Meath hurlers begin with a win

In fairness, there is a world of difference between "everyone is saying Antrim will walk this" and "Antrim will walk this".

If certain lads can't see that, then there isn't much chance of a reasoned debate.

In fact the logical implication you would take from what Ennis ACTUALLY said would be that he doesn't buy into what everyone is saying.

BarneysTie (Meath) - Posts: 258 - 27/04/2016 09:47:02    1849960

Hope they all have passports only 22 on the panel. Would you bother going in and play with your county when theres only ever approx 20 turning up. Meath minors played in mullingar same time as Christy Ring game so people cant be in two places at once now can they.

Meath909 (Meath) - Posts: 19 - 27/04/2016 09:54:54    1849965

Meath909 (Meath) -
How do you know their is 22 on the panel ?
How do you know there is 20 turning up ?
I was in Trim last Saturday and their was 26 players listed, Steven Clynch wasent listed so thats 27 ,
what you on about ?
I would quess you are a disgruntled player that is either getting no game time or yopu were dropped from squad

duelplayer1 (Meath) - Posts: 97 - 27/04/2016 15:51:06    1850164

begining (UK)

The way to bring us back to the top table is probably been done at the moment, there is great work been done with development squads from 13 years up, each squad have 36 players in and are getting game all the time.

Another thing that must be done is to get our county team playing in the summer months. At the moment if Meath win the Ring Cup they will be finished playing at the end of May. How can we improve hurling in the weaker counties if they don't play hurling in the good weather and good pitches. 100% of the counties in the Ring, Rackard cups play 90% of their hurling in Jan,Feb,March, This has to change it must change.
Croke park are only paying lip service to the weaker hurling counties.

Look at the hurling league for example it is near impossible to get promoted from Div 2A To Div 1A , The set up of the league is a joke, Limerick played Dublin in the quarter final and beat them,they then lost the semi final but they are not in the top division next year, they still in Div 1a. Just say Limerick won the league which could have happened , we would then have the hurling league champions not playing in the top division.
Its all wrong.

In my humble opinion the league should have four divisions of eight teams, two up two down each year, yes we would have some miss matches in all divisions but every team would have a realistic chance of promotion if they got their act together. In this set-up I think Meath hurlers would make progress.

duelplayer1 (Meath) - Posts: 97 - 27/04/2016 16:16:28    1850180

I was speaking to someone from Trim sunday and he said they'd no county players togging out (even fringe panel members) for the league game because the Meath team only have 22 injury free players available so can't risk it.

Wouldn't base too much on the programme, it included Sherlock who wasn't even around that day. Was also surprised to see all the Dublin lads gone, what was the story there?

CastleBravo (Meath) - Posts: 1646 - 27/04/2016 16:44:29    1850186

I agree the development squads are strong at the moment but Meath have always had strong development squads.

2007 - Meath won the minor B beating Kildare well in the final.
2008 - Got to the Leinster A quarter final, losing to Carlow by 4 points, beating Laois, Kildare, Kerry and Westmeath along the way.
2011 - Walked the minor B, very strong team with Toher, Kelly, Fitzimons, Healy.
2013 & 2014 runners up.
Minors lost narrowly to Westmeath at the weekend. Will go into the B competition later in the year.

Point is we're always competitive with teams at our level at underage. All the above mentioned minor teams would always compete with the like of Westmeath, Kildare, Laois, Carlow and Kerry. Our senior team would be lucky to get within 10 points of any of them at the moment.

I think the league setup is fine duelplayer. If Westmeath get hammered in a 1B/2A playoff by a weak Laois team they've no buisness being in 1B. Waterford won the league last year from 1B.

Agree with your points about huring in the summer months but can't see it happening anytime soon.

begining (UK) - Posts: 300 - 27/04/2016 17:05:20    1850195

dualplayer1: Like i said 22 players only available and i was backed up you are saying alot but they way its looking you don't know much at all do you?

Meath909 (Meath) - Posts: 19 - 28/04/2016 12:43:18    1850399

Will the hurlers get a result in London on Sunday ?

