NFL Galway v Meath

Galway 2-13 Meath 1-12

Scoreline flatters Meath,only reason why it wasn't more,is the fact that Galway are average enough.

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 01/02/2015 15:32:35    1688667

Keoghan must play corner back too.

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 01/02/2015 15:36:46    1688669

royal49ers

I must say I was very frustrated today,people will blame management,but I blame everybody quite frankly,truly awful stuff and I feared that this would be the case..

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 01/02/2015 16:06:48    1688692

Wallace and McMahon are just too light. Gotta find stronger men. I remember 3/4 years ago we were spoilt for choice with scoring forwards. Not there now. Paddy O'Rourke was worth 9 points today, 3 points and 2 great saves. Leave him on the frees. On another note are Dalton McDonagh and Paddy Gilsenan off the squad?

urizen (Meath) - Posts: 115 - 01/02/2015 16:17:42    1688698

Sure didnt we nearly beat Dublin a few weeks ago isnt that all that matters?? in all seriousness People need to cop on. we are not division 1 team and barely a division 2 team. this is an average galway team and we were well bet. we have illusions about ourselves

db9 (Meath) - Posts: 283 - 01/02/2015 16:21:37    1688702

i really dont understand why people are demanding that we should win promotion this year.
if you look at the players available to us surely you can see that we are probably not even in the top 10 of the country. Nor has this group ever done anything to suggest that we could be.

Realistic expectations lads. Micko may be in year 3, but it doesnt change the fact that the availability of players isnt there YET.

now i know fans went to the game looking to be treated to some value for money and are entitled to vent at the display.....but take a step back from the absolute blinkered vision that 'meath should be div1' and then assess the game, because im afraid to say that a lot of you are ignorant of the current situation we are in. TRANSITION - out with the old, in with the new. and unfortunately theres not a lot in between which explains why the responsibility for key positions was given to 20/21 year olds. mid table would be a realistic taget. AND, i think we need a couple of years more at this level, before trying to compete in div1. Last thing we want to do is do a westmeath on it, get promoted but be in no way competitive.

dubsout (Meath) - Posts: 220 - 01/02/2015 16:25:53    1688707

urizen
yes they are both off the squad,but they are fairly light aswell,especially as they are older.. Agree with you on Wallace and McMahon,a real pity O'Sullivan got injured though and Wallace(E) has beinng out for some time,backs given too much space as usual..Serious problems are corner back suicide moving Keoghan to 6.

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 01/02/2015 16:25:57    1688708

It is very premature to suggest that the players lack mental strength especially at this time of year. Yes we were poor today however there are a multitude of opportunities starting next saturday against Kildare to recover. Galway were the favorites for promotion before the match and still are. At the same time, however, we need to keep focused on the goal of promotion which realistically can still be achieved and to do that Micko needs to start putting players in the right positions and take the initiative in matches instead of chasing them and being on the back foot. Some of the positives are Paddy O' Rourke, who is proving to be multi talented and is on top form, the players look to be fitter than in previous years and of course we have 4 home games to look forward to!

Jimin10 (Meath) - Posts: 783 - 01/02/2015 16:29:34    1688711

Sadly great glenny was right no score from a forward from play till 48th minute..

Hard to win with that sort of scoring power.

McGill did good keoghan again our best player Harnan also fairly good after that we 2nd best all over pitch... Could easily have lost by 10

glenny (Meath) - Posts: 1108 - 01/02/2015 17:00:30    1688731

Will do well to stay in division 2 however meath are not known as a league team,much better come championship,when i seen 3 ratoath players in starting 15 i knew we were in trouble,seen them 3 times last year at intermediate grade,bet by ballivor,lucky to beat syddan and been bet by 14 men ballinabrackey,you could argue a case for mc gill but other 2 not county senior standard,anyway with kevin & conor to come back it will strenghten up,agree with some of the previous posts as regards keogan,you have to play your players in their best positions for starters,keogan is one of best corner backs in modern game,he is not a centre half back,pauric harnan simply not good enough and micky burke in the corner is senseless.will do well to stay up.

