The future is Bright for Meath Football

Browncows which midfielder or half forward kicked the ball over sideline?/?? Oh that's right it was por. I think htaem said during league that he needed to be dropped i disagreed at the the time however he was absolutely right.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 05/07/2015 12:38:31    1747662

RD

Nobody id saying POR has not made mistakes of course he has!! But Meath giving up big scores has a lot more to do than blaming POR!

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 05/07/2015 12:56:23    1747670

Of course it has alot more ziggy but he has to take a fair share, and no one can say he is blameless.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 05/07/2015 17:58:43    1747842

If POR wasn't suspended he wouldn't be dropped....fact.I mean young judge and power were very poor against Wicklow and directly responsible for the concession of scores so they wee dropped, why should paddy be any different....he has the longest kick out in the country that lands on half forward line yet trys these "clever" short ones....he's not getting down at all for any low shots anymore.Brendan Murphy is sub keeper for next week too.

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 890 - 05/07/2015 18:22:55    1747872

royaldunne

I called for POR to be dropped at some stage during the league, probably after the Roscommon game, my main issue with Paddy is his kickouts when he's trying to pick a player out, they're killing us, so I'd like to see someone else get a chance.

Sure look anyway we all get things wrong, I was wrong about Keogan playing 6, it's now clear that it should have only been a temporary fix, he's no longer comfortable there and it's a waste of an excellent corner back as well, as for who can play 6? well I'm sh!t out of ideas.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 05/07/2015 20:35:56    1747979

Brendan Murphy sub keeper?? Surely a keeper who currently plays should be drafted in? Markey from Dunboyne perhaps?

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 05/07/2015 20:54:21    1747989

Htaem

Harnan would be worth a go at 6.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 05/07/2015 20:55:04    1747991

Ye maybe Harnan, I didn't think he was great on the wing but the centre seems to suit him better, it's worth a shot. Also if we had a better defensive structure and lads actually playing in their natural positions, who knows, maybe CHB wouldn't be as much of a problematic position.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 05/07/2015 21:17:35    1748009

Menton should be back at 6. Tobin, menton, Burke.

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1790 - 05/07/2015 21:25:17    1748014

Htaem

I agree,part of the problem is often lads not tracking their men.No matter who you have at 6,they will be exposed in this case.I do wish Micko played players in more natural positions.Its shocking that Tobin plays corner back.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 05/07/2015 21:29:54    1748019

Ziggy
Markey still injured. Is there any point drafting in a reserve for one game?

Greenwood (Meath) - Posts: 210 - 07/07/2015 17:32:55    1749433

Htaem that's it, we all get things wrong, i was expecting judge to have a great season, but he had a mare of a game v Wicklow, i also agree re keoghan at 6, its not working anymore, the 6 shirt is the most difficult, i cant think of one natural 6 on the panel never mind within starting 15, i think Chris O'Connor would fill it somewhat but not be outstanding at the same time if you know what i mean, but currently? Sure try harnan it cant do any harm. And is Brendan murphy really the sub keeper???? Honestly is that true?

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 07/07/2015 18:13:57    1749454

Greenwood

no,Murphy as backup would be fine..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 07/07/2015 18:15:36    1749457

I see that Dunganny is being officially opened on the 19th September next by GAA President Aodhan O Feaghail The news that this is almost complete is really welcome and at last Meath GAA teams and organisation will have a proper Home with all the necessary facilities in the one place. This has got to be a good thing logistically for the future and I hope it will provide a stable basis for Meath GAA teams to work and progress from at all levels.

meath1967 (Meath) - Posts: 56 - 07/07/2015 18:21:07    1749460

Dunganny is a great facility,but thats exactly what it is a facility.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 07/07/2015 21:05:10    1749535

Well said Ziggy. Would be happier to see a few more pitches at convenient locations around the county

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1790 - 07/07/2015 21:18:31    1749544

Well said ziggy. We now have a 1st class facility to train in, and a 3rd world shack that's falling apart to actually play in. Cart before horse and all that

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 07/07/2015 21:32:49    1749554

Not blaming POR at all for this, but wouldn't it make sense that our county goalie is playing in goals week in week out in club matches, and not outfield.

pati (Meath) - Posts: 80 - 07/07/2015 21:40:07    1749560

Will come back to the importance of the completion of Dunganny as a 1st class facility & home for Meath GAA again. I wont be able to address this until next week due to other pressing commitments. However,Imho it is an ideal opportunity for the start of a comphrehensive overhaul and Fresh Start (through the provision of proper permanent facilities) for Meath GAA esp. Meath teams- present and future. It is a fundamental jigsaw piece for progressing Meath teams together with providing them with adequate and suitable finance, organisation, coaching, management, equipment and personnel at all levels especially adult. The days of the half baked 'back of the envelope' tactics or no water for a Meath intercounty player to take a shower can be put to rest forever. It also eliminates players excuses for underperforming when the proper resources are in place.
We are Meath. We can reset the standards expected of us all at consistently competitive levels. So loads of hard decisions, planning and plenty of work ahead in what I expect to be a bright future. Theres enough attitude and good will throughout this county to make a go of it. Hoping our Steering Group take a lead role and influence how this is achieved soon.

meath1967 (Meath) - Posts: 56 - 08/07/2015 17:23:01    1750059

Currently the U14 and U15 development squad players must bring their own water with them..Imagine,we cannot even provide the kids with water! :D

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 08/07/2015 18:01:41    1750084