Club Championship 2016

Replying To ziggy32001:  "Some interesting results,huge win for Dunboyne v Ratoath and they will be hard beat..

O'Mahonys and Simonstown a draw,that is a bit of a surprise."
Ziggy.. I was in Ashbourne last night and yes a huge win for Dunboyne. Not sure whether Dunboyne were that good or that Ratoath were just so poor on the night. Either way a big reality check for Ratoath in that Senior is still a big step up from Intermediate as impressive as they were in winning Intermediate last year.

Greenwood (Meath) - Posts: 210 - 08/08/2016 11:12:55    1897894

Some win for Dunboyne, Ratoath finding life difficult at Senior level so far, bit surprising though, I thought they'd cope a bit better.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 08/08/2016 11:14:23    1897895

Replying To Greenwood:  "Ziggy.. I was in Ashbourne last night and yes a huge win for Dunboyne. Not sure whether Dunboyne were that good or that Ratoath were just so poor on the night. Either way a big reality check for Ratoath in that Senior is still a big step up from Intermediate as impressive as they were in winning Intermediate last year."
Who performed well for Dunboyne and were Ratoath missing any county players?

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 08/08/2016 12:21:09    1897958

Replying To ziggy32001:  "Who performed well for Dunboyne and were Ratoath missing any county players?"
Well zigg For dunboyne all played well ...what co . Players

royler (Meath) - Posts: 259 - 08/08/2016 13:25:16    1898024

Replying To ziggy32001:  "Who performed well for Dunboyne and were Ratoath missing any county players?"
Lenihan unbelievable for Dunboyne had 5 or 6 points kicked in first 15 minutes.
Two new lads on the team not sure of their names but looked impressive.
Subs who came on were also good. David McEntee, the younger of the two brothers came on and looked strong.
They will be hard bet.
Them v Ashbourne and Summerhill will be good games.
Ratoath were poor

royallady (Meath) - Posts: 27 - 08/08/2016 13:36:25    1898033

Replying To royallady:  "Lenihan unbelievable for Dunboyne had 5 or 6 points kicked in first 15 minutes.
Two new lads on the team not sure of their names but looked impressive.
Subs who came on were also good. David McEntee, the younger of the two brothers came on and looked strong.
They will be hard bet.
Them v Ashbourne and Summerhill will be good games.
Ratoath were poor"
You wonder why Lenihan cannot do it at county level.He is by far the best club forward.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 08/08/2016 14:13:25    1898064

Replying To ziggy32001:  "You wonder why Lenihan cannot do it at county level.He is by far the best club forward."
It's quite simple really, Dunboyne play to his strengths in that he's the go to man. For Meath he works his socks off but gets very little service, whether that was down to poor management we'll see next year I suppose. I've been saying it for so long though I sound like a broken record, I'm a purist and he's a joy to watch off either foot anywhere in the 45, players like that now are few and far between. I'd struggle to recall a player as influential in the senior championship but this year he has a lot more support which is the difference for Dunboyne, if he's doubled up on there's more dangers there

On the game itself I don't like hyping up on here but fair to say half of Dunboyne fell off their seat when we were priced up 14/1 for this year, we were a kick of a ball off Navan last year in the semis and arguably improved this year, ridiculously well drilled too. As said it's a welcome to Senior football for Ratoath, no doubt the talent is there though, be very interesting to see how they fare against Ashbourne now.

dunboynelad (Meath) - Posts: 227 - 08/08/2016 14:33:11    1898089

I could be wrong but I think Dunboyne had only one wide throughout the game.
The wind really ruined it. Dunboyne hit some magnificent scores with it at their backs in the first half and our players just couldn't get the ball out of our half. Still think we would have had a chance in the second half were it not for the scuttery goal we conceded at the stroke of half time. I think Shane Duffy in goals will be a massive loss for us. His kickouts alone probably would have prevented a good few scores in the first half.

Lenehan was phenomenal. Tore us to pieces. Dunboyne in general were just a good bit better and more experienced and I can see them going close in the SFC.

Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1362 - 08/08/2016 15:09:26    1898129

Ziggy.. As previous poster mentioned all players for Dunboyne played really well. Stand out player for me was Donal Leninhan who gave a masterclass in point scoring. For Ratoath all county players bar Power started. Power came on in first half but unfortunately for him got sent off on two yellows with about 10 mins to go.