thelutch (Meath) - Posts: 1047 - 01/02/2015 17:14:40    1688743

More sub standard rubbish from Meath to day. Just heard MOD apologize to travelling Meath supporters on radio. Manly response, and fair play to him. Indeed it was not all his fault to day. Like in horse racing the jockey cant go without the horse.Some of our lightweight players may be more useful in Fairyhouse than as inter county footballers. Hard to accept that we have no better in the county.
Next saturday players have the opportunity to make amends if they have it in them,excluding some like POR,DONAL,and couple of others.
Maybe i am living in cloud cuckoo land but i am HOPING for a big backlash from Meath against Kildare,and a Meath win.

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1224 - 01/02/2015 17:20:19    1688749

On the way home and have to say slightly embarrassed.
I have backed this management time and again, i pointed out that in year 3 it was a must to get promotion, on that display we will be lucky to be in div2 come championship. I hope im wrong but i don't think i am.
Lads blaming the players are am afraid just covering up the blatantly obvious. On paper that Meath team are better than that Galway team. Tactics are where Galway were head and shoulders above us today. I have as i said defended management after Leinster final, the armagh game pushed me to the edge, today tipped me over the edge. I am sad very sad to say the following. I have lost confidence in management.
I hope and pray they prove me wrong, and as a Meath man to the core i pray i eat them words. But i know longer can defend the indefensible.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 01/02/2015 17:22:28    1688750

Bottom line we are a poor team with a poor manager . We don't play to any type of system under O,Dowd , today was awful to watch and another waste of a day and money . On todays performance we will be lucky not to be in a relegation battle .looking at the bigger picture GAA football has being destroyed it really should be called handball . the GAA have being too slow to stop this destruction of the game , it is a dreadful game to watch now . It had no bearing on todays result but the black card Tormey received today was a disgrace . Graham Reillys booking wasn't much better . Todays game was poor to say the least any football that was played Galway played it . I would love to hear from a player but the pitch in Galway looked in very poor condition , it had a serious amount of drainage work done on it and didn't look fit to play on .

mmc (Meath) - Posts: 267 - 01/02/2015 17:35:05    1688755

Lads if we not play our top players we not beat the top teams

Doitmyway1212 (Meath) - Posts: 72 - 01/02/2015 17:45:02    1688762

Thelutch , move on if we leave our top players on the line we neaver beat. Top teams ,

Doitmyway1212 (Meath) - Posts: 72 - 01/02/2015 17:54:37    1688767

RD glad you have seen the light.
We will be in same position when micko goes as we were when he came in. Division 3.

foreverroyal (Meath) - Posts: 349 - 01/02/2015 18:00:58    1688771

RD

We are not good enough to be in dv1 simple as that..

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 01/02/2015 18:03:30    1688774

Thelutch . Ratoath players did no harm to day . The book stop with mod . What did the players from ballinabrackey. Do to day. Move on thelutch

Doitmyway1212 (Meath) - Posts: 72 - 01/02/2015 18:07:34    1688777

I have nothing against Ratoath players,but Joey and Bryan are far too lighweight for this level,they don't even get scores..

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 01/02/2015 18:20:01    1688792

As usual when meath lose every decides that we're the worst team and that we won't be winning anything anytime soon. we need to take it one game at a time before we start to panic. Its silliness to be talking about meath going to end up relegated already, At the end of the day it was only the first game of the league and against a good up and coming Galway team, a team which a lot of people have predicted will get promotion this year. I'm sure players and management know that we played bad today, MOD wouldn't have apologised if he didn't think the players have more to give and could've played better today. I still have plenty of belief in this team and still think were capable of getting promoted, at least the players have gotten a shock from the first game rather than a few games down the line. They know now exactly how much they need to improve and will do so.

meathalltheway (Meath) - Posts: 789 - 01/02/2015 18:22:14    1688794