Micko will be back in again

Richieq......I couldn't care less if there were 10 ratoath lads on it if they were good enough but 2 of them clearly aren't so they are blessed to have 5 representatives in the county panel....Joey,Wallace and Brian power are as clear as day not up the the recquired standard in my opinion but they'll be there again for next two years.....that,is my main worry....He's going too keep trying with the same mediocre debutants he brought in cause that's always his spin too back what he has brought to the table. I'm not going to moan all year like RD but I'm gonna get a lot of moaning done before the season starts

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 890 - 11/08/2015 20:23:49    1768373

Poormouth

The apparent lack of interest from an alternative candidate was disappointing alright but the county board didn't exactly declare the position open and welcome new entries. Again why didn't this go to a vote, MOD's 3 years were up so surely one way or the other there has to be a vote to remove any doubt that MOD is the man the clubs want.

Now listen I know it's over and complaining is worthless at this point but I just to highlight it for future reference. This sort of carry on from the county board isn't acceptable, they shouldn't just be allowed to hand pick who they want and then ram it through without even a vote, and yes also the clubs need to show more enthusiasm as well.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 12/08/2015 10:23:10    1768542

Htaem

I agree with your post but what do you expect. They did the exact same thing but on a greater level with the hurlers last year. The clubs all voted for a candidate and the CB laughed at them and appointed their own man anyway.

Irish_downunder (Meath) - Posts: 630 - 12/08/2015 10:54:55    1768595

MOD has been extremely dissappointing to date but when you sit back and think about it who would be better or what players are missing that are not in the panel. You struggle.
Biggest mistake he made was to get rid of too many older players, a fit Joe and Peader Byrne coming on in the second half against Westmeath would have got him through to Leinster final against the Dubs this year.

I dont hear anyname that would be better, GG really. Compare him to the top managers and he just doesnt have the skill sets to be a manager at this level.Moyles seriously..

Last year I felt MOD's biggest problem was Giles and now that he's gone we will see massive improvement.
Tactically MOD is very bad and doesnt seem to be learning from his mistakes.. Againt Tyrone on a wet day he replace one wallace with another, took of Stephen Bray and left SOR on the bench.

He needs to remove POR, Kevin Reilly and Burke and unearth some new talent from other parts of Meath apart from Ratoath!!
How does he think the Wallace's, Tobin, McMahon are better players than Joe, Peader, Queeney. Running around with GPS pack measuring distances ran does make a footballer.

We need a goal keeper, 2 more defenders and a full forward line that can score.

Bring in Barry Callaghan and Colm Coyle as selectors to add some steel and cuteness and play the best footballers, not the best runners.

Northmeathman (Meath) - Posts: 284 - 12/08/2015 11:53:15    1768662

Donal Lenihan is scoring an awful lot in this championship and from play too,hopefully we see a lot more of him next season..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 12/08/2015 12:28:00    1768703

Northmeathman

As usual you throw in your vendetta against Ratoath players...

Eamonn Wallace and Bryan McMahon are very good players and will continue to improve..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 12/08/2015 12:30:42    1768708

Northmeathman

Whats funnier is the fact that you moan that Micko gets rid of experienced players and then you say you want him to get rid of POR,Kevin Reilly and Mickey Burke for new talent! :D

Brilliant!!

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 12/08/2015 12:32:13    1768711

Ziggy your confusing experienced players with talented players.
Joe and Peadar Byrne are far superior players to Burke, Reilly and POR.
Both are always fit for starters and would have won the game against Westmeath this year, do you get the difference.

Re the Rataoth comment, would all the key board warriors from Ratoath get a grip, 5 players from inter club or senior club is a joke full stop. If they are as good as u claim them to be u wouldnt be intermediate.

Ballinlough beating NOM tells you all thats wrong with the county team and Micko must badly need this position for his own personal development.

Co board had no other choice but to go with MOD as no one in their right mind wants the job. Players are not there for the success demanded.

Northmeathman (Meath) - Posts: 284 - 12/08/2015 13:02:20    1768742

Northmeathman you have to look at the facts here, in 2011 and 2012 the meath minor teams were very strong with the 2012 team getting to the AI final.

in 2011 Conor McGill, Bobby O'Brien and Bryan McMahon were ratoath representatives on that team two of which are in the senior team. From that team Harnan and O'Sullivan also made the step up. 4 Players!

In 2012 Only Brian Power from ratoath made the grade. I'm pretty sure E Wallace stood down from that team and wouldn't play that year. So in two years that's 5 players from one club that made the minor team. More than any other club!

It's not just MOD that sees good telent in these players but other managers before him. I think Joey is a little out of his depth but Ratoath produced 2/3 fantastic minor teams that empowered the minors and that's why the other 4 are in the team.

For the record I 100% agree with you about Peader Byrne and Joe Sheridan, I just 100% don't agree with you regarding the ratoath contingent.

Uncle_Fester (Meath) - Posts: 217 - 12/08/2015 14:33:53    1768826

Ok So MOD is back in.. And as expected a lot of people are not Happy.. But the common denominator here is we are all Meath supporters who only want to see Meath succeed be competitive and put the effort that is expected from the Jersey both on the field of play and in training.
If there is any passion in this bunch of players and management now is the time to stand up and say things have to change, not next year or next season but today.
IF MOD wanted to keep his position then he bloody better justify it.. if he mentions injuries again I will start to cry. This team need to win back the support, they have lost it. IT is now up to them. Prove you deserve to keep your job. The players need to prove they are the best in the County. The ball is in their court now. Show us all you have what it takes and that we can have a team we are proud of again.

