Meath v Kildare

Although Meath won last night a lot remains to be seen. Again, we saw an inability for the inside forward line to win their own ball. Again, Meath were carved open from midfield through to the defence and again, they let a team pull away by 4+ points and had to comeback. If Kildare had 1 or 2 clinical players on the field for the last 10 mins they certainly would not have lost that game.

The league results have helped open the table - laois and Kildare stay on 0
Down, meath and westmeath have 2
Cavan and Roscommon have 3
Galway has 4

Still not convinced with the likes of Roscommon and Cavan especially to play.

Royalio11 (Meath) - Posts: 757 - 08/02/2015 15:50:41    1691182

I see Galway only beat Westmeath by a point today,now no way are Westmeath as good as us.

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 08/02/2015 16:05:16    1691194

Would help if the passing into the forwards was actually any good in fairness..

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 08/02/2015 16:08:20    1691198

Ziggy we not have a good side , westmeath can beat meath when we meet , kildare had 3 games back to back , how any body can say meath are better dan kildare it not right

Doitmyway1212 (Meath) - Posts: 72 - 08/02/2015 16:21:19    1691208

We have better players than Westmeath without question..

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 08/02/2015 16:22:29    1691210

The standard was pretty poor last night from both sides. That said we didn't lie down and got the win in the end. Some of our forward play was terrible at times and the amount of times we gave the ball away was unbelievable particularily in the first half. We had 7 wides, 2 dropped short and 2 hit the post in the first half where Kildare just had 1 wide. However in the second half we only had 3 wides to Kildares 8. Lets look forward to the Roscommon game and hopefully we can improve more.

Diego (Meath) - Posts: 1205 - 08/02/2015 17:01:07    1691239

Well where do i start? Leaving pt last night was surreal, i was as disappointed as if we had lost. Now ok we won and there was some spirit and fight in some players, but i was actually hoping against hope that the Galway game was a one off, but its not we are in real trouble at the moment, and i just don't know if we can get any better. We lack pace and our fitness levels are way off. Graham Reilly black card was the worst example of a black card. I went to Mullingar today and Galway were lucky to beat wm. I don't know what can be done in 3 weeks . As i said this is a strange feeling ive ever had after a victory.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 08/02/2015 17:26:19    1691260

Once again the overall accuracy from the forwards was very poor. We miss so many good chances and create so few goal chances.

Big positive was winning without our best forward and good to see Wallace back. We will need him fully fit. Another positive is the 2 midfielders we've unearthed this year. Lads are fit and physical but they can play ball.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 08/02/2015 17:41:57    1691275

It looks like we don't play with a gameplan, Kildare were filtering numbers back everytime we broke. We still seem to play naive football in that sense. Also we seriously need to start converting our chances, savage amount of wasted opportunities! On another note, while young Joey Wallace has potential, he offers little at the moment, not knocking the lad but this level is possibly a few years too soon, blood him into the panel but don't start him. Thought McGill was solid at full back, great to see!

shldrs2thewheel (Meath) - Posts: 200 - 08/02/2015 17:56:59    1691286

Ziggy if we leave players like Carroll in dugout what can you say he 1 of the top players in meath , we wear very lucky to come out with a win ,

Doitmyway1212 (Meath) - Posts: 72 - 08/02/2015 18:37:05    1691303

Tickets might be scarce for roscommon game. Apparently it's in kiltoom and it only allows 3000 people.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 08/02/2015 19:09:02    1691334

Need Carroll back, accurate with his passes, but forwards especially Newman have to start winning their own ball, he was a passenger for long spells last night, I realise the service was poor but he looked well off the pace. Where are our scores going to come from? Need a good corner forward who can chip in with 2/3 points a game. Even with EW and Reilly in team scoring will be a problem. Roscommon will be our hardest game, they had three players who averaged 30 points each in div 3 last year.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2151 - 08/02/2015 19:37:46    1691353

Ok we didn't play well on Sat night and we're poor in Galway but we need to be positive now after the win v Kildare.I played the game and I know what it's like for a team to be low in confidence
after not proforming in a game when you prepare well and on the day it just doesn't happen ie Salthill! that win on Sat night will boost the whole grope massively and going into training this week
the lads will have a new spark..that win,even though we didn't play extremely well will be a massive confidence booster.id expect to see a more fluent confident Meath in the next game..

