Guess The Selectors!!

Rooney is 21 and Bray is 33

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 17/08/2015 19:21:52    1771638

I think a lot of the players have been brainwashed a little too,how many times does Mick say its a young team in the media? In terms of football and football today,I would not call it a young team.Its pretty much normal these days.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 17/08/2015 19:24:57    1771642

meant to say NOT especially young compared to most teams.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 17/08/2015 19:29:35    1771648

It's over a week now since Mick was installed undemocoratically by the County Board, it is a very sad state of affairs in Meath GAA (and even among people who may have wanted Mick to stay on) that no one involved high up in Meath football even bothered to question the method and manner of his appointment. Clubs including my own who had meetings to decide whether to support or oppose the ratification were denied the opportunity to express the wishes of their clubs by voting democratically.The North Korean leader would look on in envy at how the Meath County Board go about their business.
The Simpnstown and Dunshsughlin clubs can hold their heads high regardless of how they intended voting as they tried to question the legality of the procedures and get a democratic vote. Power in the wrong hands is very dangerous and anyone with any pride in Meath football should be disgusted by the manner of this appointment. I am ashamed to be involved in an organisation that carries out their business in such a dictatory fashion.

madmeath (Meath) - Posts: 50 - 17/08/2015 19:42:36    1771658

This is Kevin response to someone who questioned fitness of team this year
" fitness...really? Lads in the squad would give some athletes a run for their money There are issues not fitness Inexperience maybe"

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 17/08/2015 19:48:42    1771661

ziggy32001

1771638 Rooney is 21 and Bray is 33

I just knew there would be some pedant who would point out a mistake. Disappointed in you Ziggy - I thought you were above that!!

Blame the Meath Chronicle for the Rooney one. an article on their website in June put him at 19. I am just gutted to find out that d'internet is not the most reliable research tool available. That might explain my low marks in college.

anfearbeag (Meath) - Posts: 1134 - 17/08/2015 19:57:11    1771668

Madmeath yes it was a bad way to do a counties business, but until current county board is removed (including chairman) then this is how its going to be, last years cosy chat behind closed doors was the start of it, and it will continue until they all gone.
I looking at their ages there afearbeg and id say that is the average age of majority of teams in country with perhaps 4/5 counties with younger teams . Actually looking at that the age/inexperience thing doesn't wash one bit.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 17/08/2015 20:04:04    1771676

anfearbeag

Haha,no I wasn't been smart,I knew their ages so I just thought I would put it out there,and yes I remember the Chronicle saying Rooney was 19. :)

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 18/08/2015 08:49:44    1771768

RD

The problem is MOD goes on and on about the team being young and inexperienced,that gets into players heads,it also gives them an excuse..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 18/08/2015 08:51:08    1771772

Yeah i agree.
Slow morning at work so i checked my Facebook and twitter and i have been blocked by Meath gaa. Honestly!!! I didn't even say that much at all , i just said maybe we should have a change (this before mod was ratified) i thanked him for his services and all, afterwards when he was ratified i congratulated him and wished him well, i also said that the most important thing was to up fitness, i have been following Meath football for 43 years, i have wore the jersey even at senior level (albeit O'Byrne) i still have that photo hanging in my home.
And my county official sites block me, Meath gaa the Irish version of north Korea. I have with immediate effect cancelled my subscription to club na mhi and i will not be renewing my season ticket, i also will never buy tickets for the half time draw and my kids (all 5 of them) for first year ever will not get the new jersey for Christmas.
Until this childish dictorial regime is changed, honestly you cant have the minimum difference of opinion with Meath gaa, and it was childs play compared to what I wanted to say . I am finished with them, i follow all the players, i wish them well before game and congratulations or commiseration after game depending on results, even after Tyrone game despite been broken hearted i said hard look lads lets move on to O'Byrne and this is how I am treated as a lifelong fan who spends hundreds travelling to support my county as many others do.
I am disgusted by Meath gaa.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 18/08/2015 09:40:57    1771803

royaldunne

Sorry to hear that they've blocked you, have they given you any official reason why? I mean if they're going to start blocking people just for having opposing views then we really do have a serious dictatorial problem in Meath at the minute. People should always be allowed to express contrary opinions as long as they're not abusive of course and I have no reason to believe you were being abusive royaldunne.

