Meath hurlers begin with a win

It never ceases to amaze me
The hurls are playing in their championship and you have as^*'";s asking about how much it cost to send them to london for a night ,yet we send our footballers on training weeks in Portugal to stay stagnant in div 2

umpireview (Meath) - Posts: 55 - 01/05/2016 19:55:57    1851189

fair play to the hurlers! At last a bit of positivity in the county.Whenever I see them play they appear to give it there all regardless.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 02/05/2016 11:04:49    1851243

Ha puckfada I'd lost all hope after the league. Great weekend for Hurling in general, Westmeath and Kerry getting big scalps, Roscommon running Antrim close.

Looking like a home semi against Roscommon Kildare or Down. I'd be hoping for Down, don't think they're great away from home, Kildare seem to be a stumbling block the last 4 r 5 years and Roscommon are a bit unknown

begining (UK) - Posts: 300 - 02/05/2016 11:13:03    1851245

Was at the game myself. They should have had the game closed out in the first half but for some very poor wides.. showed great determination in the second half when 5 points down as they closed down london all over the pitch and showed real killer instinct when they had london on the ropes..

made it easy for london at times though as watchin the ball and forgetting the man running behind for an easy handpass..

Great result all the same and look to be going places

Irish_downunder (Meath) - Posts: 631 - 02/05/2016 12:02:32    1851269

Last two posters now jumping on the wagon, nothing good to say up to now , well done hurlers keep it up.

elguapo (Meath) - Posts: 51 - 02/05/2016 12:31:21    1851287

great result yesterday, well done to all the lads, this could be our year, we should really get all the county out to support the team in the semi final in trim and make it a real cauldron like against kildare two years ago

dickie10 (UK) - Posts: 693 - 02/05/2016 20:14:20    1851440

Great win for the hurlers in London, special performance from a team many of you did not give a chance of winning in London. This bunch seem to have real pride in the Meath Hurling Jersey and are battling for each other all over the field. Lots of you had written this team off because of the league results and were on the Management teams backs. It was a privilege to be a Meath man in Ruislip on Sunday. I traveled over on Sunday morning early flight, got to the ground at 11am , the Meath Team and officials arrived at about 11:30am, as the got off the buss it was brilliant to see every on of them dressed in exactly the same gear, they really looked well and professional outfit. Fair play to the County Board for providing this gear for the lads.
I cant wait for the semi final , t care who Meath play , 3 weekes and counting !!
Will you be at the semi final to support the lads ?????

duelplayer1 (Meath) - Posts: 97 - 03/05/2016 09:55:43    1851489

elguapo
Jumping on the bandwagon?? were you at the game like I was.. doubt that somehow..

Irish_downunder (Meath) - Posts: 631 - 03/05/2016 10:25:23    1851512

no bandwagon posters here!!

Anyone any idea of a date for the semi? I'm away in Leicester this weekend, hopefully I don't miss it

begining (UK) - Posts: 300 - 03/05/2016 10:50:50    1851527

That's where the problem lies in Meath with hurling. Amount of infighting is unbelievable. Bad enough when you are getting little or no credit amongst some sections within Meath but the hurling people in Meath can hardly get on with themselves. Even from posters on this page. Who cares Duelplayer who made the trip to London, or didn't think they'd beat them! Heading to London to see a Christy Ring game is a tall order for many fans. Give yourself a pat on the back there fella and move on.

Hopefully they will do well in the semi final and fair play to them for putting up a great performance against London. Not jumping on any bandwagon but its great to see them in a semi final. An Mhi abu

hurlinglad (Meath) - Posts: 45 - 03/05/2016 11:14:32    1851539

On Saturday, hoganstand in the report 'Christy Ring Cup Roundup' noted that Meath would play London on Sunday. The Chronicle's scribe later described the result as 'sensational'. It is certainly one of the best results of recent times, but one that appears to have totally been totally ignored by hoganstand. No report that I can find. Not good enough somebody, not good enough!

