Meath v Louth

Replying To Aboutthehouse:  "Pretty disappointed with the goalkeeper choice again lads. How many chances can this man get... Pretty demoralising for young Mchugh.
I think we have enough with this team to get by Louth. But I think we must have the next game in mind. And to be honest I'm really worried about the lack of physicality in our forward line. Wallace, McMahon, McDonagh.. These are all light guys. I think we need more of a target man in there. Look at Rock, Connoly (Dublin), Donaghy, Geany (Kerry) Murphy, McFadden (Donegal) o'shea (Mayo)

Am I wrong here..??"
Aboutthehouse (Leitrim) - Are you Colm O'Rourke..??

There can't be that many Leitrim men commenting on a Meath forum, hahahaha

RedMeath12 (Meath) - Posts: 117 - 10/06/2016 13:50:16    1864818

Replying To MeathGaaLad15:  "Decent team, interesting to see how it would of shaped up if we had a fully fit mcentee power and mcgill, think the two boys in the back are huge loss"
I am not sure if McGill is a "huge loss" as you say. He was burned several times in the league. He may be the best of a bad bunch of full backs but that's it imo.

I agree with the others regarding Paddy, very lucky to be starting. How we line up at midfield will be interesting. Perhaps G Reilly in for throw in and Cian O'Brien after that with Tormey operating between HF and FF lines?

oldsam_newsam (Meath) - Posts: 638 - 10/06/2016 14:16:26    1864836

Replying To BarneysTie:  "This might come as a surprise, but we live in an era where county teams play challenge matches behind closed doors and everyone involved is under strict instruction not to breathe a word about line-ups/who is 'going well' etc. Also, it's rare that a manager says anything remotely interesting these days, so I'm not really sure what you expect local papers to do given the information vacuum that generally exists not just in Meath, but all over the country.

Unfortunately they aren't in the same position as some posters on here and can't print stuff like "I spoke to a panel member who told me so-and-so is flying and scored 1-5 v Donegal...""
Yes, I have noticed that there are much less challenge games & no information coming from the camp. We will see over the next few games whether the secrecy has been worth it. Remember, in our most successful era there were many more challenges etc and we generally more aware of what was going on.

Personally I also thought that the reports in the Chronicle from 1st round of the championship were much more focused on senior with team of the week just from senior and that peeved me at the same time but that's all for another day.

oldsam_newsam (Meath) - Posts: 638 - 10/06/2016 14:32:16    1864845

Replying To oldsam_newsam:  "I am not sure if McGill is a "huge loss" as you say. He was burned several times in the league. He may be the best of a bad bunch of full backs but that's it imo.

I agree with the others regarding Paddy, very lucky to be starting. How we line up at midfield will be interesting. Perhaps G Reilly in for throw in and Cian O'Brien after that with Tormey operating between HF and FF lines?"
Ya if this was the team and the positions,I would not be happy with it.But it probably will change.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 10/06/2016 14:57:47    1864862

Replying To oldsam_newsam:  "Yes, I have noticed that there are much less challenge games & no information coming from the camp. We will see over the next few games whether the secrecy has been worth it. Remember, in our most successful era there were many more challenges etc and we generally more aware of what was going on.

Personally I also thought that the reports in the Chronicle from 1st round of the championship were much more focused on senior with team of the week just from senior and that peeved me at the same time but that's all for another day."
Yeah I take your point re team of week. But again, you've got maybe 2-3 lads trying to cover 3 games each over a weekend on limited resources. It's not an easy job. They'd love to have lads at all games if possible but it's not feasible obviously.

I also agree re secrecy. It's gone ridiculous really. Does it make a blind bit of difference to whether a team wins or loses? I can understand a team not wanting to show its hand too much, but there's a happy medium. There used always be a few challenge matches before c'ship whether it was to open a pitch or whatever, and it created a bit of a buzz around the county and around the team. That is something that shouldn't be undervalued, but we've lost it now to a large degree due to games played behind closed doors.

