Intermediate championship 2015

Not sure I'd agree with that completely ziggy. Their forwards might be a bit small and light, but a few of the backs would be well able to look after themselves.

anfearbeag (Meath) - Posts: 1134 - 05/10/2015 15:00:19    1796023

Ziggy, let's see what happens. We won the intermediate yesterday and are going to enjoy it. Mark my words there are a lot of senior teams that are average and ratoath would seem to be on an upward curve with a group of young players.

Adamski (Dublin) - Posts: 339 - 05/10/2015 15:05:48    1796027

Ah no I agree that Ratoath have some fine players,but just watching the NOM's game,they may struggle against teams like that for now.Ratoath could easily make the last 8 next year though..
I thought Eamonn Wallace was brilliant for them yesterday..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 05/10/2015 15:13:41    1796032

Ratoath won't struggle with physicality, there a tough team and will put body on the line!! Cian o Brien MOM and I also think he'll be in the Meath senior team next year, a great player with great skill and very athletic!! Hope to see him in the green and gold next year!!! Rath Tó abú

36inchash (Dublin) - Posts: 20 - 05/10/2015 16:05:34    1796065

Not another Ratoath player on the Meath panel!!

Seriously though,I was impressed with Cian,very quick for a midfielder,and clever in his distribution..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 05/10/2015 16:37:34    1796091

Absolutely fantastic performance. Played a brilliant game against the wind in the first half and then pushed on in the second. Could have had a lot more goals if it wasn't for a combination of poor finishing and fantastic goalkeeping (the one handed save by the Nobber keeper in the second half was as good as I've seen). Not bad for a bunch of "bottlers".
As far as I can tell, we now play St. Pat's Donabate in Leinster on Saturday week. It's been a long season for the players but I hope they take it seriously as I feel we could do quite well.
Since the county team were knocked out, the team has been phenomenal, especially the defence. In the last 5 games we've conceded just 34 points

Commiserations to Nobber. Just never got going on the day (I've seen us do the same many times) but I've no doubt ye will be there or thereabouts this time next year.

And a big hard luck to the minority of "neutrals" who've lost a big stick to beat Ratoath with. I bet ye are devastated that ye can't say "they have 5 county players and can't even win Intermediate". I've kept quiet over the last while, but there certainly is a rather vocal minority in Meath (both here and at games) that seem to have something against Ratoath growing stronger and seem to want to see us fail. During the year at games I've heard us referred to as "Dublin ****s" from a few people as well as the usual uninformed nonsense about getting too much money. I don't know if it's because Ratoath aren't one of the traditional clubs in Meath or what, but there definitely was a noticeable amount of begrudgery from a minority of Meath football fans.

Onwards and upwards from here hopefully. I believe that senior level is where these players deserve to be and I'm looking forward to the 2016 Keegan Cup draw in the new year already.

Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1362 - 06/10/2015 10:22:10    1796248

Ratoath Royal

Well said and I'm looking forward to a few tussles with D/ASH.:)

If Ratoath are up for it,they should do well in Leinster..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 06/10/2015 10:35:33    1796257

Absolutely fantastic performance. Played a brilliant game against the wind in the first half and then pushed on in the second. Could have had a lot more goals if it wasn't for a combination of poor finishing and fantastic goalkeeping (the one handed save by the Nobber keeper in the second half was as good as I've seen). Not bad for a bunch of "bottlers".
As far as I can tell, we now play St. Pat's Donabate in Leinster on Saturday week. It's been a long season for the players but I hope they take it seriously as I feel we could do quite well.
Since the county team were knocked out, the team has been phenomenal, especially the defence. In the last 5 games we've conceded just 34 points

Commiserations to Nobber. Just never got going on the day (I've seen us do the same many times) but I've no doubt ye will be there or thereabouts this time next year.

And a big hard luck to the minority of "neutrals" who've lost a big stick to beat Ratoath with. I bet ye are devastated that ye can't say "they have 5 county players and can't even win Intermediate". I've kept quiet over the last while, but there certainly is a rather vocal minority in Meath (both here and at games) that seem to have something against Ratoath growing stronger and seem to want to see us fail. During the year at games I've heard us referred to as "Dublin ****s" from a few people as well as the usual uninformed nonsense about getting too much money. I don't know if it's because Ratoath aren't one of the traditional clubs in Meath or what, but there definitely was a noticeable amount of begrudgery from a minority of Meath football fans.

Onwards and upwards from here hopefully. I believe that senior level is where these players deserve to be and I'm looking forward to the 2016 Keegan Cup draw in the new year already.

