Meath v Louth

Maybe I am just being pessimistic but I thought we actually played pretty well today. We didn't finish goals well but overall individual defence was good kickouts were solid bar 10 mins to start the 2nd half and we scored 20 times. However despite all of this we only beat Louth by 4. This is worrying to me. The handicap would need to be 10 for me to back us against Dublin

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1464 - 12/06/2016 21:06:20    1865761

Biggy had a quiet day but still got 3 points from play set up another 2 points and was fouled for two others, I guess not bad for a quiet day.
Osullivan was excellent, but got to say burke was motm for me for his tenacity and work rate . Thought the aforementioned biggy, tormey, McDonagh etc were dead on feet at hour mark

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 12/06/2016 21:24:59    1865774

While we "only" beat them by 4, we were 10 points the better team today. Some poor shot selection and letting them in for a late goal just gave the impression it was close.

I was happy with the performance today, we seemed pretty composed and the choices of either running or hitting a long ball into the forwards were well made. The team looked pretty mobile, with lads tracking back well, and players like Douglas and Burke even managing to surge forward when needed. The real test will be Dublin of course.

CastleBravo (Meath) - Posts: 1647 - 12/06/2016 22:22:03    1865807

Replying To ziggy32001:  "I think so too.We have the forwards to trouble Dublin. I also thought today was the best game by management too.The team was setup well,players played were they should have played and tactically much better too.So credit to management today. A little worried about Tobin been injured again and O'Sullivan indeed oozes class."
Listen. All well and good having the forwards to ask questions of us. I agree I think you do.

Its not us that have to worry about stopping you. Its you who have to worry about stopping us.

And its not just the forwards either... ( Paul Flynn, Diarmuid Connolly, Ciaran Kilkenny, Paddy Andrews, Dean Rock, Bernard Brogan, Cormac Costello, Paul Mannion, Kev McManamon, Con O'Callaghan, Conor McHugh, Eoghan O'Gara), Its the marauding runs from Philly McMahon from corner back, Or James McCarthy and John Small who are up and down the field all day, And they wont run out of gas. They will be fit and wont tire like Louth did.

We have issues defensively, Everyone knows that. And you will cause us trouble, But I just don't see how you come out of this with a win.

For me, Dublin just hold all the aces and can counteract whatever style you turn up and play with..

If you sit back and try stop us running up a big score, Then we will be patient. We will run yous into the ground by keeping possesion and have you chasing shadows. Evenually youll run out of steam and we will beat you in the last 15... OR, you can come and play "traditional" Meath football, and go man for man, But man for man, do you REALLY think you can keep us quiet enough for 70 minutes.. I just cant see it.

Can any of yous ?

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 12/06/2016 22:47:17    1865824

Replying To waynoI:  "Listen. All well and good having the forwards to ask questions of us. I agree I think you do.

Its not us that have to worry about stopping you. Its you who have to worry about stopping us.

And its not just the forwards either... ( Paul Flynn, Diarmuid Connolly, Ciaran Kilkenny, Paddy Andrews, Dean Rock, Bernard Brogan, Cormac Costello, Paul Mannion, Kev McManamon, Con O'Callaghan, Conor McHugh, Eoghan O'Gara), Its the marauding runs from Philly McMahon from corner back, Or James McCarthy and John Small who are up and down the field all day, And they wont run out of gas. They will be fit and wont tire like Louth did.

We have issues defensively, Everyone knows that. And you will cause us trouble, But I just don't see how you come out of this with a win.

For me, Dublin just hold all the aces and can counteract whatever style you turn up and play with..

If you sit back and try stop us running up a big score, Then we will be patient. We will run yous into the ground by keeping possesion and have you chasing shadows. Evenually youll run out of steam and we will beat you in the last 15... OR, you can come and play "traditional" Meath football, and go man for man, But man for man, do you REALLY think you can keep us quiet enough for 70 minutes.. I just cant see it.