AnFaoilean (UK) - Posts: 2 - 03/05/2016 11:23:28    1851540

people need to have a reality check here
its the best result the hurlers have had in years, fair play to them
the ability was never in question, it was performances , team selections etc
no meath team should be loosing to mayo or armagh, thats why people gave out

this is just 1 good, result, the 1st of the year and one they were well able to do, the constant underperforming was
what had people giving out, last year they should have beat kerry, everybody was on a high, then they get hammered by kildare in trim next round
so back to square one
they are well able to win this on there day, just like they are well able to walk 2b in the league
they need to keep feet on ground and build on this

ps tickets to arsenal game? some lads on here post some rubbish, they are lucky to get a bag of tayto from county board nevermind that

hurlit (Meath) - Posts: 416 - 03/05/2016 12:07:26    1851568

hurlinglad
You are a sad sad individual, Id say you would not pay into a game in Trim
You are not a real man you are a begrudger, that is always posting bad news and bad comments.
Rise up from the hole you are in and support the county hurlers !!

duelplayer1 (Meath) - Posts: 97 - 03/05/2016 12:55:13    1851580

I'd agree with hurlit in saying that the most disappointing thing the last few years is that a performance like the one against London was always there, but more often than not we didn't produce. I think they've got the team selection spot on, can't see too many teams getting the better of that half back line, better still it's a full team of Meath men. Hopefully we can build on this.

Duelplayer I think you've lost the run of yourself a bit, just because you could afford to go to Ruslip doesn't give you the authority to come on and talk down to posters. Everyone on here is a supporter of Meath hurling. Some, like myself have been disappointed and frustrated with the poor results up until now. Supporters have the right to be disappointed after bad results and be happy after a great win like the win Sunday in Ruslip.

begining (UK) - Posts: 300 - 03/05/2016 14:20:41    1851621

Jaysus lads, I think we will take any support for the hurlers we can get, bandwagon or not! While I've had the joy of visiting exotic spots like Ballycran, Arklow and Athleague in the past, I don't think I'm alone in saying going to London for a 2nd round Christy Ring game was just never on the cards.

Great result over the weekend, straight into the semi finals. We've been here before though, and each time fallen short, so hopefully grasp the opportunity this time. Another huge crowd in St. Lomans like we got vs. Kildare 2 years ago would be brilliant, it reminded me of the old days in Trim with the nasty wall and barbed wire

CastleBravo (Meath) - Posts: 1646 - 03/05/2016 15:28:00    1851664

Hoganstand didn't travel to game. It was on meath gaa twitter as it was played and meath chronicle travelled. There also was an interview with Martin Ennis on lmfm via phone after it but I agree hoganstand should have travelled. Kildare v London in Kildare this weekend. Down v roscommon in Ballycran too. If Kildare beat London they automatically play us in semi as they have played Antrim already and can't meet same team twice.

billyjack24 (Meath) - Posts: 40 - 03/05/2016 16:29:39    1851703

Lets all get together now and round up every hurling man and women in the county to get behind the hurlers in the semi-final in Trim,
lets call on all Meath GAA people to attend, This team needs your support, lets start a campaign to generate a huge crowd to attend.
Hogan Stand Meath page should help as well.

duelplayer1 (Meath) - Posts: 97 - 03/05/2016 17:06:16    1851717

It's a bit much to demand certain journalists show up. You want them to pay for flights, transport, match entry, food etc. in return for what? A few lines in an article? I doubt advertisers are queuing up to have their name next to an article about Meath beating London, it'd be a huge cost in return for pretty much no return.

Generally unless you're a very big player you get your news from other sources (ever see AP, AFP or Reuters at the bottom of a news article?) to save money, you'd go bankrupt otherwise sending reporters and correspondents to every event and match.

CastleBravo (Meath) - Posts: 1646 - 03/05/2016 17:47:18    1851737

Was just checking yesterday, there is a full round of football fixtures fixed for the weekend of the 14/5/2016 !!
The Ring Cup semi final is the following weekend , surely the CB can not go ahead with these fixtures.
Seems very bad planning to have theses fixed before Hurlers played last Sunday

duelplayer1 (Meath) - Posts: 97 - 04/05/2016 09:29:29    1851824

County Board has postponed 7 or 8 matches that involve Co Hurlers on the Sunday 15th May - The support for hurling is there and those that want to be in Trim or Navan on the 21st May will be there - try to keep the post positive - we all want to see the county hurlers doing well. Also on twitter there were updates on Meath Chronicle and LMFM were reporting. So the word is POSITIVE

Sportfan (Meath) - Posts: 133 - 04/05/2016 14:26:07    1851946