Guess The Selectors!!

Ah well sure we all know you can never win with some of the clowns that post here

glenny (Meath) - Posts: 1108 - 08/09/2015 10:42:38    1784404

irish-downunder
That's a load of nonsense. Yes the game has changed over the years but more so in the preparation i.e. strength & conditioning sports science etc. but the fundamentals are still the same. That's exactly whats wrong with football in many counties presently. Not enough time spent on coaching young players on the basic skills creating space etc. That has never changed. The great Mikey Sheehy is currently a selector with Kerry and what an inspirational character to have in your dressing room. And while Richieq has a point in that quite a number of those players from our glorious past have given plenty of service down through the years there is still plenty who could still step up to the plate. Without being disrespectful to either man chosen I believe an opportunity has been lost here. We need someone to come in alongside MOD who can inspire the present crop but more importantly make them aware of what it means to wear the jersey. And that can only come from one of those legendary winners from those golden eras. What would you give to have the likes of John McDermott in your dressing room issuing the rally cry before you go into battle against the Dubs..

Greenwood (Meath) - Posts: 210 - 08/09/2015 11:05:23    1784427

Glenny

Whats your opinion on the selectors?

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 08/09/2015 11:08:48    1784431

Barry Callaghan as minor manager is a very good selection imo..

Is Barry still the U21 manager?

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 08/09/2015 11:12:03    1784435

irish-downunder
That's a load of nonsense. Yes the game has changed over the years but more so in the preparation i.e. strength & conditioning sports science etc. but the fundamentals are still the same. That's exactly whats wrong with football in many counties presently. Not enough time spent on coaching young players on the basic skills creating space etc. That has never changed. The great Mikey Sheehy is currently a selector with Kerry and what an inspirational character to have in your dressing room. And while Richieq has a point in that quite a number of those players from our glorious past have given plenty of service down through the years there is still plenty who could still step up to the plate. Without being disrespectful to either man chosen I believe an opportunity has been lost here. We need someone to come in alongside MOD who can inspire the present crop but more importantly make them aware of what it means to wear the jersey. And that can only come from one of those legendary winners from those golden eras. What would you give to have the likes of John McDermott in your dressing room issuing the rally cry before you go into battle against the Dubs..

Jesus yeah McDermott would be a good man in the dressing room, is he involved anywhere at all? I do hear his work and domestic life are quite busy so perhaps understandable that he not too involved

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 08/09/2015 12:13:50    1784493

John McDermott is a very busy I don't think he is involved in anything,unlikely he will at this stage.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 08/09/2015 13:13:35    1784556

I think fair play to them to take it on. All the other names are pie in the sky and most likely too big of egos to chance risking losing their high and mighty status.
McCabe seems like a very organised and committed manager with Summerhill. Dont know about Murphy but he has been around panel and has played at Inter County level.

I would feel that it was not the easiest task to get men on board as no doubt it is a poisoned chalice that is unless Meath do well in the League get 10 points or more it will be deemed as a failure.

It is unlikely that Meath will avoid the Dubs at Quarter or Semi Final stage for the 5th year in a row so a Leinster Final appearance is unlikely. No matter what we are still the best in Leinster outside of Dublin dont tell me Kildare are ahead of us and I have already disregarded the freak 25 minutes against Westmeath. So a decent run in the quailifers is vital. Meath need make last 8 or 4 that will be the minimum expected from this new crew.

I think before even a draw is done this Management team is doomed as our players are not good enough to conpete with the Top 4/5 in the Country and get us to what is demanded to make 2016 successful in Royal eyes

glenny (Meath) - Posts: 1108 - 08/09/2015 13:19:21    1784562

Glenny ok so you say that the 25 mins against wm was a fluke that cost us our 130 year record, if we take that as so what about against Wicklow? Or Kildare last year? Or Armagh last year? (again first ever defeat to them) dubs last year ? Laois in league Roscommon in league, the 3 games against Monaghan? Are ALL these flukes? Yes if it was a once off id agree wholeheartedly, however as i have pointed out there is a pattern when you look at the bigger picture, we by virtue are not the second best team in Leinster, i don't know where we are but we ain't second,

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 08/09/2015 14:54:40    1784661

Richieq
Just using John Mc as an example I am sure if he could give of his time he would but we need personalities like him involved in the senior set-up. I am sure both Brendan Murphy and Declan McCabe will give it their best shot and I wish them the best of luck but neither can draw on that experience of winning an AI and what it means to the county as a whole. We only have to look at the KK hurlers last Sunday, probably on paper the weakest of all panels that Cody has had down the years but they have a work ethic and belief that is instilled in every member of the panel. They just refused to be beaten and achieved this by sheer determination and willingness to die with their boots on. Collectively they were immense. Our players have the talent but they don't have the fight or belief to make the next step. And you know that's all the Meath supporters are looking for... an honesty of effort, a collective display to reflect what it means to wear that "jersey" and I can assure you we would turn up in our thousands to support them. We were reared on that type of commitment and were fortunate to get the silverware to go with but all we want now is the passion and honesty of effort and if it's good to enough to win brilliant and if not so be it. At least we will have a team we can all be proud of.

