The difference between Mayo / Dubs / Kerry and Meath

ziggy
I wouldnt expect you to say any different seeing as you are from his club. Lets hope MOD picks up a few more to add to our squad for next season over the next few weeks of championship football, starting with a game in simmonstown tonight. wont make it myself but should be a cracker.

castleroyal (Meath) - Posts: 57 - 04/09/2015 17:55:44    1782324

Castlebravo

Not especially,I don't think in those terms.Some people have said other D/Ash players should be on the panel and I disagreed.I have been a little critical of Tormey at times and Menton last season,although he was another player that Micko played that was not fully fit.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 04/09/2015 19:28:13    1782370

Brian. Match after match graham Reilly was outstanding, i cant recall any bad game this year that he played.
Keoghan was very hit and miss (mostly miss) Kevin Reilly didn't play enough to comment, id agree menton had a good year , also Rooney had potential. The rest?

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 05/09/2015 17:58:45    1782868

I agree that G.Reillys attitude was way better this year..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 05/09/2015 18:24:51    1782880

Someone take the smirk off Jim gavins face

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1792 - 05/09/2015 18:34:54    1782886

I hope MOD has had a good look at the Mayo/Dublin games and knows what is needed..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 05/09/2015 18:38:40    1782890

Ziggy....was thinking exactly the same.

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1792 - 05/09/2015 18:43:03    1782897

bert09

Whether we have the players or not does not matter imo,regardless we have to be as fit,physical and have that desire.If we have that,then we will know if we have the players to compete or not..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 05/09/2015 18:57:46    1782923

ziggy32001

I hope MOD has had a good look at the Mayo/Dublin games and knows what is needed..

Yes i hope he was looking at to Ziggy..fitness and intensive of Mayo/Dublin today and after a six day turn around makes us look like we are back in the stone age in football term!

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 876 - 05/09/2015 19:23:16    1782955

Meath are not within a country mile of the top tier teams

pim (Meath) - Posts: 119 - 05/09/2015 20:04:56    1782984

pim We are simply not on the same planet as the top teams. It seems though that the CB ,MANAGER,players,etc are happy to just become another Offaly. When the opportunity to address the problem arrives everyone just cops out. It seems posters on forums like this show most concern and interest. It will be interesting to see the drop out rate of support. I would imagine the players who expressed concern about loosing their place if MOD was replaced are happy and relieved now. Its nice to say the right things to ensure you remain in your comfort zone... The future and good of Meath football,well that only secondary to these people

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1227 - 05/09/2015 21:32:52    1783059

Nobull. Well said, but then we are the ones who are accused of been negative or having a agenda.
Ill tell you , i do have a agenda , what's best for Meath football.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 06/09/2015 14:57:46    1783298

Could there be a big drop off in support for the team next year? and if so will it have much of an impact on the team. I will be supporting the team as usual but I don't think I can remember a year with as much negativity as this one. Can anyone else remember a championship season with more negativity?

Jimin10 (Meath) - Posts: 783 - 06/09/2015 15:45:10    1783319

Jimin, after the collapse to Wexford and the subsequent huge loss to limerick there was very low ebb, however we were in all ire semi previous year so that eased it also coyler did the honourable thing and stepped down after those defeat (btw both those county were head and shoulders above Westmeath) so we could look forward with optimism, at the moment there is no optimism for the senior team, i think only a fool would say we will get promotion next year, and more than likely we will be relegated, then depending on the draw we will exit Leinster to one of Kildare, Laois, Wicklow, or got forbid we get as far as meeting dubs as they would beat us by at least 20+. But above all this what's really disappointing is our incompetent cb will reappoint mod for another year and players like Donal Andrew and Kevin will be rolled out to tell us how fit they are and we nearly back to best and what's needed is consistency.
The only consistency under mod is we are consistently getting worse.
I will be there to cheer on my county, but not many others will id say.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 06/09/2015 16:41:31    1783344

You lads should be on CSI with these analytical skills. After careful, arduous studying of the Mayo/Dublin matches ye have come up with the deeply hidden answer to the great question, namely what Meath need in order to win. Apparently in order to win, you need the will to win.

Ye could work as government consultants with that sort of insight, fair play to ye.

CastleBravo (Meath) - Posts: 1646 - 06/09/2015 17:21:25    1783380

No castle what we need to be competitive (not getting hiding from div 3 teams) is a semi competent management.
Who despite his claims before his ratification that he had his selectors in place has once again pulled the wool over the eyes of the sheep.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 06/09/2015 19:55:33    1783508

On a positive note, good to see Connor Gillespie making a return. Hopefully first step on road to full recovery. As for CSI think state of Meath football is at present more suited to Keystone Kops

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2150 - 06/09/2015 20:42:08    1783544

Jimin 10 No I can not remember a season with as much grounds for negativity as this one. That, i imagine is clear for all to see unless you are on a wind up, or playing games, political or otherwise. The facts remain this season the best placed men who could influence a possibility of more optimism for the senior team opted out .They opted to remain doing the same thing with the same people,and expecting a different outcome. Well my negativity has gone down another notch. I spoke to a genuine Dub supporter a couple of days ago. In his Dublin accent he said " Ah Jaysus i used to look forward to the ding dongs between Dublin and Meath.Thats all gone, It looks like its all politics in Meath now. It looks like Meath lads dont care anymore.Jaysus i never thought i d hear meself sayin tha."
I didnt admit it but i think he hit the nail on the head.

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1227 - 06/09/2015 21:04:36    1783573

Or police academy 6. :).

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 06/09/2015 21:30:43    1783606