Meath v Cavan All to play for.

Glenny

I have only being wrong ONCE so far with Meath this season..

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 02/04/2015 18:29:09    1709945

Biggie loves playing navan. Expect the biggie show a Sunday. If the ground is firm I expect Meath to win.nice to see players coming back-compared to last year.

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1790 - 02/04/2015 20:08:20    1709981

Hopefully we will be up for this game unlike the relegation match with Louth a couple of years ago. If we don't go up its not all that bad but it is important for them to give it there all

RoyalToon (Meath) - Posts: 13 - 02/04/2015 21:08:55    1710013

no team news,but that does not matter as it is normally different to the team that actually lines out.I expect Bray and Newman to come back into the side.

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 03/04/2015 13:43:49    1710158

Chaisleain_Abu

1709813 On the Contrary , Meath need to plan for what Cavan are going to bring with them on Sunday to Pairc Tailteann . Mr Hyland has mimicked the defensive system employed by a lot of the Northern Clans , Meath's last win was against a Down team that try to play open football most of the time .
They have not bought in fully to the citadel type defence that the majority of the province are now practising . Cavan on the other hand are doing it by the numbers so much so that they have improved on last years dour affair between themselves and Roscommon in Breffini Park in some of their games to date . The problem is now that this has become acceptable of Cavan , as they have eked out results against some good teams . The unfortunate thing is that over the last 5 years Cavan have been the U21 Kingpins in Ulster .So the talent is there to play football, but Mr Hyland has latched onto a system and he will employ it till the cows come home. Meath on the other hand have not been too successful against this type of system , and planning how it can be overcome now may be of benefit later on if things go well. So therefore I'd suggest that we do Plan for the Cavan blockade and learn to deal with this system .

If you knew much about Cavan it was down to Peter Donnelly who is now with Tyrone, that Cavan have been playing Defensive in recent years, Cavan aren't playing ultra defensive this year.. also the Roscommon game this year wasn't in breffnni - kiltoom

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 03/04/2015 13:58:42    1710166

This has an air of a championship match, come on the Royal.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 03/04/2015 17:55:19    1710233

RD , some fair weather supporters are asking me about tickets looks like sa big crowd do I'd agree about an air of championship
Any word on Tormey ??

royalpainter (Meath) - Posts: 874 - 03/04/2015 18:11:36    1710240

Yeah, while they only fair weather ones, still good to have a big home crowd, better get to pt early, i heard nothing about tormey.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 03/04/2015 19:03:20    1710255

We have no fear of playing Meath in Navan and last time we visited we won pulling up. All this rubbish talk about defensive systems is just that, rubbish - some lads just getting their excuses in up front. I expect a Cavan win by a few points.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 03/04/2015 19:08:07    1710259

Tormey won't be available.

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 03/04/2015 19:24:56    1710269

1709981 Biggie loves playing navan. Expect the biggie show a Sunday. If the ground is firm I expect Meath to win.nice to see players coming back-compared to last year.

If the ground is firm you exspect meath to win? Are you talking about the game in Navan or the races in fairyhouse? The players arnt horses!

philips1 (Meath) - Posts: 42 - 03/04/2015 19:47:26    1710280

big day for management moro i feel. must make changes promptly(personal and positional) if needed.other results are irrelevant, along with promotional aspirations. meath folk want to see a balsy performance especially if trailing during the game. disgusting to think of the cavan boys spilling accross the border and not even fear us. what i want to see meath hit oponents hard..... unsettle them and then dismantle with quick direct foot passing into a forward line in front....

vamos an mhi

royalperro (Meath) - Posts: 21 - 03/04/2015 19:48:45    1710281

what ? fair-weather supporters at this time of the year. I think it's a bit early for that lot. looking forward to this one big time.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 03/04/2015 20:00:35    1710292

Indeed Cavan have note to fear, neither have Meath , stating the obvious is not getting in excuses, Cavan are a defensive team, that's a fact.
But with all that been said there is no reason Meath cant win this game, and i expect them to do that with a bit to spare

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 03/04/2015 21:28:09    1710317

My prediction is a Meath Cavan draw. Which will be enough as i think Westmeath will do us a favor in Mullingar, that's our best chance I reckon. I dont see Laois doing much in Newry.

It would be a shame to win/draw but have results go against us elsewhere because div 2 will be a nightmare next year for us with all the northern teams, we will be lucky to stay up never mind get promoted.

Has anyone heard whether it will be sold out tomo?

cabbage (Meath) - Posts: 162 - 04/04/2015 08:31:28    1710333

Good man ziggy I have watched your progress and indeed you are learning well... I suppose the fact that you normally wait for me to make my predictions help... Ah no I only having the crack......
I am glad that ODowd has eventually come round to my way of thinking and has dropped Newman for last few games.... I will also watch biggie it is a big test for him can he do it when the pressure is on .... Tomorrow will make a decision for me on him... Is he a good player or can he be a very good player and do it on a big day when the chips are down....

Can westmeath or Laois do us a favour.... The westies have lost all confidence since rolling over to meath a few weeks back their dismal display v CAvan does not give much hope that they can beat Roscommon who are a poor team.laois might be our only hope but without Kingston their scoring power is curtailed... It's hard to see where we can get help but really the draw with Laois and the mistakes in the Hyde look like they will haunt us

Anyway we live in hope and miracles do happen

glenny (Meath) - Posts: 1108 - 04/04/2015 09:10:28    1710336

I saw Meath against Laois on Setanta and the highhlights of the Kildare game, ye aren't an all out attacking team that ye seem to to think.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 04/04/2015 11:42:35    1710357

I think in fairness biggie is having his best league in long time, now personally id prefer him further up field, but some of his defending against Down was the best ive seen in years from anyone in a Meath shirt, throwing himself at shots harassing forwards cleaning up ball and distribution of ball too was outstanding. Now maybe that is more of his future role with others who can take scores becoming better. But personally tomorrow without tormey i don't want to see him in the backs as we will need long range points and that is his specialty.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 04/04/2015 11:45:45    1710358

Still not 100% sure of the setup of that side,and apart from frees O'Sullivan offers very little.Is James McEntee a corner back??

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 04/04/2015 14:43:00    1710395

Happy to see Menton in at 12 where he can do a bit of damage and Harnan at 11 is a huge improvement from playing at 5 but O'Sullivan will have to do a lot more from play to have any chance of retaining his place. The main area of concern for me though is the 4 7 wing, McEntee shouldn't be there and I'm not too convinced by Power, but anyway those concerns aside I still feel we have enough quality to win and we owe Cavan one in Navan so here's hoping.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 04/04/2015 18:04:33    1710483