Greenwood (Meath) - Posts: 210 - 08/09/2015 15:36:28    1784691

Well Royaldunne, what are your thoughts on the new selectors?

oldsam_newsam (Meath) - Posts: 638 - 08/09/2015 15:46:04    1784699

Might as well write off next year and the year after that for many reasons. 2 years minimum to be playing division 1 football if we even make it that far. Might be a good thing who knows we might come in under the radar next year but I'm not holding my breath!

Jimin10 (Meath) - Posts: 783 - 08/09/2015 15:48:23    1784703

I dont really buy the argument that you need all Ireland winners to spur further all Ireland winners.

By that logic it would have been impossible for Armagh and Tyrone to have won the all Ireland, as they had no previous all Ireland winners to inspire them. Same with Tipperary's underage footballers or Mount Leinster Rangers in the club hurling. They had no history of winning anything, but went ahead and won anyway.

Also I've had plenty of experience playing under "legends" and "heroes" (not all from Meath) at club and county level and one thing I have learned is that being a great player 25 years ago has absolutely no bearing on how good a coach/selector you are now. If anything it can nearly make things worse, as these big names have spent decades being praised and lauded, and sometimes struggle to grasp how things have changed, what made a successful team in the 80s or 90s doesnt make a successful team now.

On the selectors, Brendan Murphy is a bit of an outside choice but I think it could pay off. He has vast experience at all levels of sport, from winning AI underage titles with Meath, to training with a Premier League side, to being involved with the Meath seniors for the last 8/9 years, earning an All Star nomination as well as captaining the side while playing, before becoming goalkeeping coach.

McCabe has built a good reputation as Summerhill manager these last few years, winning 2 Championships and a League title. As good as any when it comes to club management, hopefully he can translate it to county success.

CastleBravo (Meath) - Posts: 1646 - 08/09/2015 16:30:33    1784724

I would tend to agree with CastleBravo. McCabe has more experience in my opinion as goalkeepers generally have a narrow vision of outfield play. Guys posting nonsense. Just because a guy won an All Ireland final does not make him a good manager or indeed a good coach. Was there any former players who even managed to coach their own clubs to any success at any level???? Has any of our current underage managers won anything with their own clubs?. It takes a bit more than rally cry top win a match. A very good article by Cody and I think it would do no harm to our many posters to read and head.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 08/09/2015 16:57:44    1784739

Browncows,
Im open to correction but didnt Colm Coyle win a championship with Ultans . Wasnt he player manager, Anyone remember? Otherwise would agree with a lot of what you say. As regards Castlebravo- I am inclined to Hope that you are correct and that the 2 selectors can transfer the skills you mention to our senior intercounty situation.
It will also depend a lot on how much the manager is prepared to take their input on board. I wish them well for the sake of the Meath senior team and I really really would love to be proven wrong by all 3 of them over the next year or two. Alas reason and logic suggest this is highly unlikely.

meath1967 (Meath) - Posts: 56 - 08/09/2015 17:30:50    1784770

Oldsam-newsam. Ill be honest i think Murphy was perhaps one of our best keeper even though he didn't win a senior all ire, and has been involved so he would know most of the team, McCabe has proved at club level he is competent. So on paper you would have to say well they have experience, and i really hope they can improve our fortunes, but i just have a feeling its shuffling the chairs on the titanic whilst mod remains in charge, i think he just isn't upto the job, now the optimistic part of me says McCabe in particular will be more the real manager while Murphy will scout the county leaving mod as manager in name only, if that were to happen then i think it could be a good year, however i feel mod delusional views on the players and himself will ensure the lads have little or no input into the players and it will still be his ship to steer full speed ahead into the ice berg.
But sure we all live in hope.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 08/09/2015 18:32:51    1784791

I think what we will get from Brendan Murphy and Declan McCabe is two very calm figures,Declan McCabe is a very shrewd operator plus he is in a nice position as the interested observer who can help in the movement of players and tactical switches when things start to go pear shaped ...he compliments MOD well because Declan McCabe wont get tied up in the emotional baggage that happens during game time..so he will have a better view on things and his observation wont be clouded...wish the two gentleman the very very best.

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 876 - 08/09/2015 18:33:17    1784793

Meath1967- Not disagreeing with you but I think Ultans was not his own club when they won the competition (stand to be corrected though)and as afar as I know he never managed his native club.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 08/09/2015 18:49:42    1784802

Browncows
I am not for a minute suggesting that a good rally cry will win a match or that because a player wins an AI he automatically makes a good manager. That's a very naive and simplistic view. What I am saying is that I would prefer to have one of these guys as part of the management set up over and above someone who has not. If you think for one minute that the current Meath team does not need to someone to put a bit of pride back in the jersey then we will continue to get results such as the one against Westmeath. It takes a load of different aspects to produce a winning team talent being the starting point but if they have not got pride and passion then you can forget it...

Greenwood (Meath) - Posts: 210 - 08/09/2015 18:54:40    1784808

Greenwood
"Bit of pride back in the jersey "

I think high-intensity game plan on the pitch with and Endurance training and a high-intensity interval training would also be key for next year..look every player has pride in the jersey when he plays for his county,but we need to bring a higher intensity to our game,i know Kevin Reilly says the team is fit and i believe him,but its the counties that play with a higher intensity and a physical game knocks the fitness out of use and grinds the team down!

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 876 - 08/09/2015 19:20:49    1784823

Its decided now so I just wish them the best of luck for next year, hopefully having all our best lads fit and ready to go.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2150 - 08/09/2015 20:20:04    1784850