Meath v Dublin

Very disappointing to see the lack of colour around the county...how times have changed

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1792 - 25/06/2016 20:02:40    1871955

Replying To bert09:  "Very disappointing to see the lack of colour around the county...how times have changed"
My flag is out and also my parents have one out

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 25/06/2016 20:16:41    1871965

Replying To ziggy32001:  "Graham Reilly "As forwards we need to work harder me included"

Even he admits it RD! :P"
Where did you see that?

Barney123 (Meath) - Posts: 676 - 25/06/2016 22:10:38    1872022

Replying To Barney123:  "Where did you see that?"
My cousin(who I go to the matches with) told me. I would have to ask him were he seen it,but he wouldn't make it up.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 25/06/2016 22:18:43    1872028

Replying To ziggy32001:  "Graham Reilly "As forwards we need to work harder me included"

Even he admits it RD! :P"
And why wouldn't he? Of course they have to work harder, him included to overcome this fantastic Dublin team. And with two guys planked on him today it will free up one of the others, most likely tormey as they feel he is the least threat, so time to up your game Andy and show us something special
Hon the Royal

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 26/06/2016 06:23:21    1872098

Replying To royaldunne:  "And why wouldn't he? Of course they have to work harder, him included to overcome this fantastic Dublin team. And with two guys planked on him today it will free up one of the others, most likely tormey as they feel he is the least threat, so time to up your game Andy and show us something special
Hon the Royal"
Tormey had a decent game against Louth and worked very hard.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 26/06/2016 09:24:41    1872116

Replying To royaldunne:  "And why wouldn't he? Of course they have to work harder, him included to overcome this fantastic Dublin team. And with two guys planked on him today it will free up one of the others, most likely tormey as they feel he is the least threat, so time to up your game Andy and show us something special
Hon the Royal"
Royaldunne You WONT see graham double marked. No Meath player will be given a free role. They are not worried about any Meath player for that matter. Tormey will have to prove he has the fitness and workrate to play a full match at this level. Same with Graham. So no excuses in advance for any player not coming up to the plate. This is it for the whole team including management....s..t or get off the pot! NO excuses accepted

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1228 - 26/06/2016 09:36:12    1872123

Hon the Royal"
Agree.

Three most important players for us today-
Big harry, Newman and Harnan

Best of luck to all today.

Meath by two

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1792 - 26/06/2016 09:37:47    1872124

Replying To bert09:  "Agree.

Three most important players for us today-
Big harry, Newman and Harnan

Best of luck to all today.

Meath by two"
The problem is that I think EVERY player is important today.Going on facts and seen evidence I cannot see us winning today.I would be delighted if we put in a performance,but again little evidence for that.Reilly can do the spectacular but goes missing when things are not going great and often lets his marker have a field day.McDonagh looks out of his depth at this level.Too many of our defenders are too lose.Far too much expected of Rooney pretty much on his own in midfield.Tormey is a good lad,but he is no Joe Sheridan.We continue to fade out in the second half of games against much lesser teams that Dublin.Louth actually scored more than us in the second half the last day.Now we could ignore all this and listen to our hearts...
I may not be in a great mood because I have toncillitis which is killing me,but I will still be in Croke Park later supporting and team and hoping,but I think the Derry game in a few weeks will be vital for this team and huge for MOD.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 26/06/2016 09:56:50    1872137

This is the least confident I have ever felt we would beat Dublin and as facebook reminded me this morning,I actually predicted we would win in 2010..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 26/06/2016 10:20:28    1872154

We should have played them yesterday straight after the Hurling, we'd have beaten anybody!
There's no reason why we can't beat them today, we have the players, we're just as fit as they are. It will all come down to game management, don't let Cluxton control the game with his kick outs, don't let Dub bully you off the ball, feed off the energy coming from Hill 16, think of how special it feels scoring into that end on a day like today, don't let Dublin dictate the pace, use the space, close down the key players and make proper use of the subs, if someone's having an off day get them off fast. Above all else when you're winning with fifteen minutes to go don't panic, just relax and close out the game.

