Meath v Dublin O'Byrne Semi Final Sunday 18th @2PM

u cant expect to see a settled team in their positions in January!!
If MOD did settle a team now, folk would be demanding he experiment... he cant win!

personally i dont care if we play 10 in midfield..once we WIN

sob (Meath) - Posts: 492 - 13/01/2015 17:42:51    1682913

Htaem I am not saying they not trying, what I am saying is that they don't know what they are doing and mostly winging it.
They have made the same mistakes time and again. Why? If they had a game plan or some form of where we are going then the results would not matter as much, but basically its a wing and a prayer thing.

foreverroyal (Meath) - Posts: 349 - 13/01/2015 18:44:35    1682932

I'm not been disrespectful as I think micko is a decent guy, trev is a legend and sean a great club manager. But I feel they are in way over their heads at inter county level, the repeat of actions that have failed over and over agin shows this. They keep making the same mistakes and doing it again hoping it will work out better.

foreverroyal (Meath) - Posts: 349 - 13/01/2015 18:56:01    1682936

So who should line out against the dubs? I for one have a chubby thinking about it :0)

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1792 - 13/01/2015 20:03:05    1682965

Foreverroyal I agree completely with your assessment after last year. I am going to give them some credit though for the moment. Maybe i am expecting too much ...1 management must. and do know that they were not up to it last year at this point. 2 Then they must now believe that they have learned from recurring mistakes,and can fill the gap in their know how....3 I assume the CB in discussion with Micko and Co were satisfied with proposed remedial action and agreed action plan [i am assuming that exercise took place]....4 All concerned have the good of Meath football at heart,and BELIEVE and not just HOPE that Meath can return to being a fully competitive team again,where everyone gives their best,and then let results take care of themselves. I do HOPE that i am not just dreaming !!!

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1227 - 13/01/2015 20:35:55    1682978

foreverroyal

I think your assessment is a little bit harsh but you're not entirely wrong either, MOD came in, in 2013 and we made a few forward steps, certainly performances improved, we got promotion at the 1st time of asking and pushed the Dubs in the Leinster final (although obviously winning it was the aim).

Now 2014 was undoubtedly a disappointment but then again things just didn't work out, MOD tried to copy Dublin's blitz style football and go for goals and while it entertained us in the O'Byrne cup it had to be abandoned in the early parts of the league for obvious reasons. But the players have to shoulder some of the blame to, MOD may have struggled when naming 15 starters last year (which has to be said wasn't helped by all the injuries nor by some of our inconsistent players) but the ones which were picked didn't always stand up to be counted either. Our great players of the 80s and 90s rarely ever threw in the towel, unfortunately our current crop don't seem to be graced with that same dogged determination.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 13/01/2015 21:14:35    1683003

MOD is in a very different situation than his predecessors. Meath have had terrible under-age structures for the last 10-15 years.... 2 Leinster Minor titles and hardly a game won at under 21 level. This was shown up last week with the current under 21's being hammered by Roscommon at Ashbourne. It will take another 5 years for Meath to be competitive at senior level no matter who is in charge but under age and under 21 have to be managed properly also. Otherwise there will be no material for the senior management to work with.

kingofclubs (Meath) - Posts: 321 - 14/01/2015 10:12:38    1683050

Lets be honest we will not know if Meath are going in the right direction until the championship comes along.Even Armagh got relegated to dv3 last season,but they showed progression..

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 14/01/2015 10:20:55    1683052

Htaem is spot on there too..

Kingofclubs is also correct,however I would look too seriously at Meath in the hastings cup.

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 14/01/2015 10:23:02    1683054

Spot on ziggy. Judgement should be reserved for end of season. If we beat the dubs on Sunday there'll be lads on here talking about winning an AI.

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1792 - 14/01/2015 12:32:15    1683110

ya the game on sunday is irrelevant really,always good craic to play the Dubs,but it means nothing in terms of the bigger picture..

