did in such adversity proves the calibre of the manager and of the group.He's a straight talker who will never suffer fools and he got what he deserved in Croke Park. Delighted for all concerned. I wonder how the few so called super stars of the club scene are feeling now as they looked on from the stands or their TVs.
This is the best and biggest opportunity to promote and invest in hurling in our schools, clubs, & development squads and above all Coaches that we will ever get. It must be seized.

I won't hold my breath though!!!

leftnright (Meath) - Posts: 30 - 26/06/2016 22:17:20    1872475

Replying To MarkMyWords:  "I was going to say it yesterday but I said I'd wait until after the game to see what happens.

Meath seriously lack character and mental toughness. There is a complete lack of belief in the camp. As people have pointed out, Banty's team showed more spirit and they were a more limited bunch of players.

There are teams out there who are far weaker than us who have put in better displays against Dublin and will do so again this summer. Does this rest with the management? Yes, to an extent.

Are the right players involved? Probably, but for a few injuries which would strengthen the panel. We can't change that though.

Short term: we should have enough to beat Derry and go on a run in the qualifiers.

Long term: a new management with a new approach is needed. We can't keep going back to the well with a hole in our bucket."
the hole in our bucket is getting bigger by the year

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2154 - 26/06/2016 22:25:09    1872478

Replying To nobull456:  "Good first half.........We just don't have the players to compete against a team like Dublin. MOD doing HIS best with players at his disposal in fairness.."
his best, what is it he is doing exactly?

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2154 - 26/06/2016 22:28:32    1872480

Exactly how I called it...

A 2nd half collapse that would lack a game plan and passion..

It's a tough one to take and is now a standard..

How can a team expect to build a lead when you concede EVERY SINGLE KICKOUT

Suicide football.. 3 points in a second half..

Royalio11 (Meath) - Posts: 757 - 26/06/2016 22:46:53    1872483

Lads, that's the best anyone could have done. There is no point in analysing or hand wringing. This Dublin team are miles ahead of all other counties not just in Leinster. They won pulling up against Kerry last year and they'll do it again this year.

Meath playing the way they did today would probably give all the Division 1 teams (bar Dublin) a serious challenge and probably beat a few of them.

Dublin are just on a level that no other county can achieve for numerous reasons. The football championship is effectively a dead competition and it will be a for a good few years till either Dublin decline or other counties figure a way of overcoming the serious imbalance that exists right now, be they financial problems, access to top level coaching, rural isolation, access to facilities, low population etc.

Meath might be coming right at underage now (fingers crossed) but there's still a long way to go till we get a chance to see if that will bear fruit at senior level.

LoyalRoyal (None) - Posts: 452 - 26/06/2016 22:52:54    1872485

Very few players stood up today, how did mod look at tormey and McDonagh and not make a change quicker? Wallace running around in circles with no support, biggy put alot of them lies to bed about him not playing well v dubs, but midway through second half you could see he was wrecked, lets hope the knock isn't too bad cause you could count the number of class player in this Meath set up on one hand and he is definitely one of them.
Again we are not fit enough, it is beyond belief after 4 years how unfit we actually are, I was afraid of a containment exercise, and that's exactly what we got. I look forward to next year and a new leader, however it may take a couple of years to undo the damage that has been done over last 4 years

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 26/06/2016 23:12:51    1872494