Meath v Westmeath

Jaysus and I thought wee had it bad it against the Royals. Should be a good one tonight.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 07/03/2015 14:16:45    1700071

Westmeath beat Meath in Colm Coyles last year as manager in the league and they beat us easily that day..

I was at there game in Mullingar.

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 07/03/2015 17:44:07    1700102

She's raining goals in Navan.......

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 07/03/2015 20:13:06    1700134

Thats more like it, that game should bring the team on a fair amount, not perfect but a good improvement performance wise

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 07/03/2015 20:36:13    1700140

Great result tonight should bring the confidence on!! Onwards and upwards. An Mhi Abu

Beautiful.Meath (Meath) - Posts: 537 - 07/03/2015 20:42:47    1700145

The Great Glenny says;
This is a big game for Meath a win will see us will one foot safely staying in Division 2. A loss on the other hand (or foot) will see Meath in a very much different position. Westmeath's win last week will give them confidence as Meath's wasted trip to Roscommon will have done them no good at all. Playing games is all important.
Rooney being out is a massive blow as more than anyone pulled the Kildare game back from the brink, Eamon Wallace will add pace (thats good) and confusion (both to Meath Westmeath and himself) as he mixes the brilliant with the crazy but he will add a bit of athmosphere and excitment to the crowd.

Will the Meath that was so poor in Galway turn up (to be fair we could have been hammered but then again had Newman found the net we could have won) Poor again for 50 minutes v Kildare but this time got the scores and came out on top as Kildare did what Kildare do best..... crumple....

Meath have the "Injun" sign over Westmeath and they also have home venue so To be fair when this Meath team fires on all cylinders they will hammer someone.

They wont hammer Westmeath but can win narrowly

ahem...ahem...loosing your touch there Glenny ;)

thelutch (Meath) - Posts: 1049 - 07/03/2015 20:54:53    1700154

Good points and bad points from tonites game. we took our scores well, our defending in the second half was excellent and our tranfer from defence to attack was quite fast.
On the other hand we could have or should have been 6 or 7 ponits down at half time, our midfield wasnt great, and we had to replace 2 of our FF line in the second half and that was with the gale,
Biggy seems to be back to something near his best but both Newman and carroll seem low on confidence.
Overall a good performance although Westmeath were very naive in their defeding in the second half.

Forglory (Meath) - Posts: 85 - 07/03/2015 21:18:44    1700172

Very good win with Biggy and Bray the best on the field IMO, how do people think Conor McGill is playing, I thought he looked good tonight. Only worry is Newman, what has happened him?

Barney123 (Meath) - Posts: 676 - 07/03/2015 21:28:02    1700177

Very good result for us, I thought Bray, Biggy and Harnan played very well particularly in the second half, Biggy's chipped goal was lovely but in fairness to Connaughton he denied Reilly later on with a great save. Centrefield was poor, we could really use Gillespie and Rooney back, also hopefully Newman can get his confidence back with the frees, he's good enough for them and I don't like to see 3 or 4 different lads on frees.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 07/03/2015 21:30:16    1700181

I think everyone is spot on , great performance from Reilly and bray , harnan, worry is Newman thought the break would bring him on, also one free taker don't like the chopping and changing. Still lot to improve on but getting there. Well done to all concerned.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 08/03/2015 09:44:17    1700228

Por - reliable under a high ball, a few stray lockouts-7
Tobin- poor 1st half decent 2nd -6
McGill - did well great block at the end -8
Burke- good Link up play, held up his man a few times, missed a sitter, 7
Power- needs to get fitter. Looked tired, fouled a lot, 5
Keoghan- as always a reliable performer- 7
Dalton- did well, some good runs forward, swept up a decent amount of ball - 7
Harnon - again, solid enough took goal well 7
Menton- worked hard, struggled to get into the game 1st half- 7
Flanagan - plenty of running, Westmeath got the better or us overall at midfield though - 7
Tormey-again, Westmeath the better at the kickout, but tormey gives it all, some great passes, looks more and more promising -8
G Reilly - standout player. Got knocked off the ball twice while carrying. 9
Carroll - Had an ok game, tried a few ambitious kick passes which didn't come off in 1st half. Didn't score. 6
Newman - just take the frees mickey. Keep the nerve even if you miss one or three they'll come right eventually. Good goal, set up another. 8
S bray- had his man on the rack all night. Would have been my motm apart from Reilly - 9

cabbage (Meath) - Posts: 162 - 08/03/2015 09:44:55    1700229

Good result last night and I knew we had the game at half time.