BarneysTie (Meath) - Posts: 258 - 10/06/2016 15:10:04    1864868

Replying To BarneysTie:  "Yeah I take your point re team of week. But again, you've got maybe 2-3 lads trying to cover 3 games each over a weekend on limited resources. It's not an easy job. They'd love to have lads at all games if possible but it's not feasible obviously.

I also agree re secrecy. It's gone ridiculous really. Does it make a blind bit of difference to whether a team wins or loses? I can understand a team not wanting to show its hand too much, but there's a happy medium. There used always be a few challenge matches before c'ship whether it was to open a pitch or whatever, and it created a bit of a buzz around the county and around the team. That is something that shouldn't be undervalued, but we've lost it now to a large degree due to games played behind closed doors."
ya that was disappointing this year.It was always part of the championship build up having these games.I mean we could easily be out of the championship this time(almost) next week!

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 10/06/2016 15:14:56    1864870

There are players missing through injuries but I do not think that matters much as there is little difference between most of the players on the panel except for maybe 2 or 3. Everyone concerned has put in a huge effort up to now and it is most disappointing for the injured players. The best of luck to all on Sunday. On the game itself it is a team who has competed in Div 4 against a team competing in Div 2. On the negative side Louth always have had good players and were a bit unlucky on a number of occasions in the past.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 10/06/2016 15:24:24    1864875

Replying To BarneysTie:  "Yeah I take your point re team of week. But again, you've got maybe 2-3 lads trying to cover 3 games each over a weekend on limited resources. It's not an easy job. They'd love to have lads at all games if possible but it's not feasible obviously.

I also agree re secrecy. It's gone ridiculous really. Does it make a blind bit of difference to whether a team wins or loses? I can understand a team not wanting to show its hand too much, but there's a happy medium. There used always be a few challenge matches before c'ship whether it was to open a pitch or whatever, and it created a bit of a buzz around the county and around the team. That is something that shouldn't be undervalued, but we've lost it now to a large degree due to games played behind closed doors."
Absolutely and the clubs should be putting in more regular reports to the paper.

Anyway, here's hoping that they have got things right for Sunday.

oldsam_newsam (Meath) - Posts: 638 - 10/06/2016 15:58:01    1864891

Replying To ziggy32001:  "Ya if this was the team and the positions,I would not be happy with it.But it probably will change."
i know mod likes to change his team at the last minute but it'd b rough to take out any of the debutants after announcing them on the team. And rest are pretty much certain to start. I can't see a lot of changes of personnel, maybe positional....

Aboutthehouse (Leitrim) - Posts: 5 - 10/06/2016 15:59:08    1864893

Replying To Aboutthehouse:  "Pretty disappointed with the goalkeeper choice again lads. How many chances can this man get... Pretty demoralising for young Mchugh.
I think we have enough with this team to get by Louth. But I think we must have the next game in mind. And to be honest I'm really worried about the lack of physicality in our forward line. Wallace, McMahon, McDonagh.. These are all light guys. I think we need more of a target man in there. Look at Rock, Connoly (Dublin), Donaghy, Geany (Kerry) Murphy, McFadden (Donegal) o'shea (Mayo)

Am I wrong here..??"
Have to agree with Colm o rourke here.. Hope biggy comes back to some strong form he's a huge player for us. Also would like to see tormey as the target man in there.

Lettheballinlow (Meath) - Posts: 3 - 10/06/2016 16:24:04    1864904

Replying To Aboutthehouse:  "i know mod likes to change his team at the last minute but it'd b rough to take out any of the debutants after announcing them on the team. And rest are pretty much certain to start. I can't see a lot of changes of personnel, maybe positional...."
Oh I would agree with you.Might be one change in personnel as I still think McMahon may start.But I would be more disappointed if there wasn't any positional changes..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 10/06/2016 17:27:45    1864930

How strong is the bench? anybody there can make a impact when coming on?

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 876 - 10/06/2016 17:45:12    1864935

I had a dream last night that me Micko Royaldune, Ziggy Lurch and sgt slaughter sat down to pick the team and we came up with the exact team that was announced this morning.

