Intermediate championship 2015

Lutch, you are stirring the pot a bit regarding hurling and I wont bite.

Regarding midweek games, it is not without precedent in the county but only happens rarely when a number of issues occur to prevent weekend games. They are needed to prevent the finals ending up in late october / november. If we look over the border to Dublin they have had county semis and I think a final replay on midweeks dates in recent years. I am not saying that it is ideal but it does happen.

oldsam_newsam (Meath) - Posts: 638 - 08/09/2015 10:09:22    1784365

Even Gerry Mc Entee agrees with me

thelutch (Meath) - Posts: 1047 - 08/09/2015 13:10:53    1784549

I don't like hurling never have never will, but for those involved it has to be accommodated

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 08/09/2015 15:05:36    1784672

If cillea beat rathoath can they have 6 players on seniors next year?
:). And im only extracting the Michael, before anyone gets on their high horses.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 08/09/2015 15:30:49    1784688

Not just accomodated. Hurling deserves equal status within the county. If the county board, Gerry McEntee or whoever want to find out how it can be done then take a trip to Kerry, Tipp or even Dublin.

oldsam_newsam (Meath) - Posts: 638 - 08/09/2015 15:43:45    1784698

No point arguing with them oldsam_newsam, none so blind as those who will not see ;)

CastleBravo (Meath) - Posts: 1646 - 08/09/2015 16:05:20    1784708

Thelutch ,, grow up u child and stop trying to annoy people,, hurling is a great sport and enjoyed by many,, I think the tipp minors should be an example to everyone particularly lads in Meath who have your attitude

otherlad (Meath) - Posts: 137 - 08/09/2015 20:30:46    1784852

i agree its a great sport,but not in meath and other counties where it is a waste of time,meath is a football county,always will be and always was,yes a few clubs play it but the standard is bottom of the barrell.

thelutch (Meath) - Posts: 1047 - 08/09/2015 21:52:28    1784914

How did Duleek get the Semi Final for the Ratoath & Cilles game??
I understand its a neutral venue and half way but unless theres been major work
done on the place I cant see why its there...Dressing Rooms a mess, Pitch not much better
One of the lower standard pitches in County.
I think St Marys would be a better place

lagoreX (Meath) - Posts: 220 - 09/09/2015 12:47:08    1785090

I think Ratoath will coast into the Final. Their firepower will be to much for the 'Cilles.

As for Trim, I think we could cause an upset. Our main problem all year was finishing teams off, we beat Nobber last year but they will be a different animal this year. I don't think their defense will be able to cope with our forwards though. Trim by the minimum.

TrimRedWhite87 (Meath) - Posts: 2 - 09/09/2015 14:53:17    1785195

I think either Nobber or Cilles will win it out, Ratoath already think have their medals in their pockets and everyone blowing smoke up their arse and will bottle it with this "Super team" , Sure look at O Mahoneys when they had 4-5 Meath seniors on the panel s few years back, Shane and Niall McKeigue, Ward, Bray and Reilly . . lost more finals than I care to remember until recently . .
Bottled it . . Nobber to beat Trim by 4-5 , Trim aren't great. . Nobber flying under Dudley

summerhillof69 (Meath) - Posts: 226 - 09/09/2015 15:59:47    1785255

summerhillof69, I seem to remember you saying the same thing when we were back in the Junior grade. You boldly claimed that your own club's second team would dispatch us in the quarter final. When that didn't come close to passing, it was going to be Simonstown that would cause an upset. D'oh! Third time lucky surely? Nope. You then said Donaghmore/Ashbourne would bring us crashing back down to Earth. You seem to revel every season in predicting Ratoath's demise. Seems to me like you have something against Ratoath.

Now, will your prediction be correct? Who knows? It could very well be. But your constant references to Ratoath "bottling it" when a good chunk of this team have won a Junior championship, U21 championships and Minor championships is baffling. And I can guarantee you that no Ratoath player/supporter thinks we have this won.

Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1362 - 09/09/2015 16:44:06    1785288

@ ratoath royal,dont listen to thunder,yee are as good as team i have seen at any grade in meath this summer,when yee win the intermediate i will be having a few quid on yee to win the senior,fantastic young team is ratoath.

Just go on and win it &f%%k the begrudgers.

thelutch (Meath) - Posts: 1047 - 09/09/2015 19:03:07    1785358

Strange choice of venue alright lagoreX. What are the floodlights there like? And would Donore also have floodlights? Been a while since I've been there. If it does, then that does seem like a better choice. Simonstown, even though it's a bit further for both teams, would also be a better choice in my view.

Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1362 - 09/09/2015 19:12:15    1785361

Donore is a better ground than Duleek

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 09/09/2015 20:01:27    1785376

summerhillof69

This bunch of players on Ratoath team certainly do not think "they already have medal in their pockets"
I can assure you of that
And Ratoath royal is right these lads have had plenty of success over the past few years. Cilles game is a real test, I think the game is
50/50 and as I said I think (hope) the Ratoath backs will hold out and get us over the line.

head4dblackspot (Meath) - Posts: 513 - 09/09/2015 20:54:30    1785403

This was my argument all week,the semi finals deserve the best venues especially for supporters paying in to them,Navan & Trim the two best pitches and grounds,no offence to Duleek but this is an insult to everyone,players & supporters.I think its wrong that Hurling in Meath is dictating these fixtures,no offense to lads that hurl in Meath but it is a football county,everything we contest in hurling at county level is lower tier,this is a football county,do you think 2 hurling semi finals would be put to mid week in kilkenny to allow football matches at weekend ? you would and your bo$$$x.

thelutch (Meath) - Posts: 1047 - 09/09/2015 20:59:24    1785405

Severe lack of parking in Donore, there is plenty of room in Duleek but they could do with decent dressing rooms. It is an insult to have semi mid week in any case

Analyst (Meath) - Posts: 1467 - 09/09/2015 21:35:45    1785428

Ratoath must be delighted that the game is changed as it means the hurlers have a week to recover. Plus Joey Wallace might feature, what happened him anyway ratoathroyal?

Keeks (Louth) - Posts: 146 - 10/09/2015 13:22:22    1785609

Fracture in his foot as far as I know.

Good man lutch. If I remember correctly ye beat us handy enough back when we were in Junior and ye went on to win it outright. Hoping we can do the same this time.

About the choice of venue, would Cilles have requested it perhaps? Obviously moving the match to Monday week instead of this coming Sunday helps Ratoath so maybe Cilles chose to play in Duleek given that they won their quarter final there. I have no idea though.

Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1362 - 10/09/2015 15:39:21    1785715