Wedgie (Meath) - Posts: 253 - 26/06/2016 10:55:20    1872165

Replying To Wedgie:  "We should have played them yesterday straight after the Hurling, we'd have beaten anybody!
There's no reason why we can't beat them today, we have the players, we're just as fit as they are. It will all come down to game management, don't let Cluxton control the game with his kick outs, don't let Dub bully you off the ball, feed off the energy coming from Hill 16, think of how special it feels scoring into that end on a day like today, don't let Dublin dictate the pace, use the space, close down the key players and make proper use of the subs, if someone's having an off day get them off fast. Above all else when you're winning with fifteen minutes to go don't panic, just relax and close out the game."
Great post, Wedgie can you say that the boys today :)

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 26/06/2016 11:23:09    1872175

Replying To ziggy32001:  "The problem is that I think EVERY player is important today.Going on facts and seen evidence I cannot see us winning today.I would be delighted if we put in a performance,but again little evidence for that.Reilly can do the spectacular but goes missing when things are not going great and often lets his marker have a field day.McDonagh looks out of his depth at this level.Too many of our defenders are too lose.Far too much expected of Rooney pretty much on his own in midfield.Tormey is a good lad,but he is no Joe Sheridan.We continue to fade out in the second half of games against much lesser teams that Dublin.Louth actually scored more than us in the second half the last day.Now we could ignore all this and listen to our hearts...
I may not be in a great mood because I have toncillitis which is killing me,but I will still be in Croke Park later supporting and team and hoping,but I think the Derry game in a few weeks will be vital for this team and huge for MOD."
Get well soon Ziggy lad. We need everyone in full voice today and I'm sure you won't be held back from supporting the Royals!

Anyone know a pub to get a decent carvery around Croke Park on match day? Heading early to watch the soccer

JohnJoeRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 56 - 26/06/2016 11:40:40    1872182

Anyone read the interview in the star yesterday with cian ward ?.He more or less saying that MOD has got it all wrong in his 4 years in charge and had a fair swipe at the meath county board.

thelutch (Meath) - Posts: 1050 - 26/06/2016 12:32:13    1872220

Get well soon ziggy, hopefully today will give you a boost!

COME ON THE ROYAL!!!

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 26/06/2016 12:52:24    1872240

Ah ziggy you will be grand, after biggy rattles the net and yourself and himself are walking along jones rd singing beautiful Meath.

Hon the Royal

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 26/06/2016 13:19:16    1872259

Replying To ziggy32001:  "Tormey had a decent game against Louth and worked very hard."
Had a ok game v Louth but has been absent most of the year.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 26/06/2016 13:20:29    1872260

Replying To nobull456:  "Royaldunne You WONT see graham double marked. No Meath player will be given a free role. They are not worried about any Meath player for that matter. Tormey will have to prove he has the fitness and workrate to play a full match at this level. Same with Graham. So no excuses in advance for any player not coming up to the plate. This is it for the whole team including management....s..t or get off the pot! NO excuses accepted"
First game then that graham wont be double marked v dubs, as he was the last 3 times we played them. Great to hear that, it will give him plenty of room. But I can see Gavin changing that if he gets a few points and sets up a couple of others.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 26/06/2016 13:23:10    1872261

Replying To royaldunne:  "First game then that graham wont be double marked v dubs, as he was the last 3 times we played them. Great to hear that, it will give him plenty of room. But I can see Gavin changing that if he gets a few points and sets up a couple of others."
Dublin double marking anyone just leaves another Meath player unmarked, Meath need to capitalise on that...

Wedgie (Meath) - Posts: 253 - 26/06/2016 13:36:55    1872266

Cancel championship games for this over the last 3 or 4 years and that's why we are where we are,unless you get the club scene correct forget about intercounty stuff, give these guys weeks upon weeks to go out and just play like lads that never seen each other before, meath county board need to ask themselves what they are trying to do

14forward (Meath) - Posts: 39 - 26/06/2016 20:10:57    1872369