Meath v Wicklow

Paddy O'Rourke didn't play for Skryne... that's 5 of the big leaders of the team having not played this weekend. Paddy O'Rourke, Kevin Reilly, Bryan Menton, Conor Gillespie & Michael Newman.

urizen (Meath) - Posts: 115 - 25/05/2015 19:11:03    1728309

Hard not to be concerned at this stage of the year..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 25/05/2015 21:12:52    1728375

Urizen

I would argue thats the spine of the team..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 26/05/2015 11:08:25    1728475

i note the royal arrogance is alive and well. not only being disrespectful to wicklow but also my own county and
wexford . at least give some counties a bit of respect . meath are no worldbeaters . in fact if we beat wexford and yee beat wicklow
i think we will give yee a big game in the semi final

mickcunningham (Westmeath) - Posts: 1802 - 26/05/2015 17:58:58    1728770

mickcunningham

How is it been arrogant thinking Meath will beat Wicklow? For the record,Westmeath will beat Wexford..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 26/05/2015 19:36:28    1728819

IF Meath and Westmeath get through ( I think they will get over Wexford with a bit to spare) I would expect a very close game 50/50

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2143 - 26/05/2015 20:54:49    1728848

seadog

I don't think anyone is arrogant when they say that Meath will beat Wicklow.I mean if we cannot beat Wicklow,well,ya know.. I fully expect Meath to meet Westmeath,and I think we will beat Westmeath in a close game,but won't be easy and Westmeath are capable of toppling us.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 27/05/2015 10:12:02    1728920

Haha Meath arrogance, it's like a verbal tic some people can't get rid of, suppose if can't beat them join them. Yes we're great and we're going to hammer the shite out of Wicklow and Westmeath because we're so awesome and they're rubbish, rubbish I tells ya, is that sufficient? :-)

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 27/05/2015 10:20:56    1728923

Did I see Bryan McMahon got 2-6 at the weekend in the IFC

Form like that could land him in the team v Wicklow?

Ducks for cover and awaits a barrage of abuse about "another Ratoath player" on the county team!!!

Ciaran Kelly from St Colmcilles seems to be in good scoring form recently. I admit I know nothing about him but could he get a late call up from MOD??

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 27/05/2015 13:40:17    1729067

Expectation here couldn't be any lower after terrible league and missing a lot of experienced players. Some will tell you teams under the radar can be dangerous. They're lying

townieee (Wicklow) - Posts: 261 - 28/05/2015 11:39:58    1729389

townieee, Back in 2013, Wicklow gave us a good game in Aughrim, K Reilly's goal from our 45, after Furlong's peno miss was the difference. Wicklow seemed to be slowly improving and have dropped back badly since then. What has gone wrong or is going wrong there?
For the record, we're not AI or Leinster winner material, but anything other than a handy Meath win would be a shock. Only concern I have at the moment is the injuries to important players, both Gillespie and Reilly are not long back after long lay offs. SOR is OK at the moment but again, he's another just back from a long lay off. Newman hasn't played a whole lot this year. Menton got injured in the league and was still played, now he's injured again. Think POR is OK. Has anyone any updates of the injuries of those currently out?

moylagh (Meath) - Posts: 484 - 28/05/2015 12:03:46    1729403

Ok ill await a barrage of abuse after this post. But here goes.
Am i the only one who doesn't really rate sor AT THE MOMENT , now he was once exceptionable but injuries have hampered him big time, and he has not developed into the player he could have been, worth his place on the panel for sure, but it would not be a huge thing if he didn't play.
I sit and wait the barrage, :).

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 28/05/2015 13:14:34    1729458

Meath are 1/16 on to win and if I had a million euros I would be straight down to the bookies.

sponger (Wicklow) - Posts: 2897 - 28/05/2015 14:35:58    1729498

yaldunne

Ok ill await a barrage of abuse after this post. But here goes.
Am i the only one who doesn't really rate sor AT THE MOMENT , now he was once exceptionable but injuries have hampered him big time, and he has not developed into the player he could have been, worth his place on the panel for sure, but it would not be a huge thing if he didn't play.
I sit and wait the barrage, :).

fully agree----too nice of a player on the pitch

the seal (Meath) - Posts: 583 - 28/05/2015 14:40:00    1729502

Needs to be trained for and kept as a full forward, only position for him. Two footed, strong and very skilful.

No point in putting him out the field as similar to Donaghy, he doesn't have the athleticism for a modern midfielder. Given the right care, training and encouragement, he could be a excellent full forward however and he showed glimpses of that against Down in the League for example.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1318 - 28/05/2015 14:53:41    1729518

agree with post above about SOR..

By the way guys,I heard Donal Lenihan scored 4 points from play at the weekend and Donal Keoghan was marking him..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 28/05/2015 15:38:28    1729563

Ziggy according to the math report on the HS he scored 7 pts with just one from a free. Was talking to someone who was at this game and he said Leninhan was on fire from the start and Rathkenny had to switch Keoghan onto him after 5 mins but he still caused Rathkenny serious problems. Bar a short spell before HT where Keoghan got to grips with him after a swift rabbit punch to Lenihan's kidneys he continued to torment their defence and popped up with the winner in added time for good measure.

Greenwood (Meath) - Posts: 210 - 28/05/2015 16:18:34    1729589

Looks in very good condition this year Lenihan, beginning to fill out and looks like he conditions himself well which is great to see. Fair play to him. If hes keeps it up, will be great to see him reach his potential in a Meath jersey in Croke Park.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1318 - 28/05/2015 16:27:43    1729598

Leninhan called back into the panel on Tuesday night

awol67 (Meath) - Posts: 125 - 28/05/2015 16:57:54    1729618

Moylagh, from that panel in 2013 Leighton Glynn has retired, furlong left the panel recently, Stafford has been injured all season, one of our few decent markers ciaran hyland was away travelling and our goal scorer that day paul earls is still abroad I think. There are still decent players like Darren Hayden and Padge mc Walter on the panel but the overall strength of the squad is way down from that game in aughrim. New management team under Johnny Magee have been let down I think by a lack of commitment by some players and really it's hard to make a case for us doing any way well in Navan. In previous years you could go into a game knowing that we would have a right cut at it and probably come up a bit short but I think we are all keeping our fingers crossed this year that it doesn't end up in a hiding like Laois/Carlow a couple of weeks ago.

townieee (Wicklow) - Posts: 261 - 28/05/2015 18:30:16    1729684