Meath v Wicklow

Lads, I can't see the appeal of Damien Carroll. He played one good game against Kildare a couple of years ago and I haven't seen a lot from him since.

hootervillian (Meath) - Posts: 308 - 07/06/2015 17:31:30    1733601

Ya Carroll has not moved on to be fair,and seems to be too nice,and doesn't really get stuck in.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 07/06/2015 19:52:01    1733736

Jaysus we would not want to be losing to Wicklow! the losers play Donegal or Armagh away! :P

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 08/06/2015 10:48:32    1733916

Yeah if we lost to wicklow it will be a very short year. I would say we're lucky to be on this side of the draw but if you switched us and laois and Kildare beat us we'd be on the very easy side of the draw in the qualifiers. Would make going on a good run easier.

Anyway it'll be the front door this year I think.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 08/06/2015 14:03:30    1734091

Lovely ! Short year dis year !

curnew (Wicklow) - Posts: 449 - 08/06/2015 14:20:07    1734103

Actually it mightn't be all that bad, but its not going to happen. A game against Westmeath awaits (they'll beat Wexford) and if we were to get beat in that, i wouldn't come back from Dublin, just head straight to airport, i couldn't go home and have to listen to them for rest of my life.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 08/06/2015 16:43:46    1734206

Beat Wicklow and be hammered by Dublin or lose to Wicklow and face Armagh/Donegal. The choice is stark. Still cannot look any further than the big match in Navan

Jack L (None) - Posts: 3099 - 08/06/2015 18:17:17    1734250

Its dubs in Leinster final, im not pc never was never will be, i don't go in for falsity's just facts, and facts are we will hammer Wicklow and beat Westmeath by 5/6. Then the real fun starts.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 08/06/2015 19:24:54    1734290

That draw will certainly rid the team of any complacency and get them focused for Wicklow game.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2142 - 08/06/2015 20:24:48    1734327

One game at a time. We need Gillespie. Pleases me to see the lads out kayaking at the weekend. Harks back to the good old days when Sean would take us rowing on the grand canal.

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1790 - 08/06/2015 20:40:25    1734335

Looking forward to seeing team selection. Hope some of the walking wounded are available

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2142 - 08/06/2015 21:12:01    1734354

looks like kevin reilly gone for good according to the sun this morning.

thelutch (Meath) - Posts: 1047 - 09/06/2015 09:11:31    1734405

ya Gillespie is vital to say the least..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 09/06/2015 09:18:14    1734408

the lutch

What does it say?

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 09/06/2015 09:56:15    1734436

Just read in the examiner..

Kevin Reilly is out and unlikely to be back this year.HUGE blow and his leadership will be missed..

Menton,SOR,Newman,Gillespie all out too..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 09/06/2015 10:02:07    1734441

So my team for sunday would be..

1.POR
2.Tobin
3.McGill
4.Dalton
5.Power
6.Keoghan
7.Burke
8.Flanagan
9.Rooney(I think,cause he also has fitness issues so may not play)
10.Tormey
11.Harnan
12.Reilly
13.E.Wallace
14.S.Bray
15.McMahon

Very young side,hopefully Wicklow are as bad as we think..

Keoghan will now have to play 6 this year for sure too.

I have to say,any confidence I had for the year is ebbing away,missing way too many leaders and we are not sure if Gillespie will even be available for the next day..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 09/06/2015 10:17:40    1734462

^^^^^^
Re Ziggy, have to agree with your team, maybe Mark O'Sullivan (free taker) for McMahon but its hard to argue with your 15
If Rooney is out Tormey to Midfield and J Wallace/ McMahon in to 12

Power will play as CHB as Burke, Tobin, Dalton, Keoghan can all go in at CB if needed

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 09/06/2015 11:14:23    1734512

Squad depth being tested big time alright bit if that team or a variation of that team can't cover the spread against Wicklow or at least 7/8 points then there not as ready and well equipped for championship as we thought. Wicklow finished bottom of div 4 with a draw against carlow and a win against leitrim there only points. They scored an average of 10 pts a game and were hammered by offaly and longford and well bet by Waterford and London. Mention and Newman and possibly Gillespie too be back for westmeath game. This is an ideal game to have them lads missing, others need too take oppurtunity too stand up and be counted

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 889 - 09/06/2015 11:31:35    1734521

Ziggy

1.POR
2.Tobin
3.McGill
4.Dalton
5.Power
6.Keoghan
7.Burke
8.Flanagan
9.Rooney(I think,cause he also has fitness issues so may not play)
10.Tormey
11.Harnan
12.Reilly
13.E.Wallace
14.S.Bray
15.McMahon

Given the injuries we have it's hard to argue with that team.

I think playing Tormey in the full forward line mightn't be a bad shout. He plays there a decent amount for Ashbourne and he seems very good at winning his own ball and he's definitely not afraid to take his man on. He would be a good outlet because E.Wallace isn't very good at winning ball but he is good at following the ball in and taking it off the inside forwards at speed, same as Reilly.

Uncle_Fester (Meath) - Posts: 217 - 09/06/2015 11:43:35    1734534

fair point.I would have no problem with Tormey and Wallace switching..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 09/06/2015 13:00:13    1734594