Greenwood (Meath) - Posts: 210 - 08/08/2016 15:19:24    1898137

Replying To Ratoath Royal:  "I could be wrong but I think Dunboyne had only one wide throughout the game.
The wind really ruined it. Dunboyne hit some magnificent scores with it at their backs in the first half and our players just couldn't get the ball out of our half. Still think we would have had a chance in the second half were it not for the scuttery goal we conceded at the stroke of half time. I think Shane Duffy in goals will be a massive loss for us. His kickouts alone probably would have prevented a good few scores in the first half.

Lenehan was phenomenal. Tore us to pieces. Dunboyne in general were just a good bit better and more experienced and I can see them going close in the SFC."
Very poor performance both on the pitch and tactically. Not to vary our kick outs in the first half was sinful. We were outplayed in most positions with a few exceptions. Midfield was cleaned out. Dunboyne looked further down the road in terms of their development. Best we can hope is to consolidate our senior status for 2016 and build on it for next year.

Adamski (Dublin) - Posts: 339 - 08/08/2016 16:14:11    1898160

Replying To Adamski:  "Very poor performance both on the pitch and tactically. Not to vary our kick outs in the first half was sinful. We were outplayed in most positions with a few exceptions. Midfield was cleaned out. Dunboyne looked further down the road in terms of their development. Best we can hope is to consolidate our senior status for 2016 and build on it for next year."
Ratoath are lucky that the original relegation proposals were not implemented. Otherwise they would be under pressure to maintain status.

oldsam_newsam (Meath) - Posts: 638 - 08/08/2016 16:46:23    1898191

Replying To Ratoath Royal:  "I could be wrong but I think Dunboyne had only one wide throughout the game.

Lenehan was phenomenal. Tore us to pieces. Dunboyne in general were just a good bit better and more experienced and I can see them going close in the SFC."
How did Bryan McMahon play?

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 08/08/2016 17:25:46    1898225

Replying To ziggy32001:  "How did Bryan McMahon play?"
All Ratoath county players were kept very quiet. McMahon didn't really feature at all, nor did wallaces or Cian O'Brien. Dunboyne dominated midfield. Good to see McGill back from injury, started well but faded out, probably not fully right yet.

royallady (Meath) - Posts: 27 - 08/08/2016 18:01:41    1898240

Replying To royallady:  "All Ratoath county players were kept very quiet. McMahon didn't really feature at all, nor did wallaces or Cian O'Brien. Dunboyne dominated midfield. Good to see McGill back from injury, started well but faded out, probably not fully right yet."
Did McMahon not score 1-4??

Also how/were did Jones play?

I have seen Lenihan play at club level,he is by far the best forward in senior.But looks very ordinary when he plays for Meath..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 08/08/2016 19:12:30    1898294

There is a big step-up between each grade of football (even though some posters still do not appreciate that fact) and it was no surprise to me to see a senior team who is competing for a number of years at that senior level beating a team well that has just been promoted.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 08/08/2016 19:33:41    1898303

Replying To ziggy32001:  "Did McMahon not score 1-4??

I have seen Lenihan play at club level,he is by far the best forward in senior.But looks very ordinary when he plays for Meath.."
Ye he's a good club player but for whatever reason it just hasn't happened for him at county level. Maybe with new management things might suit him better but also it's up to himself to make the most of his opportunities.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 08/08/2016 20:10:36    1898317

Replying To ziggy32001:  "Did McMahon not score 1-4??

I have seen Lenihan play at club level,he is by far the best forward in senior.But looks very ordinary when he plays for Meath.."
Sloppy goal in first few minutes and a couple of frees as far as I remember.
Jones played alright. He was in midfield but was sent off early enough in second half.
Fingers crossed with new management, who happens to be from same club, Lenehan will improve at county level, he has serious potential

royallady (Meath) - Posts: 27 - 09/08/2016 09:06:39    1898560

Replying To royallady:  "Sloppy goal in first few minutes and a couple of frees as far as I remember.
Jones played alright. He was in midfield but was sent off early enough in second half.
Fingers crossed with new management, who happens to be from same club, Lenehan will improve at county level, he has serious potential"
yes if we could get a marquee forward at county level it would make a huge difference.Can Lenihan be that man?

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 09/08/2016 10:42:00    1898622

Replying To Htaem:  "Ye he's a good club player but for whatever reason it just hasn't happened for him at county level. Maybe with new management things might suit him better but also it's up to himself to make the most of his opportunities."
He is good and should have been taking the frees for the county- but not the best that I have seen

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 09/08/2016 11:15:26    1898648

Was anyone at the Curraha game? What happened to Danny Battersby?

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 09/08/2016 11:55:10    1898688