Can any of yous ?"
No but I am trying to look at the positives.As I said Dublin will win,but I really don't think we will see the 16 point drubbing of a few seasons ago.I am trying to concentrate on what Meath can do.We all know what Dublin can do,and whereas they would have been watched closely and studied,you cannot get too bogged down in that.
I just hope Meath play to their potential and if they do,they could rattle the Dubs a bit and that would be more than anyone has done recently.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 12/06/2016 22:56:56    1865832

Had to go home and have a long think about the game today. I left feeling delighted and the more I thought about the 4 point win the more I doubted the performance. But I do believe now this would have always been a tight game, realistically we should have beaten them by a lot more. Backs were fantastic. Tobin a big loss when he went off. Rooney turned over ball after ball and caught a lot. Him with a more solid partnership in the middle would be a force to be reckoned with. A lot of positives to take from this but also a lot to work on for 2 weeks time. Nothing is impossible but meath need to believe they can pull this out of the bag.

Beautiful.Meath (Meath) - Posts: 537 - 12/06/2016 23:31:34    1865852

I thought we moved the ball through the hands very good at times today. Defensively we were very disciplined to be fair, We didn't give away many handy/scorable frees. Scored 20 times, probably should have scored 27or8 times but can't complain. Never thought we looked like losing the match.

Very impressed with all the debutants, didn't look out of place or nervous, especially impressed with Douglas & O'Sullivan.O'Sullivan is pure class, always looking to split the defence with a pass or burst on.

I thought Dalton McDonagh looked unfit though, can't see him starting the next day, better impact of the bench I think.

Best of the day for me were Keogan, Burke, Douglas, & O'Sullivan.

RedMeath12 (Meath) - Posts: 117 - 13/06/2016 08:54:29    1865908

average performance yesterday , need to improve drastically to even challenge Dublin, debutants impressed, id be very worried if tobins injury is serious as we need him against the dubs. Thought the forwards didn't work hard enough stopping louth coming out particularily biggy who looked either unfit or injured.
on a side note it was a disgrace holding the game in parnell park , leinster council should be ashamed of themselves , no traffic management in place whatsoever I only saw 3 guards outside the ground absolutely nothing on the roads in which were like a bottlekneck as bot sets of fans came in the same road . A journey that would usually take me 40 mins took an hour and a half

royalrover (Meath) - Posts: 55 - 13/06/2016 09:29:41    1865926

Couldn't make the game yesterday. But I taught before yesterday if we get over the Louth by any means I might set us up nicely for a good run this year. We where a joke the last to years to be honest and its not exactly now or never but (They are still a young team ) but its about time this year came of age a had a right crack at trying to reach a quarter final. We play Dublin next no pressure on us at we can have a crack of them see where we are after that I expect us to lose. But if we could come out with a credible result ie within 5 points it might set us up for a decent run.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 13/06/2016 09:39:37    1865936

Decent performance over all considering it was a derby game. Though Douglas and Burke great in defence . Rooney played well but a lot more in him I think to come. Cillian O Sullivan a star and our real threat . I think against Dubs we need all our players being physically able for the job. . Can't see Management changing any players from starting 15 . More than likely do the same v Dubs with pace to come on towards the end. Why would you change a championship winning team ? just would not make sense bar injury

Bear10 (Meath) - Posts: 463 - 13/06/2016 09:52:44    1865939

I see Colm Keys seems a bit concerned. He suggested we need to be far more ruthless and passed up a lot of goal chances.But pointed out to the fact that Louth actually beat us by a point in the second half and that our second half displays are still a major concern.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 13/06/2016 10:05:13    1865954

I would be very worried about our fitness. Dalton Mc D looked wrecked coming off so perhaps it was an injury or something. Reilly needs to buck himself up, i think his man scored 2 points in the first half. He put in zero effort to stop him. James Mc Carthy will run him into the ground. Tormey as well looked shattered. Anyway hope this is not the case. Good performance against Dublin and get ready for the qualifiers. Ultimately we have nothing to lose against Dublin and we should play with the shackles off. Keoghan and Harnan were immense yesterday. Rooney showing great promise and O Brien did very well. He will be a great addition over time and also it would be unreal if you throw Gillespie and Menton into that mix.

pretender (Meath) - Posts: 358 - 13/06/2016 10:21:19    1865973

Replying To pretender:  "I would be very worried about our fitness. Dalton Mc D looked wrecked coming off so perhaps it was an injury or something. Reilly needs to buck himself up, i think his man scored 2 points in the first half. He put in zero effort to stop him. James Mc Carthy will run him into the ground. Tormey as well looked shattered. Anyway hope this is not the case. Good performance against Dublin and get ready for the qualifiers. Ultimately we have nothing to lose against Dublin and we should play with the shackles off. Keoghan and Harnan were immense yesterday. Rooney showing great promise and O Brien did very well. He will be a great addition over time and also it would be unreal if you throw Gillespie and Menton into that mix."
Huge pity we don't have Gillespie,him and Rooney now thats a combo!