Agree 100%, well said....,

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 06/10/2015 11:36:53    1796288

Agree with everything except that Nobber will be back next year. They were so far off it that it was embarrassing to be honest. 3 occasions where they took a line ball while on the field a couple of which the linesman hadn't the balls to bring to the refs attention. What must the teams that Nobber beat be thinking. Ratoath will bexa breath of fresh air in Senior next year and bar they getca group of death they should be good enough for last 8

Analyst (Meath) - Posts: 1467 - 06/10/2015 12:28:16    1796311

Analyst. you must be joking Nobber are as good and really are better than any other Intermediate team. They will be back. They came up against as most people knew a Ratoath team that are now ready for Senior Football. I would back Nobber to beat any other team IFC other that St Colmcilles at the moment

numberedjerseys (USA) - Posts: 348 - 06/10/2015 13:24:14    1796354

Lots of folk on this site getting carried away with themselves. Was at both games on Sunday and a vast difference in the standard of both games. There are lot of strong teams in the senior! NOM/Na Fianna/Dun-Ash/Dunboyne/Simonstown to name a few.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 06/10/2015 13:24:59    1796355

Forgot to include Summerhill who have won 2 out of the last 5 senior championships

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 06/10/2015 13:26:25    1796356

Well done Ratoath Royal,as i said in earlier posts,ratoath a fantastic team & club,the best of luck going forward in club championships,yee could land an all ireland for the club & county but one game at a time,its fair to say yee wiped the floor with every team in the intermediate grade this year.Yee answered all the questions with fantastic displays & results.

The senior & intermediate will be better competitions next year with yee going up.

thelutch (Meath) - Posts: 1047 - 06/10/2015 13:32:09    1796363

Congrats Ratoath but what's with all the chest pumping crap...I have said on serveral occassions i have a problem with 5 players from one club representing the Meath senior team.. club location or name is not the issue, the issue is MOD picking so many and after sunday picking the wrong one, id have half your midfielder and Power only in the Meath setup.

i had the same issue when NOM's had so many in the squad, its just not a good sign but again not the players or clubs fault.

Best of luck in the future, huge potentail, fantastic pitch and clubhouse and hope you unearth more talent in the future. Even if they have Dublin accents!! That's a joke:)

Northmeathman (Meath) - Posts: 284 - 06/10/2015 13:50:55    1796374

Well done Ratoath. Further to the last post, Interestingly all of the Ratoath Players were brought up through their underage teams except one who is definitely not from Dublin. Some would have parents from Dublin but would have shown no shortage of committment when given the chance to represent Meath at Senior/Junior/underage/Development.

Yes a lot of Dublin accents among their supporters.But for all the numbers who moved out The Club did not benefit from any influx of Talent. Possibly because any talented players who moved out continue to play with their Dublin Clubs. Wonder what was the experience elsewhere?

NMM having a problem with them or any club supplying good footballers. Really.

Ashrules (Dublin) - Posts: 518 - 06/10/2015 14:49:21    1796423

"The senior & intermediate will be better competitions next year with yee going up."

Agree with that Lutch, The intermediate championship will be wide open next year after Ratoath finally going up. Congrats and well done, fully deserved.

RedMeath12 (Meath) - Posts: 117 - 06/10/2015 15:37:27    1796447

Northmeathman

Do you really think Eamonn Wallace for example should not be in the Meath setup?? If we have 6 forwards better than him we have a serious team...

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 06/10/2015 16:11:35    1796464

I would fancy Cillies for the Intermediate next year.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 06/10/2015 16:19:10    1796467

In all fairness if nobber would beat all others in intermediate then no wonder things are so bad. Anyone slaggijg off Ratoath is pure jealously. I take it that the poster who says them lads all came up together is correct and fair play to them. Look at the Senior where we had Bective, Dunsany and Longwood all unfer the name of O Mahoneys

Analyst (Meath) - Posts: 1467 - 06/10/2015 18:25:05    1796524

So NMM, Eamonn Wallace has been ever present (bar his injury) for the past few years. What's he done to deserve being kicked off the panel?
Conor McGill was one of the best players in green and gold this year in his first season as full back and you want to throw him off the panel?
McMahon was one of the only Meath players to come out of the Westmeath with any credit and he'd be off the panel if you had your way.
Ironically, I feel Joey Wallace was Ratoath's best forward this season when played in his best position at corner forward (where he never was with Meath).

Honestly, if the players are good enough I couldn't give a damn which club they come from.

Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1362 - 06/10/2015 18:39:56    1796529