Tyrone v Meath

Of our last 6 games in croke park we have only won one game this could be down to our fitness levels on the bigger pitches

shrek95 (Meath) - Posts: 77 - 29/06/2015 12:41:55    1744583

Shatter- not sure that he would have made much of a difference, some of our defenders cannot defend but I agree with your analysis and indeed you do need half forwards who can cover most of the pitch.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 29/06/2015 13:10:03    1744611

Not the worst draw, I think that playing at home would have put to much pressure on current squad, who seem to be so brittle. Anyone can see to beat Meath you just have to run at us. So whatever master plan Micko had for the Dubs may need to be tweaked. Tyrone will play it cagey.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2151 - 29/06/2015 13:55:10    1744659

How many times has Micko said this team was built for Croke Park. There is a design fault, back to the drawing board

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2151 - 29/06/2015 13:56:57    1744660

Keoghan looks absolutely lost at 6, should have been on Heslin, that was the losing of the game... Hon Kilbride

paddykennedy22 (Meath) - Posts: 20 - 29/06/2015 16:06:15    1744817

Keoghan looks absolutely lost at 6, should have been on Heslin, that was the losing of the game... Hon Kilbride

paddykennedy22 (Meath) - Posts: 20 - 29/06/2015 16:06:45    1744819

Htaem i agree . But from what I have heard he is going nowhere of his own accord regardless of next days result.
So that means a vote will have to take place and rather than a timely new appointment it will be drawn out and then rushed, with new management team not in place until perhaps october .
As for this game , i just don't know, someone said that players should listen to what mod tells them in dressing room and do the exact opposite on field, now i even find that harsh, i presume there's a team meeting this week, perhaps the only people who should speak are the players, let them say what went wrong so management can make the calls to rectify it.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 29/06/2015 16:11:08    1744824

players meeting tonight.

thelutch (Meath) - Posts: 1049 - 29/06/2015 16:22:24    1744834

Can't imagine that too many players are impressed with O'Dowd at this stage either.Would be very selfish of him not to resign,because he will be pushed anyway.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 29/06/2015 16:22:39    1744835

something going down anyway,cant see a change now been any good.

thelutch (Meath) - Posts: 1049 - 29/06/2015 16:29:45    1744846

thelutch

I meant once the season is over.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 29/06/2015 16:39:44    1744859

Thelutch meeting tonight? Hmmmm are you sure they will wait until after Tyrone game???

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 29/06/2015 16:57:44    1744883

I know no manager wants to leave having failed in their ambitions but MOD has to be realistic about this. He hasn't brought us on since Banty left and there's a good chance he won't be retained so I'd like to see him leave gracefully when our championship is ended which sadly I think will be quite soon.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 29/06/2015 17:08:13    1744897

Dont know royaler but a change now wont do any good in my opinion,i just know a players meeting was called last night,not sure if it was MOD or county board that called it.

thelutch (Meath) - Posts: 1049 - 29/06/2015 17:11:27    1744905

A team meeting the night after a championship game would be the norm, irregardlles of the result so I wouldn't read too much into that.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6344 - 29/06/2015 17:32:28    1744938

MOD was poor yesterday but the players aren't entirely blameless either lads. A 14 point turn around can't be all his doing

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 891 - 29/06/2015 17:37:11    1744944

That players team meeting could be usefull....Yes Micko will get,and deserves his share of criticism. But vitally important i hope the players do their own self analysis individually,and as a team. Micko will go himself shortly i suggest.Then that question has to be asked why did we stand back and lose the lead. AM I FIT ENOUGH ?If not then you as a player carry PRIMARY responsibility for that.You took the jersey,that carries with it a massive honour as well as massive responsibility. It is always easy to blame somebody else. Of course ye all deserve great credit and thanks for the time and effort . It is just this supporter of over 50 years just cannot accept a Meath player not rising to the challenge. With every man giving his best Tyrone are there to be beaten

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1227 - 29/06/2015 19:14:48    1745000

wouldn't read too much into a team meeting,its fairly normal..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 29/06/2015 19:35:40    1745014

still in shock after the result yesterday, think its definitely time for MOD to go after this season, one of the most frustrating things about the game yesterday was MOD saying that it was lack of experience, the reason why we lack experience is because MOD got rid of the experienced players, we could've done with the likes of joe Sheridan, cian ward and brian farrel being on the bench yesterday and being able to bring them on with 10 minutes to go instead of bringing on a 19 year old who the Westmeath players would have no fear of. if we had been able to bring on an experienced player such as cian ward the Westmeath players and management would've automatically thought aw god this lad will need some watching because they know hes a household name and they know the damage he can do when he gets space.
fair enough there were questions over brian farrel, cian ward and joe sheridans workrate and if they showed heart and fight but there wasn't much heart or fight shown by the young players yesterday.
its all well and good bringing in new players and getting rid of the older players but in this case when the older players are more talented than the young ones, why get rid of them. were not like Dublin we don't have an endless string of talent coming through, we need to hold one to experienced talented players rather than throwing them away and hoping some young player with no experience of underage success can come in and transform the team.
as Ollie murphy said before, if cian ward was on another county team he'd be known as a star player yet in meath he's not working hard enough.

meathalltheway (Meath) - Posts: 789 - 29/06/2015 19:45:10    1745021

im not by any means saying that bringing back joe, cian and brain farrel would transform the team, theres still massive problems with our defence and the morale of the players but it wouldn't do much harm to have them on the subs bench and bring them on in games like yesterday where you need experienced players to come in who have been there and know what to do in those situations.

meathalltheway (Meath) - Posts: 789 - 29/06/2015 19:51:19    1745023