Yeah I was angry with Reilly.We were well set up at one stage,he just let his man drift in behind just stood there didn't bother going with him.Some people choose to ignore this problem in his game and focus on the points he scores.But his points often are cancelled out by his unwillingness to work off the ball and do good for the team.We see this time and time again with him and simply cannot afford this against Dublin.Many people around me felt he wasn't working as hard as the rest of the team too.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 13/06/2016 10:30:36    1865981

Anyone know whats the story with McGill and Brian Power? Is there any chance they could be back for Dublin?

Barney123 (Meath) - Posts: 676 - 13/06/2016 10:35:03    1865985

They still have the mentality of defending leads in the second half rather than the ruthlessness and drive to add to them. That has to change. Instead of easing up somewhat or doing all they feel they need to, to win, they should keep their shoulders to the wheel. Fitness over 70 minutes plus is also a factor.

GlasagusOr (Meath) - Posts: 1348 - 13/06/2016 10:38:05    1865986

Replying To pretender:  "I would be very worried about our fitness. Dalton Mc D looked wrecked coming off so perhaps it was an injury or something. Reilly needs to buck himself up, i think his man scored 2 points in the first half. He put in zero effort to stop him. James Mc Carthy will run him into the ground. Tormey as well looked shattered. Anyway hope this is not the case. Good performance against Dublin and get ready for the qualifiers. Ultimately we have nothing to lose against Dublin and we should play with the shackles off. Keoghan and Harnan were immense yesterday. Rooney showing great promise and O Brien did very well. He will be a great addition over time and also it would be unreal if you throw Gillespie and Menton into that mix."
Agree totally with you re O Brien a great athlete and could turn into a fine player here's hoping! . But I do think we have to forget regrettably about Menton & Gillespie (injured long term ) for this year. as for other forwards I think it just did not happen yesterday but as a group they would be probably the best club forwards that management has to pick from currently . But do not forget James McEntee will have to come into the frame also

Bear10 (Meath) - Posts: 463 - 13/06/2016 10:47:50    1865993

Replying To ziggy32001:  "Huge pity we don't have Gillespie,him and Rooney now thats a combo!

Yeah I was angry with Reilly.We were well set up at one stage,he just let his man drift in behind just stood there didn't bother going with him.Some people choose to ignore this problem in his game and focus on the points he scores.But his points often are cancelled out by his unwillingness to work off the ball and do good for the team.We see this time and time again with him and simply cannot afford this against Dublin.Many people around me felt he wasn't working as hard as the rest of the team too."
yea, if i was a player looking at that it would drive you mad. They should have whipped him off a half time and put on Mc Mahon. The need to get ruthless with this crap and set a good tone

pretender (Meath) - Posts: 358 - 13/06/2016 10:49:04    1865996

Congrats to Meath yesterday. I was very disappointed with Louths performance yesterday.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 13/06/2016 11:32:18    1866027

Replying To ziggy32001:  "I see Colm Keys seems a bit concerned. He suggested we need to be far more ruthless and passed up a lot of goal chances.But pointed out to the fact that Louth actually beat us by a point in the second half and that our second half displays are still a major concern."
Wouldn't worry about it Ziggy. Lads are trying not to show full deck in advance of Dublin.

I'm convinced we could snuff out any rally by Louth. For me that was the most impressive thing about yesterday.

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1792 - 13/06/2016 12:16:46    1866075

, ill tell u what, tell me a replacement that will score 3 set up 3 was frees and be the Mai assist in 3 others. That's 9 of our total 20,.
Who else could do that btw his man kept changing as he moved position

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 13/06/2016 12:17:48    1866076