MeathNo3 (Meath) - Posts: 23 - 12/08/2015 14:45:10    1768845

Ziggy your confusing experienced players with talented players.
Joe and Peadar Byrne are far superior players to Burke, Reilly and POR.
Both are always fit for starters and would have won the game against Westmeath this year, do you get the difference.

Re the Rataoth comment, would all the key board warriors from Ratoath get a grip, 5 players from inter club or senior club is a joke full stop. If they are as good as u claim them to be u wouldnt be intermediate.

Ballinlough beating NOM tells you all thats wrong with the county team and Micko must badly need this position for his own personal development.

Co board had no other choice but to go with MOD as no one in their right mind wants the job. Players are not there for the success demanded.

What I find laughable about all this is that in 2012/2013 loads of supporters were giving out yards about Joe Sheridan, Cian Ward, Peader Byrne etc saying they were playing badly and off the pace and in the case of Sheridan and Ward they were, Joe was a pale shadow of himself in his 2013 appearances and every supporter that was around me during the Tyrone game was calling for his substitution, and now we want them all back as if they're the answer to all our problems, well they are not. Im not opposed to giving one of two of them a try again but saying they were discarded too quickly is nonsense and no one really argued against it at the time, regarding Ratoath well you contradict yourself here a bit with your comments, you highlight Ballinlough beating O'Mahoney's as highlighting all that is wrong with the county team and to an extent your right because senior football in Meath is pure cat, Ive argued the toss over two of the Ratoath players on the squad but to be honest they have a better chance of improving than some of the younger talent in senior teams and their contribution to success for Ratoath and Meath at underage has been noteworthy. If Ratoath win the intermediate this year, and I think they will if they remain focussed, I can see them having success at senior level quite quickly as they do possess some of the best raw talent in the county at present, thats just a fact. Not that long ago it was a fantastic dream that Ratoath would be near senior level never mind have county representatives but now its within touching distance and their representatives on the Meath panel are there on merit, like it or not. Ratoath have progressed players and worked hard and despite what some think they are not flush with money, quite the opposite in fact, but other stronger clubs in the county have weakened and the standard at senior level is as I have said, pure cat. Perhaps that is the issue that needs addressing rather than the amount of players from one club on a county panel

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 12/08/2015 15:58:00    1768913

Well said Richie. I have to laugh at lads calling for Joe, Cian & Peadar to return. Great servants, but time moves on.
Just waiting for someone to demand Cormac McGill is brought back too for the full bingo card!

SmallHouse (Meath) - Posts: 291 - 12/08/2015 16:27:55    1768949

I have been looking at this post develop and I am not too sure whether the bulk of posters on this page are actually seeing what is going on in Meath Football lately. You ahve mentioned removing players, unearthing new players, looking for 2 new defenders , 2 new keepers and a full forward line that will score. FROM WHERE EXACTLY. Meath club football is in a dire state. The standard is poor to say the least and it is behind most counties. Clubs are not developing new players and part of that reason is down to the merry go round of managers in the county. All self prophecy and no care about the club or its players.

Recently a second St Bridgids team from Roscommon played a near full strenght NOM side and they won comprehensively. They were shocked that the standard bearers of Meath football and County champions were so poor. They were beaten by a majority of minor footballers and fringe panel members.

Meath football is in a very poor state and the expectation needs to be dropped a lot. MOD is obviously not the preferred choice in this forum but at least he wants it and as I know quite a few of the Meath footballers personally I see first hand the effort they put into the cause. So they may not be the best footballers in the land but they bloody well give it everything on the field and off it.

For me the problem lies with the county board and their sub standard way of dealing with the 'crisis' that is now facing Meath football. They need to get out of the dark ages and operate a professionally run system that supports teams, development squads, managers, club coaches and club structures.

Shivermetimber (Meath) - Posts: 124 - 12/08/2015 16:54:24    1768973

Richie

Great post

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 12/08/2015 17:02:19    1768979

You get rid of experience players the week after the all Ireland fair enuf no body would pay to much attention all focus on all Ireland winners.here is my problem the said lads got the chop definitely 2 of them were in running for player of year. In fact I think Bryne should got it dragged ballinlough to leinster final himself.cian ward was on fire with tones. But yet not an invite even to see they fit in to senior squad. This had me alarmed.we are basically starting again here in managers words no experience Conor Gillespie injured and lads not kicking ball over bar when goal on.i hold no hope of he changing what is going to do now his croke park team are not playing full 70 mins in croker.hope wrong really I do.

Reco (Meath) - Posts: 419 - 12/08/2015 19:53:12    1769100

North Meath man I see ya through Tobin in the bunch that aren't good enough.....i presume it talking bout donnacha as he is the starting Tobin on the panel....if so anything else I say on hear should be ignored from here on in...have us ever seen that lad play at club level, he consistantly roasts alorlt of the other panelists in midfield, ive seen him do it to SOR...Rooney and indeed leader Byrne last year...hes been played out of possition and if played in the middle third of the field us would be raving about him on here instead of come out with pie in the sky statements

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 890 - 12/08/2015 19:58:30    1769106

I don't know what the years ahead hold for Meath senior team, but i can't imagine a complete turnaround unless mod is manager in name only and the selectors whoever they may be are calling the shots.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 12/08/2015 20:02:10    1769110

I frantically wrote that so there's a few errors but ya get where I'm coming from. Also agree with Richie in relation too talking bout bringing back Joe cian etc.....I thought he was a bit hasty in getting rid of them but to be bringing them back after 3 years...would be a step back imo

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 890 - 12/08/2015 20:07:18    1769113

The greatest thing he did to date was clearing out the dregs in 2013.

Well said Richie.

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1790 - 12/08/2015 20:39:50    1769132

Southmeathgael

Agree with you,Tobin playing corner back baffles me the most out of all the positional swithes..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 12/08/2015 20:49:17    1769139