Meath v Louth

Replying To ziggy32001:  "FFS never bet against your own team and you just lost 100 euro :P"
Hard to ignore the odds Ziggy. Worth a punt

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1792 - 11/06/2016 22:40:37    1865311

Replying To bert09:  "Fermanagh to take Donegal, and Louth to take Meath nets me 3 grand with a 100 euro bet. Tasty"
I'll be honest Bert, I like the odd bet but never bet against your own, no matter what the odds. It just doesn't sit well with me

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 11/06/2016 23:36:39    1865324

I havent posted here in ages, but I note the traffic/parking concerns from some posters.
I am a Royal 'spy' who is ensconced here in the GAA heartland of the Dubs, and I can see Parnell Park from my back window :-)

First thing to say is, getting near the ground & finding parking will be easy - easier than any provincial venue would have been.

The One Golden tip to give any travelling fans, is simply to avoid Whitehall/ Collins Avenue,
as thats the route the majority of people will go down, and causes road-rage.

Instead, use one of the many other arteries that lead to Donnycarney -
The Malahide Road, either approaching from the North side (Clare Hall/ Northern Cross),
or from the South end via Griffith Avenue.
Or you could go via Beaumount -Artane, and circumvent Collins Avenue
Or even go via the Howth Road and turn at Killester, which is right beside the ground.

There is free street parking everywhere, and places like Killester train station, Supervalu, have car parks.
Even park in the welcoming Saint Vincents GAA grounds around the corner, beside the Casino in Marino.
Diarmaid Connolly might even buy you a pint!

As for the venue itself, I am in the minority who thinks it will be perfect! :-)
Think about it - It will be a Full house, tightly enclosed pitch, 2 neighbouring tribes going to battle, on a warm Summers day
The atmosphere will be electric!

As for the match itself - One could build a case for either team winning.
Our league campaign was not good,
but I dont think the team got the credit they deserved for those away performances against Galway, Derry & Laois
Louth surprised many in the League, even if it was Div 4.
Whoever loses, will lose against Derry 6 days later, so the whole season is on the line here.
I think Meath will sneak it.
Either way, enjoy your day out in the Big Smoke!

Jinxy (Meath) - Posts: 29 - 11/06/2016 23:43:13    1865325

Replying To Jinxy:  "I havent posted here in ages, but I note the traffic/parking concerns from some posters.
I am a Royal 'spy' who is ensconced here in the GAA heartland of the Dubs, and I can see Parnell Park from my back window :-)

First thing to say is, getting near the ground & finding parking will be easy - easier than any provincial venue would have been.

The One Golden tip to give any travelling fans, is simply to avoid Whitehall/ Collins Avenue,
as thats the route the majority of people will go down, and causes road-rage.

Instead, use one of the many other arteries that lead to Donnycarney -
The Malahide Road, either approaching from the North side (Clare Hall/ Northern Cross),
or from the South end via Griffith Avenue.
Or you could go via Beaumount -Artane, and circumvent Collins Avenue
Or even go via the Howth Road and turn at Killester, which is right beside the ground.

There is free street parking everywhere, and places like Killester train station, Supervalu, have car parks.
Even park in the welcoming Saint Vincents GAA grounds around the corner, beside the Casino in Marino.
Diarmaid Connolly might even buy you a pint!

As for the venue itself, I am in the minority who thinks it will be perfect! :-)
Think about it - It will be a Full house, tightly enclosed pitch, 2 neighbouring tribes going to battle, on a warm Summers day
The atmosphere will be electric!

As for the match itself - One could build a case for either team winning.
Our league campaign was not good,
but I dont think the team got the credit they deserved for those away performances against Galway, Derry & Laois
Louth surprised many in the League, even if it was Div 4.
Whoever loses, will lose against Derry 6 days later, so the whole season is on the line here.
I think Meath will sneak it.
Either way, enjoy your day out in the Big Smoke!"
Jinxs welcome back.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 12/06/2016 01:38:19    1865337

Replying To royaldunne:  "I'll be honest Bert, I like the odd bet but never bet against your own, no matter what the odds. It just doesn't sit well with me"
Odds on Louth are hard to resist RD. Louth really owe us one and this could be the time.

I'll be a happy man if Meath win, but I'm worried about this one. Here's to a Meath win!

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1792 - 12/06/2016 08:29:00    1865354

I'll be taking my annual trip to The Palace after the game. If the wife asks I'm down the local!!!!!! Up the Royals

JohnJoeRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 56 - 12/06/2016 09:48:38    1865366

Does anyone know if Donnycarney church car park is open (outside of mass times) for public parking if there early (2ish) or is there a barrier?

