Tyrone v Meath

Jaysus Meaths record in Clones is awful.....

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 30/06/2015 14:52:16    1745478

Look MOD learned nothing from last year when almost a similar thing happened against Kildare when they got a run on us in the 2nd half. The only difference was Kildare were not able to covert the chances that Westmeath did. You would also have to ask serious questions of our fitness team (Eivers & McDonagh - I think), Meath looked dead at the finish unlike our western neighbors who were flying. Nothing against Joey Wallace but how many chances does a guy get?, as for the other subs only Newman made any impact and some of his impact was not particularly clever either. On another note what was Paddy O'Rourke doing on twitter straight after a defeat like that?.

AthboyGael (Meath) - Posts: 75 - 30/06/2015 15:09:23    1745489

I'm afraid you are right Athboygael,I am at a loss as to why nothing has been addressed..

Players out of position constantly..
Still not fit enough
No defensive structure

He had a season to fix these problems,alas he has not done that.Its a real pity,as I thought he would to be honest.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 30/06/2015 15:38:43    1745517

ziggy would I be right in saying our record in Clones is primarily against Monaghon?

Uncle_Fester (Meath) - Posts: 217 - 30/06/2015 15:54:10    1745532

Tyrones record in Omagh has been shocking lately so I want to play them there.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 30/06/2015 16:04:53    1745544

Uncle Fester

Fermanagh too.Not sure I have ever seen a Meath team win in Clones!

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 30/06/2015 16:46:27    1745573

I think all qualifier games should be at neutral venues. Going on tour is part of the fun of the qualifiers, but one side shouldn't have a big advantage over the other in the knock-out stages. Cavan would be a grand spot for a double header of Tyrone vs. Meath and Armagh vs. Galway.

GlasagusOr (Meath) - Posts: 1348 - 30/06/2015 17:10:52    1745595

I read on one of these forums that Donal keoghan did not know Westmeath had never beat us in championship??? Is this for real??
Honestly the captain of our county didn't know this??
Oh i give up. !!!!!

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 30/06/2015 17:11:59    1745596

OH MY GOD ROYALDUNNE! THROW HIM TO THE WOLVES!

What difference does it make if he knew or not? Honestly some people will use anything type of (unfounded) nonsense to throw at players.

Maybe Micko should give all the players a quiz about our record v Tyrone to decide who is worthy of the shirt...

SmallHouse (Meath) - Posts: 291 - 30/06/2015 17:27:48    1745604

royaldunne

I read in one of the papers over the weekend that Keogan said he didn't know Westmeath had never beaten Meath in the championship but I didn't believe him to be honest, I'd say he was just trying to play it down.

As for Keogan himself I'll have to hold my hand up and admit I've gotten it wrong, I thought he had to play 6 because we don't have another credible options there and it worked fine early on to steady the ship but it hasn't worked out in the long run. It's time for MOD to bite the bullet and let him back into 2 where he is most effective as easily our best man marker, but this still leaves a huge gap at 6 and I'm at a loss to think of anyone capable of nailing that position and please nobody suggest Menton!

Although if we had a better defensive plan and a much fitter team, whoever does play at 6 will surely have a bit more support and won't be left alone to deal with 2 or 3 on rushing counter attackers.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 30/06/2015 17:54:40    1745615

Wait a second small house anyone from here will will tell you i have been a massive supporter of keoghan and lead a call for him to get ypoty. I still think he is the best corner back in the country. But for him been captain not knowing that (or at least been told by management) would be criminal, and i would be more inclined to say he knew fair well and as htaem said was playing it down, there's no way he wouldn't have heard it from Carroll judge burke Flanagan who would all know how much it means living where they do .
So that aside. I want to see a real bloody performance, i know i said i wouldn't go to this, but Meath runs through my blood, and while winning against Tyrone wouldn't erase the pain of getting beat by Westmeath it would show we not all as bad as we seem .
A personal plea to mick, please please show us the last 3 years have not been a waste of time.
Hon the royal.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 30/06/2015 18:43:07    1745637

Micky Burke at 6. Worth a try.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6347 - 30/06/2015 18:43:34    1745639

Keoghan 2 k reilly 3 mc gill4
Mcantee5 tobin6 burke7
Rooney gillespy
G reilly 10 harnan 11 menton 12
Wallace 13 bray 14 mc mahon 15
Tormey on bench swap menton to no, 9 if no gillespy and put newman in at no 12

matthematx (Meath) - Posts: 177 - 30/06/2015 19:10:03    1745659

Jinxie Usually agree with you but way off the mark with Mickey. Great bloke but not --- you have to play Keoghan at corner. And if Kevin Reilly is picked the only place you can put him is full back.

Auldfella (Meath) - Posts: 472 - 30/06/2015 19:25:16    1745667

Burke or Harnan at 6..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 30/06/2015 19:34:22    1745670

Menton has been brilliant in the league as wing back but I'd move him back to 6 to steady the ship.

Should harnan and Kevin Reilly be dropped for the next game?

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1793 - 30/06/2015 20:14:34    1745688

bert09

Well if Kevin Reilly is not fit enough,then he simply should not play.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 30/06/2015 20:46:43    1745699

Ziggy- exactly. And as one of the leaders in the team he should be able to tell mod he can't play if not 100%

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1793 - 30/06/2015 20:54:46    1745702

Team I would pick for the Tyrone game.

1.McHugh
2.Keoghan
3.Reilly
4.McGill
5.Tobin
6.Harnan
7.Menton
8.Rooney
9.Tormey
10.McEntee
11.Newman
12.Reilly
13.McMahon
14.Bray
15.Wallace

It will be very difficult and I doubt that O'Dowd will out the players in some of thos positions,but there you go..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 30/06/2015 20:57:34    1745704

Royaldunne - your post dealt solely with freaking out because DK didn't know we had never lost to WH. That's all I was referring to.

SmallHouse (Meath) - Posts: 291 - 30/06/2015 21:11:02    1745715