Down v Meath

Yea that was way below mentons abilities yesterday, and you have to wonder is playing him just adding to his problems.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 23/03/2015 14:30:33    1705628

My meath team
1 pot. Kick out long balls
2. Keoghn
3. Reilly. Best. Full back we have
4. Mc gill
5. Dalton
6. Menton. Gives height to. Half back line.
7. Harlan. He is a back onaly
8. Gilliespic
9. Flanagan
10. Reilly
11. Carroll. Best meath player we have to place ball , that is said all over the country ,
12. Rooney
13. Bray
14. S o rouke. Gives height. And would be our target man up frount
15. Newman

Doitmyway1212 (Meath) - Posts: 72 - 23/03/2015 15:57:28    1705672

My meath team
1 pot. Kick out long balls
2. Keoghn
3. Reilly. Best. Full back we have
4. Mc gill
5. Dalton
6. Menton. Gives height to. Half back line.
7. Harlan. He is a back onaly
8. Gilliespic
9. Flanagan
10. Reilly
11. Carroll. Best meath player we have to place ball , that is said all over the country ,
12. Rooney
13. Bray
14. S o rouke. Gives height. And would be our target man up frount
15. Newman

Doitmyway1212 (Meath) - Posts: 72 - 23/03/2015 15:57:28    1705673

Neither Menton Nor Tormey should be rushed back at this stage with promotion gone, MOD should have his eye on the championship now and need those two lads fit I would even wrap KOR in cottonwool from now on

Forglory (Meath) - Posts: 85 - 23/03/2015 16:33:13    1705695

the chances of promotion are not gone yet, if we win the last two games and laois beat down then we will go up.

meathalltheway (Meath) - Posts: 789 - 23/03/2015 17:29:15    1705716

Forglory - FYI Roacommon had more missed scoring opportunities than Meath over the course of the 70 minutes. So it's pretty pointless giving out about the number of wides we kicked and if you want to state the number we kicked then it was 9 and they had 8. Overall though they missed more shots than us.

jackhackett (Meath) - Posts: 773 - 23/03/2015 17:50:29    1705723

I was very surprised Menton played yesterday to be honest,should not be risking players carrying knocks in league games imo

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 23/03/2015 18:38:05    1705745

I am surprised at those looking to drop Paddy O'Rourke, in my view he is one of Meath's best players and you can't let a single mistake take away from that even if it did (amongst other things) cost us the game against Roscommon. If you drop O'Rourke, you lose the best goalkeeper in the country under a high ball, a very decent shot-stopper and a high quality long kickout. I agree it's not ideal having no stand out replacement with experience & I also agree that Paddy's strike rate from 45s and long frees is too low to justify bringing him up. But neither of those questions are cause for dropping him.

The best teams in the country at the minute have particularly excellent half back lines. At the minute neither fans nor management seem to be agreed on even a single one of those three positions. If we play Keoghan there we lose a top class corner back. Menton has been moved around from wing back, corner back, full back, centre back and midfield in the last three years without, apparently, satisfying Mick O'Dowd enough to hold down any one position. My own opinion is that he is best at CHB or full back. We have been fortunate enough to discover another quality full back in Conor McGill this year, and that leaves us extra options out the field. Some combination of Dalton, K Reilly, Menton & Harnan would appear to be the best half back line available to us if Keoghan is left in the corner and I think at this point, with championship in mind, dropping Burke and Power to the bench is justified. Because we are short corner backs I think Tobin should be held at 4 though he is a quality half back as well.

The forwards are a bit of a mess at the minute. Newman, S Bray & E Wallace still our best full forward line when all fit. We do risk becoming predictable if we continue to play this way however. Tormey is a serious loss to us at this point. Carroll, D Bray & M O'Sullivan remain unconvincing to me personally at least, and J Wallace is not, at the present time, playing up to senior inter-county standard. I agree with those who have said Harnan is a back rather than a forward. G Reilly playing excellently at the minute, just hope he can keep up his form. Shane O'Rourke will probably play at 14 from here in so it is very important to find some way of approaching the game that plays to our strengths.

With all that said the Down game is another game which could go either way and on balance, you couldn't be surprised if we lost it. Unfortunately the disorganisation which seems to be rife with our selection is feeding through into performances that lack confidence. As such we have now lost a number of games we could have won. In terms of the outlook for the championship; barring a turn-around in selection and the developement of a game plan (or maybe more than one!) we can hope for little more than another Leinster Final appearence & defeat at the hands of Dublin. Draw an Ulster team in the qualifiers and we will be out at the same stage again, as we still cannot play against defensive systems. I would like to think it's not all negative .. we have some excellent players and Meath are easily the second best team in Leinster. Comfortably ahead of Kildare in my view. Getting to a point where we can challenge Dublin still appears some way off however.