GlasagusOr (Meath) - Posts: 1348 - 12/06/2016 09:59:45    1865370

Replying To OLLIE:  "Ziggy park beside the church at Whitehall."
I know a few people that live around Parnell park its true there is no parking close to the pitch its best to park away from the pitch and walk.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 12/06/2016 10:43:16    1865388

Is there free parking at the shopping centre in artane where tesco is? That about a 15-20 min walk is it?

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6344 - 12/06/2016 11:06:45    1865404

Morning lads.

Advice for people driving, if you want to avoid traffic (which will be hectic after the game) my best bet would be to drive to Howth Junction Donaghmede train station and hop on a dart from HJD to Killester. Then walk to the ground (5 mins) from there.

Trains are regular and its only an 8 or 9 min train journey. costs about 2:40.

For people who think this is a good idea and don't know how to get to HJD its simple.

M1 southbound. Take the last exit before leaving the motorway and heading into Whitehall and take the first exit at the roundabout. Its a straight drive all the way down the Oscar Traynor road (Youll pass northside, Coolock Garda station and Cadburys on the way). At the main road junction traffic lights just past caburys, continue straight down the Tonlagee road and just keep going until you see Naomh Barrog GAA club, Swing a left there, then the next left and youll be at HJD

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 12/06/2016 11:22:56    1865414

Replying To bobkarlgees:  "I know a few people that live around Parnell park its true there is no parking close to the pitch its best to park away from the pitch and walk."
ya much better imo.Even if you got parking close to the ground,it will be harder to get out. I suppose you could park somewhere up near the beachcomber pub too.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 12/06/2016 11:32:37    1865419

glad thats over! well done to the lads

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 876 - 12/06/2016 17:08:52    1865527

Well thats a bloody relief, absolutely no pressure on us now against Dublin.

loyal82royal (Meath) - Posts: 260 - 12/06/2016 17:37:02    1865549

Job done by the meath players today. Took a look at both teams to see how theyd play. Meath were very defensive at times getting 13 men behind the ball. Clearly looking at perfecting that kinda system against the dubs in a few weeks. Will keep you in the game for a while but we wont be niave like louth. We wont run into the tackle. Bring it on in a few weeks.. wait for the crank in optimism by royals now... ☺

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 12/06/2016 17:42:13    1865551

I'm certainly not optimistic waynol

Barney123 (Meath) - Posts: 676 - 12/06/2016 17:58:02    1865560

Comfortable enough the whole way through,expect us to improve again against dublin.We should be getting closer to the dubs hopefully with them missing two all-stars (one of them footballer of the year).I don't care how good you are but losing two all stars off any team is a loss.If dublin can win the sam without these two guys they deserve a lot of credit but i personally can't see them retaining the title.I honestly think we will give them a run for their money in two weeks but we will have to take our chances unlike today,newman should have had another 2-03 to his tally.

thelutch (Meath) - Posts: 1049 - 12/06/2016 18:04:51    1865565

Good to get that win. Felt like we always had an extra gear and could counter any Louth rally. Great to see o Sullivan finally get to start fulfilling his potential in the championship.

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1792 - 12/06/2016 18:09:06    1865570

Thought we were comfortable and controlled the game.O'Sullivan was fantastic and our best player.Harnan,Wllace,Keoghan also had goof outings,the two midfielders were solid.
Newman and McDonagh both very poor though,and we are still not clinical enough.Louth were very poor and we should have buried them.That goal Louth scored is a big concern,they caused problems once they started running at us.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 12/06/2016 18:22:52    1865580

Meath's kick passing build-up play especially in the first half was the most stylish they've been in many years (even if Louth gave them the time and space to make them look better than they really are). A lot easier on the eye than the hand passing running game. Of course they need to be much more clinical around goal. It was a solid performance for first day out all round; Wallace and Douglas were the pick of the bunch for me.

GlasagusOr (Meath) - Posts: 1348 - 12/06/2016 18:32:19    1865594

Replying To GlasagusOr:  "Meath's kick passing build-up play especially in the first half was the most stylish they've been in many years (even if Louth gave them the time and space to make them look better than they really are). A lot easier on the eye than the hand passing running game. Of course they need to be much more clinical around goal. It was a solid performance for first day out all round; Wallace and Douglas were the pick of the bunch for me."
Cillian O'Sullivan was pure class.We don't have another player with the ability he has.You are right though Douglas did very well.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 12/06/2016 18:44:11    1865602