Meath v Wicklow

Gettin championship fever now, go on lutch you can say, I won't tell anyone, what are the changes?

Best of luck to MOD and the lads, C'MON DA ROYALS!!!

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 14/06/2015 10:32:37    1736538

I am sure Eamonn will start..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 14/06/2015 11:18:50    1736552

Answer this The Lutch? are the changes due to injury?

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 14/06/2015 11:19:33    1736553

Just for divilment, i went and looked up the team that played Armagh last year and compared it to this years named team.

P O'Rourke M Burke D Keogan B Menton D Caroll P Harnan D Tobin A Flanagan S O'Rourke B Meade B McMahon A Tormey S Bray M Newman D Bray
Subs,G Reilly for Meade, E Harrington for Carroll, D McDonagh for S Bray, J Wallace for D Bray, P Gilsenan for McDonagh, B Meade for S O'Rourke

That's a big big swing in a year but it just goes to show that as little as we might expect, 2/3rds of the team has played championship football .

Wrong time and place to ask but ill ask anyway, What happened to Dalton McDonagh, he wasn't a gem or anything but he was a real tryer and he got into dangerous positions, then he was gone.

urizen (Meath) - Posts: 115 - 14/06/2015 12:26:38    1736570

only messing boys,team named is starting

thelutch (Meath) - Posts: 1047 - 14/06/2015 12:50:25    1736584

Job done for Meath.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 14/06/2015 17:10:21    1736722

Just about! Westmeath may have taken us today. Rooney, McEntee, McMahon, Tormey, Reilly and Bray were the best on show, if a little ring rusty at times. We are very vulnerable defensively when ran at (especially down the middle). Need to field a stronger side in two weeks time.

GlasagusOr (Meath) - Posts: 1348 - 14/06/2015 17:50:23    1736750

Hard hard work, the missing players really told today but credit also to Wicklow, no matter what we did we couldn't shake them off. Huge improvement needed for the next day or it's curtains for sure against Westmeath.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 14/06/2015 17:50:25    1736751

Woeful performance, even taking the changes into account. The defending was shocking. Hard to see how we can have ambitions of winning anything with displays like that.

SmoothRoad (Meath) - Posts: 19 - 14/06/2015 17:57:14    1736753

We really need Gillespie,Kevin Reilly,McGill back ASAP..actually that game today will bring us on more than if we were to win by 15pts
also credit to Wicklow..great effort

blind ref (Meath) - Posts: 204 - 14/06/2015 18:07:48    1736762

Poor stuff alright. Line very slow to make changes in first half--have they not learned anything? Paddy on dead ball kicks--again?! It hasn't worked in the o Byrne, league or over the last 2 years!

No disrespect--this was Wicklow. At home.

On the positive side Rooney is the real deal. Big game player. Well done big man.

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1790 - 14/06/2015 18:18:43    1736771

Nicky Judge and Brian Power were poor, Joey Wallace missed some desperate chances. Wallace, Reilly, Menton, Newman and McGill will hopefully be back in the next day

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1458 - 14/06/2015 18:42:51    1736778

I thought McEntee did OK also.

hootervillian (Meath) - Posts: 308 - 14/06/2015 18:46:34    1736783

anyone know whats the craic with kevin reilly, people were saying he wouldn't be back at all this year and then he comes on as a sub today?

meathalltheway (Meath) - Posts: 789 - 14/06/2015 19:03:09    1736797

I don't know were to start,but that was truly awful...

I have backed Micko when others have not and given him time.But what was the plan today? Yes you can be rusty in your first champ game,but I still don't see a plan or structure to this team.We can talk about individuals(some of them very poor today),but the gameplan and structure is more important.Micko is also persisting in playing individuals were they don't look comfortable.Our defence was shocking.Keoghan was awful at 6 and is wasted at 6.Power really struggled,but he is a young lad making his debut,yet Micko had him full back for most for the first half!! Today Keoghan should have been full back.Tobin really struggled when he played full back too.McEntee played reasonably well,Judge was out of his depth,not county standard.Flanagan really struggled at midfield,but Rooney was outstanding and was easily our best player.Love his attitude and agressive nature.McMahon showed well at times,but I still he is player to come off the bench.As for Joey,I don't understand what Micko sees in him.Imagine playing these small guys against a better side!Joey looks lost and confused and so am I..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 14/06/2015 19:05:28    1736798

I was shocked at the standard of defending from some of our half backs... It was atrocious.. Real basic stuff. Like not tracking your man properly.. .Giving his man 30+YARDS space..do we really have no better in the county than that? there were some positives tho.. Rooney is a big unit.. I thought he played well.. G . Reilly looks fit., With players to come in to the team., there are plenty of positives..

TobinsBeard (Meath) - Posts: 125 - 14/06/2015 19:09:17    1736805

Hungrymeathman

Keoghan may have tried hard,but he was awful today.Losing his name on many occasions.Coming for the ball and missing it,out of position badly.Huge fan of Keoghan but he wasted as 6.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 14/06/2015 19:26:43    1736821

Losing his MAN on many occasions. :)

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 14/06/2015 19:37:35    1736843

Happy with that. We were extremely weak defensively today against a decent wicklow team.

Westmeath the next day will be a step up. It will be third match of the championship so far so expect them to hit the ground running.

Long time since we played westmeath in the leinster championship. Long overdue!

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 14/06/2015 19:42:25    1736856

Ziggy I dont know if you can continue to stand by MOD . I have no idea what he is at and I dont think he knows himself . Ground hog day , same as last year injured players , players out of position and at the end will be a hammering from Dublin . Thats if we can beat Westmeath which I doubt this westmeath team will be suited by croke park . If we loose to westmeath MOD should be sacked straight away I would rather get a hammered from Dublin . Going nowhere under this manager , I said this last year and sadly I think this year could be worse .

mmc (Meath) - Posts: 266 - 14/06/2015 19:55:11    1736875