Roscommon v Meath

Nobull. That's exactly it.
Look to those who think that division 2 this year is hard, here is a very hypothetical scenario
Possible div 2 2016
Meath
Cavan
Tyrone/Monaghan
Down
Derry
Kildare
Armagh
Tipp/Fermanagh

5 ulster sides maybe 6. . Can anyone honestly tell me we would get out of a division like that? No actually i think wed be one of fav to go down, trust me id much prefer to take my chance in division 1.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 23/02/2015 16:13:02    1696028

Good man pingcity. When we talking about Longford ill look forward to your input.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 23/02/2015 18:06:40    1696075

honestly tell me we would get out of a division like that? No actually i think wed be one of fav to go down,

If that's what you think then what's the point of getting promoted to division one and likely to struggle as much as neighbors Westmeath did last year.

Mr_Pundit (UK) - Posts: 677 - 23/02/2015 19:24:22    1696104

Roscommon 8/13and Meath 13/8 fair enough odds, can see no reason other that optimism to suggest a Meath win. However a win would be a massive confidence boost, something we seem to be badly lacking in. Big week for Meath football, three very important games coming up

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2144 - 23/02/2015 20:08:59    1696130

I am afraid Glenny feels that this will be a tough test for Meath, Roscommon are a good team, we played poorly v Kildare for 20 minutes but fair play we grabbed the game and won it while Kildare well did a usual Kildare and flopped.

I hope our lads take solice from this and put up a better display than in Galway, for some reason I think they will and we could win this game so I am backing Micko and the lads this time round

glenny (Meath) - Posts: 1108 - 23/02/2015 20:51:23    1696143

what odds on kildare winning their last 5 matches and getting promoted? i could see this happen there notorious as big fish in a small pond, espically if the like of cavan, rosscommon, laois and westmesth give them too much respect as i fear they will

dickie10 (UK) - Posts: 691 - 23/02/2015 20:59:51    1696147

Firstly, if we not aiming to be in division one we might as well forget about it, yeah we may struggle but i prefer to struggle at the top than be average in the mediocre.
And where is all this how great Roscommon is coming from?. The average age is younger than ours, not so long ago lads were on here saying our problems against Monaghan last two years was we were boys playing men and it was too tough. What is it to be? We should have beaten Donegal last year in ballybofey , and we worrying about Roscommon.
Look this is Roscommon we are talking about, not dubs Kerry cork Monaghan Tyrone Donegal mayo Armagh even Galway, get behind the team and management. This is the defining game, if we don't win i honestly think serious questions will have to be asked to cb about the wisdom of letting mod continue after last year, and no improvement. Everyone knows to improve you have to be in division one, are we really on a par with Westmeath??? I think we ahead of them and if not well then i don't know, we are due a good game and i banking on this been it.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 23/02/2015 21:17:18    1696155

23/02/2015 21:17:18
royaldunne

average in the mediocre.

On par with Westmeath.

Meath are a yes to both and the sooner you realize this the better. You are living off past glories the Meath today are not a patch on the Meath sides of the mid 90s.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3347 - 23/02/2015 21:54:07    1696184

Has anyone ever seen a post from gaa when he doesn't mention the 90s . He must have taken the 91 semi very bad :).
Since every poster here is totally concentrating on the here and now i find it amusing, anyway i still think despite our poor away record we will have enough for Roscommon.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 24/02/2015 08:56:23    1696201

I see that Meath are 13/8 with the bookies for the match on Sunday and its been a long time that we have been this price in a match against Roscommon so I'm hoping that MOD can use the 'outsider' tag as motivation allied to the Evans factor to mentally get the team focussed to deliver a big performance on Sunday. I do think if they produce a good team performance on Sunday that they can get the win that will greatly enhance the prospect of promotion and boost the confidence in the squad. Of course the opposite is also true in that defeat puts the team in a precarious position in the league table so lets all get behind the players and management this weekend and look forward to the future.

