Meath v Dublin O'Byrne Semi Final Sunday 18th @2PM

CFC

Meath hit far more wides too,so by your logic,if Meath hit some of those over etc etc..

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 19/01/2015 14:58:20    1684545

POR makes great saves = Meath are a lucky team. Cluxton makes them = Dublin are a great team. Ha, ha.

Goalies tend to get more credit in soccer where you can say they are worth a certain number of points per season (league). Everyone plays their part 1-11 (or 1-15-20) when it comes to winning titles.

POR is our Packie Bonner or Peter Schmeichel. He's a big man who makes the goals/target that bit smaller (remember when LVG put the sub goalie on for the penalty shootout in the world cup). He is good under the high ball, improving his distribution from kickouts and getting better on long range frees (at IC level, added pressure). Give the player credit where it is due, luck doesn't come into it.

GlasagusOr (Meath) - Posts: 1348 - 19/01/2015 15:06:58    1684552

Jesus the dubs are very excited about a O'Byrne cup game. Mw thinks they got a little shock yesterday.
All these ifs and buts, Tobin missed two easy enough frees, we hit 9 wides and bray should have scored a goal, by dubs logic we should have won comfortable. But its a case of if me aunt had you know what's she would be my uncle.
It makes not one bit of difference, we have hopefully found a second midfielder, Newman Reilly , tormey , etc are all back to best, Eamon Wallace and Gillespie to come back and possibly kev too before we meet again. So take your O'Byrne game it wont matter one bit if we have donal lifting Delaney.
Hon the Royal.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 19/01/2015 15:37:20    1684565

I certainly saw a lot of positives from our performance yesterday, a lot of pride in the jersey, fight, belief and determination on show, characteristics that were highlighted as being missing in 2014 by many here. The first half did raise concerns and when we play teams like Dublin we must be limpit like in our defending but it did improve second half as did everything. My goodness Harry Rooney had some game and O'Rourke was excellent in all facets of his game, Menton is developing into a real good player and Tormey & Newman stood out. These are just a few of my highlights but the overall team spirit was fantastic and wasn't it great to see such a crowd in Navan, the place needs renovating we all know that and have spoken at length about that but the place can still generate a great buzz. When you have your own ground which you have to maintain yourself and raise funds to improve as well as develop a centre of excellence, things can be hard, we all don't have the luxury of being afforded a 80'000 capacity stadium within our own county to use as we wish so Dubs complaining about PT is a little bit Irish to me being honest, still though the die hard Dubs helped to create a great atmosphere with our own, overall a good day methinks

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 19/01/2015 16:22:49    1684580

Richeiq hard to argue with that. Summed up perfectly.
Still improvement needed, but there was pride and fight on show that hasn't been there in a few years. Perhaps mod took a look at our concerns. :)

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 19/01/2015 16:41:35    1684592

It's easy to get motivated and fired up to play Dublin. It's time to bring some of that workrate and desire into the league (home and away) against other counties - that's the big question.

GlasagusOr (Meath) - Posts: 1348 - 19/01/2015 17:06:20    1684599

Richieq and royaldunne Yes heartening to see flashes of the old Meath spirit in this team. Even though it was "only" the Byrne cup maybe there is a light at the end of the tunnel after all ?? Just maybe ! Early days , but the buzz was certainly back in Navan yesterday for 20 mins. when Meath refused to surrender like last time..Full credit to all concerned for what may very well prove to be a new beginning .just maybe !!!

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1227 - 19/01/2015 17:14:39    1684601

Graham Geraghty is on Newstalk tonight,if anyone is interested.

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 19/01/2015 18:35:08    1684618

Glas

Yeah you are right,if we see the same spirit in league and championship,then we may see an improvement.But we cannot get too excited.

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 19/01/2015 18:41:56    1684620

Only disappointing thing about paddy's performance was that he didn't raid out the field like Manuel neuyer

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1792 - 19/01/2015 19:43:51    1684628

Wallace should be with the U21s Way too early for him, better off letting him develop at a slower pace. Plenty of options on panel who are as good if not better.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2151 - 19/01/2015 20:03:56    1684632

I'm afraid I have to disagree with what has been said about Joey Wallace. In the four games I have been extremely impressed by his aggression and work rate both on and off the ball. Based on the three games prior to yesterday, Wallace would've been my first name on the team sheet. We need to remember that he is only 19 and will continue to grow and develop physically. Anyone who actually bothered going to Mullingar should have the intelligence to realise that he was a key game-changer. The same can be said about the Longford match and DCU to an extent. He uses his pace to great effect and shows a bit of guile in attack which seems to be lacking among some of our other forwards.

MarkMyWords (Meath) - Posts: 498 - 19/01/2015 20:04:38    1684634

I agree re. Wallace. Always a burst of excitement when he has the ball and I think he'd enjoy croke park. Easily a player that could create significant chances on the big stage.

BTW...should queeny get the same chance bray will get?

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1792 - 19/01/2015 20:35:02    1684644

Thought Queeney was a tad soft at times

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 19/01/2015 20:40:56    1684650

Wallace may be ready to play against Westmeath and Longford,but not the bigger teams..

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 19/01/2015 20:41:51    1684651

ziggy320001

Wallace may be ready to play against Westmeath and Longford,but not the bigger teams..

How do you know that?

MarkMyWords (Meath) - Posts: 498 - 19/01/2015 20:50:04    1684652

Wallace just looks really raw to me.I'm not having a go at him,but he is not ready to be a starter for Meath.I think players like Alan Forde,Cillian O'Sullivan would be better choices(granted they are unavailable),but I though Joey was fed to the Lions in last years championship.The lad was in secondary school last year..

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 19/01/2015 20:53:16    1684654

Great atmosphere yesterday for an OBC cup game. Great crowd and id say about 4,000 Dubs. The way the game changed in second half really added to the craic and i think most leaving the ground from both sides were reasonably happy to have seen a near championship like atmosphere at a game in January. Nearly memories of old clashes.
But dont be fooled by your comeback just because it was a blue Dublin jersey. Our lads who were causing trouble were taken off ,
MDMC had his arm in a cast over christmas and a lot of lads in big positions yesterday wont be near a Dublin jersey come Summer.
Having said that i hope ye build on the comeback and bring it into the league and get promoted .
Because ye cant get enough Dublin v Meath games. Dublin need a decent Meath team also.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 19/01/2015 21:02:09    1684659

ziggy320001

Wallace just looks really raw to me.I'm not having a go at him,but he is not ready to be a starter for Meath.I think players like Alan Forde,Cillian O'Sullivan would be better choices(granted they are unavailable),but I though Joey was fed to the Lions in last years championship.The lad was in secondary school last year..

Forde and O'Sullivan in particular could both bring a lot to the table but like you said, they're unavailable and I doubt we'll see them this year. I'm just calling calling it as I see it and I think Wallace has earned a start in the league on his own merit. He is a better option than Queeney and Seán Tobin who are both physically stronger but are lacking in pace and the ability to execute basic skills. Give Wallace plenty of league time and take it from there.

MarkMyWords (Meath) - Posts: 498 - 19/01/2015 21:30:25    1684666

AthCliath

Pretty much spot on and Meath cannot get too excited,but some of those Meath players will not be near the team come championship either.I do appreciate though,that Dublin were missing more key players

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 19/01/2015 21:36:30    1684667