Meath v Wicklow

Yep agree Ziggy worrying week ahead not knowing whos injured

Beautiful.Meath (Meath) - Posts: 537 - 31/05/2015 17:36:39    1730566

I would just like to say from a Meath suppoters point of view we need to beat the likes of Wicklow Westmeath or Wexford with a bit to spare if we are thinking of having any ambitions of having a progressive summer we are playing 3 and 4 teams and if we can't beat well we are going to be serious trouble if we manage to get to a Leinster final against Dublin. My team for the match against Wicklow depending on injuries would be:

1.P.O'Rourke
2.D.Keogan
3.C.McGill
4.D.Dalton
5.D.Tobin
6.K.Reilly
7.B.Menton
8.c.Gillispe
9.A.Flanagan
10.G.Reilly
11.M.Newman
12.A.Tormey
13.E.Wallace
14.S.O'Rourke
15.s.Bray

ThickandTin (Meath) - Posts: 121 - 31/05/2015 17:39:42    1730568

Well said ThickandTin, Meath just seem to be lacking that bit of ruthlessness to put away teams when we have them on the ropes. In saying that, if we get past Wicklow, beating Westmeath will be far from a foregone conclusion before throw-in. They put up a good score against Louth and they've had a few key players returning from injury since. You've picked a fairly good team there as well.

MarkMyWords (Meath) - Posts: 498 - 31/05/2015 19:26:58    1730616

No disrespect to Wicklow,but I agree with many here,if we are to even give the likes of Dublin half a game,we need to be destroying Wicklow..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 01/06/2015 08:16:07    1730713

By how much we beat Wicklow by is not very relevant to how we perform if we get to meet Dublin. Dublin are a Div 1 team who have won the league and Wicklow are Div 4 who ended on the bottom (and no disrespect to them). The league is now more of a reflection of the standards of the respective counties and is taken more serious than in the distant past. You will find that the All-Ireland winners will come out of Div 1 and very few lower grade league teams will beat higher grade ones in the championship. I agree with COR for competition sake the provincials need to be reformatted.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 01/06/2015 11:00:28    1730769

ThickandThing...thats an excellent starting lineup you've named there...agree with putting Mickey at 11, i think he would be more effective for us in this role as although a wonderful football, he's not at his strongest winning his own ball in the forward line...on the 40 he'll be afforded more space and can come onto the ball more.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1318 - 01/06/2015 11:42:39    1730808

As Carlow last year waste of time and effort Meath should and need to win by at least a point a man

glenny (Meath) - Posts: 1108 - 01/06/2015 14:46:28    1730946

Wicklow will be better than carlow last year but it's true they've regressed from the team with stumbled over in aughrim. They could easily have beaten us that day. We got all the lucky breaks.

10 point win is my guess. Hopefully we put in a good performance. That's what matters. Westmeath or wexford will be a step up if we progress.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 01/06/2015 16:19:17    1731015

Just heard that Leinster council want to move Meath Wicklow game to Croke park as a double header with Laois v Kildare. Anyone know of any truth in this?

royaler99 (Meath) - Posts: 10 - 01/06/2015 16:29:46    1731021

Eh I would doubt that.Meath and Wicklow have been preparing for this game a long time now,that would mean bringing the game forward a week.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 01/06/2015 16:42:22    1731027

Would be something they have a history of doing anyways. Playing games in front of streams of empty seats in Croker when if they played it in a smaller venue you would have a good atmosphere. I'm fed up of watching games in Croker where every sound is echoey and there is no atmosphere

PoppinPoints (Meath) - Posts: 225 - 01/06/2015 16:50:03    1731035

Dubs win yesterday was exactly what's needed. They are on a massive high, Whelan the gombeen talking about not been tested until august etc, everyone clapping them on the back, you can see a horrid dose of complacency setting in :).
But onto this match, yes if we are to trouble dubs then it needs to be a complete performance coupled with a 10+ victory.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 01/06/2015 17:58:10    1731067

Anybody any reports from the challenge match v Galway yesterday?

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 889 - 02/06/2015 10:29:23    1731243

Yeah would love to hear how that challenge went, anyone know?

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 02/06/2015 14:43:30    1731442

Reported ye lost well in trim
And Westmeath got beaten by 11 by sligo yesterday after playing club championship at Weekend
Cork and mayo drew
But there only challenge s not to be passed heed in

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 02/06/2015 16:26:32    1731515

more importantly who played in the challenge and aside from Menton,have we any updates on the injury situation?

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 02/06/2015 16:32:03    1731524

Just found out they drew with Galway, in horrific conditions, from our one of the players. Lenihan came on for 20 minutes

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 889 - 02/06/2015 16:43:13    1731529

Your probably right it was a player that goes to college with mayo galway and sligo lads I heard off
Find most players when questioned on challenges say it was a draw they are getting well schooled not just on the pitch these days

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 02/06/2015 17:07:33    1731541

Win loss draw is irrelevant, who played ? Any news on injuries etc?

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 02/06/2015 17:26:17    1731557

yeah challenge matches with meath have lost all relevance really. in the 2000s when we were very poor we used to beat cork and kerry in challenges thn we would lose to leitrim or wexford in the mid 1990s!

dickie10 (UK) - Posts: 687 - 02/06/2015 18:05:19    1731581