Royal_Rover (Meath) - Posts: 72 - 24/02/2015 10:20:45    1696230

Any word on the team? MAybe glenny might have the inside scoop? who is due to come back from injuries? See SOR is playing well and any word on Gillespie? Need our big players back if we are to push for promotion.

Forglory (Meath) - Posts: 85 - 24/02/2015 12:07:10    1696260

Forglory

Problem with Wallace and Gillespie,they have been out for a while,so hard to expect them to come back and be as good as they can be.As for SOR is he really a top player? Far too many injuries imo..

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 24/02/2015 12:49:34    1696285

To be honest we could win this match of course,but Roscommon could easily beat us out the gate too.All in all they are favorites I won't make any predictions until I see the line-up.

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 24/02/2015 12:50:36    1696287

All the pressure is on Roscommon, very young team, red hot favs, at home, watch them crack like a egg been thrown at a wall.
Ill be having plenty if that 13/8, could set me up nicely for Cheltenham.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 24/02/2015 14:59:09    1696352

Ye the pressure is definitely on Roscommon as 8/13 heavy favourites, they should really be beating us by a comfortable margin, we're only really going down to keep the scoreline respectable ;-)

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 24/02/2015 15:34:28    1696371

That's it htaem sure we only making up the numbers:).

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 24/02/2015 17:45:16    1696431

I dont think the line up will be the key and deciding issue for this match. Mental approach will be vital. A positive, urgent,can do attitude will go a long way. I thought against Kildare in last 20 mins Tormey,Menton, Bray, Bourke,PoR and Donal showed some grit as we would expect. That is only 40% of the team. My concern is that it seemed to be individual players who took it on themselves to go for the winning post. We had 9 players who saw it as their role to respond to what was happening ,rather than be pro active and make it happen The very big question to be answered now is can we play as a 15 man TEAM. In the last 3 weeks i would expect a lot of emphasis was on Teamwork and mental approach. The excuse " Ah we are a very young and inexperienced team" is now past its sell by date IMO. This is Div 2 we are talking about!! I think if it is to happen at all under MOD it will happen on Sunday. Therefore i expect a Meath win by 5 OR 6 points. Even then we will still have a lot more to do to get promotion and the next step Div.1. On that score i think we have to have vision and believe we can operate in div.1. It is the logical step if we want to get back to operating successfully amongst the top 8. Of course we are not there now,but if we do not have the vision and goal we might as well throw in the towel now. Is it a realistic target for next year ? With the right approach yes definately!!

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1224 - 24/02/2015 19:30:45    1696485

Love the predictions so here u go
I think we will score 4 goals and beat ye handy
I base it on MOD having something to prove to hEvan sent but he doesnt want to show his hand yet in case you cant get money on for Sam

Would ye ever read the trash ye write ye are obsessed.

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 24/02/2015 20:18:18    1696506

24/02/2015 14:59:09
royaldunne

All the pressure is on Roscommon, very young team, red hot favs, at home, watch them crack like a egg been thrown at a wall.
Ill be having plenty if that 13/8, could set me up nicely for Cheltenham.
24/02/2015 15:34:28
Htaem

Ye the pressure is definitely on Roscommon as 8/13 heavy favourites, they should really be beating us by a comfortable margin, we're only really going down to keep the scoreline respectable ;-)

Pressure is for tyres lads.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3757 - 24/02/2015 20:28:47    1696510

24/02/2015 08:56:23
royaldunne

Concentrating on the here and now.

i find it amusing that you don't do the above? Meath a middle of the road div 2 side that were relegated to div 3,another year you managed to stay up on just 3 points & Meath the here and now would be out of their depth in div 1.

24/02/2015 19:30:45
nobull456

It is the logical step if we want to get back to operating successfully amongst the top 8. Of course we are not there now,but if we do not have the vision and goal we might as well throw in the towel now. Is it a realistic target for next year ? With the right approach yes definately!!

unrealistic as Meath simply don't have the players nor squad to reach that target. The right approach would be to Improve underage and club football and then within the next 4 or 5 years Meath could be top 8 and be competitive with all on them.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3347 - 24/02/2015 20:46:47    1696517