I see SOR and James McEntee are out injured,both will defo miss the league

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 14/01/2015 13:01:50    1683126

ziggy

Lets be honest we will not know if Meath are going in the right direction until the championship comes along.Even Armagh got relegated to dv3 last season,but they showed progression..

That is very true ziggy, now I'd like to see us get promotion aswell enough though I'd be a little worried about us in div1 but that's another day's work. Whatever happens in the summer we simply have to target and get an all-ireland QF spot, we haven't been there since 2010 which is a ridiculously long time and it damages confidence within the county.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 14/01/2015 15:17:58    1683199

Agreed.Promotion and the quarters would be improvement and leinster final compete and maybe win.Will sbray play sunday.What is the story on orourke.Like the look of mosullivan this year and please god Dalton injuries behind him-what a talent.TEAM FOR LEAGUE-1-PADDY,2-TOBIN,3-MCGILL,4-HARNAN,5-DALTON,6-DONAL,7-JUDGE,8-MENTON,9-TORMEY,10-MO SULLIVAN,11-CARROLL,12-BIGGY,13-NEWMAN,14-BRAYZER,15-ANYONE FROM 6.IF WE GET GILLESPIE,COSULLIVAN AND E WALLACE BACK THAT IS NOT A HALF DECENT TEAM WITH LOTS OF PACE

tampa (Meath) - Posts: 54 - 14/01/2015 18:28:22    1683270

Ziggy yes Armagh got relegated last year but the minute a man with a structure took them over they played to their ability . Meath's last two games in the championship last year were shambolic to say the least . The continues moving of players over the last two years is a huge concern for me . I know we can say we had a lot of injuries but this then opens up another obvious problem that must lie with the training program . I do believe we have a lot of very good players and a Management team that is fully committed to the Meath cause but commitment isn't everything . I hope I'm wrong and will be the first on here to say I was but on what ive seen over the last two years I don't believe under this Manager we will see the best in this Meath panel . The reason I say this is he has no idea who his best 15 are or where to play players . And before people start on about the O'Byrne cup ,this post has nothing to do with the O'Byrne cup and the trying out of players that has to be done . This post is based on the last 2 leagues and Championships and the humiliation in the Leinster final last year .

mmc (Meath) - Posts: 267 - 14/01/2015 18:29:12    1683272

tampa

SOR has a hip injury and according to O'Dowd,Stephen Bray and Newman may feature on sunday.

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 14/01/2015 20:39:00    1683339

mmc

Well we will know by the end of the year.

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 14/01/2015 21:51:03    1683378

Thanks ziggy much appreciated

tampa (Meath) - Posts: 54 - 15/01/2015 14:56:29    1683527

In my view a win on Sunday will help with confidence. Lets be honest it would be a huge surprise if we didn't meen in Leinster final.
Now the O'Byrne is not important but for moral a win is.
Hon the royal.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 16/01/2015 12:12:44    1683817

I see a lot people saying what i was saying last year MOD doesn't seem to have any tactical plan, and really struggles badly against the bigger tactically setup teams,, i was shocking disappointing watching Meath v Monaghan in Clones for me the writing was on the wall as the game was over after 15 minutes. which was really disappointing given it was the 3rd time MOD as manager meet Monaghan.you would think he would have learnt something from previous meeting. i wasn't surprised at how poor they where v Dublin and Armagh was awful stuff altogether, another thing i noticed MOD spends long periods by himself on the side line rather than consulting with selectors. all that said personally i like MOD i hear he is nice guy if he could come up with a decent game plan i think he would be a great manager,,i really like the fact he had the balls to drop older players and gave new blood a chance, lets hope we can get back on track for 2015.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 16/01/2015 14:44:37    1683879

I agree that beating Dublin, even so early in the year, would be a massive psychological boost. Didn't we beat them in this competition in 2010 and then go on to do it again in the Championship??? Not saying they're the same thing, but to instill the belief in the players that they are capable of doing it in the summer would be a big plus.

MarkMyWords (Meath) - Posts: 498 - 16/01/2015 15:04:59    1683887