Intermediate championship 2015

Best of luck to both teams tomorrow, while both my former clubs were beat by rathoath i guess id like to see them winning, but there is a little bit of me that wouldn't begrudge Brian Farrell getting the win he deserves. I actually think above them all that was axed he had most to offer senior, i feel when gg came into banty line up he excelled, and remember was joint top scorer on all ire final day along with colm McFadden.
So i am torn, but either way i hope its a good game and may the best team win.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 03/10/2015 12:01:06    1795405

Best of luck to both teams. Nobber can't be as wasteful as they were in the semi whilst ratoath need to keep the free count down.
Will be rooting for ratoath myself who are doing great work in both codes. Gerry Mac what do you think of that!

showforit (Meath) - Posts: 156 - 03/10/2015 13:34:21    1795433

RD

Brian Farrell would have retired at the end of that season anyway,he said that himself..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 03/10/2015 15:28:32    1795466

I didn't know he said he would have retired ziggy .
Shame really, what age is he 31/32? Jesus its getting a juvenile sport at this stage

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 03/10/2015 19:56:59    1795531

RD

Yeah he said he was losing his hunger he said and could not fully commit..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 03/10/2015 20:25:49    1795538

Well done Ratoath,in a league of their own in this grade,intermediate will be like my house next year.

NOTHING IN IT !!!!!!!!

thelutch (Meath) - Posts: 1047 - 04/10/2015 17:04:40    1795664

Rataoth were impressive today and could have won by a lot more.Great tackling in defence,great workrate and quick incisive football.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 04/10/2015 18:07:40    1795679

Congratulations to Ratoath, sadly I couldnt make the game but by all accounts a great performance was given and a deserved win secured. Fantastic to have senior football in Ratoath at last, we have a lot to look forward to, well done to all again and commiserations to Nobber hopefully they will back again next year to compete for honours.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 04/10/2015 19:01:08    1795696

Well done and Senior grade better look out next year. Very few senior teams will be able to compete with them. Cilles should do it next year as not much else there in the grade

pretender (Meath) - Posts: 358 - 05/10/2015 08:07:45    1795775

Congrats to rathoath by all accounts a tremendous victory, now go on and win Leinster, lets put some pride back in the county. Well done to all concerned, and commiserations to nobber.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 05/10/2015 08:08:38    1795776

Congratulations to Ratoath. The years of hard work behind the scenes at underage level has finally paid off. While having a big population has its advantages, you have to put the proper structures in place to capitalise on that. It doesn't matter how many lads there are in the town, if you don't put in the effort to attract them, coach them properly, and retain them in the club, then you will go nowhere.Fair play to all concerned in the club. Delighted for ye all.

Given how average the Senior championship is, they will have nothing to fear next year. I think the Senior grade will be better for having them in it. Looking forward to a few tasty derby games against Ashbourne or Dunshaughlin.

anfearbeag (Meath) - Posts: 1134 - 05/10/2015 09:54:29    1795810

anfearbeag

Don't forget Skyrne!

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 05/10/2015 10:53:42    1795849

Also we are waiting in Dunboyne for them

Ashrules (Dublin) - Posts: 518 - 05/10/2015 11:26:23    1795866

Would there be a big rivalry between Ratoath and Skryne? I would have thought that Skryne would be more concerned about beating Walterstown or Seneschalstown (and O Mahonys for historic rather than geographical reasons) than Ratoath.

anfearbeag (Meath) - Posts: 1134 - 05/10/2015 11:30:01    1795871

Jaysus it seems that everyone is lining up to have a cut at the upstarts from Ratoath. Better start the heavy winter training now, because those boys don't look like they will be slowing down!

anfearbeag (Meath) - Posts: 1134 - 05/10/2015 11:32:51    1795873

anfearbeag

Well there will be now!

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 05/10/2015 11:38:00    1795876

Congratulations to Ratoath and indeed the senior will be all the better with them and of course it takes time and effort by a lot of good people to develop any team irrespective of population. Pretender you may find that even the senior standard may not be that good, it is still considerable higher grade to compete in, which you will find out in the course of next year.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 05/10/2015 12:30:54    1795917

After a long wait Ratoath are up with the elite. We'll done.

MeathGAAHead (Meath) - Posts: 87 - 05/10/2015 12:47:42    1795932

Well the thing Ratoath may struggle with is when they come up against teams that are physical,they have no players who have any physical prowess..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 05/10/2015 13:55:19    1795979

Well done to Ratoath, great to see them in Senior football now and hopefully it'll bring on the county lads a bit as well.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 05/10/2015 14:46:56    1796016