Meath v Dublin O'Byrne Semi Final Sunday 18th @2PM

I thought the lads showed great character,but in the first half they had little structure and support play.

Tormey gave us drive in the second half,but I thought Harry Rooney was outstanding and showed real leadership for his age,real contender to play alongside Gillespie.

I thought Queeney was poor and I question why he is on the panel.Big difference when Newman came on.

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 18/01/2015 17:26:11    1684243

Ideal game in preparation for league. result not too important Eye catching for this match Rooney old style midfielder has proven he has to be given game time .looks promising....Menton very good in first half likes to go forward ,has pace, leave him at no 7 to give him a chance.Paddy o R well done. Credit to MICKO for giving jamie Queeney another chance,but not sure if Jamie has grabbed it with both hands or at all. Micko and Trevor seemed to be mmuch more on the ball themselves,and switches made sense. Graham Reilly showed more enthusism for work .Keep it up Graham Hopefully Newman can return to himself with a very good start to day when introduced .We need him badly for frees, as evident again to day.That game was worth a lot of training sessions to Meath,and helps confidence building.

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1227 - 18/01/2015 17:45:38    1684250

waynoI

Before the game there was music over the PA system, Anyone know the name of it ? Was a bit of a toe tapper.

They started out playing The Script too loud (that's the PA as well as the Dubs:)) and then I think it was Clannad or something like that. Good on you Waynol getting into the ground on time!

GlasagusOr (Meath) - Posts: 1348 - 18/01/2015 17:51:09    1684252

Good game..especially 2nd half..d tobin, menton , tormey and rooney da pick

curnew (Wicklow) - Posts: 449 - 18/01/2015 17:56:26    1684253

Thought we played poor up until we got the goal. Thought Queeney and Sean Tobin were poor today but I would give tobin another chance. Good performances from McGill, keoghan, Rooney and Menton. Hopefully we have a good league campaign.

Barney123 (Meath) - Posts: 676 - 18/01/2015 17:59:37    1684255

Crikey- some performance from Rooney. Fair play. Gutsy performance by team.

Very impressed with some of the tackling.

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1792 - 18/01/2015 18:11:01    1684259

Probably the best result. Shocking 1st half and queney and Sean tobin I think, particularly poor. Gonna need to buck up soon. That number 8 was excellent. Is that Flanagan? Both brays were poor and need to improve big time. Biggy worked hard but he seems to have mental issues against the dubs. Shouldn't be hitting those shots with the outside of his boot. Menton and keogan played very well too.

Great crowd but sadly at least half of them dubs. Sign of the times. Hopefully we go on a run in the league and our support builds again.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 18/01/2015 18:11:20    1684260

Just hope we don't move Menton to fb..

So far with the players available I would go with this..

1.POR
2.Keoghan
3.McGill
4.Dalton
5.Tobin
6.??
7.Menton
8.Rooney
9.Flanagan
10.Reilly
11.??
12.Tormey
13??
14.Newman
15??

A few slots I am not sure of,Eamonn Wallace would defo be 13/15,but like Gillespie he won't play any games early in the league.

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 18/01/2015 18:18:33    1684265

Jack Goff

Number 8 was Rooney.

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 18/01/2015 18:19:19    1684266

Ah sure the Dubs got a day out and outside their comfort zone. As for been outnumbered by Dubs - It's a bit strange when you hear someone beside you shouting for Meath (Ashbourne lads) with mild Dublin accents.

GlasagusOr (Meath) - Posts: 1348 - 18/01/2015 18:22:12    1684268

Ziggy, what do you think about playing Donal Keoghan at CHB. He is much more influential and involved at this position, driving the team forward. Of course tight, man-marking corner backs are thin on the ground, so we may not have that luxury against top quality sides.

GlasagusOr (Meath) - Posts: 1348 - 18/01/2015 18:28:14    1684271

They started out playing The Script too loud (that's the PA as well as the Dubs:)) and then I think it was Clannad or something like that. Good on you Waynol getting into the ground on time!

Haha ah when the early football game in West Ham and Hull, It makes it very easy to leave the pub early ;) ha

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 18/01/2015 18:29:01    1684272

Ziggy, #11, #13, #15 for me is something like Mark O'Sullivan and Damien Carroll with Stephen Bray inside with Michael Newman.

GlasagusOr (Meath) - Posts: 1348 - 18/01/2015 18:35:30    1684277

possibly but I am not sure in my own mind yet.

What about 6?

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 18/01/2015 18:36:30    1684279

I agree that Donal is very good at cb,BUT I think we need him more at corner back tbh

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 18/01/2015 18:37:37    1684281

Thought Harry Rooney and Paddy O'Rourke were outstanding. Wallace, McMahon, Gillespe, Harnan and a few more young lads from the colleges to come back. That comeback gave us positives heading into the league. If we had have come out of that at 1-11 to 0-5 we would be all down and have no hope of promotion so it's good to show some of that Meath spirit again

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1464 - 18/01/2015 18:37:40    1684282

Glas

I am an Ashbourne lad myself. :)

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 18/01/2015 18:38:39    1684283

What about Carroll at 6? Think keoghan should stay in corner.

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1792 - 18/01/2015 18:47:08    1684284

Ziggy, I'd say he might play 6 in the league and then revert to corner back for the championship. Could Harnan play as a centre back. I think most of us are agreed Menton should play wing back where he has a more attacking (as well as defensive) role. He kicked some fine points today.

GlasagusOr (Meath) - Posts: 1348 - 18/01/2015 18:48:14    1684285

Yes, Ziggy I know :) You made a big money move to Athboy.

GlasagusOr (Meath) - Posts: 1348 - 18/01/2015 18:50:14    1684286