I hope you continue to go to the games anyway even if you don't renew your season ticket, Meath gaa is obviously a passion of yours so don't let anybody ruin that on you.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 18/08/2015 11:15:10    1771890

Royaldunne, that's a bummer. I wonder is this a regular occurrence.

If a person is not being abusive or writing slanderous type stuff then no reason for a ban. I wonder is this a decision from On High to block dissent or is it from whoever is maintaining the social media stuff. After all Meath co board's internet savvy and quality of site etc is not great. i dont have your problem as I dont interact with them on FB or Twitter.

Hard to know what you should do. if it was me I would create a new handle and post what they did.

On the subject of this thread I am getting a little concerned that there is no progress on the selector front. Championship games coming up. i would have thought that it would be in the managemen's best interest if they have a team in place then to announce it and allow the new selectors to go to games and chat with team managers, selectors etc in the context of their new role. Of course they could be going anyway but why hold back on the annoncement. It makes us think that he hasnt it finalised yet. If he was that far off getting it sorted ythen surely that should have been stated at the co board meeting.

oldsam_newsam (Meath) - Posts: 638 - 18/08/2015 11:29:51    1771905

Heres what i wrote on twitter.

I think mod tenure is over and it is time 4change, i thank him 4 hs efforts nd wish him well

Next one
Is it not strange that mod has been bckd by cb without consulting clubs r seen ne1 else interested?

Next one

I wish mod well on next 2 yrs, but he really needs 2 sort out fitness of team, its 70mins not 50.

I just don't see where the offense is? Yes i question cb on doing what they did and i said i thought mod should go, but when he stayed i wish him well and said where u thought we needed to improve. I am never abusive or use any type of bad language on these things, for two reasons firstly where i work and more importantly my kids could read my tweets and if i did id rightly get a earfull from herself.

Htaem yes i will continue to go to all the games, ill pay in like old days, i know it wont make one bit of difference to Meath cb me not paying them but its just my own personal protest, we me or anyone else will back their team to the death but we should still be allowed to voice our worries or annoyance in a quite manner without them blocking off descent. I am actually astounded that they blocked me, and i swear on everything that in no way was i abusive or threatening, its not in my nature.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 18/08/2015 12:34:50    1771968

Am I on the only one that finds it a bit odd that a manager was elected without seemingly any discussion among club delegates and without him even having a team of selectors in place, even a team of selectors proposed?

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1319 - 18/08/2015 12:50:02    1771979

It was my understanding that MOD had already picked his new selectors but he said he would not mention them till the clubs voted. If that is the case we should be told immediately. I might have read the article wrong (on hoganstand) but can anyone clarify this

Irish_downunder (Meath) - Posts: 631 - 18/08/2015 13:23:59    1772015

Idu that was my understanding too. But allegedly one of those who mod was thinking of hadn't said yes (bit like McHale with wmeath situation) and has since decided not to be part of team. So i think that is the delay in naming them until he finds a replacement.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 18/08/2015 14:18:05    1772063

You deserved to be blocked Royaldunne for writing in text language. Next time use proper words and grammar and you might be ok. You're not 14 any more you know!

anfearbeag (Meath) - Posts: 1134 - 18/08/2015 15:57:39    1772118

Could be due the the word limit on twitter!

Jimin10 (Meath) - Posts: 783 - 18/08/2015 16:27:17    1772140

royaldunne

Jaysus, that's ridiculous blocking you over those comments, they weren't in the least bit abusive, they were actually very logical and I happen to agree with them 100%, I can see why you're not too impressed by this.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 18/08/2015 17:11:08    1772164

Guessing the selectors is similar to the players under Mod saying guess what position he'll play me in today. in the last 3 years i'd say Menton has been moved around and messed around most in the most positions played. its no wonder the team doesnt play well as a unit. No continuity. i fail to see what benefits or capacity the manager brings to the set up so therefore any selectors under his control are almost irrelevant if they have no control.
Very vey disappointed that board pulled a fast one on clubs with his re-appointment.grossly inappropriate. Pity John Evans hadnt resigned prior to their mtg just to put heat on their decision.
We''ll see if they come begging for funds to the clubs how they are received after 2016 League attendances suffer. they can bloody well try a North Korea style funding model after their Nth Korea style coup at mtg.

meath1967 (Meath) - Posts: 56 - 18/08/2015 17:26:05    1772167