SmoothRoad (Meath) - Posts: 19 - 23/03/2015 19:19:40    1705758

With the form of McGill,Kevin Reilly could be a serious option at 6.

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 23/03/2015 21:13:57    1705821

By the way,the ground in Newry is one of my favorite grounds in the country,any thoughts?

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 23/03/2015 21:20:16    1705826

Newry is a grand place.
We have to move on from Roscommon, the ref, the missed opportunities, the second goal, and so on.
Time for redemption.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 23/03/2015 21:33:20    1705832

Yeah eisler park is a great venue, I worry about this game we dont have a good record against Down.

Forglory (Meath) - Posts: 85 - 23/03/2015 21:43:22    1705839

Haven't seen the last 2 games, but by the sounds of it things are certainly not improving as I would have hoped. From comments and reports on the last 2 games it would appear that a number of players are not sure as to what they are supposed to be doing. That certainly seemed the case against Galway and Kildare. Only good thing from last weekend was the returning players. A win for Down and they're promoted, which will be a big drive for them. That would leave us in a relegation scrap on the last day. Team has got to perform as a unit, still very disjointed. Management also need to up their game. As usual I'll be optimistic, and go for a 3-5 point Meath win. Hopefully then, Galway can do us a favor and we'll be back in the promotion race for the last day.

moylagh (Meath) - Posts: 484 - 24/03/2015 14:23:31    1706048

Really need to come up with some real positives from these remaining 2 games.Good to see Kevin Reilly back last Sunday and that run out should really bring him on
I'd at Kevin Reilly back in at 3 that's his best position and he's one of the best Full-Backs in the country I'd move McGill out to CB and drop
Burke put DK back in the corner and Menton on the wing.Really don't know why David bray is on the panel let alone team!id prefer to see Damien Carroll back
involved as he's a ideal link man between defence and attack but from what I understand Damien will be leaving the panel soon to head stateside!

blind ref (Meath) - Posts: 204 - 24/03/2015 16:08:37    1706105

Blind ref id agree apart from burke who works his socks off.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 24/03/2015 19:36:37    1706186

We'll need a result at home against Cavan in the last round to be sure of staying up, based on what I've seen so far we are no match for Down

bluegossun (Meath) - Posts: 70 - 24/03/2015 21:08:30    1706227

Meath simply not good enough
Management not able to box clever and tighten up or see a game out.

Meath to finish league on 5 points...

Royalio11 (Meath) - Posts: 757 - 24/03/2015 21:55:10    1706261

Its going to be very difficult, apart from falling asleep against Roscommon they have been very good.
This ain't going to be easy.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 25/03/2015 09:39:04    1706290

I suppose all comments we posters make here are variable and subjective. However at this stage any objective measurement at this point indicates
´ a.....We have made little if any progress since last year as a TEAM. B Management are still on a learning curve. Reasons for these shortcomings appear to be 1 Talent pool in the county low at present...2..MOD may just not have what it takes to manage at inter county level..However to be fair to him he can only work with the available material,and that may indeed limit his capacity to show progress
To this poster positives this year Mc Gill so far has earned his full back spot..LEAVE HIM THERE. plenty of room for Kevin on the team. Paddy o Rourke playing well[ ok he made a big blunder last day.} Donal stay at 2 [ now that Kevin can play at 6] Bourke has to play for his work rate[ but not at corner back] Persist with Flanagan as a partner for Gillespie in the middle. Keep it up Graham Reilly !! Menton at 7 only because he plays better as attacking half back^[ perhaps players like Menton feel more freedom in this position ,and thus less demanding Mentally than chb or midfield} Newman jury has to be out now.but think he may recover. Other players played well at times, but some lack the ability to concentrate for 70 plus at inter county level For me now i will be happy if i can see much better TEAMWORK this year, a reliable freetaker, a couple more Stephen Bray like forwards,A good solid midfield .No need for por take 45´s

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1227 - 25/03/2015 11:12:11    1706347

DOES ANYONE KNOW IS THE TEAM STAYING OVERNIGHT ON FRIDAY IN DUNDALK ?

grouser (Meath) - Posts: 11 - 25/03/2015 12:57:38    1706397