blind ref (Meath) - Posts: 204 - 08/02/2015 20:40:41    1691409

We lose and people give out, we win and people give out, it's getting very repetitive around here. We have a squad with an average age of 23 and more experienced players yet to return from injury. Last night wasn't pretty but it was a win and I was certainly impressed with the attitude shown in the last 20 mins, that win should boost confidence and belief and with 3 weeks of work on the training field to do I feel we can certainly improve, Roscommon is a big game and if we can get points there we have a decent chance of promotion with two home games in a row thereafter. Certainly lots of work needs to be done, no doubting that, but we won against a team that was well fancied for promotion by many so maybe we should stop flogging ourselves with the cat 'o 9 tails just for a little while

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 08/02/2015 20:45:22    1691414

blind ref I agree with you. Confidence and belief generally can even improve basic skills. Perhaps management may even get some assistance on this critical area now. I believe a lack of confidence is responsible for so many basic errors. Mental fitness will determine how far we can go this year.

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1228 - 08/02/2015 21:41:38    1691452

firstly delighted with the grit and determination that got us over the line showed signs of meath of old winning when playing bad
but we have had many false dawns like this before
secondly we won id sat 5 balls at midfield all night which at this level is not good enough simly outfielded there not that the two boys didnt try but just on the night werent good enough

we need more direct running like menton and tormey did that one the game. reilly was doing that before he got that harsh black and dalton did show that in the first few minutes

great result overall poor performance will need to sort out midfield and centre back

srgt_slaughter (Meath) - Posts: 462 - 09/02/2015 09:00:39    1691479

Great result, but game was terrible. Very hard to judge when playing opposition with everyone behind the half way line.. Football is rock bottom and why would any talented forward want to play this game.
With 3 minutes to go and behind Klidare had all their players behind the half way line!!

Impressed with McGill, Menton, Tormey, POR and the young midfielders. Bray is the only player who makes himself avaialable, very dissappointed with Newman for a big man very weak winning ball. I still think Menton should be played at 3 but was really impressed with McGill.

At i said last week 2 poor teams but the result will give them a boost.
If this is top level football between what should be top counities based on interest, numbers playing etc its pretty depressing.

From a management view, when the oppostion play 13 behind the ball, what do u do. Watching wing half forward and corner forwards sprint back to their 45 line is ultra depressing.. people will stop going to games. Klidare usually have the best support in Ireland, there wasnt a hundred people from Kildare at the game!!

PS: How are Syddan, The Lough etc beating Ratoath, they had 5 players on the field at one stage Sat night!!! This is desperate in my opinion, a co team with 5 players from one club, we should be talking about club senior all-ireland champions..

Northmeathman (Meath) - Posts: 284 - 09/02/2015 13:35:54    1691641

When did Syddan or Ballinlough beath Ratoath, NMM?

Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1362 - 09/02/2015 13:48:54    1691648

Ratoath Royal... who beat ye in the last few years? Castletown, Ballinabrackey, Kells etc.. Your missing the point, how an inter co manager can select 5 players from one club and not even a successful one at that is wrong in my opinion.
A club with 5 players on the panel not to mention more on the u21 should be getting ready for St Patricks day!!

Who is your manager and what are you doing wrong?

Northmeathman (Meath) - Posts: 284 - 09/02/2015 15:51:14    1691718

Ratoath Royal... who beat ye in the last few years? Castletown, Ballinabrackey, Kells etc.. Your missing the point, how an inter co manager can select 5 players from one club and not even a successful one at that is wrong in my opinion.
A club with 5 players on the panel not to mention more on the u21 should be getting ready for St Patricks day!!

Who is your manager and what are you doing wrong?

This is about Meath v Kildare and our opinions on it, kindly restrict your ramblings to the matter at hand and leave whatever animosity you have to Ratoath at the door. The players are young and have had considerable underage success with their club, just because you hail from North Meath does not give you the entitlement to have a go at other clubs.......

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 09/02/2015 16:24:44    1691730