I here they are traveling on Friday evening , having a light run out in Ruislip on Saturday Morning , and all are going to watch Arsenal V Norwich on Saturday evening . I think this is a great idea, The squad will bond really well and team sprite will be sky high going into the match on Sunday. With the preparation being first class and the lads not tired from traveling a win is on the cards.

duelplayer1 (Meath) - Posts: 97 - 28/04/2016 12:56:44    1850405

They're not flying until Saturday.

RedMeath12 (Meath) - Posts: 117 - 28/04/2016 15:17:01    1850469

duelplayer

Meath county board paying for flights, 2 nights in London and 30+ tickets to an Arsenal match for hurlers would suggest that your informant is filling you full of porkies.

I agree that it would be ideal preperation, and if the county board were serious about hurling in the county it's how the team should be treated. It would also send a message to those who refused to play for the county this year that they are missing out on a top class setup.

I heard, initially the county board wanted to fly out at 5am Sunday morning play the game and home later Sunday evening. In fairness to the management, they managed to get a saturday evening flight, hotel, and home after the game sunday. Probably the best the hurlers could have got.

Best of luck to all involved Sunday, if we play the full 70, like we did for the first half against Wicklow we can cause an upset in Ruslip.

begining (UK) - Posts: 300 - 29/04/2016 09:28:38    1850592

staying for 2 nights? haha they'd be looking if the meath board would give them a hias van to drive over in

srgt_slaughter (Meath) - Posts: 462 - 29/04/2016 11:43:14    1850642

County board don't pay for anything!! The Gaa pays for everything!! If you travel for anything thats 20mins away from home and acquire accommodation Gaa covers it!!

36inchash (Dublin) - Posts: 20 - 29/04/2016 14:14:21    1850698

The county board are composed of Albert Arkwright types who seem to reckon money spent comes from their own pockets, so a 2 night stay is unlikely. It wouldn't surprise me if they asked what Martin Ennis subs they intended on using and said to leave the rest at home.

The Arsenal/Norwich thing sounds a good idea, but Arsenal are supposed to have the most expensive tickets in the PL, I doubt the county board would shell out for 35 players/management/hangers on to go to a soccer match. I'd say it's about 50 or 60 euro to watch the match, that's €2000 on tickets alone. I can see why they'd be reluctant to spend money on that. Maybe the players have to contribute?

CastleBravo (Meath) - Posts: 1646 - 29/04/2016 14:47:40    1850705

Meath 2-17 London 1-16.. What a result!!!. Well done to all involved..

Antrim were no great shakes yesterday so all wide open

begining (UK) - Posts: 300 - 01/05/2016 14:29:23    1851110

I'm expecting all yee keyboard warriors are going to come on here now and make comments such as "oh London had a week team out" well it just goes to show the great effort and work being put in by these lads. There a super bunch of lads that start of every campaign looking up at a mountain. The more people put them down the more the lads pull together. Great win today against a tough opponent in London. Onwards to the semis to take another scalp.

lordofthecrack (Meath) - Posts: 43 - 01/05/2016 15:01:38    1851120

Well done .... Down or Kildare I reckon now in a semi so a final well within reach again London or most likely Antrim

numberedjerseys (USA) - Posts: 348 - 01/05/2016 15:25:46    1851125

be jayus begining uk u.re all support now after that grt win. few wks ago u wanted a big name manager with p.kelly and p.o.halloran with him.fair play u were rite all along.

puckfada14 (Meath) - Posts: 7 - 01/05/2016 16:09:08    1851134

Great result delighted for the lads and the management team. Well deserved mighty stuff

billyjack24 (Meath) - Posts: 40 - 01/05/2016 17:06:10    1851146

Does anyone know if they got to go the arsenal game? Great result for the lads today.

Barney123 (Meath) - Posts: 676 - 01/05/2016 17:50:05    1851159

They did not go to the arsenal game.

lordofthecrack (Meath) - Posts: 43 - 01/05/2016 17:58:02    1851164