Westmeath missed a lot of good chances in the first half and outplayed us at midfield,to be honest that continued in the second half.I still prefer Rooney to Flanagan to be honest.Biggy was excellent and worked hard.But I though Harnan played really well too.He set up a lot of our attacks too.Bray showed very well and mus have won every ball that came into him.Newman is struggling from condfidence,but he worked hard and could have had a few goals.I think he will be fine though.Defended very well in the second half and Keoghan played well as a sweeper.All in all a good win,played some nice football at times and a win against Laois should see us safe in this division at least.

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 08/03/2015 09:48:17    1700231

All the footballing purists will say Biggy was the best player on the pitch but clearly I belive it was McGill. Puts his body on the line numerous times and he reminds me of Darran Fay. I think he has nailed a place for the championship

PoppinPoints (Meath) - Posts: 225 - 08/03/2015 10:34:42    1700243

Poppinpoits

Calm the jets! I though McGill did well,you are correct,but reminds you of Darren Fay??!

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 08/03/2015 10:49:10    1700251

ziggy nothing wrong with saying mcgill reminds him of fay! Credit where it's due mcgill had an outstanding game yesterday, he won a hell of a lot of ball in front of his man, turned over a player in possession at least 3 times and capped it off with that block at the end (Granted he let his man win the ball over his head!!).
Was very dissapointed with newman, he would have gotten a 5 at best from me.

shldrs2thewheel (Meath) - Posts: 200 - 08/03/2015 11:31:57    1700262

Was at the match .. Overall disappointing TEAM performance....Apart form Mc Gill .[.continues to be promising], Reilly ,Bray and Harnan who certainly did themselves justice . Only Bray consistently shows for the ball by being out in front,other forwards just wait for things to happen .What happened to Newmans form? We were outplayed at midfield where Flanagan was the opposite to wed. night. Our defence was porous where Westmeath repeatedly tore through almost at will in the first half .Keoghan and mc gill did their best.WHERE did Menton go to? Was correctly substituted..Tormey nowhere near where he finished in last match
The first 40 mins was as bad as the worst of last year!! Team seems still to have no direction. You would think with a score of 4..10 that is a good performance.Rubbish . Against better opposition we will be hammered like last year. At times last night as a team we were embarassingly poor. Still no reliable freetaker even. My Ratings POR 7 ,Tobin 6 MCGILL8, Bourke 6 Dalton 5 Keogan 7 Menton 5 Tormey 6.Flanagan 5 Reilly 9. Harnan 7 Carroll 5, Bray 8.5 Newman 5

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1227 - 08/03/2015 12:08:29    1700274

Wouldn't compare McGill to fay just yet, yeah he had a excellent game but this is division 2 football, we need to be in division 1 to bring on these players to next level. Biggy was motm no doubt about it. But bray McGill harnan keoghan all had excellent days, in actual fact the only one below par was Newman but he will come good, we playing better every game that has to be the main positive. Now lets keep it going.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 08/03/2015 12:16:53    1700277

I see Gillespie was involved in the warm up yesterday.Hopefully he will be on the bench next week,get Rooney back and Wallace in the team.

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 08/03/2015 13:37:42    1700300

Westmeath should have had a five or six point lead by half time at least. Better teams would have found the net also. They were running through us very easily. Big improvement though in the second half, no doubt assisted by the strong breeze. Stephen Bray the go-to man in the forward line. IMO Andrew Tormey is better on the wing than one of the midfield pairing.

Handy to have the digital time clock at PT. Now if only we had a big screen! I'd have liked to see an action replay of Graham Reilly's goal again. It is the one thing you really miss every few games at PT. Having seen a great score and knowing it was a moment in time, you cannot see replayed.

GlasagusOr (Meath) - Posts: 1348 - 08/03/2015 13:59:18    1700310

Glas

Ya fully agree with all your points,to be fair though Tormey won't be an option in midfield,Gillespie is back soon and we have Flanagan and Rooney.

Your right about Westmeath in the first half too,Glennon wasted a lot of great chances.Having said that Newman should have scored 2 goals in the first half.

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 08/03/2015 14:45:57    1700327