But thats only half the story as me and micko came to the conclusion that the 4 boys were away with the fairys in most of what they said.

Fair play to Micko he has continued in his crusade in doing his level best to improve the Meath team no doubt there are a few surprises, McHugh not on, Douglas getting a start, Wallace in from nowhere really now that his injury has been sorted. No doubt also that at least 6 of the lads will not start in those positions

Brownepat (Meath) - Posts: 532 - 10/06/2016 17:55:09    1864937

Replying To Brownepat:  "I had a dream last night that me Micko Royaldune, Ziggy Lurch and sgt slaughter sat down to pick the team and we came up with the exact team that was announced this morning.

But thats only half the story as me and micko came to the conclusion that the 4 boys were away with the fairys in most of what they said.

Fair play to Micko he has continued in his crusade in doing his level best to improve the Meath team no doubt there are a few surprises, McHugh not on, Douglas getting a start, Wallace in from nowhere really now that his injury has been sorted. No doubt also that at least 6 of the lads will not start in those positions"
Yeah you don't get that sense that none of the team looks settled.We are talking about 4 years into his tenure.He has made excuses again in this weeks Chronicle before we have even played.If we lose to Louth all the excuses in the world will not be good enough.He was very lucky to get this chance this year and he promised improvements,a bit like a politician trying to stay in office.
I really really hope he comes up trumps and many of us can say we are wrong,but I don't have that feeling sadly..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 10/06/2016 18:17:47    1864946

Replying To ziggy32001:  "Yeah you don't get that sense that none of the team looks settled.We are talking about 4 years into his tenure.He has made excuses again in this weeks Chronicle before we have even played.If we lose to Louth all the excuses in the world will not be good enough.He was very lucky to get this chance this year and he promised improvements,a bit like a politician trying to stay in office.
I really really hope he comes up trumps and many of us can say we are wrong,but I don't have that feeling sadly.."
you "do" even..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 10/06/2016 18:35:01    1864953

Replying To ziggy32001:  "you "do" even.."
thats it keep replying to yourself you were at that last night too ..............

Brownepat (Meath) - Posts: 532 - 10/06/2016 18:45:15    1864960

Replying To Brownepat:  "thats it keep replying to yourself you were at that last night too .............."
That's what your momma said

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1792 - 10/06/2016 19:31:36    1864979

ziggy I think you should start!

In fact you should start from 1 to 15 you'd have an answer no matter what the opposition threw at ye!

Uncle_Fester (Meath) - Posts: 217 - 10/06/2016 19:49:16    1864986

Replying To browncows:  "There are players missing through injuries but I do not think that matters much as there is little difference between most of the players on the panel except for maybe 2 or 3. Everyone concerned has put in a huge effort up to now and it is most disappointing for the injured players. The best of luck to all on Sunday. On the game itself it is a team who has competed in Div 4 against a team competing in Div 2. On the negative side Louth always have had good players and were a bit unlucky on a number of occasions in the past."
sensible post div 4 team against div 2, But really we ended up just above div 3 (or bottom of div 2) and Louth are currently now div 3 so maybe the gap is not as wide as you think on paper anyway. This is a Darby which normally we win. But that can count for nothing as Westmeath reminded us of last year. In 2010 I personally gave Louth no chance after us beating Dublin, and look what happened. Louth Meath can take on a mind of there own. I have no clue who is going to win i think we might sneaky it. God knows what is going to happen. I dont like the fact the game is Parnell park at all.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 11/06/2016 09:52:28    1865087

bobkarlgees- I do not disagree with your post and of course when you go head to head in a local derby past results do go out the window. I also agree that the match should not be in a pitch that is not even full sized. My point was based on what has happened so far in the championship in that all the teams in the higher grades have come out on top. Unlike the past the league results are now becoming a good indicator of how teams may, or may not perform and I certainly would not underestimate Louth who are coming into this game having won the title in their grouping.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 11/06/2016 13:33:07    1865118